Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due October 2012

• 17-04-2012 10:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭

Woohoo!

16th October 2012 is our EED. My OH is 14 weeks pregnant now, I can't wait!

The 1st scan was last week, it was amazing to see baby moving around, it makes it so real being able to see him/her and moving around and the heartbeat on the screen. All looks good at the moment so a big relief there, looking forward tot he next scan in 2 months.

Went to the fair then in the RDS at the weekend to see what we were in for, I didn't notice any of the stands selling earplugs though...!

Anyone else here in the October boat?

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Iggie

EED for us is Oct 10. I agree that the first scan was a real jaw dropping moment, esp the heartbeat

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭messynessie

Our EDD is 23rd/24th October (debate as baby refused to lay flat in scan haha)
    We were at the baby show in the RDS too and OH has also commented on the lack of earplugs on sale lol :)

Iggy I agree the hearteat was amazing! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Hope83

Hi everyone, I'm due the 23rd also. I had my scan at 10 weeks and was measuring 5 days ahead but the midwife said to keep my original date. As I am opting for the Midwife Led Care so was told that was my 1 and only scan. As my cousin had a big headed baby (compared to her body size) we have decided to get a private scan between 30 weeks and our due date to ensure everything is ok (my OH was a big baby). I do trust the midwives though. I'm now 13+4 days and my belly is starting to round up especially noticeable in the evenings but I'm loving it. I'm also enjoying walking every day more than I used to. I'm starting a new job Monday week so I'd say I'll feel alot more tired then!Sorry getting a bit carried away here introducing myself!!!
    I do have one question though. At my hospital visit I was told to visit my G.P at 16 weeks. I'm just wondering does anyone know what happens at this visit and is it ok for OH to come??? (He has been away since just after I found out I'm pregnant so wants to come to this)

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭scaryfairy

hi,

my edd was 8 Oct, now I think revised to 6 Oct. It's our first, so very excited and quite nervous at the same time!

Hope83: I am sure your OH can join you at the GP visit (I think I don't need to do one of these, have to check though!), my husband was with me at all but one appointments.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭scaryfairy

hey Ladies

how is everyone? yesterday I had these terrible sharp pains in my side all day, and some sort of cramping, too.. when googled it came across the round ligament thingy but it says that it normally only lasts a few seconds... will the the sharp sharp pain did go away quite quickly but had pains for quite a while, for hours... now I am grand..
    have you had this sort of experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Hi guys,I've been hanging around this forum for a few weeks but haven't posted yet my oh is pregnant with our first and were due the 28th of october.Excited,anxious,scared all at the same time.Been to 2 scans now one private and one in the hospital so far so good the scans really make it sink in when you get to see it in there living and growing away. My OH also Had sharp pains in her side she was told that it is just her womb stretching and that it will fade so don't worry!

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭jakeypooh

Im due october 29 so 15 weeks now
    Haven't had a scan since 10 weeks and am feeling great all day nausea gone so don't really feel pregnant if that makes sense
    Starting to buy a few bits now tho, did the Aldi baby event today

Hope83 wrote: »
    Hi everyone, I'm due the 23rd also. I had my scan at 10 weeks and was measuring 5 days ahead but the midwife said to keep my original date. As I am opting for the Midwife Led Care so was told that was my 1 and only scan. As my cousin had a big headed baby (compared to her body size) we have decided to get a private scan between 30 weeks and our due date to ensure everything is ok (my OH was a big baby). I do trust the midwives though. I'm now 13+4 days and my belly is starting to round up especially noticeable in the evenings but I'm loving it. I'm also enjoying walking every day more than I used to. I'm starting a new job Monday week so I'd say I'll feel alot more tired then!Sorry getting a bit carried away here introducing myself!!!
    I do have one question though. At my hospital visit I was told to visit my G.P at 16 weeks. I'm just wondering does anyone know what happens at this visit and is it ok for OH to come??? (He has been away since just after I found out I'm pregnant so wants to come to this)

Heya prob a bit late but my OH came with me to my 15 week visit to GP, she just took a urine sample and my BP and asked how I was so I'm sure no issue with your OH going with you! :)
    scaryfairy wrote: »
    hey Ladies

how is everyone? yesterday I had these terrible sharp pains in my side all day, and some sort of cramping, too.. when googled it came across the round ligament thingy but it says that it normally only lasts a few seconds... will the the sharp sharp pain did go away quite quickly but had pains for quite a while, for hours... now I am grand..
    have you had this sort of experience?

