Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

ST wasn't in maintenance last Friday afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

I’d love to actually no what they have left on that unit considering the ST is in maintenance, golf is wrote off and the OPC done.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Crash helmets... Noticed a lot of EU police using flip up front helmets, better than the Garda issue full face?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

golf is wrote off

Do you 100% know that?

I was told that the damage was less severe than first thought.

Damaged repairable!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

I hear there’s a gang of burglars out running the boys in blue in an AMG a45 with cloned plates Lately around Dublin 15 .

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Do you 100% know that?

I was told that the damage was less severe than first thought.

Damaged repairable!

Been repaired

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Silent Running

POGAN wrote: »
    Been repaired

The OPC doesn't look too bad either, but it's probably too long in the tooth to repair. :(

Bigus wrote: »
    I hear there’s a gang of burglars out running the boys in blue in an AMG a45 with cloned plates Lately around Dublin 15 .

Thats true, they have a lovely culture let’s just say...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Thats true, they have a lovely culture let’s just say...

Same crowd that were around in the RS6 a few weeks ago?

The silver one

The OPC doesn't look too bad either, but it's probably too long in the tooth to repair. :(

That OPC goes to 500k as it’s police spec is what I am told! Nearly at that tho I would think

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

That OPC goes to 500k as it’s police spec is what I am told! Nearly at that tho I would think

Would it have been bought new or a second-hand job from the uk?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

carzony wrote: »
    Would it have been bought new or a second-hand job from the uk?

Came from psni

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭bigdaddymac

With all the changes they talk about will AGS be driving fit for purpose cars anytime soon?

No

Why so?

Why so?

$$$$$$

carzony wrote: »
    $$$$$$

Feck sake and yet the car is how they do there job

The i40 is grand for most of the work. We need more units with higher spec cars. RPU should be in higher spec than regular units.

foreign wrote: »
    The i40 is grand for most of the work. We need more units with higher spec cars. RPU should be in higher spec than regular units.

New 192 i40 are 1.6 with ad blue ( going to be fun to see how that goes) Tucson on rpu aren’t bad but driving courses are issues who can drive bmw or Audi cbd3 only!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭Old diesel

New 192 i40 are 1.6 with ad blue ( going to be fun to see how that goes) Tucson on rpu aren’t bad but driving courses are issues who can drive bmw or Audi cbd3 only!

If you mean the adblue when you say "going to be fun to see how that goes" - the reality is that adblue is going to be a big thing on diesels now.

So the Gardai will have to adapt to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The i40s are balls of sh1te for police work!!! Things spend more time in the garage nearly as much as the 11 Avensis.

Crap to drive, seats are awful for 8-10 hours a day, hard ride, build quality is poor. As a family car/rep mobile then they might be ok but they were only bought as patrol cars because they're cheap. I preferred the previous focus we had every time and they weren't perfect either.

I think the Tuscon course is only a one day refresher for CBD2. Plenty of RPU lads here driving it on CBD2.

Why so?

One thing HQ are utterly careless at is cash management.
    Everything is on the cheap.
    Family estates for front line response cars is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

One thing HQ are utterly careless at is cash management.
    Everything is on the cheap.
    Family estates for front line response cars is ridiculous.

100%

So many other makes/models that would fit much better.

The i40s are balls of sh1te for police work!!! Things spend more time in the garage nearly as much as the 11 Avensis.

Crap to drive, seats are awful for 8-10 hours a day, hard ride, build quality is poor. As a family car/rep mobile then they might be ok but they were only bought as patrol cars because they're cheap. I preferred the previous focus we had every time and they weren't perfect either.

I think the Tuscon course is only a one day refresher for CBD2. Plenty of RPU lads here driving it on CBD2.

It is one day course and yes it’s cbd2 but for high speed stuff like BMW’s ( we won’t talk about 5 2016 estates in depot and college only used for asu training)

New Skodas coming no one knows who getting them... rpu, branch or specialist! DOCB have few already

• Registered Users Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

But someone think thats 100 crap cars are better than 50 decent cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

But someone think thats 100 crap cars are better than 50 decent cars.

Seems logical enough to me for 95% of the use , but then agin I’ve never been outrun by a gangster.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

It is one day course and yes it’s cbd2 but for high speed stuff like BMW’s ( we won’t talk about 5 2016 estates in depot and college only used for asu training)

New Skodas coming no one knows who getting them... rpu, branch or specialist! DOCB have few already

Sorry, I misread your post.

Fair enough that the 530 and Q7 are cbd3 only. They're not needed for the regular.

Hopefully they'll buy a ball of 2.0 mondeos before they go out of production like they did in 07.

Am I right in saying the Garda have always prefered the Fords of any generation rather than other brands?

Why don’t the lease the cars more effective way the major haulage companies do it from the manufacturers.