Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due August 2012 Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Betsie_xr3i

pushki i hope today goes well for you x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭pushki

Thank you betsie it really did go well for me it was so good to have someone to listen to and give their advice on the matter, i will be going back for another session nxt week and depending of how things progress im going to encourage himself to come along for a session too.

How is everyone else? Just saw on argos website, they have a fantastic costacco car seat which adapts with the child as they how older, safe brand and lovely looking thing, half price in argos from 111 € to 50 €! Has anyone seen any good deals on cots / crib s/ Moses baskets or graco travel systems?
    Hope everyone is good :-)

that's so strange coz i was just looking at argos there too i was looking at the baby baths :-) there s some good offers on at the moment there,

Im so glad you found today helpful and it would be great if your oh would go with you to a session too, it does really help to speak with someone who doesn't know you, when i lost my father 7years ago i was only 20 and found it really hard to cope and i went for counselling and it was the best thing i ever done x x x keep your chin up and remember we are here too if you ever need to vent x

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭new look

Glad you got on well today Pushki. It's so good to talk things through with someone who's totally unconnected to the situation :) Oh and the venting on here is also a good one :)
    I keep telling hubbie he can get the hoist in any day now! Mother of God getting out of bed is getting pretty impossible and I feel that I get comfy in bed eventually and fall asleep but wake up with a pain in my hip a couple of hours later with the extra weight so I have to move. Hmmmmm! At least I know it will be worth it when I have the two little bundles in my arms :)
    Is anyone feeling the effects of lack of a social life at the minute??? I had a meltdown on Sunday night that I'm missing being able to go out. Not that I had much of a social life before all this but it's nice to have a night out with the girls and a few wee glasses of wine :) I think I just miss it a wee bit!

Thanks for the support betsie and new look, and everyone contributing to the thread the support here is priceless! I am just so grateful to ye all xx

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭SSFG

Good for you pushki, hope talking to someone helps it's such a relief to talk to someone impartial.

New look you poor thing, I feel the same in bed and I'm only having one baby :eek: I am surrounded by pillows in bed soon husband will be sleeping on the floor. Have had a few really bad night's sleep, but it's pointless going to bed early or having a lie in because it's actually too uncomfortable to spend too long in bed with my hips. But it will be so so worth it, 100 million percent!
    Also know what you mean about the social life, we weren't big on going out, but was out the bank holiday for dinner then a few drinks and I was very uncomfortable so ended up asking to go home. But the Heineken cup final is on Saturday and I was saying to husband could we please watch it in the pub!! Yeah right, me and my NA beer, I'd be looking to go home before half time I know I would!!

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rose35

Glad you got on well pushki, it really does help to talk it out. And yes I know all about the hip pain in bed girls, have a body pillow which is great, got it in argos.

lack of a social life sucks, i was never much of a drinker but i do enjoy myself when i go out oh doesnt drink at all. we are heading to killarney for the weekend, oh is taking me away for my birthday :D cant wait for 6.30 today as no more work till tuesday. i just know that today will go so slow

• Registered Users Posts: 48 AlisonRelihan

Anyone going to see What to expect when your expecting film. It's out next week!!

can't wait to go see it, have to find someone to come with me though can't see the oh coming with me haha

Didn't even know that film was even being made!! Dreading the weekend as i have a family thing to go to wit the boyfriend. He knows im getting help but he doesn't know he's the reason i need it. I just know he'll end up getting drunk and start aannoying me. But its just for one night ill see him and I've another session with counsellor next week. I m just laying low from him until i have made my decision of what to do.
    On a positive note i have a fun girlie weekend planned for next weekend involving 3d scan hotel stay, spa treatments and shopping i really can't wait :-)

wow pushki t.at weekend sounds fantastic, where are you going for the 3d scan!

pushki wrote: »
    Didn't even know that film was even being made!! Dreading the weekend as i have a family thing to go to wit the boyfriend. He knows im getting help but he doesn't know he's the reason i need it. I just know he'll end up getting drunk and start aannoying me. But its just for one night ill see him and I've another session with counsellor next week. I m just laying low from him until i have made my decision of what to do.
    On a positive note i have a fun girlie weekend planned for next weekend involving 3d scan hotel stay, spa treatments and shopping i really can't wait :-)

Good on you, sounds like you will have a really good weekend with the girls, oh and enjoy the 3d scan it is truly amazing, you will be in awe after it, i cant stop looking at the pics of my little man, and kissing them, you'd swear he wasnt as close as he is to me,like he is only in my womb, he couldnt get any closer:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Pushki I hope everything works out for you with your other half and your counselling is going well x
    Also, that weekend sounds amazing!! Would love nothing more! Where are you having your scan done??
    I was with my GP the other day and back again with her in two weeks, then two weeks later with my consultant. Is this the start of the more regular appointments??
    WHat hospital is everyone going to???
    Sorry if this was asked already!:)

Try not to worry too much about this weekend, hopefully it will go ok for you.