Sounds like it is probably round ligament pain, I've started getting it too and it's so uncomfortable!
    jakeypooh wrote: »
    Im due october 29 so 15 weeks now
    Haven't had a scan since 10 weeks and am feeling great all day nausea gone so don't really feel pregnant if that makes sense
    Starting to buy a few bits now tho, did the Aldi baby event today

Great to hear the nausea is gone! :) I totally forgot the Aldi event was on today! Must pop down tomorrow and hope there's some stuff left!

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭hazeler

Hi all! I'm due 30th of October- almost 21 weeks now and just had an "entertainment scan" to determine the sex.

We went privately as Limerick Maternity don't do 20 week check up scans, just one at 12 weeks and one at 31 weeks. I was sent over to the maternity by my doctor for an ECG due to rapid heart palpitations and shortness of breath and they sent me down for an US. In between me throwing up and the scan I just asked could she tell what it was yet, just out of curiosity and she said "yes, but I won't tell you as you are here as an emergency case". "You can ask again at 31 weeks". Those were the only words she said to me. The mid-wifes in admissions were not much nicer and one told me it was "ridciulous I was in the maternity for an ECG- they are not a cardiac care unit"!! Such wonderful caring staff on that day- made me feel so much better! :p

Nevertheless, we went private and found out... We're having a boy! :D This is my second baby, my first, a girl, will be 11 years old (ya, I know we're mad!) when this little one is born!

Still dying with morning, evening, all day long sickness/nausea! But getting some better I guess... half way there really so can't complain too much! Just thought I'd pop in and say hello :)

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭jakeypooh

Welcome and sorry your feeling sick still, its an awful feeling

Huge congrats on finding out the sex, you must be chuffed.
    Were leaving it a surprise for now anyway, have the 22 week scan at end of month and had the 18 week scan last week so got to see it again, it has grown massively since the scan at 10 weeks, could see the face and feet, really makes it seem real then

This October thread is soo quiet in comparision to others there must be feck all people due in October

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭beefjerky

Congrats hazeler!

We had the scan there on Wed, 21 weeks. We are going to keep it a surprise too as its the 1st, although we nearly cracked on Wednesday!

jakeypooh i agree with you there, it was mental seeing how much growth there had been and the feet too! Little fecker was hopping around like a mad thing, it was great to see and the sonographer was saying "I'll have to come back to that part, the baby is moving too much" haha.

OH is fine, only a bit of nausea, no sickness at all, very lucky! And all looked well on the scan, wasn't really thinking about it before, but it's great to have the scan and see everything is going as it should. Looking forward to being able to feel the movements from the outside, should be soon enough.

yeah it is real quiet in here alright... hope everyone is well anyway!

Congrats Hazeler :)

Our next scan is Monday and can't wait!! I'll be 20+6, had the first one at 12+6 so will be interesting to see how different baby looks!! :)

It is very quiet in here altogether! I'm finding October threads quiet on any boards I've gone to so I'd say there's not many due same time as us haha :)

Baby is kicking like mental these days and you can feel and see it from the outside as of this past few days but the boyfriend has yet to manage to feel it he has seen it happen, put his hand on my stomach and then the baby stops til he takes his hand away again haha :)

Hope everyone is doing well! :)

Awh thanks guys!

I have noticed it is super quiet in here! We're just back frm signing up for our antenatal classes and everyone there, I swear, was nearly ready to explode. My "looks like I've eaten a big dinner" sized bump was shameful in comparison! :D

Are you all first time parents in here? It's very exciting for us... with so long inbetween it's like starting all over again. Which it is really! I (hopefully!) will have a daughter graduating university and a young fella graduating primary school! There's timing for you!

