Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Robson99 wrote: »
    Where can you get 4.10.????? Maybe if you have 20+ you might get 4.10 but then again the IFA couldnt care less about the man going with 4 or 5 in the 12 * 6 trailer.

Whats the odds on the factories cutting another 5 cent again next week ???
    Do the IFA have anything to report back to the farmers after todays protest??
    Did Larry cover the drinks and food after the protest??

Don't know why you can't do what we do with our lambs, I have been in the factory many times this year sorting a lorry load of 480 lambs or maybe two loads and yes some group members with only 4or 5 lambs.... but it takes work.
    Yes I'd say outlook is very bad, 100000 too many cattle in the system up to june.
    And your last remark, I'm not allowed claim expenses for protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

rancher wrote: »
    by the way I know where the 4.10 is

As another poster pointed out it is no good unless it is fairy local, especially if on heifers. On a 300kg heifer it might cost 3.5c/kg on transport to travel any great distance. If you have to send the night before it another 8c/kg rather than loading in the morning and killing at a local factory.

If going a distance 70+ miles then I consider that I need about 12-15c/kg to make it worth my while. To go from the one nearest to me 5 miles away to a factory 30ish miles away I consider that I need about 6-8c/kg to have anything extra in the pocket. This would be on carcass's of around 300kgs

mf240 wrote: »
    I didn't turn it into a joke I pointed out that it is a joke, the dogs on the street know that ye are a toothless group of spin doctors only interested in the handy money and perks with a view to getting up the political ladder.

What f.....g perks you started this be more specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

What f.....g perks you started this be more specific

Traveling expenses, five coarse dinners, drinks down to IFA card. Trip to Canada days out to zoo ect ect, and all paid for by the humble farmer.

mf240 wrote: »
    Traveling expenses, five coarse dinners, drinks down to IFA card. Trip to Canada days out to zoo ect ect, and all paid for by the humble farmer.

Trip to canada sponsored by FBD, no expenses allowed for zoo got finger food for lunch, travelling expenses......if you were on the dairy committee and travelled 50 mls to a meeting you'd get €100 for the day.... would you like to offer that to the person you leave on your farm. we don't have an IFA card as you call it. Trip to Canada was compulsory yet not allowed anything to pay your replacement at home. Now you see I do it for the crack and the interest. If you look up the depression forum, you'll see I don't bother with worry or stress.
    Anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

lads, to be fair to everyone, there is no sense in having a strong go at someone just because they defend the ifa.

it is good for the forum to have different opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Trip to canada sponsored by FBD, no expenses allowed for zoo got finger food for lunch, travelling expenses......if you were on the dairy committee and travelled 50 mls to a meeting you'd get €100 for the day.... would you like to offer that to the person you leave on your farm. we don't have an IFA card as you call it. Trip to Canada was compulsory yet not allowed anything to pay your replacement at home. Now you see I do it for the crack and the interest. If you look up the depression forum, you'll see I don't bother with worry or stress.
    Anything else
    I am horrified that someone would actually post this, how dare you to make light of the depression forum or anyone who has had the honesty and courage to post on it :mad: Shame on you.
    In light of the fact that you openly represent the IFA I will ensure that both OH and I will not renew our IFA membership next year and also will ensure that the IFA factory levy is not deducted.
    I may ad that we kill a sizeable number of cattle each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭epfff

TUBBY wrote: »
    lads, to be fair to everyone, there is no sense in having a strong go at someone just because they defend the ifa.

I am dyslexic
    but is this tread not called beef price tracker
    365 u grade bulls take or leave it I was offered today
    I picked leave it
    But where do I to now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

epfff wrote: »
    I am dyslexic
    I picked leave it
    But where do I to now

agree totally. When it refreshes and you due to sell, you open hoping there is a price on post. I would say 1 in 30 posts on the thread refer to beef price in any way lately.

rang round today btw. Looks like 4 is the floor for next few weeks anyway from lads I was chatting that should know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Where does this protest leave us now ?will it have a positive outcome or will the factories pay lip service for a few weeks then do the same again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭epfff

agree totally. When it refreshes and you due to sell, you open hoping there is a price on post. I would say 1 in 30 posts on the thread refer to beef price in any way lately.

rang round today btw. Looks like 4 is the floor for next few weeks anyway from lads I was chatting that should know.

I think 4 is the top of it for the next few weeks
    A few of us refused today
    heifers@405 base
    Fr bulls 3
    U bulls as I said
    none of us are big players so we are not going to change the market
    But we can live in hope their are more like us out there

Did you read my post on the depression forum, you,ll see why I had to sort myself out and not let worry/ stress get hold...... I know bloody well you haven't read my post you were in such a hurry in with your remarks. from what I remember I got a few thanks which is rare for me. pathetic little man
    Hands up, you are correct. I did jump and I apologise.
    I have just re-read your post in the depression forum. I do remember reading it at the time and even thinking how upsetting/difficult it must have been to sell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Ya fair enough nothing personal rancher..

Base price wrote: »
    Hands up, you are correct. I did jump and I apologise.
    I have just re-read your post in the depression forum. I do remember reading it at the time and even thinking how upsetting/difficult it must have been to sell out.

