If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

Was up late so thought I'd watch the 1st quarter.
    Green started, and on the first drive had 4 receptions for over 40 yards, and nearly had a fantastic catch for a td, just dropped it, great effort.
    Meachem is behind Keenan and Tutu tonight. I think Meachem gets cut.

Cromartie had two missed tackles and at cause of the 49ers td on their opening drive.

A Football life is back Tuesday and it features LT. So worth the watch, great seeing his highlights and that amazing stiff arm.

Off to bed but Max Starks is done, awful.
    After praising DJ Smith, awful missed tackle for 49ers second TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I'll watch it tonite/tomorrow to see how truly bad our so called depth is.

That was horrible last night, really horrible.
    See Starks is gone, which is no surprise. He seemed to have nothing left.
    Seen this tweet, we called this a long time ago.
    @BFTB_Chargers I like the bolts to grab Ramses Barden if he's released by giants. Big receiver rivers would love

Thank you AJ

Ben Higgins ‏@BenHigginsSD 1m
    This would be a bad day for A.J. Smith to show his face in San Diego. For the $$ given to Meachem & Gaither, he could have kept V. Jackson.

Meachem + Gaither = $8.875 mil in cap space in '13, $7.75 mil in '14. Together, they made $23 million in real money, played 657 snaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

So roster is set but i'd imagine there will be at least 3 more players brought in, only 4 OLBs. We badly need to stay healthy this year

To be honest i'm not very optimistic about this year, i really hope i'm wrong but just don't think we'll be able to stick with the top teams. I hope we can see our young players develop this year

Holy F forget the 53 that appeared Saturday, it'll barely be recognizable come Sunday next. TT is hard at work bringing in fresh meat, shipping out old, be it for good or onto the PS. I like the sound of this DE/DT from Indy, Nevis. Know little of the lad from Dallas but they've got to be better than what we have which is v little. Put me down as someone who does not get the Geathers hoopla, don't like the look of him one bit. I don't think he makes it longterm. I'd be willing to even take Garay back for 1 yr over him.

Rochey has mentioned Barden above, I reckon we should bring him in for a look see too. Danny Watkins the G cut by Philly is another. Seems the tough ice hockey type mentality didn't come thru to the Pros. Maybe a change in scenery/working alongside the likes of Fluker and Joe D will make the diff.

No idea bout this lad Jake Byrne... he may be just here for Texans week and be gone next.

Wow our PS is now short only 1 player... it's a who's who of WHO!!??

WR clemons, T wiggins, DE pericak, TE byrne, CB cromartie, OLB keiser, T becton and WHO?

I see Baker has been put on the Broncos PS, hope he doesn't come back to haunt us

OAOB wrote: »
    I see Baker has been put on the Broncos PS, hope he doesn't come back to haunt us

Damn did not see that. Nitemare. He is a player who I think will be a good un.

I miss LT :(

I watch a football life last night, and was amazing to see his highlights.
    Making people miss, or defenders not being able to take him down.

Never seen him play for TCU, and I didnt know he had the record for most yards in a game, 400 with 6 tds!!
    Was horrible watching the Pats beat us twice in the playoffs and of course the steelers game.
    He was really hurt by Marty going, and of course Norv didnt help, Rivers was his boy.

I still remember him being with the Jets and beating the Pats and being so happy for him.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    I miss LT :(

I watch a football life last night, and was amazing to see his highlights.
    Making people miss, or defenders not being able to take him down.

Never seen him play for TCU, and I didnt know he had the record for most yards in a game, 400 with 6 tds!!
    Was horrible watching the Pats beat us twice in the playoffs and of course the steelers game.
    He was really hurt by Marty going, and of course Norv didnt help, Rivers was his boy.

I still remember him being with the Jets and beating the Pats and being so happy for him.

Can't wait to see it (apart from those devastating losses & time at the Jets). LT was 1 in a million truly. I see Gil Brandt tweeted how he told now deceased John Butler that he absolutely must draft him after we ended up with 5th pick after Vick trade. Amazing to think 2 of the 4 picked ahead of him are still playing and one of em still playing at a high level (Smith).

Jaysus lads our thread was pushed well down on page 2 such is the inactivity/the activity elsewhere!!!.