It's our first :) Can't wait! :)
    I feel massive sometimes but then see other ladies and feel tiny :D

When are ya meant to book in for antenatal classes?

They told us that you had to have booked in before you are 20 weeks... so in true Irish fashion I turned up at almost 21 weeks!! But it was grand the mid-wife was a dote. I had serious "small bump issues" there and she was like that's because all that lot are almost due... She said most of them wont make it the whole way through the classes as they'll have given birth! :eek:

It's through the maternity that we are doing ours but I have seen notices up for one on one and more private sessions, prob have to pay for those though!

Congrats too messynessie on your first! It really is very exciting! :)

Ah see I remember going to ones with my sister with her first because she didn't want to go alone and I was sure she was pretty far along haha :)
    I may ring the number the hospital gave me at booking in and see what they say. Don't want to leave it too late but would rather spread things out haha :)

Had our scan yesterday and all looking good, placenta a little low she said so I have to go back for another scan at 32 weeks.

I tell ya there were bumps if all sizes at the scan clinic yesterday haha :) I had bup envy for most of the time but there were a good few teeny bumps too :)

We also got a referral to foetal heart specialists in Holles Street because of my partners medical history and risk of congenital heart defect. Anyone been there? I know most likely they won't be able to confirm anything anyway with the type of defect it is but wasn't gonna turn down the offer of extra checks to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 cfit

I have been watching this thread for the past couple of months. Can't believe how quiet it is :) My due date is 17th Oct. First baby, we are very excited.
    Had first scan at 14 weeks, I'm going with the MLU in Cavan General so we will have no more scans, but this doesn't worry me so long as everything is OK.

There are a serious amount of people near me due in Oct so i expected more activity on here, maybe we are all the shy type hehe! Well it took me long enough to post.

I feel good at the moment, still tired alot but no sickness. Starting to get a bit of back pain so have booked myself in for massages :)

I hope everyone else is doing well, its great feeling the little kicks isn't it??

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Longfordian in London

Have been reading various threads about parenting etc for the last couple of months and finally a due in October thread .
    My partner and I are due on 20th of Octoer with our first ... have been like a rabbit in headlights reading up on various books and trying to be as much of a support to her as I can. We had our 22 week scan last Friday ....and after a nervy half hr during the scan , where the person giving the scan , gave us a very thorough scan , but very little feedback while they were carrying out the scan ... my nerves were shot !!!
    Anyway , everything is healthy and both Mum and Baby are flying it !
    I felt my first kick on Sunday morning , for any expecting father , it is a wonderful moment , spending my evenings singing and talking to my partners stomach trying to get another kick !! .....
    Best of luck to all , and will post on how we are getting on throughout the process !

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Lac21

Hi everyone,
    Loved reading all the posts on this thread.
    I'm due baby number 2 on October 30th.
    We're so excited. Took us a long time to get here. Almost 3 years!!
    We have a son who will be 5 in July. So excited for him to have a brother or sister.
    Have scan next week so I'm very tempted to find out the sex.
    This pregnancy is v different from my first. With my ds, I vomited practically every single day. Even the day before I went into labour! This time it passed at 14 wks.
    I also had some unexplained bleeding this time at 8 and 13 wks. Had scan both times and everything looked fine. Completely freaked me out though. I'm getting nervous about scan next wk now......
    Looking forward to hearing more about how you are all progressing as the weeks go on:-)

Hurray for the new posters and their October babys! :)

Lac21 our due date is October 30th too :D We can be dates twins! I am hoping he arrives then and not into November. Hallowe'en is an awesome time for Birthdays (I think!) Fancy dress every year :)

Husband felt the first kick last night, it was a pretty agressive one too. Champ is getting tough and strong really quickly! He's constantly moving which is super but sometimes, especially when I can't get comfy to sleep, I wish he'd just quit it! ;)

Has anybody cracked the getting over nausea feelings yet? I'm sure most of you have come out of that stage but mine is still rampant! Any unusual, not the normal, ginger biscuits, sea sickness bracelets etc ideas you have heard off. I'll try anything at this stage! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Hope83

