Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Household Charge Mega-Thread [Part 2] *Poll Reset*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

How do you know these facts ? Not great on the old computer.

Click on the number of posts on the AH list of threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

For anyone who wants to know, especially dv.

The five people who phil brought with him on the junket to Rio are;

1. Mr John McCarthy. Assistant Secretary General.
    2. Mr Pat Macken. Principle Officer.
    3. Ms Yvonne Hyland. Press Officer.
    4. Mr. Dominick O'Brien Assistant Principle Officer.
    5. Mr. Eddie Kiernan Private Secretary.

Nice work if you can get it.

Note that when you bring a principle officer, you also have to bring his assistant too.

Full details of final costs of attending the conference are not yet available. The only costs incurred by my Department so far relate to airfares, which totalled some €8,800.

Hotel accommodation arrangements were managed by the Brazilian Organising Committee and the hotel allocated to the Irish Delegation was the Sheraton Rio. Within the constraints of the fact that a specific hotel was allocated to the Delegation, every effort was made to keep accommodation costs as low as possible. All members of the Irish delegation were accommodated in standard rooms and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, through the Irish Embassy to Brazil, engaged in lengthy negotiations with the Brazilian authorities to achieve a price reduction. On foot of this, the price to be charged per room is expected to be R$868 Brazilian Reais, which at current rates, translates as €340 approximately per room per night. As accommodation costs will be met in the first instance by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and recoupment of the appropriate element of these costs will then be sought from my Department, a final figure for accommodation costs is not yet available. Subsistence payments for members of the delegation, when claimed, will be governed by the normal Civil Service rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

gerryo777 wrote: »
    For anyone who wants to know, especially dv.

The five people who phil brought with him on the junket to Rio are;

1. Mr John McCarthy. Assistant Secretary General.
    2. Mr Pat Macken. Principle Officer.
    3. Ms Yvonne Hyland. Press Officer.
    4. Mr. Dominick O'Brien Assistant Principle Officer.
    5. Mr. Eddie Kiernan Private Secretary.
    Exactly. And not one 'special advisor' between them. Perhaps you might check your facts in the future before posting made up nonsense.

Note that when you bring a principle officer, you also have to bring his assistant too.
    You just can't help yourself, can you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

dvpower wrote: »
    The tax evasion campaign has consistently failed to organise mass protests - the idea that they'll organise one now that the campaign has fizzled out is laughable.

The protest outside the fine gael conference in march was big enough mass protest which wasn,t 5,000 as reported by Pravda, aka Rte. besides with 52% not registered, I think that,s a big enough mass protest.

http://blogs.myhome.ie/2012/06/20/52-have-still-not-registered-for-household-charge-claims-kitchin/

So has anyone here received any of those letters this morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Am Chile wrote: »
    So has anyone here received any of those letters this morning?

No not me, maybe tomorrow.

The protest outside the fine gael conference in march was big enough mass protest which wasn,t 5,000 as reported by Pravda, aka Rte. besides with 52% not registered, I think that,s a big enough mass protest.

http://blogs.myhome.ie/2012/06/20/52-have-still-not-registered-for-household-charge-claims-kitchin/

Yeah, of course RTE, other media outlets and the Gardai just decided to make up a lower figure and you really need to ask the protest organisers for an accurate figure.
    But I suppose if you want to get your 'facts' from any blogger that you happen to agree with, you don't really have to rely on any official figures at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

donalg1 wrote: »
    I doubt they will jail anyone for not paying this charge unless that person is really stupid and talks themselves into jail or ignores the courts decision leaving them with no option other than to jail them.

there are of martyrs who will not pay and bitch when they get sent to jail.

We've always operated progressive taxation, e.g. those who earn more pay tax at a higher rate.

we also do not have a problem with folks who have off shore accounts. I hope Bono pays his property tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Fuinseog wrote: »
    there are of martyrs who will not pay and bitch when they get sent to jail.

It has all ready been stated no one will be going to jail. end of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

mikom wrote: »
    1. Sneezy
    2. Sleepy
    3. Dopey
    4. Doc
    5. Happy
    6. Bashful
    Phil was Grumpy.

ROFL.

Best boards post of the day.:D:D

hondasam wrote: »
    It has all ready been stated no one will be going to jail. end of.

What they say and what they do are two different things, if they jail some people for non payment I won,t be surprised, Most of us know realistically speaking they can,t bring hundreds of thousands to court or jail that many people for not paying , so the only option I can see open to them is to try to deduct at source, if they try go down that road, I hope the trade union movement help resist any such attempts and stand up for the workers they re meant to represent.

just decided to make up a lower figure and you really need to ask the protest organisers for an accurate figure.
    But I suppose if you want to get your 'facts' from any blogger that you happen to agree with, you don't really have to rely on any official figures at all.