Hate the fact that we are the last game and an 0320 kick off. Anyone able to stay up and watch it Live. I can't so will have to avoid internet all day Tuesday and see it Tue evening instead. Don't give us much of a chance I expect Philip to be under siege, which puts added pressure on the running game. Hope Ryan holds onto the freakin ball.

My plan is to sleep early and set an alarm for it. I wouldn't do it for any other game but season opener is big.
    A win tonight over a good texans team would be fantastic and get great momentum for us going forward. Not sure if it's just excitement at the start of the season but I'm starting to get a bit of confidence for tonights game.

We're always Monday night football in week 1, would much rather if we could play sunday.

My plan is to sleep early and set an alarm for it. I wouldn't do it for any other game but season opener is big.
    A win tonight over a good texans team would be fantastic and get great momentum for us going forward. Not sure if it's just excitement at the start of the season but I'm starting to get a bit of confidence for tonights game.

We're always Monday night football in week 1, would much rather if we could play sunday.

Go on ya mad yoke!!. I'd love to do the same but simply no can do, the missus would kill me and I'd be of no use in work 2morro were I to do it.

Yeah I reckon work will be a struggle tomorrow but if we win it'll be worth it

Well feck that anyway!!!!

I'm disgusted with the result and that was a game we should have won. It was our old failings that came back to haunt us. Bad play calling by Pagano in the second half but worse than that was bad play calling on the offence. We moved the ball really well in the first half but in the second it was like watching last years team. I hate saying it but Rivers cannot make a play when we need one now, he's still a damn good QB but he's not clutch and we will never win tight games because of it. Wade Philips even told his D that if they pressure him he will make mistakes so its no big secret. Establishing a run game would take the pressure off him but Mathews was once again not trusted.

Our defence was run over for a lot of it, Cam Thomas is a good NT but he needs a partner to sub with, Franklin was great last year doing that. We need Te'o in the team, Bird could not cover the TE in space. I'm really hoping Te'o comes good and soon, we need him.

There was lots of positives about tonight and i'll post about them later maybe but how we lost this game is crushing, new regime but it feels like nothing has changed except we've no scapegoat in Norv.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Very unlucky from the Chargers, as a Titans fan it would have been awesome for you guys to beat the Texans.

See you guys in week 3 :D

Just watched it............ 2 immediate thoughts came to mind.

1. Thank F I did not stay up for it, I'd have been sick at 6AM or whatever time it ended and
    2. Having said that, I expected this to be a defeat so, yes don't get me wrong we let one get away but, it is just 1 loss and it illustrates where we are at our weakest.

I couldn't understand how the O gameplan changed so dramatically in the 2nd half. 1st half it was a thing of beauty and 2nd was Norv like. The running game was an after thought and we were up in the game. It seemed Houston were content to blitz the bejaysus out of us the whole time, where were the delayed draws or the screens?, I was most surprised by this more than anything.....

After that it's clear our pass D is still nowhere near where it should be, far too often our corners were 5-10 yds from the receiver. Ron Milus the new secondary coach got fired outta Denver wonder how long McCoy will put up with that kinda show. Having said that after the starters in the D line/OLB go out we are toast so it's not like that is helping the D backfield. Houston wore the D down bigtime and guys were gassed and being gashed when it mattered.

All that being said to run such a good team that close for me was a decent start.... so overall effort a C+ from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭theRB

When Rivers threw the 4th TD I really believed that this could be a very good year. Completely crushed at the end, I don't know how I dragged myself out of bed after it. The worst thing was being 14 points up and knowing the Texans were going to win because the Chargers just couldn't get it done.

I recorded it, got home, planned on watching it after avoiding the internet all day. Turned the internet on, on my phone, god damn espn app pops the score up.

Really dont want to watch it now, think ill turn off after I see the tide turning :D

theRB wrote: »
    When Rivers threw the 4th TD I really believed that this could be a very good year. Completely crushed at the end, I don't know how I dragged myself out of bed after it. The worst thing was being 14 points up and knowing the Texans were going to win because the Chargers just couldn't get it done.

This sums it up nicely

Yeah I found myself looking at the clock lots when the Texans got to within 14. I was thinking ****e there is still time for them to do this and in the end it was perfection by them in terms of timing etc....