Next weekend sounds fab, where are ye heading, so jealous!! Will you have someone with you for the scan.

Gee_G wrote: »
    I was with my GP the other day and back again with her in two weeks, then two weeks later with my consultant. Is this the start of the more regular appointments??

Yeah I'm 29 weeks today, had 28 week appointment on Tuesday with hospital (Galway), back to GP in 3 weeks at 32 weeks then I think they start to get more frequent.

SSFG wrote: »
    Yeah I'm 29 weeks today, had 28 week appointment on Tuesday with hospital (Galway), back to GP in 3 weeks at 32 weeks then I think they start to get more frequent.[/QUOTE

The week after next I have appointments 3 mornings in a row! Glucose tolerance test, meet with the anaesithist(dont know how to spell that :D) and next day GP! I will never be off the road, its a good job I am not working full time at the minute!! I am in Cavan hospital.

I did my GTT a few weeks ago, it's a bit annoying with alot of appointments as I'm a good bit away from hospital too.

i had my GTT done a few weeks ago its not too bad, was all clear too thank god,

Pushki hope all goes ok this weekend. Let the thoughts of a most deserved pampering time ahead get you through it :)
    I've been running since we found out about the twins at 14/15 weeks. Consultant every 4 weeks and GP every two weeks in between that and also my scans are in the fetal assessment unit to keep a close eye every 4 weeks. The scan there is actually quite good so they are pretty clear on it which is nice. I was put off work 4 weeks ago so at least I'm not running from work to apps and back again. The couch has become my new best friend! Really feeling the weight and pressure in the last two days so walking is getting a bit uncomfortable. I dread to see what I'll be like in another 10 weeks although hopefully by that stage I'll be pretty close to the big day. I'll be into 36 weeks by then so the end will definitely be in sight (if I'm still in one piece by that stage!!!).
    Went out this morning to get a few hospital bits. Can't believe I'm at that stage already and it's probably even a bit early but I would be afraid of leaving it much longer with the way I've been feeling in the last day or two but at least I'll have the bag ready to go and it can be lifted at any stage. Now just to pack it all up!!!
    Any nice plans for the weekend ladies?

Im going to start getting hospital stuff soon myself.

heading to killarney for the weekend with oh, just dropped the dog off to the kennel and she loves it there but today i balled my eyes out leaving there

Ye I was just saying that to my other half the other day about getting stuff for the hospital bags. Have all the babies clothes and blankets, nappies etc for the bag. Obviously have a few more bits to get but haven't got a thing for my own! Might make a trip to Penneys to buy a few cheap night dresses that won't mind throwing out after labour or whatever! The list I got from hospital is fairly minimal! Did everyone get their EUmom bags from supervalu?? I got mine yesterday, there's some handy little tubes of stuff that be perfect size for the changing bag!

Gee_G wrote: »
    Pushki I hope everything works out for you with your other half and your counselling is going well x
    Also, that weekend sounds amazing!! Would love nothing more! Where are you having your scan done??
    Sorry if this was asked already!:)

I am attending mayo general hospital, have to speak to them about a gtt test on monday at my 28 week appt as last fri my gp detected sugar in my urine sample, otherwise I was told at last hospital appt that they would not be performing a gtt test on me because my bmi was within range and no history of diabetes in family. So im hoping test will be clear when they do it.
    Have a lovely weekend everyone.

Hi everyone, thanks so much for you're support, was feeling so down there after a conversation with himself but heading your lovely posts really helped ! :-)
    Im getting the scan in galway galway babyscan its called SSFG recommended it to me and my cousin is coming along with me.
    Im a bit nervous about the scan but at least il get to see bab and all this emotional turmoil will seem worth it in the end.
    :-) thanks again everyone!o

Hope you enjoy the scan pushki! If you need to know how to get there or anything let me know!

I bought a bag for the hospital yesterday, have to start getting the stuff to put into it now. As for nightdresses, jeez it's impossible to get dark coloured ones, checked a load of places yesterday!
    Have the baby clothes and blankets etc, must get a start on buying nappies as well. Up the walls at the min as we are doing a bit of work on the house so once that's done it will be full steam ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭laura.

yooohooo ladies, not been on here in a lifetime.

