Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

OAOB wrote: »
    Think Gaither is due 6.5m if we keep him and 6m if we cut him, not much saving but i'd rather him gone, we're trying to build a team and he's not a team player.
    Not sure about Meachems contract, he hasn't performed at all but at least he seemed to care. If we're keeping him i'd hope we're cutting Royal at least, can't keep paying 2 unproductive receivers. I'd cut both and bring in a string of WRs for try outs, hopefully find another Alexander

I'd defo cut Royal, even when he was on the field which was v rarely he was ****e. I'd give Meachem a shot in a new O with a decent O line protecting 17. Gaither I dunno. I get the feeling the likes of Hardwick might make the decision on him ie. if Nick doesn't believe his heart is in it then dump his ass. Pity he robbed us blind but there you go, some say you could have predicted it, who's to know, it's not like we had another choice at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭Justin10

Meachem has 6 million is guaranteed money next year. Doubt he will be cut.

So Taylor looks set to start tonight, I think he is a fine rookie except for, he misses tackles a lot imo.

Also has come out that Tyronne Green and Ladarius Green are first cousins, and nobody knew except for them of course :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Eugh, just looking at the inactives ....:confused:

Didn't see the game. Pass run appears to have been dominant and DL will be scary next year with everyone that bit more experienced. Production from Larry English, he's looked good when he's gotten snaps. Would like to see SP95 not resigned given how bad he has been this year. Ingram has had a high Pass Rush Productivity (PFF) so hopefully he does a Liuget next year.

Cant believe this could be Jammers last game as a Charger :(

Sad to see Rivers and Turner getting emotional during their interview.

God we really blew it during the good years :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Sad to see Rivers and Turner getting emotional during their interview.

God we really blew it during the good years :(

Any links? Good read here:

http://www.utsandiego.com/news/2012/dec/29/philip-rivers-im-sick-i-didnt-play-better/
    Philip Rivers accepts his role as quarterback.

He touches the ball on every play. He is the one making decisions with the football in hand.

So, this year, like any other, he takes responsibility.

Football season in San Diego ends Sunday when the Chargers host the Raiders at 1:25 p.m. It will be the last game of Norv Turner's tenure.

Rivers is in his seventh year as starting quarterback. His head coach has mentored him for the past six.

“I'm sick I didn't play better,” Rivers, 31, said, “and not just for the coaching reason but for everybody. You play for your guys. You play for the team. You play for the town.

“It stinks that it's come to what may be. I do think there can be a heck of a lot said for the guys that are experiencing it — it can be harder to grasp from the outside — but to go out the right way. We get that chance on Sunday.”

It's been a mess for the Chargers offense.

The starting left tackle situation has gone from Jared Gaither in training camp to Michael Harris to Gaither to Harris to Gaither to Harris to Kevin Haslam to Harris to, for Sunday's game, back to Haslam.

When this carousel began, Haslam was in training camp with the Raiders.

The receiving corps spent half the season in slow transition at the receiver spot Vincent Jackson vacated. Even now, the Chargers are only beginning to get a good look at a healthy Eddie Royal.

The running game struggled. Rivers made untimely turnovers, which he's begun to curtail with one interception over his past five games.

It is too late for Rivers to plead Turner's case to stay, knowing the judge has ruled, only the announcement left to come.

But he can analyze the season that's been.

“The things that kept us from success this year,” Rivers said with a chuckle, “coaching is not high on the list, if anywhere to be honest. We all have our roles. I didn't live up to mine. Everybody has a hand in it. I'm not diminishing the coaching role by any means because it's huge in terms of all the success we've had.

“But we've had our chances as players out there. I've had my chances.”

Turner has built life-long relationships with some he's coached.

In Dallas, he grew close to quarterback Troy Aikman and backup Jason Garrett, who are both family friends.

A bond was built with Rivers, too.

“If it is the end, it's been a heck of a run,” Rivers said. “From a coach-player standpoint, I guess, it will come to an end, but from a relationship standpoint, it will go forever.

“These are all what-ifs, and I'm not trying to be naive, either, but he would be a guy I would talk to during the game week, I see, for the rest of my career whether he's here or not. He'd be a guy where, right on Friday, I'd say, 'OK, Coach. I've got this and that. We're running this.' We'll always be close.”

Ye here is the link Rivers at the end.

Turner and Rivers Interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Ye here is the link Rivers at the end.

Turner and Rivers Interview

Cheers for that. Certainly seems like the end of an era there. Must be tough for everyone having Turner there for 6 years and then him inevitably moving on. As Rivers said, over 100 games is a heck of a long time.

Ye hard on Rivers with Turner also being the Offensive Coordinator.

Exciting times but would of loved Turner as an OC instead of head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

So Spanos's son is currently the head of college scouting (Oh dear) and is set for more responsibility in the new regime.

Spanos is taking over from his father on day to day running of team.
    Dont see much of a problem with that, hopefully stays away from GM position.

God with how poor we have been this year we ended up being so close but so far away.

Saints Denver and Browns games killed the season :mad:

Very excited, cant believe talk of not keeping Jammer, I highly doubt he going get decent money so just keep him let him compete.

Looks like he isn't taking over from Dean just yet and his role hasn't been disclosed yet.

We have been granted permission to interview Tom Gamble for GM position who holds same position currently held by Jimmy Raye with us.

I would still be shocked if Raye doesn't get the job.

We have also requested to interview Marc Ross the director of college scouting for NY Giants.

