If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Shane.C

I say, keep rivers for another 2 years, plug me in at QB for the year of Johnny Manziel's draft class and we get a serious QB! :P

BTW i love Rivers, one of my favorite QBs and my favorite Charger, I'm all for keeping him if he does what everyone knows he can do but no one player is bigger than the organisation and all that crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

He wont be getting cut, Philip has 3 years on his deal, if he dosent perform we will be looking at a LT and if Mathews cant stay healthy im sure HB will be a priority.

Rivers will be given time, at least two years maybe even until his contract expires in 2015.

He won't be given time, River's is not McCoy's or Telesco's guy, if he fails to perform this year he will be cut. San Diego has had a huge changeover in personal, there are no connections anymore, it's play good or you're not playing. Is River worth 15mill cap space, (near 10% of overall cap room) at age 32, with 3 poor season, I say no.

Shane.C wrote: »
    He won't be given time, River's is not McCoy's or Telesco's guy, if he fails to perform this year he will be cut. .

I would put anything on that not happening.

He won't be given time, River's is not McCoy's or Telesco's guy, if he fails to perform this year he will be cut. San Diego has had a huge changeover in personal, there are no connections anymore, it's play good or you're not playing. Is River worth 15mill cap space, (near 10% of overall cap room) at age 32, with 3 poor season, I say no.

Any chance you are John Gennaro, or watched his hangout last night?? :D

Always watch his hangouts, great insider guy. I don't agree with everything he has to say though, especially along the line of him ranting about the downfall of the team with no LT drafted, he seemed to cover himself in the latest video by saying a RT is a good option to take pressure off of Rivers with a better running game, and that's why I'm delighted with the Fluker pick and not too bothered about us chasing a LT in the draft.

Just watching it now and I was like did I not just hear this :D

Ye he is good, his hangouts are a great idea, seem to be gaining in popularity too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

If he plays bad this year you have to cut him, a franchise fanbase would be hugely disenchanted if we were to continue with a poor QB out of loyalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

John Gennaro is a terrible writer/speaker/whatever you want to call him. It's the other contributors on BFTB that make it. Also he has absolutely no inside information. The only reason he writes for BFTB was because he was the original guy. Guys like creanium, superduperboltman, sdnativeintx and Wonko left a while back are excellent contributors. The crap he's been going on about ZBS for the past few months sums up everything you need to know about him.

Talk of cutting rivers after this season is laughable. Both McCoy and Telesco have said he's one of the main reasons they took the job, they didn't want to be stuck with a rubbish QB.

Molly wrote: »
    John Gennaro is a terrible writer/speaker/whatever you want to call him. It's the other contributors on BFTB that make it. Also he has absolutely no inside information.

I find him ok, but the other writers on the site are a lot better, much better then UT anyways. Also who needs inside information to discuss the team? Kevin Acee we can see has none at the minute. Seemed like Jimmy Raye was his guy. UT has such poor content in comparison.
    The crap he's been going on about ZBS for the past few months sums up everything you need to know about him.

What crap would this be?

On another note, according to McKinnie twitter, he is boarding a plane which we would assume is to San Diego.

Talk of cutting rivers after this season is laughable. Both McCoy and Telesco have said he's one of the main reasons they took the job, they didn't want to be stuck with a rubbish QB.

So if rivers plays the same this year as the last two we stick with him? Of course the two guys are going to come in singing his praises, he's the face of the franchise and is definitely elite if plays at his best. But to think they won't try move on after 3years of him underperforming is naive, its a business and their jobs also depend on him playing well.
    Luckily i think mccoy will help him out lots and having a new coach with fresh ideas will see him re-emerge as one of the best in the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Where does all this Rivers has 1 more year talk come from?, I know Acee was spewing some BS a week or so ago but come on... not a chance. Provided we can block for him he should be fine. He's not getting any younger though so latest I see us finding his successor in the 2015 draft.

Jaysus lads we're not far off 20K views now... there are only a few teams ahead of us with a more popular thread, looks like Pats, Packers and Ravens are ahead.... Are we the 4th most active/supported in the Forum?, how cool is that?

John Gennaro is a terrible writer/speaker/whatever you want to call him. It's the other contributors on BFTB that make it. Also he has absolutely no inside information. The only reason he writes for BFTB was because he was the original guy. Guys like creanium, superduperboltman, sdnativeintx and Wonko left a while back are excellent contributors. The crap he's been going on about ZBS for the past few months sums up everything you need to know about him.

Are u really in Boston?, what must it be like being a BoltsHead in MA?

Yeah i'm really in Boston, I find a lot of patriots fans annoying, especially so because of Marlon McCree. Last time I watched a chargers pats game was equally as frustrating, lateral pass dropped and returned for a significant gain while most chargers players stood around thinking the play was dead. Goodman making a great play and then dropping the ball because he forgot the NFLhas different rules to college football, having a difficult field goal made even more difficult by a false start on the first attempt. Summed up the chargers under Norv for me.

OAOB; I never said you needed inside information to be decent. What I was getting at was Shane.C said John Gennaro was a great insider guy. He most certainly is not.

Rochey18, Gennaro was harping on about us moving to 100% ZBS for 2013 despite it being said that we'll run a mixture. He's also ran his mouth about Fluker not being a fit for ZBS despite Alabama running it quite a bit. He really has very little insight into anything.

Not so sure on McKinnie, feels like an older Gaither. Wouldn't want to be bitten twice

Marlon McCree what horrible play against the Pats :mad:

I do think he has a point on the ZBS, why bring in a guy that is know to be a "ZBS Guru" and then not use it.