Pushki I'm sorry to hear what you are going through, last thing you need right now, this is supposed to be one of the best experiences of your life and he is ruining it on you (my sister went through the exact same thing, and it killed me watching it), hope you get sorted out soon xx

Girls how are we all feeling, I'm feeling like a bit of a rhino at the moment bleugh...bump is getting bigger by the day and kicks are very VERY low and uncomfortable, nurse told me baby is breech so I'm hoping it hurry's up and does it's little flip. 20 weeks scan went great but we were unable to find out the sex so was very disappointed, but we have a 28 week one now on 6th June so hope to find out then, if not we are getting a private 3/4D one done in Sligo. GTT has been done and passed, jaysus the drink was MANK. Back to the GP now on Monday week for more blood tests for this stoopid ass thyroid. Oh and I had a rash on my back there for 3 weeks and turns out it was shingles I had, Hubby thought it was HILARIOUS as he thinks only old people get it, needless to say he was told to cop on lol. My birthday now on Monday and he has booked me in for tomorrow to get my hair cut and coloured in the poshest salon in town, can't freaking wait. Has anyone got any exciting plans this weekend? I'm with ya's girls on the wee glass of wine, have all the drink I had bought in for Christmas in my wine rack lol the little bottles of rosé be calling me every time I walk past. Hope you are all well girls, great to see everyone is almost in the third trimester now, how bloody quick is time going? It's great!! Cuddles to you all xx

Welcome back Laura!!
    You made me Lol with the comment your husband made about the shingles!!! he'd want to be careful or he'll get them too :-P
    It must be really uncomfortable having all the kicks so low your porn bladder:-(
    All my kicks are at the side so i reckon my bab is still transverse. I never thought babies could just assume any position they feel like until i got pregnant:-)
    Im sure they will get into place when they feel like it

New look you seem to be doing fantastic especially with twins! Its great you got off work, i can't imagine what its like carrying 2 little sprogs !

SSFG i got the eumom bag too, very handy samples for the hospital bag!!

Betsie i hope you and your oh have a lovely time in killarney :-)

I am shocked the third trimester is here ! Time is just flyng !! Feeling the same kind of first trim symptoms again esp the crazy hormones one my eyes are constantly red from crying!! I even had a MALE friend in new York telling me im being hormonal Lol!!
    The one night im off work the dogs have me woken up with their howling and now baby is getting in on the act dancing away inside of me :-)

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend and spoils themselves rotten :-)

Welcome back Laura! You poor thing with the shingles! As if you hadn't enough pregnancy stuff to contend with! All my Christmas drink was attacked by my husband! He said it would be gone off by the time I can drink again, although the sight of a man drinking Bulmers Light made me laugh alright! As for the wine, it's safely away in the press :)
    Had a lovely morning with my daughter this morning. Had some girly time and she got to spend her communion money in Smyths and on Next clothes so she was delighted! I tried not to talk about the babies or look at baby stuff because I know she's feeling a bit overwhelmed sometimes but she's so good at the same time. 8 years on her own and now she's getting lots of company in one go! I know she'll be a great help but I just don't want her to feel too put out either. Is anyone else experienceing anything like this with older children in the house?
    Plenty of kicks and digs all over the place these days. I had convinced myself the other night I had a broken rib because one of them is right up in my ribs most of the time and the pain was so bad!! My very sympathetic husband laughed his head off! He likes to talk to the babies and then give them a wee poke! Easy knowing he's not the one they're poking back :)
    How do you get those bags in Supervalu? Do you apply for them or buy them in there or what way do they work? We have no Supervalu here but there's a couple not too far away so I could get one.

new look wrote: »
    Welcome back Laura! You poor thing with the shingles! As if you hadn't enough pregnancy stuff to contend with! All my Christmas drink was attacked by my husband! He said it would be gone off by the time I can drink again, although the sight of a man drinking Bulmers Light made me laugh alright! As for the wine, it's safely away in the press :)
    Had a lovely morning with my daughter this morning. Had some girly time and she got to spend her communion money in Smyths and on Next clothes so she was delighted! I tried not to talk about the babies or look at baby stuff because I know she's feeling a bit overwhelmed sometimes but she's so good at the same time. 8 years on her own and now she's getting lots of company in one go! I know she'll be a great help but I just don't want her to feel too put out either. Is anyone else experienceing anything like this with older children in the house?
    Plenty of kicks and digs all over the place these days. I had convinced myself the other night I had a broken rib because one of them is right up in my ribs most of the time and the pain was so bad!! My very sympathetic husband laughed his head off! He likes to talk to the babies and then give them a wee poke! Easy knowing he's not the one they're poking back :)
    How do you get those bags in Supervalu? Do you apply for them or buy them in there or what way do they work? We have no Supervalu here but there's a couple not too far away so I could get one.

Go onto eumom.ie and register there, you will have to print off little card and bring it with you!:)

Argos have a big summer baby event ending June 5th. From looking at the leaflet it sounds fab!! A lot of things are half price or more!!!!