Fair enough, I over reacted too

Don't know why you can't do what we do with our lambs, I have been in the factory many times this year sorting a lorry load of 480 lambs or maybe two loads and yes some group members with only 4or 5 lambs.... but it takes work.
    Yes I'd say outlook is very bad, 100000 too many cattle in the system up to june.
    And your last remark, I'm not allowed claim expenses for protests

There is a big difference between the lamb and beef market. In lamb there are really only two products, Lamb which has a target weight of 20-22kgs and ewe's.

The beef sector is totally different with a broad spec of cattle, bulls, heifer's, bullocks and cows. Then there is a variety of grades ages and fat specs. You then have to factor in that a single bullock weighing 350kgs is equivlent to 16-18 lambs. So a beef farmer with 3 cattle wants to sell the equivlent of over 50 sheep.
    Then different factory's want different spec cattle at different time of year. The sheep producer groups also has the advantage that most lambs are finished in a short time frame and most producer groups only deal with lambs from farmers that produce them themselves

I saw one article in the farming Independent on Tueday that the Kepak manager John Horgan I think stated that factorys will have to link better with producers. That there relations with those the supply to are Ok but there is a need to link better with farmers. Is it now he only understands that. Finishing cattle is a tough money heavy game with a low margin. I do not think that it is an accident that John Dillion is renting his sheds to LG. More than one person who expanded fast in this game have got into trouble.

epfff wrote: »
    I am dyslexic
    I picked leave it
    But where do I to now

It easy to get prices at present the FI is quite accurate. Like I have said a few time already in the last few weeks it time to roll up the tent and get out of town where bulls are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

nashmach wrote: »
    Rancher did you really have to put those as your last comments, you rightly got slated before for similar and now you are at it again!

Are you expecting them to bring a flask of tap water and rice cakes?! Don't see a problem with it once it wasn't subs that paid for it

just do it wrote: »
    Are you expecting them to bring a flask of tap water and rice cakes?! Don't see a problem with it once it wasn't subs that paid for it

Because we expect members to go to protests at their own expense, we are not allowed claim expenses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 heavysteer

I didn't think any where was buying flat price at the moment....4.10 still being got for heifers to grade

Try selling heavy U=/U+ bullocks and you'll soon find that flat price returns. Factories will refuse to pay on the grid if the cattle are going to come in to too much money, or else they'll offer you a base that is so low that it negates the extra 24 cents you should get for a U+ on the grid. At least that's been my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I havnt sold cattle flat since the grid came in going back 5 yrs now. Why would you if selling decent cattle and they have being all different shapes and weights. None of the local factories are buying flat except for cows

heavysteer wrote: »
    Try selling heavy U=/U+ bullocks and you'll soon find that flat price returns. Factories will refuse to pay on the grid if the cattle are going to come in to too much money, or else they'll offer you a base that is so low that it negates the extra 24 cents you should get for a U+ on the grid. At least that's been my experience.

Supermarkets are even specifying the carcase weight of the animal the cuts are coming off now. I thought 'Horsegate' even improved the price of beef but it has tightened the controls/traceability so much that supermarkets can specify and monitor everything. 400kg seems to be the limit

This is what will spell the deathnell of the suckler cow. The only advantage these have over dairy bred cattle is there ability to carry heavy weight and grade. Loads of suckler farmers fail to understand that factory's do not want heavy U grade cattle when they start to hit 350 Dw the striploins are getting too big and it hard to shape a roast to have a nice fat cover on it.

When I had sucklers and beefing everything, The heifers would be 350 kg R3/R4 at 20 mths and the bullocks 400kg R3/R4 at 22mths (end of retention) so it is possible to produce in spec from sucklers.
    Before you ask, wouldn't be sure of the economics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

just do it wrote: »

JDI, you are taking my point completely out of context. I couldn't care less what anyone drinks or eats at these things - it is irrelevant.

But to say the craic was good and use it as an excuse for pints - well I will say no more but it nearly shows the relevance of the "protest".

Back on topic, why aren't Bord Bia informing the market of the requirements rather than farmers and all organistations having to listen to factory propaganda.

OH got these prices this morning:
    C. Cows R's €3.20 and O's €3.00
    Fresian bulls under 24mths R's 3.40 and O's €3.20.
    He was told that they don't want numbers of the above at any one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 heavysteer

I havnt sold cattle flat since the grid came in going back 5 yrs now. Why would you if selling decent cattle and they have being all different shapes and weights. None of the local factories are buying flat except for cows
    Read my post again, I wanted to sell my cattle on the grid and was refused grid pricing because the cattle would come in to too much money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭stand on!!

Not a bad price for fresian bulls at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

I have some O grade freisian and black steers possibly some P grade in these aswell, anyone know what price being paid for these at the mo?. Prob be 300kg dead weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

I have some O grade freisian and black steers possibly some P grade in these aswell, anyone know what price being paid for these at the mo?. Prob be 300kg dead weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Rang couple of factories yesterday for cows best was
    R grade 3.30 or 3.40 for heavy rs
    Os 3.00
    Ps 2.80

Read my post again, I wanted to sell my cattle on the grid and was refused grid pricing because the cattle would come in to too much money

What weight do you expect them to be dead weight