If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Watched my first ever episode of hard knocks last nite, the Bengals episode 1 2013. Interesting no doubt, and entertaining somewhat but all in all I say no to the Chargers doing it next year.

You gotta feel for that lad Larry Black. Might have been his one and only shot and looks like it's gone for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

I really enjoy hard knocks but from a team perspective i don't see how there's any benefit from doing it, you could see how incomfortable Harrison was with it all and I'm sure there was more than just him who didn't enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

Really quickly, 1st team all sides of the ball very good.
    Mathews looks good along with Oline, running the ball up the middle.
    Philips had a nice play, he will feature a lot more then we thought.
    Rivers had a pocket but Fluker struggled with speed rush.

Defence very good, Freeney looked great, whole Oline did.
    Manti hitting the hole and getting off tackles which was great.

2nd string offence not so good, Schiling is struggling. Molk had a fantastic block, then gave away a penalty next play at 3rd and 1.
    Coverage was tight enough, especially the 1st string.

Fozzy Whitaker is making Brown work for his roster spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Troutman not having the best of games. 2 penalties so far ...

Molly wrote: »
    Troutman not having the best of games. 2 penalties so far ...

Was about to say the exact same, but at least the Oline is getting a push which was non existent last year.

Would like to see the INT again.

Fozzy best play so far, Steve Williams making some plays after a quite camp.
    DePalma made two nice catches, looking more and more likely Meachem gets cut.

Will result in a lot of dead money and no savings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭theRB

I know it's against 2nd/3rd string players, but Sorensen looks like a pretty smart player to me. I'd like to see him make it as the backup to Rivers.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Really quickly, 1st team all sides of the ball very good.
    Mathews looks good along with Oline, running the ball up the middle.
    Philips had a nice play, he will feature a lot more then we thought.
    Rivers had a pocket but Fluker struggled with speed rush.

Defence very good, Freeney looked great, whole Oline did.
    Manti hitting the hole and getting off tackles which was great.

2nd string offence not so good, Schiling is struggling. Molk had a fantastic block, then gave away a penalty next play at 3rd and 1.
    Coverage was tight enough, especially the 1st string.

Fozzy Whitaker is making Brown work for his roster spot.

Tks for all the comments lads. Have not seen the game yet plan to watch it tonite. Agree about John Phillips he's more than a 1 dimensional blocking TE. How bout Ladarius Green how did he look?

I went to sleep at half time, before then Green had done nothing, but he got the TD so maybe he got into the game.
    DePalma had impressive stats, reminded me a bit of a Mr Wes Welker a bit. He did drop one after he made the catch but looked good. He keeps that up then he makes the roster.

Was disappointed in Whitehurst, he looked a small bit lost but the protection was poor compared to the 1st team.

Watched the game over the w/e lads. Some thoughts;

Really liked the look of Johnny Patrick, had never heard of this former 3rd rd pick of the Saints, but he looks real quick and will probably start in the slot. How come we saw no Rock Baker?, Fozzy did well but I would have thought Baker would have been ahead of him?

I know it was against the 3's but Sorensen looked very competent. I've never liked CBJ but a lot of his troubles were down to poor O line play. Rinehart looked solid for the 1's and is bigger than I thought he'd look. Great to see Ladarius Green showing us some stuff, with DA I expect he might see the field a whole lot more now, we're gona need him to grow get his sh1t together fast.

Other than that some others who caught my eye (albeit briefly) Cattouse, Harris (at RT looks solid), dePalma, Troutman and Molk. Those that disappointed me were Schilling, Stuckey on D and Wynn.

Malcolm out with his knee, hopefully just a strain because while we have some good wideouts the only ones with any real experience is royal and meachem and they'll be 3 & 4 on the depth chart at best

OAOB wrote: »
    Malcolm out with his knee, hopefully just a strain because while we have some good wideouts the only ones with any real experience is royal and meachem and they'll be 3 & 4 on the depth chart at best

Yep hopefully something he can come back from before week 1. But they are dropping like flies.

They completely refurbished the practice field during the off season, wonder does that have anything to do with all these knee injuries we're suffering

OAOB wrote: »
    They completely refurbished the practice field during the off season, wonder does that have anything to do with all these knee injuries we're suffering

Maybe but I hear Shareece Wright has been the defender for both DA and M80 when they got hurt!!!, let's hope he continues this wideout elimination practice into the season and finishes off the likes of Bowe, Welker and Thomas too!!.

Put him on meachem

Molly wrote: »

That's a great article. I especially liked that Gehlken wrote it. Acee is so full of himself and for quite a while was somewhat condescending to his replacement on the 'beat'. Acee is made more for TV sure but I think Gehlken will end up the better journalist. Acee gives me a pain in the hole most of the time.

Acee was great for breaking stories when he had insiders in place, since he lost them he's struggling badly with his articles. Gehlken is definitely producing the better stuff now.

I didn't like the Fluker pick at the time and still don't think it was our biggest need but I'm loving the guy, clubhouse leader and will provide a massive push on the right side of the line with Clary. Great to see him being a success considering how tough his upbringing was

That pretty much sums up my thoughts on both issues OAOB :)

Spot on OAOB, I think Raye was a big help to Acee.

Chris Berman described Donald Butler as "probably the best player nobody knows about in this country"

I expect that to change with Manti on the team and the media that brings with it.

