Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cooking Club 2012 Schedule and List of Recipes

• 02-01-2012 06:18PM
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Right, below is the schedule for the coming year. Please check your date and make sure it suits! If it doesn't, please let me know ASAP.

**Please note that, due to an error on my part, the dates for posting recipes now fall on Fridays, not Mondays. If you can't post your recipe on a Friday, putting it up over the weekend is fine.**

Week | Date | Poster
    1 |06/01/2012 | Jean
    2 | 13/01/2012 | Curry Addict
    3 | 20/01/2012 | Oblomov
    4 | 27/01/2012 | LostinBlanch
    5 | 03/02/2012 | mmcn90
    6 | 10/02/2012 | IHeartChemistry
    7 | 17/02/2012 | Telextext Pear
    8 | 24/02/2012 | applehunter
    9 | 02/03/2012 | Faith
    10 | 09/03/2012 | emc2
    11 | 16/03/2012 | Pigwideon
    12 | 23/03/2012 | shinikins
    13 | 30/03/2012 | Muirgheal
    14 | 06/04/2012 | pts
    15 | 13/04/2012 | Sharrow
    16 | 20/04/2012 | ElleEm
    17 | 27/04/2012 | Chong
    18 | 04/05/2012 | Black Oil
    19 | 11/05/2012 | Darkginger
    20 | 18/05/2012 | Hill Billy
    21 | 25/05/2012 | psycho-hope
    22 | 01/06/2012 | FTGFOP
    23 | 08/06/2012 | Padraig Mor
    24 | 15/06/2012 | Honey-ec
    25 | 22/06/2012 | neuro-praxis
    26 | 29/06/2012 | dixiefly
    27 | 06/07/2012 | Newaglish
    28 | 13/07/2012 | Pixie-Fairy
    29 | 20/07/2012 | Little alex
    30 | 27/07/2012 | Wurly
    31 | 03/08/2012 | reallyrose
    32 | 10/08/2012 | The Sweeper
    33 | 17/08/2012 | Sparks
    34 | 24/08/2012 | paperclip2
    35 | 31/08/2012 | olaola
    36 | 07/09/2012 | Random_Person
    37 | 14/09/2012 | WesternNight
    38 | 21/09/2012 | Mrs Fox
    39 | 28/09/2012 | Des
    40 | 05/10/2012 | BaZmO*
    41 | 12/10/2012 | Mr Magnolia
    42 | 19/10/2012 | ChewChew
    43 | 26/10/2012 | Malari
    44 | 02/11/2012 | selenra
    45 | 09/11/2012 | irishbird
    46 | 16/11/2012 | Kimia
    47 | 23/11/2012 | Moonbaby
    48 | 30/11/2012 | Susie_Q

Dates are not related to the order in which you signed up. Please thank this post to confirm that your dates suit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Feck it lads, I was looking at the wrong dates and I've accidentally scheduled you all for Fridays rather than Mondays :o. Will I leave it as it is, or would you prefer it changed back to Mondays?