So did Big Phil "make up figures" on how many houses are in Ireland and how many people have paid?

He seems to like to lower tham amount of houses in Ireland but try to ramp up the % rate of people who paid.

Funny that.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Has "Big Phil" payed his Villas property taxes/fees yet then???????

Please do enlighten us all,see as you know so much on "Big Phil".

Yeah, of course RTE, other media outlets and the Gardai just decided to make up a lower figure and you really need to ask the protest organisers for an accurate figure.

As if rte has never played down the numbers at previous protest marches, the nationwide march over the Irish ferries pay dispute in 2005 and the anti Iraq war march in 2003 spring to mind, when they played down the numbers out marching on those two occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Govt have said that the Property Tax will be based on the size of your house and site. If so how will farms be assessed for it ? Farming incomes are up by 30% this year and this is one sector that gets a lot of perks and grants from the Govt and E.U.

According to todays newspapers.

3 letters in the post from "big phil" bullying you to pay up.

Then its court.

I rekon the ques in court will be very big later on this year.;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Perhaps you might check your facts in the future before posting made up nonsense.

Yea, its not like you would make up assumptions.

DV Power...more of the brown stuff flows out of your mouth than out of your ar5e.

Some "cheek" to be having a go at others here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

paddy147 wrote: »
    DV Power...more of the brown stuff flows out of your mouth then out of your ar5e.

Some "cheek" to be having a go at others here.

Stick him on the ignore list lads, or as I like to call it 'under the bridge'.

As if rte has never played down the numbers at previous protest marches, the nationwide march over the Irish ferries pay dispute in 2005 and the anti Iraq war march in 2003 spring to mind, when they played down the numbers out marching on those two occasions.
    It wasn't just RTE that published figures for protestors at the FG convention; you could take the Garda figures either.

In any case, it wasn't a HHC protest, it was a more general anti government protest, but I understand that you'd like to count them all as anti HHC.

You keep threathening it, but you never seem to do it.
    Indicitive of the HHC evaders I'd say. They talk a lot about refusing to pay, but they will when the pressure is applied.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Indicitive of the HHC evaders I'd say. They talk a lot about refusing to pay, but they will when the pressure is applied.

I won't.

I wonder how many household charges could have been paid by the socialist TD who travelled the country campaigning against it and claimed expenses?

The only real cost effective way you re gonna get the money from people is trying to take it at source, and already the waterford branch of Unite trade union has passed a motion calling for Industrial action if any property tax is taken from peoples income and more then more likely other unions will pass similar motions.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    I wonder how many household charges could have been paid by the socialist TD who travelled the country campaigning against it and claimed expenses?

They are doing what they promised to do pre election which was to fight against Austerity, they re sticking to their pre election promises/commitments at least, pity the same can,t be said about fg/lab-besides think all the leaflets, all the advertising, all the posters, all the travelling and canvassing for the yes vote in the recent referendum would of being used by taxpayers money wheres the media outrage over that? besides its some coincidence this story is the media on the very same day the warning letters have went out over the household tax.

This is a politically motivated witch-hunt against people who are unwilling to bend over and take what the IMF/ECB want to dish out. The establishment and their political lapdogs are desperate to stifle all opposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

i hope ye have 600,000 thumbscrews handy DV :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

They won't you know.

Some of us have still got their back bones and won't be resorting to cowardly u-turns the coalition govt seem to gave become so accustomed to.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Ghandee wrote: »
    They won't you know.

Some of us have still got their back bones and won't be resorting to cowardly u-turns the coalition govt seem to gave become so accustomed to.

with the hand of the law hovering over all your bottoms I got a feeling 90% will squeal piggy, and the other 10% will be made examples of, 2 years time we will all look back on this like the uproar the same made over the lisbon revote, like it never really happened.

hopefully with some better facilities with the new found source of income.

with the hand of the law hovering over all your bottoms I got a feeling 90% will squeal piggy, and the other 10% will be made examples of, 2 years time we will all look back on this like the uproar the same made over the lisbon revote, like it never really happened.

hopefully with some better facilities with the new found source of income.

Most people who haven,t paid have their minds up long ago and won,t be paying, sure some people will pay with threats of court, but a signifigant amount of people won,t pay, in two years time the real property tax along with water charges is expected to be in place, plus with septic tank inspections to begin next year and people in rural areas expected to pay for upgrading or replacing septic tanks which could be a few €1000, they might have gotten €100 off some people, but they won,t getting over €1000 on a yearly basis for combined water charges/property taxes as people just won,t have the money, its not just one unpopular tax/charge that they want in its three, good luck not finding organised resistance to these charges/taxes.