For tonights game looking forward to it. Should see more of the starters.
    Curious to know if Gilchrist is playing.
    Want to see better from the back up Oline especially Troutman who I've been very high on.
    Bront Bird I think should be decent.
    I wouldn't risk Allen who I also think could be a true star.
    Let Willie and DePalma play a lot of snaps and see what they can do.
    Nearly forgot cant wait to see Wright again, from reports of camp and the first game, it looks like we have a serious corner on our hands.

For some reason I've always liked Marshall, think its because he was an interception machine on madden.

Gets his hands on the ball in the NFL too, really like this signing.
    Will add depth at corner and compete straight away.

The first 10 are gone....

I'm disappointed Rock Baker is one of them. I'm thinking they might reckon letting him go now means he might get lost in the traffic and so we can sneak him back onto the PS. Other teams might not be looking at early cuts as much as they will late ones. He's been better than Michael Hill in the limited time he has got. Fozzy will be sticking.

http://www.chargers.com/news/article-1/Chargers-Trim-Roster-Release-10-Players/1f13441b-b9cc-4030-bd28-3afa63f8ecc2

Jaysus Double Ds, Willie and Gronk all to IR to get us to the 75. WTF?, Meachem might have to make the 53 at this stage. F me. And Tasker is still there too. Unreal.

I think Wilie and De Palma are 'injured'. Gronk has been pretty sh*t in limited snaps. Just saw the Arizona highlights. Some good stuff

It looks like Meachem will make the roster due to lack of options. Shame about DePalma and Willie, both had a good chance to contribute.

Our depth is a real issue for us this year, ILB is the only spot with quality depth i think.

Also just worth mentioning how good it was to see Taylor on the field and playing well, competition between him and Gilchrist is a major plus for us

Are DePalma and Willie injured or is it just an attempt to keep them on the team?
    I really like DePalma, made a great catch against Arizona but the refs gave it as incompletion but it was actually complete.

Was good to see Taylor looking decent so soon back.
    Cam Thomas is looking good, hopefully can get even better.
    Freeney and Johnson are surprisingly good too.
    Corners have looked a lot better, Cox made a great play on Fitzgerald.

I know I wanted us to draft the Honeybadger, more so for the crack and his big plays. After watching him against us, I wish we would use Gilchrist more like that. We use him now and again like that, his blitzing is great.

I think depth is decent, a lot better then I thought it would be especially at corner.
    I think we will sign another Nose tackle or versatile D-Linemen and a Olinemen.
    Starks looked better then he had previously but Im not sure about him at all.
    Looking forward to the final cuts, which previously imo was a non event under Norv.
    McCoy really is trying to get the best players.

I'm thinking both Willie and DePalma are carrying knocks but not injuries that would keep them out for the year. For some reason we've chosen to IR them to get to the 75 and give us the option of keeping them into 2014. Gronk I don't know about, McClain was a cut I was forecasting but I guess he probably has to stick now.

Agree great to see Taylor out there making tackles. We badly need some more beef on the D line. I'm not convinced by Geathers at all, he is too tall for me. And if we have to start someone like Scafe God help us, we are so thin on the D line.

Bright spots are Freeney, who looks like he still has plenty left, run blocking and Fozzy, and the potential in Sorensen.

Looking ahead of the game tonight and the final roster.
    Imo we are stronger at QB, HB, OLine, WR, TE, MLB and the whole defensive back unit.

QB because of the system hopefully helps Rivers, but Soresen looks a prospect and a legit one unlike Tolzien.
    HB, Ryan has looked the player he is meant to be and with the addition of Danny its a better unit then last year.
    WR, We didnt have Brown and Allan last year, that is an improvement over Meachem and Royal imo. The loss of Alexander could negate the addition of the two youngsters.
    OLine is clearly better then the mess last year, still not what we want but better, which was not very hard.
    TE is negligible like QB. Green is a player I really want to see tonight. Philips blocking has not been great so far.
    MLB is stacked, DJ Smith has impressed me, along with Bird and Gachkar.
    Defensive backs. Cason and Jammer would not start on this team. Including playing Jammer at safety.
    Marshall I love this guy, imo he starts in the slot. Wright and Cox have looked really comfortable.

Defensive line and OLB is a real worry. If they all stay healthy we should be fine though.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Looking ahead of the game tonight and the final roster.
    Imo we are stronger at QB, HB, OLine, WR, TE, MLB and the whole defensive back unit.

QB because of the system hopefully helps Rivers, but Soresen looks a prospect and a legit one unlike Tolzien.
    HB, Ryan has looked the player he is meant to be and with the addition of Danny its a better unit then last year.
    WR, We didnt have Brown and Allan last year, that is an improvement over Meachem and Royal imo. The loss of Alexander could negate the addition of the two youngsters.
    OLine is clearly better then the mess last year, still not what we want but better, which was not very hard.
    TE is negligible like QB. Green is a player I really want to see tonight. Philips blocking has not been great so far.
    MLB is stacked, DJ Smith has impressed me, along with Bird and Gachkar.
    Defensive backs. Cason and Jammer would not start on this team. Including playing Jammer at safety.
    Marshall I love this guy, imo he starts in the slot. Wright and Cox have looked really comfortable.

Defensive line and OLB is a real worry. If they all stay healthy we should be fine though.

Love it Rochey the glass is always half full for you man!!!!!

#OneCharge

Jaysus u shoulda heard Hank Bauer talking to Chris (dodo) Ello yesterday, talk about a homer. I reckon we can get to 8 & 8 if the D line holds up. And we find someone better than Clary, starting to fear the worst there at RG, he has been poor esp in pass protection which u would have thought he would be decent at.