2012 Week 1: Chicken à la King by Jean

2012 Week 2: Burmese/North Thai Chicken Curry by Curry Addict

2012 Week 2b: Indian Resturant curries by Curry Addict

2012 Week 3: Rhubarb Soup with Quenelles by Oblomov

2012 Week 5: Pecan Pie by mmcn90

2012 Week 7: Baked Nutella Cheesecake by TeletextPear

2012 Week 9: Nigella Lawson's Chilli Jam by Faith

2012 Week 10: America style Pancake with maple syrup and bacon by emc2

2012 Week 11: Apple and Blackberry Crumble by Pigwidgeon

2012 Week 12: Traditional Greek Lenten Cookies by shinikins

2012 Week 13: Green Curry with Tofu by Muirgheal

2012 Week 14: Red wine and rosemary beef stew with Yorkshire puddings by pts

2012 Week 15: Sushi by Sharrow

2012 Week 16: Rhubarb Upside Down Cake by ElleEm

2012 Week 17: Lemon Tarte by Chong

2012 Week 18: Beef Tagine with Cous Cous by The Black Oil

2012 Week 19: Beans on Toast ;-) by Darkginger

2012 Week 20: Zürcher Geschnetzeltes by The Hill Bully

2012 Week 21: Low fat chicken Korma by psycho-hope

2012 Week 22: Spinach and Ricotta Gnocchi by Swampy

2012 Week 23: Pork belly confit with green beans and apple sauce by Padraig Mor

2012 Week 24: Green Chilli & Navajo Flatbreads by Honey-ec

2012 Week 25: Mars Bar Treats by neuro-praxis

2012 Week 26: Pear, Almond and Toffee Tart by dixiefly

2012 Week 27: Pesto by Newaglish

2012 Week 28: Gourgères by Pixie-Fairy

2012 Week 29: Scones by Little Alex

2012 Week 30: Jam Doughnut Muffins by Wurly

2012 Week 31: Lime and chilli chicken burgers by reallyrose

2012 Week 32: Junk Food by The Sweeper

2012 Week 33: Red Velvet Cake by Sparks

2012 Week 34: Lemon Cake with lemon curd filling by paperclip2

2012 Week 35: Chicken & Mushroom Pie by olaola

2012 Week 36: Lemon Meringue Pie by Random_Person

2012 Week 37: Mini Victoria Sandwich Cakes by Medicine333

2012 Week 38: Pomegranate, Sriracha and Mint Chicken Wings by Mrs Fox

2012 Week 39: Asian Shark Steak with Lemon Rice by Des

2012 Week 40: Stuffing Balls by BaZmO*

2012 Week 41: Creamy Bacon & Pea Pasta by Mr Magnolia

2012 Week 42: Red Pepper and Orange Soup by ChewChew

2012 Week 43: Berry Tartlets by Malari

2012 Week 44: Everyday Chocolate Cake by biddywiddy

2012 Week 45: Halloumi & Mushroom Kebab,Chunky Tomato Sauce & CousCous by irishbird

2012 Week 46: Slow-braised beef short rib with red wine gravy by Kimia

2012 Week 47: Baklava by Moonbaby

2012 Week 48: Beef and mushroom pies by homemadecider

Please let us know if you spot any errors or omissions with the above. Thanks - Faith, The Hill Billy & Mr Magnolia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

It's grand faith; sure we can assume it is the weekend of whatever date we've been given. Thanks very sincerely for all your hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Darkginger

I'm fine with Fridays, but am also fine with Mondays :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

To be honest, Friday suits me better - generally just sitting around doing feck all, relaxing after the week :)

Don't mind if it's changed to Monday though!

Rightio, Fridays it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Bodie Broadus

was I missed or am I out because I'm a lurker and not a poster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I think Fridays will work well! I've always got more time at the weekend for trying out new recipes, and it's easier for me to get ingredients too.

Thanks Faith, stellar job as always ;)

was I missed or am I out because I'm a lurker and not a poster?

From the sign-up thread:
    Faith wrote:
    As before, we will not be accepting sign-ups from posters with less than 100 posts. We will use our discretion regarding sign-ups from posters who have never posted in the Food & Drink forums before because we found they were the most likely to not step up when it was their turn.

Unfortunately you missed out this year due to your low post-count and lack of history as a poster in the Food forums. I'd be happy to keep you in mind as a stand-in if you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Freaky Stuff - my first born is due on the 9/3/12 (same date as I am due to cook!). I'll do something in advance and have it ready to go....(my wife will be the one with her hands full on the 9th of march :-) ).

Sent a PM to LostinBlanch to remind him/her to post a recipe. Hopefully one will be up soon.

Folks, there won't be a recipe up this week due circumstances beyond the poster's control. Normal service will resume this Friday.

We've sent a couple of PMs to IHeartChemistry as a reminder about this week. Hopefully a recipe will be posted soon, but we've got no confirmation as of yet.

IHeartChemistry hasn't replied to our PMs and has been posting since, so I think we can assume there's no recipe this week.

The next 4 posters have been PM'ed and reminded, so that should hopefully ensure a steady stream of recipes for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

How frustrating! Why do people rush to sign up if they can't post just one recipe? It's not like there's any emphasis on it having to be complicated or a full meal or anything. :-(

Yeah, it's frustrating alright. Real life gets in the way a lot of the time - births, deaths, and general unexpected things - but we usually get an indication in advance that there won't be a recipe. In instances like this, where there's no apparent reason for no recipe - the poster thanked the original schedule post and has gotten two PMs - it makes me feel like I'm wasting my time putting so much effort in. But then I see the enjoyment gotten from the recipes that are posted, and it reminds me why I do it :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

Maybe for next year, people could only sign up if they show you a back up post or something and then when their time comes they could either post something new or post the back up?

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Well the fact that the poster is still posting, and hasn't had the decency to reply to your PM's is incredibly frustrating. Especially when there are people really to stand in if someone cant do their week! Hopefully sending reminders in advance will be a huge help Faith. And for what it's worth... There is still a huge amount of us that appreciate the hard work and effort you put in :)

Ophiopogon wrote: »
    Maybe for next year, people could only sign up if they show you a back up post or something and then when their time comes they could either post something new or post the back up?

That's an idea, but it would be difficult to implement. There are things we could do - eg. have everyone post their recipes in the first couple of weeks of the year, and delete them all until the relevant week when we'd undelete them - but it's all a LOT of work.

I do want to add - it's possible this week's poster has only been online via the mobile site. I don't get notifications of PMs when I'm browsing by mobile, so they might not have received the reminders. However, there's nothing else we can do either way.

We've never even specified that a recipe has to be an original. There's nothing to stop someone posting a recipe they found online, or that's from a celebrity chef. All we ask is that it's a tried-and-tested recipe that the poster enjoyed and thinks others will enjoy :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Would you not reply to the thread that he/ she is posting on and that might get a reaction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

Yeah I don't kow how it would work, all I know is I'd loved to sign up but I said I wouldn't till I have a back done myself as I know life sometimes does get in the way even with best intentions.

It is a pity when there are blanks in the weeks but this is a great thread and love looking at everyone's efforts.

