Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baltimore Ravens Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

Paully D wrote: »
    Thomas Hammock of the Wisconsin Badgers is the new running backs coach. Looks to be an interesting hire. I'm liking the steps the team are taking to improve the running game:

http://espn.go.com/blog/baltimore-ravens/post/_/id/6662/impressive-resume-for-new-rb-coach

Fantastic Coach Hammock is. He will do an excellent job with the Ravens with Harbaugh and Kubiak as his mentors now. Guy is only 32 and you would think he was a lot older the way he carries himself. Such a wise head on young shoulders.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Finally found our 2012 America's Game online lads. I know a lot of people (myself included) had difficulty finding it up until now. Credit to Reddit user 'hippiejesus' for the link - http://www.reddit.com/r/ravens/comments/1loffi/americas_game_please_help/

http://www.putlocker.com/file/27F16B5ECA08E7EE#

Great memories. Just a perfect year really - winning it in Ray's last year (I personally believe this was the catalyst for the whole run), Reed finally getting his hands on a Lombardi, that unbelievable game against the Broncos and then managing to win the Super Bowl that comes down to the final play.

Enjoy re-living it all over again :D

Uh-oh:

http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/ravens/ravens-insider/bal-ravens-running-back-ray-rice-arrested-after-incident-in-atlantic-city-20140216,0,132362.story
    Ravens running back Ray Rice was arrested over the weekend after an alleged physical altercation with a woman at a casino in Atlantic City, according to his attorneys.

Rice’s attorney Andrew Alperstein confirmed Rice was charged and released after what he described as allegations of a “very minor physical altercation” at Revel Casino on the Atlantic City Boardwalk. Alperstein also said a woman he identified as Rice’s fiancée was also charged and released in connection with the incident.

Rice, 27, was released on his own recognizance, Alperstein said.

Atlantic City police have not returned calls about the incident.

According to Ravens director of public relations Chad Steele: "We are aware of the Friday night situation with Ray Rice and his fiancee. We have spoken with Ray, and know that they returned home together after being detained."

Michael Diamondstein, a Philadelphia-based attorney, has been hired to represent Rice.

“We haven’t seen any charging documents yet,” Diamondstein said. “There was an argument that included Ray. I can’t give any specifics because we haven’t seen the document yet.”

“Once we’re able to go through the evidence, it should wind up to be little more than a misunderstanding,” Diamondstein said.

Since getting drafted out of Rutgers in the second round of the 2008 draft, Rice has been one of the Ravens’ most popular and productive players. A three-time Pro Bowl selection, Rice has rushed for 6,180 yards and 37 touchdowns over six NFL seasons.

However, he’s coming off his most disappointing season as a pro as he was limited to 660 rushing yards and four touchdowns this past season as the Ravens missed the playoffs for the first time since he’s been on the team.
    Rice, who signed a five-year, $35 million deal with the Ravens in July 2012, has also been one of the organization’s most active players in the community. He’s been especially active in anti-bullying campaigns.

Lets hope Diamondstein is correct and it is ''little more than a misunderstanding."

In other news, Suggs is staying. New deal done:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000326049/article/terrell-suggs-ravens-agree-to-terms-on-extension

Same article says that Oher is likely off (thankfully) and that the extra cap space will go towards trying to tie up Monroe, Smith and Pitta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I heard Rice tried to run away but he couldn't find any open space in front of him :(

Looking increasingly like the franchise tag for Dennis Pitta, but I think we all expected it anyway:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000326270/article/ravens-dennis-pitta-reportedly-far-apart-on-new-deal?campaign=Twitter_atl

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

was just about the post that, shocking

http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/laces-out/video-surfaces-of-ray-rice-dragging-unconscious-fiancee-021914
    Rice's attorney Michael Diamondstein responded to a request for comment, saying the video posted by TMZ is "not the complete event, but is merely the end result of what transpired."

Diamondstein added: "Neither Ray nor myself will try this case in the media.

"We'll assure the public that when this matter is fully tried and completed, you'll have a better understanding of what happened and we ask the public to reserve making any judgment until all of the facts come out."

Maybe she was passed out drunk and it wasn't a result of Rice KO'ing her (unlikely I know :().

