If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Guinness and Rollies - Off topic chat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

awec wrote: »
    Black Oil wrote: »
    Any of ye ex-venturer scouts do the coast to coast cycles in '99/'00 - Galway to Dublin/Sligo? Ar do rothar. ;)
    Venturer scouts - are they the ones witht he biege shirts?

Ventures are15-17 year olds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Sauve wrote: »
    Ventures are15-17 year olds

I was one of them, I preferred Rovers though!

• Administrators Posts: 55,544 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Beavers ftw

Never made it any further tbh :o

Also FRIDAY!!! Off now until Tuesday week :D

Jammy git Paulie :D

Beavers do my head in. I get a headache even thinking about the little fanta-filled feckers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,391 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Never went to Rovers. Uniform used to be light blue with purple epaulettes for venturers, might have gone to 18-19, can't recall.

Barring a sick day this week - it's my first bit of time off since I started my new job 5months ago so can't wait :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,391 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

66904037_a7b6567316_o.jpg

Old and new.

St.-Pats_766.jpg

The new uniform is much more comfortable and wearable! I mostly wear my rugby jersey instead of the shirt!
    PaulieC wrote: »
    Barring a sick day this week - it's my first bit of time off since I started my new job 5months ago so can't wait :)
    Enjoy it :) Going anywhere nice?

Do yous really have to wear black trousers like?

They are navy and I just say to them to wear plain dark pants trousers! I wear tracksuit bottoms! The scouts trousers are ok, you can turn them into shorts :)

What's it like being a leader, Pem?

Do they make jeans to match/fit your av? :pac:

Mr. Tall. :cool: Your avatar. How's the bike?

Black Oil wrote: »
    What's it like being a leader, Pem?
    Busy, frustrating BUT so rewarding and I love it as I am such a big kid. I just love it, even when I want to strangle some of them!
    I used to just wear jeans :o

I'd have been the sort of scout that Pem would have always been "giving off" too.
    Oh I would, jeans are not good for scouts as if they get wet when hiking / outside they won't dry fast and become heavy too!

size though, I need the long leg jeans but preferably a 30 waist which is hard to come by!

I find it very difficult to find 32w 34l jeans or chinos thesedays - they're like unicorn pants

Yup, I can wear 32/34 too and they are hard to get. For a 34L most places things start at 34W.

Although a friend of mine would wear (I guess) about a 34W and a 30L. Must be a nightmare! :pac:
    God that does sound hard to find!

True - many 34l pants would have a larger waist, it's awful when you see a nice pair of jeans and they have them in almost ever size EXCEPT yours! :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Afternoon all.. hows everyone??

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Afternoon all.. hows everyone??

As hungry as a, erm, I dunno, Lion??!

6 mins to feeding time :cool:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Sauve wrote: »
    As hungry as a, erm, I dunno, Lion??!

6 mins to feeding time :cool:

feeding time at the zoo (here) done and dusted.. chicken korma. nyom nyom

Its FRIDAY!!!!!!!! Been a long long week :(

I'm getting burritos for lunch :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

I had roast tomato and red pepper soup it was delish!