Thanks Faith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

If that person is being extremely rude and posting away, but ignoring your PMs Faith, stick an infraction on their post in the sign up thread, and ban them from the club forum.

That's highly ignorant behaviour, it really is.

ChewChew wrote: »
    And for what it's worth... There is still a huge amount of us that appreciate the hard work and effort you put in :)

Yes, this too. Well said Chewie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

There were a few people who didn't make it onto the schedule, wasn't there? Perhaps one of those could be approached to be a stand-in?

We normally have stand-ins, but we can only call on them with sufficient notice. We still haven't heard from this week's poster. I was giving him/her the benefit of the doubt for a while, but then it just became too late IMO. It's actually a lot of work trying to arrange a stand-in.

That said, if anyone wants to pop up a recipe, feel free :).

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

would be possible for next year that before you allowed sign up, you need to have had a certain number of posts in the cooking forum and prove that they are an active member of the forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It would make more sense for the person to submit their recipe a week in advance, so if they can't make it the week their recipe is up a Mod can post it for them, or it would give someone else a chance to make a replacement recipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭blueshed

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It would make more sense for the person to submit their recipe a week in advance, so if they can't make it the week their recipe is up a Mod can post it for them, or it would give someone else a chance to make a replacement recipe.

great minds think alike,was going to suggest the same thing.

i dont post here much but lurk everyday and have copied 6 or 7 recipes as my signature dishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

maybe just have a couple of poster with recipes on standby who've already PM'd their recipe to Faith so she knows they are ready to go and she could maybe even post the recipe herself on their behalf if they aren't able to respond in time?

Thanks folks, I'll have a think about your suggestions and discuss them with the co-mods. We're confirmed up until 9/3/12 anyway via PM :).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,826 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I'm not sure having a posting history in Food and Drink (or C&R) is indicative of the likelihood of someone turning up. As has been said, a few dropouts are unavoidable due to real life circumstances. Not sure about the rest, a bit baffling, but the club seems to come up with the goods each year, so onwards and upwards and we'll see what the rest of 2012 brings us. :cool:

Jaysus I'm not used to being on early in the year :eek:. I just came into this thread to check who was due to post a recipe tomorrow! :o

Faith wrote: »
    Jaysus I'm not used to being on early in the year :eek:. I just came into this thread to check who was due to post a recipe tomorrow! :o

I can't believe these people *rabble rabble* come along and say they'll post a recipe *rabble rabble* don't even turn up *rabble rabble*

rolleyes rolleyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

i am completely new to this forum (i will admit that) i didn't know it was here :o but i love this idea. i presume it works by when it is your turn you throw up a recipe for something you love to cook. i am off to look at the ones posted for this year so far.

but i'd be well up for being a stand-by this year if ya want me. i LOVE to cook. i am the only one in our house that does, and will be going back to college in sept (deferred for a year) to study culinary arts :D

whatever you think though obvs, don't want to tread on anyones toes

Sure, we'll keep you in mind if anyone drops out :). It's usually pretty short notice though!

sall good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,259 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Speaking of which week 15 was never posted

Mellor wrote: »
    Speaking of which week 15 was never posted

Oh yeah, that escaped my attention. Well, Sharrow received a PM a few weeks ago reminding her of her upcoming week, so let's hope she's just had a busy week and will post soon. I'll PM her again tomorrow if it's not up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭No_Regrets

I'm completely new to this but think it sounds great too and have had a look through the charter, new rules and some yummy recipes!!

I'm sure there's only a very slim chance but I'd be very interested in posting a recipe too if/when necessary :-)

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Would love to post again if any spots open up through out the year.

Chong wrote: »
    Would love to post again if any spots open up through out the year.

By all means, prepare a recipe. We have a couple of stand-ins ready to go, should we need them, but we always welcome more. If/when you have a recipe ready to go, then send me a PM :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I've decided what I'm cooking for mine and I'm getting excited. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,736 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Might be a delay for tomorrow - my bloody SD card doesn't want to talk to my PC! :mad:

Folks, I'm assured that last weeks recipe is coming, it's just delayed.

A space has opened up for the 14th of September. If anyone is interested in filling this spot, please PM me. Otherwise, we'll do one of our stand-ins.

That reminds me - quite a few of you promised to put up back up recipes and never did. Can you all PM me too if you'll still do it?

I sent it a couple times but I don't think it sent and then I wasn't on much with the mammy's broken arm :( I'll fire it again after dinner or in the morning latest.

hdowney wrote: »
    I sent it a couple times but I don't think it sent and then I wasn't on much with the mammy's broken arm :( I'll fire it again after dinner or in the morning latest.

Yeah, I never got it :). You can just post it up as a new thread, with the title "Cooking Club Stand In". Then report the post and we'll delete it until it's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Just an update: this week's recipe (from me) will be up around Sunday morning your time. It's a bit of a two parter and basically I need to do half today and half tomorrow, which I forgot about. Apologies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Sounds intriguing! :pac:

Ok there is something wrong with my computer when I try to type the recipe out :( I am going to give it another go during the week, hopefully actually making said dish so their could be pictures. Darn you computer darn you