Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stay classy Gardai - Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Why? If you were stopped for no reason (in your eyes) by the guards, would you seriously refuse to do what they ask?

That is very clearly different. It was obvious that I meant that I would heed their instructions/requests in an official situation. Like the one in the vid for example.

The garda in question said to me "you are not allowed take pictures here of us, put that camera down or I'll put it down for you". (He's wrong on many levels). This was, in the weird mind of the garda, an official situation.

What you have been saying on the thread is that we the public should comply with the gardai's request without question and instantly. I find this more than a bit creepy for society.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Seachmall wrote: »
    And how were they to know he was going about non-criminal related business?

Because they're given no reason to assume otherwise.

Well refusing to co-operate with the most basic of requests is a valid enough reason imho

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

That is very clearly different. It was obvious that I meant that I would heed their instructions/requests in an official situation. Like the one in the vid for example.

Wasn't obvious to me, you said you should instantly comply with anything a guarda asks you to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭colly10

The guy was signalled on by both gards early on in the video and chose to just sit there, he was looking for trouble and got it.
    I've seen gards be way over the top for no reason first hand but in this case he was looking for trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

humberklog wrote: »
    The garda in question said to me "you are not allowed take pictures here of us, put that camera down or I'll put it down for you". This was, in the weird mind of the garda, an official situation.

What you have been saying on the thread is that we the public should comply with the gardai's request without question and instantly. I find this more than a bit creepy for society.

Nice man. Did he think you were disabled and couldn't manage that task yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

With the amount of gun crime in this country I'd be nervous if I was a Garda... And in all fairness I don't blame them.

Mayo....... really.
    You're more likely to get a shot of Ivomec in the eye to be honest.

squod wrote: »
    Nice man. Did he think you were disabled and couldn't manage that task yourself?

I don't think "thinking" was his strong point. He kinda brings something else to the game:pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

The looney liberal left will be out with this one.

But they should consider this if you want to be an a$$, and you treat people going about their thankless job as a$$es trying to provoke a reaction from them,
    dont come crying and whinging here about it when they treat YOU like an a$$.

I'm off to get the popcorn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

mikom wrote: »
    With the amount of gun crime in this country I'd be nervous if I was a Garda... And in all fairness I don't blame them.

Mayo....... really.

If you were a Garda, would you take a gamble on that if it were your life and the lives of others? I wouldn't.

kupus wrote: »
    The looney liberal left will be out with this one.

Nah, the looney right beat them to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Niggos

Should've rammed the fukking pigs.

Mod

Poster banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

This protest has been going on since at least 2006.

If Gardai set up roadblocks around my area for the last 7 years and any time I was going somewhere I was stopped, questioned and asked to produce licence etc..I would find it extremely tiresome,

If my viewpoint on major companies coming in to the area and destroying the environment, with minimum profit for the country, disagree with the Gardai's stance, Should I expect more hassle, than someone who agrees?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Well refusing to co-operate with the most basic of requests is a valid enough reason imho

Again, that's an extremely pathetic position to take.

Most Gardai are well mannered and well intentionend when doing their job but many are also ignorant in terms of rights. As mentioned earlier, and always gets mentioned in these threads, is your right to videotape in a public place. It's a complicated subject and they're not required to have an intricate understanding so it's understandable. What I'm getting at is it's up to you and you alone to protect your rights. The Gardai will typically do their best to advise you of your rights and respect them but it doesn't always happen.

To blindly comply with all Garda requests is not only naive but, once again, pathetic.

Of course in some situations there's no harm in answering a few questions or consenting to a search but don't assume it as a general rule. It's bad for you and for society as a whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I think what's missing from this discussion is context.

Obviously the laws of this country require someone driving a motor veh-hicle to follow the directions of a Garda. Anyone who has passed their driving test must know this. The man in that car was breaking the law by refusing to do what was requested, and whatever about his window motor being broken, he was clearly directed to pull in to the side of the road and in not doing so was effectively asking to be hauled from his car and arrested. It's pretty simple.

However, this wasn't happening on the Naas Road - this was happening somewhere within the bailiwick of Belmullet Garda Station, where whatever the rights and wrongs of the Shell situation, there exists considerable tension between certain groups and the Gardaí. It's pretty obvious that that's the context in which this event takes place. The guy is being an uncooperative git making a point about Garda interference because of it, the Garda is being a bloody idiot breaking his window and threatening to pepper spray him because of it.

