Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Starting my driving lessons on thursday at 12.30 This will be fun. :o

Oh-god-this-is-awkward.gif

I thought you were already driving? Or is this so you can do the test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Got talking to a chap the other day with a lovely E220 Cdi estate in black with all the bits and pieces.

His 3 year old had just drawn a Smiley face on his rear quarter with a stone :eek:

Grounded the young lad for three days, and when he was let out after the third day he went out and proceeded to draw a mustache on said smiley face!

Ah jaysus,

sounds like its wooden spoon time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Got talking to a chap the other day with a lovely E220 Cdi estate in black with all the bits and pieces.

His 3 year old had just drawn a Smiley face on his rear quarter with a stone :eek:

Grounded the young lad for three days, and when he was let out after the third day he went out and proceeded to draw a mustache on said smiley face!

That's why I am master at pulling out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I thought you were already driving? Or is this so you can do the test?

Well I have the learners permit before the new rules came in. My learners permit is expired early next month. So it will be my second learners permit. So I have to do the test. To pass and get the full licence or fail :( so I can renew it again. I really hope I pass though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I actually want to shake that kids hand !

Sure the damage was done ! Fair dues !!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

usually when the local atlas in drumcondra Is closed the lights are off, shutters down and doors locked.

so standing outside looking in the windows and the shutter and ringing the office numbed isint going to open it.

wonder what they will do. (confused looking couple)

also AA man playing with the car in the car park thinks the same.

also what's this tesco metro crap ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Some of you may have seen this on farcebook...

Basically when I blow the horn when the car is off, it sets the fans off....

And this is what's replacing my van, in just over a week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Well I have the learners permit before the new rules came in. My learners permit is expired early next month. So it will be my second learners permit. So I have to do the test. To pass and get the full licence or fail :( so I can renew it again. I really hope I pass though. :)

At least you're doing it at a sensible age; I waited til I was 36 and wished I'd driven earlier, just love the freedom. My 42 year old brother still hasn't started driving a car despite having had a learners permits for 15 or more years and had two cars registered in his name! He's had two lessons - me supervising him. THe scooter is the worst thing he ever found, allows him to keep putting off driving a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

usually when the local atlas in drumcondra Is closed the lights are off, shutters down and doors locked.

so standing outside looking in the windows and the shutter and ringing the office numbed isint going to open it.

Sorry man - I haven't a breeze what you're talking about! :eek:

dgt wrote: »

French electrics - gotta love 'em! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Sorry man - I haven't a breeze what you're talking about! :eek:

the atlas you know is closed now but there's a couple still standing outside trying to get in. but you can clearly see it's closed with shutters and llocks etc........ and these people drive :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Marcusm wrote: »
    At least you're doing it at a sensible age; I waited til I was 36 and wished I'd driven earlier, just love the freedom. My 42 year old brother still hasn't started driving a car despite having had a learners permits for 15 or more years and had two cars registered in his name! He's had two lessons - me supervising him. THe scooter is the worst thing he ever found, allows him to keep putting off driving a car.

Mate, the freedom is the best part indeed. The idea of been able to drive on the motorway then taking a longer alternitave route make it worth it for me. I put the driving lessons/test off for 6 months so far. So its time to give it a go. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

Good luck:p, u selliing the van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Haha that is so funny :p

Rich11 wrote: »
    Good luck:p, u selliing the van

Nope, never! My projects usually get destroyed by me. For pride purposes...

Take my old car for example...
    58744_154140781272045_896496_n.jpg

Pisstake exhaust :pac::pac::pac:

And a few months later...
    167354_188300327856090_7711212_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thats some ariel on the rear Mal.... :pac:

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Thats some ariel on the rear Mal.... :pac:

Not part of the cb brigade with it either :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

the atlas you know is closed now but there's a couple still standing outside trying to get in. but you can clearly see it's closed with shutters and llocks etc........ and these people drive :O

You wouldn't believe how many times I've been standing in the car park yapping with one of the other lads with place locked up and people will pull in and ask for work to be done....and then look at you strangely when you 'point out' that the garage is closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Not part of the cb brigade with it either :pac::pac::pac:

Whats your 20 Rog......:D

Message received, willco.....

Ah fiddles :P:pac:

At your back door good buddy! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

You wouldn't believe how many times I've been standing in the car park yapping with one of the other lads with place locked up and people will pull in and ask for work to be done....and then look at you strangely when you 'point out' that the garage is closed.

As a chef I get/used to that a lot: closing time 22:00 and someone jumps in 22:05 and orders starters well done steak and then wil go for deserts.... You fat *pyp*
    Thanks god I don't do night service anymore, I am a baker now! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    At your back door good buddy! :eek::eek::eek:

Didn't know you swung that way :pac:

I worked here for a little while. The amount of arseholes coming in at 2 minutes to 1, wanting a fill of diesel. Just as we were closing for lunch.

The worst ever was a lorrey that was nearly empty, on his way to Denmark. Looking back, I should have refused to fill it at the time :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I had this too on saturday evening, was closing the furniture store at 4 to go to one of the bosses wedding reception/dinner and had a sign up saying closed at 4 and this woman walks in as im on the way out at 20 past as i had to talk to a neighbour who bought a dining table and chairs off me and was paying.

She walks in and i say mobile phone car keys and store key in hand all lights switched off that "Im awfully sorry but we are closed as i have to go to a wedding" (im dressed in full formal wear) when she says "Oh thats grand" and swans past me saying she is just going to look at some carpet.

35 minutes later and after saying 5-6 times "Oh im sorry to be so rude holding you up but im sure you don't mind" she finally leaves after buying nothing and complaining about prices.

I swear i could have strangled her :confused:

I know, sure I do see you saying it to them and all that.

I've had to tell them myself a few times cos I park in yours a lot.

their not fully there me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

I worked here for a little while. The amount of arseholes coming in at 2 minutes to 1, wanting a fill of diesel. Just as we were closing for lunch.

The worst ever was a lorrey that was nearly empty, on his way to Denmark. Looking back, I should have refused to fill it at the time :mad:

Did I see you hooring up the Kingscourt road in Navan at about 16.50?

Maybe.... Whereabouts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Maybe.... Whereabouts?

I was coming from Kingscourt into Navan. So for me it was just before Stewarts Crash Repairs.

Around here somewhere? I was stuck behind a very slow Astra and there was a silver 02 MN Audi A4 behind me with fogs on, iirc