To be fair if it was a rival teams player I would be hammering them. I'm gutted. Rice is one of my favourite players but what has happened, if it is what it looks like, is indefensible.

I'll wait and see what transpires but I can only see things getting worse as more evidence comes to light. I hope I'm wrong.

Matt Elam took a job at Finish Line for the offseason in order to improve his retail/merchandising experience as he wants to eventually own his own sports store. He also had no agent and saved money by negotiating his rookie deal himself. He seems to be a pretty cool, very level-headed person:

http://www.baltimoreravens.com/news/article-1/Matt-Elam-Explains-Why-He-Took-Job-At-Finish-Line/e81f4b51-0436-4d4a-8977-3d9d2859eb06
    NFL players don’t often need to pick up part-time work in the offseason – especially first-round draft picks.

But Matt Elam had a different approach to his first NFL offseason.

The safety from Florida decided to get a retail job, and ended up getting hired at a Finish Line in a mall in Gainesville, Fla.

Since Elam was a kid, he has wanted to eventually open his own sports merchandise store and saw this as his way to get some first-hand experience.

“I just need to get retail knowledge,” Elam said. “That’s basically what I’m doing. I’m getting that knowledge for when it’s time.”

Elam is a part-time sales associate, clocking about 20 hours per week. He works on the floor and occasionally stocks the shelves in the back.

The extra income is a nice little supplement to his NFL paycheck, but Elam joked that he isn’t even sure how much he makes an hour.

“Everybody was surprised when I started,” he said. “They were like, ‘Why? You got enough money.’ But it’s not about the money. It’s just me building.”

Elam was hired about a month ago after submitting online applications to five stores in the Oaks Mall. He then followed up with the manager at Finish Line and was hired a couple days later.

“I went to the store and I just talked to them and told them what my plan was,” Elam said. “They were happy to hire me and they hired me two or three days later.”

Other than playing football, it’s his first job since he was a summer camp counselor in high school.

He admitted that the whole experience has been somewhat eye opening.

“I didn’t realize there was so much organization, so much planning. I didn’t realize there was so much to it,” Elam said. “I just thought you’d say you want a shoe, so then you’d go back and grab a shoe. There’s way more to it. You have number coding. You have color coding, all of that. I just realized that there’s more to it than I thought.”

The job has also reinforced to Elam that he wants to open his own sports store someday, as he likes the competitive spirit of the business.

Another perk that Elam gets an employee discount, but has hardly even capitalized on it.

“I get a discount, but I barely use it because I don’t want them to think I’m just trying to use them,” he said. “I don’t want to give them that idea.”

The mall is just a few miles away from the University of Florida campus, where Elam was an All-American football player and is currently taking classes to finish his degree. Elam is a household name in Florida, and he has become a bit of a celebrity on the job.

Fans routinely come into the store to meet him, and pictures of him in his work uniform have popped up all over social media.

“A lot of people have started recognizing me,” Elam said. “Kids will come in for pictures and fans will come in asking for pictures, autographs. People will be buying stuff just for me to sign it. It’s pretty exciting.”

Elam said that his boss has no problem with the extra attention he brings to the store.

“It also improves their numbers,” he said.

Elam developed a reputation for being prudent during his first year in the NFL. He negotiated his rookie contract without an agent, saving thousands of dollars in agent fees. He also has a sponsorship with Under Armour and acknowledged that working at Finish Line could possibly open marketing opportunities down the road.

“I know you can’t do football forever. I’m going to use it to benefit me when I’m doing so that my kids won’t have to worry about this,” Elam said. “I take a lot of pride in that because I feel like a lot of kids are blind to this, and don’t have these opportunities, and don’t have the knowledge. I hope I can open a lot of their eyes.”

Elam plans to keep the job at Finish Line while he’s working toward his degree in anthropology this spring, but he will be back in Baltimore in mid-April in time for the start of voluntary offseason workouts.

“I’m so excited about this upcoming season,” Elam said. “It’s a big year.”

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I like the sound of that Elam kid, he seems like a pretty grounded & level headed dude.

Leach and McClain to be released. Time for Brown and Juzcyznky (however it's spelled) to step up.

No surprise at all to see them gone.