They're both acting like morons because they're operating in a long-standing adversarial environment. If you were in either man's shoes you might act the same, but it's equally clear that neither is 'right', and both are making a very deliberate point. Your sympathies here will likely be determined by your stance on civil disobedience, which is what this was.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,974 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Driver = awkward twat.

They should have torched his car, just for the hell of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom wrote: »
    Mayo....... really.
    If you were a Garda, would you take a gamble on that if it were your life and the lives of others? I wouldn't.

I would if I thought I might have a touch of liverfluke.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    And a good thing you're aint being an English teacher

Likewise, when you fail to use punctuation and begin a sentence with and.
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

milehip1 wrote: »
    AeoNGriM wrote: »
    And a good thing you're aint being an English teacher

Likewise, when you fail to use punctuation and begin a sentence with and.
    :p

FYP :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Hard to establish right from wrong in a biased edited video.

However smashing the window on the drivers side seems reckless.

Also given the nature of the duties of the Gardai around S2S and the high likely hood of setups such as this, shouldn't more cool headed less confrontational operatives be deployed?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

If this was the US driver wouldn't be too healthy now.:p

Gardai put up with far too much sh** in this country

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Saint_Mel wrote: »

Yeah, but even thick as **** cops know it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

The Guard should have blasted him with Pepper spray, the cheeky twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

lastlaugh wrote: »

Spot on.

Where To wrote: »
    If this was the US driver wouldn't be too healthy now.:p

Gardai put up with far too much sh** in this country

I shuddered at the thoughts, Do we really want our Gardai to follow the US model?

lastlaugh wrote: »

Should have blasted him with p1ss:D

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

justryan wrote: »
    FYP :P

are you two in cahoots?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

cournioni wrote: »
    Does anyone else get irritated by the constant use of "Stay classy *enter name here*" online?!

Yes! FFS! Anchorman was 8 fcuking years ago!

Besides, it's not as condescending or witty as the folk who use it think it is!

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

Clearly a setup
    But the first two gardai should have been able to handle the situation their supposed to be trained for that .
    So sending for MUNGO shouldn't have happened .
    Plus notice how the other 3 shield the action from the oncoming traffic as MONGO goes and does his thing !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

As stated I have been in a couple of those situations and I've always cooperated.

However, I can fully appreciate why somebody wouldn't want to and firmly believe they shouldn't have to (within reason, of course).

I can't see or appreciate why somebody wouldn't though. Why should it be ok for someone in that scenario to not co-operate?
    humberklog wrote: »
    The garda in question said to me "you are not allowed take pictures here of us, put that camera down or I'll put it down for you". (He's wrong on many levels). This was, in the weird mind of the garda, an official situation.

I see what you mean. I wasn't as clear as I thought.

I was thinking in this kind of a situation. If you are stopped in this situation, you should be co-operative. There are many many many other situations where I think you should co-operate without question too.

There are some situations where no-one really gives a shít if you co-operate or not.
    curlzy wrote: »
    Wasn't obvious to me, you said you should instantly comply with anything a guarda asks you to do.

Yeah you're right there. I wasn't as clear as I thought I was.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭d3exile

RATM wrote: »
    If they really wanted access to the car then the smart thing to do was to smash a rear window and get in that way, thus not putting him in direct danger, which is something they are supposed to do as part of their own Charter.

do we know it was the drivers window? no evidence to say which window was broken, only the sound of broken glass
    Vic_Mackey wrote: »
    I can't believe that the Garda didn't at least attempt to open the door before smashing the window. If he didn't he deserves a bollocking, but yer man in the car was still being a tool.

he did, pretty sure you can hear it(The door being tried) in the video along with "will ye shtop, itsh broken"
    I've utmost respect for most Gardai but people should have the right to tell them to feck off and continue on with their day.

I very much doubt you do
    Yes illegal arrest if theres no hat on.

Legally if you knock a gardas hat off whilst he's arresting you then the arrest is cancelled. If the garda attempts to continue with the arrest then you can actually make a citizens arrest on him for impersonating a garda. Fact.

not fact. not true. pure b*llocks. you also can't p!ss in a Garda's hat.
    Niggos wrote: »
    Should've rammed the fukking pigs.

my god, do you kiss your mother with that mouth?:D