Only reason I think we will not be fully going to the ZBS is that we don't have the pieces of the puzzle just yet.

McKinnie I think will be coming for Pennies compared to what we paid Gaithar, I would hope so any ways.

Yeah i'm really in Boston, I find a lot of patriots fans annoying, especially so because of Marlon McCree. Last time I watched a chargers pats game was equally as frustrating, lateral pass dropped and returned for a significant gain while most chargers players stood around thinking the play was dead. Goodman making a great play and then dropping the ball because he forgot the NFLhas different rules to college football, having a difficult field goal made even more difficult by a false start on the first attempt. Summed up the chargers under Norv for me.

OAOB; I never said you needed inside information to be decent. What I was getting at was Shane.C said John Gennaro was a great insider guy. He most certainly is not.

Rochey18, Gennaro was harping on about us moving to 100% ZBS for 2013 despite it being said that we'll run a mixture. He's also ran his mouth about Fluker not being a fit for ZBS despite Alabama running it quite a bit. He really has very little insight into anything.

Not so sure on McKinnie, feels like an older Gaither. Wouldn't want to be bitten twice

I went to the reg season game in Sept 2007. I said to myself at the time of the defeat in the playoffs earlier that year (see Marlon McCree) that I'd go back to see them beat at home. Instead we had our pants pulled down, it was an embarassment. The sinking feeling was made all the worse by some moronic Pats fans who liked to dance in front of us (there were 4 of us wearing blue n gold) when they scored. It was a **** experience.

It was amazing to see us back again in the Championship game later in the season where we played much better what with a QB on 1 leg and a hobbled LT.

It was great being considered a legitimate superbowl contender, it feels like we're about 2 years away from even getting back to that.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads we're not far off 20K views now... there are only a few teams ahead of us with a more popular thread, looks like Pats, Packers and Ravens are ahead.... Are we the 4th most active/supported in the Forum?, how cool is that?

We're miles ahead of all but the Pats really. The Broncos have more but loads of that was to do with Tebow. We've a seriously active thread so fair play for starting it Leslie, nearly a year old and at this rate we'll get about 11 seasons out of it.

Great talking Chargers football with you all, GO BOLTS!

Didn't know the full extent of who the inside guy was or is so thanks for the heads up Molly. I agree with OAOB, the Rivers era might soon be coming to an end if he plays as poor as he did these past two seasons.

What REALLY worries me is the lack of any sort of decent secondary, weren't we the worst pass defense in the league last year?!, delighted to get rid of cason and jammer, and get cox, but other than that we seem to be lost.

Starting Secondary:

FS - Eric Weddle
    SS- Gilchrist? (Taylor in week 6 apparently)

Outside DB - Cox and Wright?

Nickle - Steve Williams?

At the minute thats exactly what our starting secondary is going to look like.

But I would guess a few more guys are going to be added to the roster.

Welker will rip Williams a new one :O

Didn't know the full extent of who the inside guy was or is so thanks for the heads up Molly. I agree with OAOB, the Rivers era might soon be coming to an end if he plays as poor as he did these past two seasons.

What REALLY worries me is the lack of any sort of decent secondary, weren't we the worst pass defense in the league last year?!, delighted to get rid of cason and jammer, and get cox, but other than that we seem to be lost.

Starting Secondary:

FS - Eric Weddle
    SS- Gilchrist? (Taylor in week 6 apparently)

Outside DB - Cox and Wright?

Nickle - Steve Williams?

Don't count out Stuckey. Love him. Also Greg Gatson might just turn out to be something decent with a year behind him.

McKinnie stays in Baltimore

Seems like he played us and the Dolphins. Narrow escape if u ask me. Max Starks is still out there.

I'm not sure on how much of an upgrade starks is over dunlap to be honest..

Weddles is number 15 on PFF top 100 players https://www.profootballfocus.com/blog/2013/05/03/pffs-top-101-of-2012-20-to-11/

I'm not sure on how much of an upgrade starks is over dunlap to be honest..

Weddles is number 15 on PFF top 100 players https://www.profootballfocus.com/blog/2013/05/03/pffs-top-101-of-2012-20-to-11/

V good point. All the same I'd prefer to have both of them available to play LT. The drop off after an already not so great Dunlap is alarming. Having said that I'm hopeful Haslam might become something.

Sounds v much like Clary is fine moving to right guard. He might actually be better in that position than Vasquez funny enough.

Clary I think will make a good guard, he is a decent run blocker, and struggles with speed guys off the edge, something he wont have to deal with on the inside.

Starks I dont think would be an upgrade but the more bodies the better :D

McKinnie seems like tried us and Miami for a big contract didnt get it so went back to Baltimore and you cant blame us.

About time Weddle got some respect, poor form he didnt get into the pro bowl which he should have, best safety in the league imo.
    Although wouldnt be paying any attention to that list CJ Spiller?? :D

Also looks like TT is open to hard knocks maybe next year or year after, im sure they got a big offer with us drafting Te'o

This QB pick up is a bit out there isn't it?. When I first saw it I thought it was a ref to a very old signing. Those of you Boltheads the wrong side of 30 might remember Mark Herrmann back in the 80s. The new version is actually Mike Hermann who is supposed to be a very athletic 6'5" gun-slinger.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/football/zone-rpi-hermann-survives-avusive-father-nfl-shot-article-1.1335208