Hi all, I'm due the 23rd Oct and apologise for not having any input into this thead at all! Im feeling great at the moment although tired in the evenings. cfit I'm also from Cavan and am going with the MLU in Cavan! I had my midwife appointment last week and she said I was measuring a "good 21 weeks" which was a week ahead at the time. Not going to change my due date though. Just for your information i was told that we will have another scan at 32 weeks to check the location of the placenta. I think there was an issue which arose in the hospital recently about not giving women who are with the MLU another scan so they have brought it back in.
    I was doing yoga in Cavan up until a few weeks ago but she has finished up. Im hoping to start going again in Kells but have to book in yet.
    I have been feeling really tight around my lower stomach in the evenings which I presume is muscle stretching. I have been very small up until the past couple of days and now I can finally say I have the start of a bump :)
    SO EXCITED!!!!! (but scared)

Hazeler anything icy really helped me like Mr Freezes and ice pops. Really seetled my stomach.

Hazeler, I was thinking the same thing about Hallowe'en parties. Would be great for games, dress up and all the rest.
    On the nausea, I tried all the usual stuff but nothing worked. I do agree with messynessie on the ice though. Mr freeze have these new smoothies. They come in an orange box and you freeze them when you get home. I also made ice cubes out of orange juice. They were my saviour at night time. I really feel for you, still having it at this stage. I couldn't believe it when mine passed so early this time.
    Let us know how you get on.
    Also, has anyone had the diabetes test done? I'm scheduled to have one in July. I have PCOS, so gynae suggested it.
    I'm assuming it's a blood test?

Lac I am due to have the glucose tolerance test at the end of July. Not looking forward to it but has to be done. My midwife wants me to do it because my mam and nan are diabetic.
    If you're doing the same as I am you fast from the night before turn up in the morning give a blood sample then drink a really sugary drink they give you and sit still and they take blood every hour for 2-3 hours depending on the hospital.

Apparently not very nice but bring a book or something to keep you occupied and bring a snack or something to eat as soon as you're finished as you'll be feeling pretty pants after. That's the only info I've gotten so far!

Thanks so much for that information, messyn. I should have realised that it would be more than a simple blood test.
    Sounds like it might be a long day. The letter says to fast from 12 midnight. Not looking forward to the hunger pangs!

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭SupaDupaFly

Hi girls,
    I post in the September forum but am due the 30th so will prob have an October baby :)

Just wanted to say I had my Glucose Test today. I had to fast from 12 last night. In at 8:30 this morning. Took bloods, gave me 484mls of original lucozade to drink. Then sat in waiting room for an hour. Repeated my bloods. Sent out for another hour and then repeated bloods again. All in all took 2 hours and 15 mins. Not as bad as I imagined. Although I ate a sandwich when I got out and puked everywhere!

If results are normal I won't hear anything until my next scan. If I fail the test they will ring me to organise meeting with diabetic team. Fingers crossed I don't hear from them!

Good luck x

Hi Hope83, Good to hear MLU now have the 2nd scan :)
    I run a gym here in Belturbet, my Yoga instructor has also stopped for the summer hoping to get her back here in August i miss it so much.

I'm keeping myself active by walking the dog most days and i still teach fitness classes like Step Aerobics and Toning classes. Keeps me on my toes and proves to the fitness centre members that you do not have to discontinue exercise if you have a normal pregnancy.

Have an awful headache coming on here as i'm sitting at work! I'm here till 8pm this eve I hope it doesn't get much worse :( Any recommendations on what I can take for them?

Yeah Lac I'm not looking forward to the hunger either! As it is by 12 I've had breakfast and a light lunch these days so going without food altogether til then won't sit well!

Supadupafly thanks for sharing your experience! :) Fx'd for you that you get the all clear :)

Cfit fair play to ya for keeping up the classes :) As for the headaches I know they say the occasional paracetamol is ok but I tend to stick with just water fresh air and then rest.

Thanks messienessie. Ended up having to call someone in to cover the last hour of my shift. Drank loads of water and went to bed... Seemed to have worked. I have the weekend off so my plan is to do nothing :D have a good one everyone.

Good to hear :) Have a great weekend everyone :)