Another to the list is Denver Broncos Director of Player Personnel Matt Russell, Denver refused us permission.

Looking forward to following the GM/HC hunt.

Norv's presser had my blood boiling. The gall to stand up there and blame everything on the front office. He seemed to take sweet FA for his piss poor coaching, game mgmt etc.

Good effin riddance I say. He is not even a decent O coordinator any more imho. He can F right off.

Really disliked the comment that was along the lines of 'We got every bit we could out of these players'

Molly wrote: »
    Really disliked the comment that was along the lines of 'We got every bit we could out of these players'

Exactly, he did in his arse.

Did we lead the league in delay of game penos?, we must have. This guy is supposed to be classy and all that. That last presser was a disgrace, standing there with his SB ring advertising his wares. I know some team will be stupid enough to give him an OC position but never again should he get a sniff of a HC gig.

I couldn't believe that contrast in the interviews between Norv and Smith.

Anyway enough about him :D

Some top candidates being interviewed for GM role. Who ever we choose from that crop of candidates really is the best GM for us.

As for HC I hear we like Bill O'Brien. David Shaw in Stanford is also a real hot commodity but both these guys will cost $$.

I'd like to see us go for one of those coordinators eg. Bradley in Seattle or Horton or Zimmer.

David Shaw just signed a new contract with Standford so I'm guessing he doesn't want to leave, also college coaches I don't think are worth the gamble.

If we get Gamble as our new GM then it would make sense that our new head coach would be Vic Fangio.

That would result in need a new offensive play caller.

At lease we are interview top candidates in the NFL for GM role.

What about the available FAs lads?, who do you like?.......

http://www.rotoworld.com/articles/nfl/42077/309/nfl-free-agent-master-list-13

I'd only look at O linemen in FA. Would not be all that interested in Loadholt. I'd love Clady but know we have no shot there, probably the same for Long. Vollmer the German might be interesting. Britton, listed as a Guard played Tackle in college if I recall correctly. He could be one to watch.

I still want one of those young OTs coming in the draft though over a corner.

Can Osi be a 3-4 end I'm not so sure?, Barwin or Spencer could be nice adds esp if we lose SP and dump English. Goldson at safety would be an upgrade over what we have there save Weddle.

We are very tight this year with cap space.

Imo we should keep Philips, he is a very good OLB for the money he would cost to keep.
    I expect very little from free agency this year with the cap space.

We are very tight this year with cap space.

Imo we should keep Philips, he is a very good OLB for the money he would cost to keep.
    I expect very little from free agency this year with the cap space.

I agree esp if he's good value in terms of cap hit.

He was absolutely rubbish this year and just took snaps away from others.

9.5 sacks from a guy that was rubbish?

Not saying he was brilliant but he was good and I would guess he wont cost a huge amount to keep.

You mean SP right?, I wouldn't go that far and call him rubbish. If he'll come back knowing he'll be sharing snaps and so needs to make the most out of every play then I'm all for bringing him back.

Really surprised at Jammer basically saying he is finished in SD. I wonder what gives him that impression considering there will be a new GM and HC. Surely they will make that decision, not him?

Jammes was in tears after the Raiders game. He said last year was worst in his career.
    Only reason I can think he is convinced he is leaving, is that he wants to get out of San Diego and get his life together.

I think he would be a really good safety, and will start some where in the league.
    Maybe in Dallas who are in need of safeties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Late getting here today so just summarise my opinions on a few things;

AJ showed a lot of dignity and class leaving
    Norv did not but in fairness he's trying to shop himself around so he's not going to take any of the blame
    Really like the idea of Ron Wolf consulting on the GM appointment. Jimmy Raye probably has it but at least he'll have to impress someone who doesn't know him.

Philips has 9.5 sacks but he never produces a game changing play, if he's cheap bring him back but not as a starter. OLBs should be Ingram, JJ and Barnes anyway. I actually think English finished the season strong, when he finally saw the field he was alright. Between Philips and English i'd bring back whichever is cheaper and use a 3rd or 4th round pick.

Jammer was great for us but if he's any future it's as a SS and Taylors injury is the only reason he might stay in San Diego. From reading about him i'd say he'll do whatever is best for his relationship with his kids

Sacks aren't the whole story. Also a number of 'his' sacks were hitting a qb as they were all but sacked anyway. He pretty much got zero pressure outside of those sacks and wasn't his usual self against the run either. He was flat out not good consistently grading negatively/poorly in the second half of the season.

OAOB wrote: »
    Late getting here today so just summarise my opinions on a few things;

AJ showed a lot of dignity and class leaving
    Norv did not but in fairness he's trying to shop himself around so he's not going to take any of the blame
    Really like the idea of Ron Wolf consulting on the GM appointment. Jimmy Raye probably has it but at least he'll have to impress someone who doesn't know him.

Philips has 9.5 sacks but he never produces a game changing play, if he's cheap bring him back but not as a starter. OLBs should be Ingram, JJ and Barnes anyway. I actually think English finished the season strong, when he finally saw the field he was alright. Between Philips and English i'd bring back whichever is cheaper and use a 3rd or 4th round pick.

Jammer was great for us but if he's any future it's as a SS and Taylors injury is the only reason he might stay in San Diego. From reading about him i'd say he'll do whatever is best for his relationship with his kids

Pretty much agree with all of this but I'd rather English over SP based on how English finished the season (stupid hitting the punter penalty aside)