Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Hahahahaha, you deserved it:D:D

The polo morphed into this last night somehow. Think it was Santa, or the easter bunny or one of those fellas!

Wait im slightly confused, is it these kind of post or what kind of posts are you reffering to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've been cycling to work for the last 4 days with the car out of action, i miss it like crazy. :(

I was just thinking that I have driven my car pretty much every single day for the last 4 years, bar a two week holiday in 2008. It feels weird not being able to go anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Timing belt kit (roller + belt) and lower engine mount got for the 406, woot! :D

Can anyone point me where to get a set of these, in 17 guise cheap? Or if anyone wants to do a swap! For the, er, same car...
    spider.jpg

Or one of these!
    Pic023.jpg

Because out of my parts bin I don't have either of those! :rolleyes:

I usually do a running theme with my motors, I wonder can people see where this is going... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

am i the only one who thinks that paying 8keu for a twincam is pure lunacy? :rolleyes:

there are few of them for sale and all with such prices. for 8k you can get an awesome modern sports car. or get mx5 for less then half, which will do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

am i the only one who thinks that paying 8keu for a twincam is pure lunacy? :rolleyes:

there are few of them for sale and all with such prices. for 8k you can get an awesome modern sports car. or get mx5 for less then half, which will do the same.

Somebody needs to let them know its not 2005 again! They are not a favourite of insurance companies either..

I'm old enough to remember when they went for feck all :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

RoverJames wrote: »

So what cars now that no one wants, will turn into the twincams of tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Automatic Polos......:pac:

Yeah I know, Banned :D

good question.

i presume any JAP performance stuff will sooner or later go up in price. remember that new tax system destroyed anything that is not diesel, so anything that is petrol and has few HP is not for irish market. so the only cars that are somewhat sporty with new band: 335/335d 535/535d.

The maintenance costs on them diesels will make them fairly worthless in time me thinks.

thats a good point too, but to those who want something fast, wount have much options.

Leaf 3 Phase Energiser :pac:

Im just wondering, where do you wire spreaks to that would be on the back shelf?

(If its a stupid question, dont bother answering it...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

I bought one for £2.5k (16+ years ago) and I know someone who bought one last year for £13:eek: in fairness it was immaculate, but still.

I got a run in his about a month ago and it brought all the memories back, so easy to put them sideways.:D

I bought one for £2.5k (16+ years ago) and I know someone who bought one last year for £13:eek: in fairness it was immaculate, but still.

I got a run in his about a month ago and it brought all the memories back, so easy to put them sideways.:D

for 13k £ anything can be put to go sideways easy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Im just wondering, where do you wire spreaks to that would be on the back shelf?

(If its a stupid question, dont bother answering it...)

are you adding an extra set of speakers or are they part of the factory setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

for 13k £ anything can be put to go sideways easy...

Very true, my 2.5k one went sideways very easy all those years ago:p

sean1141 wrote: »
    are you adding an extra set of speakers or are they part of the factory setup?

Adding them, Im just not sure where to wire them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Adding them, Im just not sure where to wire them to.

The headunit.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    The headunit.

Emmmm... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Your actual stereo.

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Your actual stereo.

Is that in the boot?

LOL! :D

LOL! :D

Ive no idea what ye mean. :(

Im only using this thread to learn stuff about cars.
    Sorry, for not knowing everything...:mad:

The headunit.
    Your actual stereo.
    Is that in the boot?
    Ive no idea what ye mean. :(

Im only using this thread to learn stuff about cars.
    Sorry, for not knowing everything...:mad:

220px-Sony_MEX-BT2500_Xplod_Bluetooth_stereo_head_unit_illuminated.jpeg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Head_unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Is that in the boot?

It might be in the boot, depending on your car. When you want to change the radio station, where are the buttons? Are they in the boot, because they are attached to your stereo.

So its the CD player/radio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Nobody is as daft as this guy constantly makes himself out to be. And all the "I'm only learning" lines do not excuse that.

sorry lads, total off topic, but this was the most awesome advertising i ever seen. it was on main page, so i had to click it.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/machinery/3360347

Back to feckin' work tomorrow after a week off! :mad:

That reminds I need petrol so have to get up ten minutes earlier too. :(