McClain took the defensive calls whenever Ray Lewis was out and was a good leader. He was a good story too having spent time homeless as a youth and living in Philadelphia shelters yet managed to get to college and into the NFL. I hope he catches on somewhere :)

Juice Check is the perfect player for Kubiak! Texans used James Casey in a halfback/ fullback/ Tight End role. Garrett Graham too

Pitta's signed for five years, $32m. Very happy to get that one sorted.

http://www.baltimoreravens.com/news/article-1/Ravens-Reach-5-Year-Deal-With-Pitta/e53951f2-25c8-4873-bc3d-a53a9ff0f518?mobile-id=804697&media-type=N

Now, if there's no movement on a Monroe deal we can tag him and forget about it for a year.

Draft a receiver and offensive line help early in the draft and I think we're looking up.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,732 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Great news. Fairly optimistic about next season, making all the right noises in the offseason.

Not looking likely that we tag Monroe now with only an hour to go. I will be fuming if he leaves, but Samuel Njoku of CBS Baltimore says that both sides are trying hard to hammer out a deal. We have a few days left to get it done anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Eugene Monroe has resigned. Good news for sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Oher is visiting the Titans and seems likely to sign.. whats the skinny on him?

You're welcome to him.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    You're welcome to him.

Oh... He's been lined up to replace David Stewart @ RT, the Titans forum have some stats on him and they dont look pretty but was your O-line not a mess last year?

The Oline was a mess yeah, put he performed poorly regardless. I'm sure mike or Paully can give you a better assessment.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭youngco87

Get use to drive stalling false starts....he loves them!

Resigned Daryl Smith today and they're meeting with Steve Smith also. Looking like a very good offseason so far.
    Resigned all the top priority players and might even sign a good but aging receiver who I think still has loads to give.

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Steve Smith agreed to 3 year contract. :)

Catching up on all the free agency stuff, I'm delighted with the Ravens so far. Locking up Pitta, Monroe and Daryl Smith while adding Steve Smith are all very good moves IMO.

How do you lads think we'll approach the draft now?

He's below average IMO mate.

He's the most penalised player in the league since he joined and although he improved on that last year, he allowed 9 sacks and 42 hurries according to Pro Football Focus. He was also the worst ranked run blocking tackle in the league according to the same source.

That said, given his background he's extremely tough. He'll never miss a game unless he absolutely has to. I wish him the best of luck but I'm glad we're going to replace him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Just wondering what Jameel McClain has been like for ye guys. Is he a starting caliber? Strengths & weaknesses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Just wondering what Jameel McClain has been like for ye guys. Is he a starting caliber? Strengths & weaknesses?

He was cut by the Ravens and it seems as if a few were glad to see him go. Sounds like Keith Rivers 2.0

HigginsJ wrote: »

He's the perfect example of average IMO, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. You don't expect much more from an UDFA, or a free agent at $4m over two years to be honest. Solid is a word that best describes him IMO. He's nothing special, but he won't let you down much either. He's a brilliant tackler, good blitzer but has been poor against the run for us. That said, I think the 4-3 suits him better than the 3-4 he played with us. It will give him a chance to play to his strengths more often.

It wasn't a big surprise that he was cut, given that he would take up $3.2m in cap space this year and the team want to give Arthur Brown more of a role in his second year, but we did want him back at more cap friendly numbers. I'm sure he'll have a serious chip on his shoulder now and if he stays healthy (the spinal cord injury is a dodgy one, even though he did play 10 games last season) will contribute something. If nothing else you'll get a high character, leader type into the locker room. A really classy guy off the field too.

Overall, a solid squad addition that won't blow you away or leave you tearing your hair out, but he's an improvement on what you have. I wish him the best of luck.

I hope we bring Owen Daniels to training camp. Himself and Pitta would be great options for the passing game. And Kubiak would use him for sure

Now he is still getting healthy so I'm not saying leap in immediately with a multi year deal. Just if he is still a FA coming close to camp I'd like him invited.

Recognising that Daniels won't be as cheap as a new draft pick hopefully practice squader Furstenburg coud make the roster as the 3rd TE too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Brian017

Anyone know where I could get a Raven's jersey?