I see the refs have admitted they cocked up on the Cam Thomas penalty. Ok so that is disappointing but I'm thinking a loss like this might actually be a good thing. I mean we were supposed to lose this game right? (nobody was picking us), we start again against Philly. Let's get some things changed up esp on D and the running game (Whiz, hope u are listening!!) and we'll be ok. I still think we're a max 7 win team anyway. It is a rebuilding yr but that's not gona stop me backing em 100% every game.

Looking back at the game I thought Butler did well, but there was 1 play when he was in pass coverage and he lost his man bigtime for a decent gain, he still made the tackle mind u, that he is good at. I can't believe for a minute that Te'o is not going to be an improvement on Bird, he better be, while Bront had a load of tackles he is not regular starter material.

I also liked what I saw out of Woodhead and Ronnie Brown, and the wideouts did OK. O line should only get better and it's not like we are facing the Texans front 7 every week.

I must say though, like a number of people this week, I'm wondering does Pagano have what it takes to get these guys playing better schemewise and less of the prevent BS. Far too often we are playing too far off the receivers. It's not like Andre Johnson is a speedster any more, our best man cover guy (Wright?) should have been glued to him all game. Instead seemed like he had the freedom of the Q.

Right so thinking back on this a bit moreOur D-Line held up ok but that's one of the very best O-lines in the league so they should be better most other days. Need more out of rotational guys.I thought JJ had a very good game and Freeney was ok but we're missing Melvin big time.Bird showed that he can be an ok back up in this league but we really need Te'o to get healthy, him and Butler could be a great duo. Bird was picked on on Monday night, he's a clear weakness.The secondary was poor, Marshall saw a lot more game time than i thought he would. The game experience is what this unit need, there will be growing pains with them but its a talented group and hopefully by seasons end we will see a pretty soild group.I was impressed with our O-line in the first half, Rivers is definitely more comfortable behind this group. The Texans adjusted and created problems in the second half but there's cause for hope.RB is a big worry because we still don't seem to trust Mathews and Brown is not who we want to rely on. I'd rather us put the ball in Mathews hands 30 times a game for 3 weeks and see what he can come up with. Thought Woodhead was under utilised.TEs were fine, Gates made one great catch and run and Green was unlucky not to complete a catch. Our TEs don't offer the O-line a huge amount of help.The WRs look like a good overall group with no standout leader. No sign of Allen in the game which is surprising. Can't afford injuries.QB....I'm worried about him in every tight game now. Without a running game there's too much pressure on him and that's when mistakes come.Our play calling is a worry, first half was great, second awful. Its unfair to judge the coaches right now but we need to see them learn from these mistakes. I really think we lost the game because the Texans adjusted and we didn't.There is hope but probably not for this season. After the 1st half performance i could see the play-offs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭setanta74

Am in agreement with most of what was said so far. I was jumping around smiling from ear to ear early in the 3rd thinking WOW..McCoy you beauty..you've turned us around but then all of our failings came flooding back from that point on. I knew when that stupid penalty on the field goal was called that led to a TD that our goose was cooked.

As for the interception why oh why were we passing on our own 20 when we should run and take time off the clock at the very least.

Anyway I feel a bit for the front 7 of our D. It was a joy seeing Shaub scrambling all over the place and to finally see an opposing QB under pressure but typical of our luck Shaub was playing a blinder on the back foot and picking off some great passes. Our secondary was too safe and giving up big plays on 3rd and long and that was unforgivable. tHAT graphic about how we were near last for the last 2 seasons defending 3rd & long was depressing. Lessons learned?????

I still remain positive though. It was a storming performance on both sides of the ball for 2 quarters and a bit. The front 7 of the D showed improvement as did the OL. The Eddie Royal drop on a 3rd down when we badly needed a first down was a killer as was the stupid harsh penalty on the field goal. I honestly didnt think we would go within 3 of the Texans beforehand.

Tighten up the secondary and get the running game going again and cut out the interceptions Philip! Its do-able.

Good post Setanta, always good having another Chargers fan around here

Yeah good to see you back DM!!! (aka setanta 74). Great post, look forward to u becoming a part of our loyal community here. #OneCharge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Missed todays game as I was travelling. Plane landed, checked score. Delighted. Remembered I had decided to leave eddie royal on the bench :(

Missed it as well, got home at 9 but typically it was one of the rare weeks we kick off at 6.
    How did we look? Saw malcolms injury, scary seeing it, any update on how he is?