Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread Part II **Mod Warning** Read First Post/or Post 7389

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Hey Everyone,

So the "Larianne method" doesn't seem to be working so well for me on POF. Online a month and NOTHING! Maybe my profile needs more work, but I've lots of info and a few pics, and I always send detailed messages. I've been mailing guys but they all trail off. Haven't gotten into a proper conversation with anyone really.
    So I'm considering going public with my profile, but there's a few on there I do not want contacting me. (I know them) Can you block someone before they contact you...like a pre-emptive stike?! :)

My pet peeve with girls profiles are usually the following things:

Pictures of them plastered drunk wearing outfits that are far too small for them.

Profiles that say some variation of the following:

"I like socialising, going out to dinner, the gym and spending time with my friends. I like a good night out but also like a night in with a DVD and a glass of vino". It reads like a fecking CV for a job!

A lot girls on dating sites have stuff like that on their profile and sometimes that's all they have and to be blunt, it's pretty boring. The profiles that I always like are the ones where you can really see the girls personality and she perhaps starts talking about nutty things and the like.

So to summarise, less/no CV style and more personality :)

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Busy Lizzie

Larianne wrote: »
    The Larianne method, Ha! :o That way does take more effort, and its not 100% successful.

I don't think you can block them before they message you but you can then block them after the first message.

Have you had any of the lads on here have a look at your profile? THey're usually good offering their advice.

Actually I haven't! Maybe I should... :confused:
    I'm pretty fed-up of internet dating. There seems to be so few girls who really grab my interest and the rest seem fine, but don't really make me want to desperately get in contact, but as a guy you have to cast a very wide net in order to get any replies.

I guess what bothers me is that the alternative is meeting girls in real life and that has been a much worse success rate (it never happens) which doesn't fill me with confidence either frown.gif

G-Money - I feel the exact same! That's what keeps me sane, knowing that people out there are feeling the same way. Else you'd take it too personally and get depressed over it. I'm trying to look at it like, trying something new, and if I get a date or two out of it, at least I'll have something fun going on, and who knows what might happen! :D

• Administrators Posts: 53,556 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

G-Money wrote: »

Uh oh! I cant remember exactly what I have but it is a bit like.... "I like this and that"! :o Maybe I have some work to do after all. It's hard though getting your personality across when you're just putting the info out there and it's not in a response to a question or anything. I think that's why so many people dont fill it in, because they dont know what to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

My pet peeve with girls profiles are usually the following things:

Pictures of them plastered drunk wearing outfits that are far too small for them.

Profiles that say some variation of the following:

"I like socialising, going out to dinner, the gym and spending time with my friends. I like a good night out but also like a night in with a DVD and a glass of vino". It reads like a fecking CV for a job!

A lot girls on dating sites have stuff like that on their profile and sometimes that's all they have and to be blunt, it's pretty boring. The profiles that I always like are the ones where you can really see the girls personality and she perhaps starts talking about nutty things and the like.

That's fair enough, BUT at the same time the 'nutty things' could be what turns someone else OFF and they might think 'oh well she said nothing about her likes/interests there!' so it's a lose-lose scenario!

When I had a profile, I used to write completely random things about myself, like, I don't like yogurts but I like petit filous, I've never eaten lobster, I talk Irish to Polish people when I'm drunk, that kinda thing. But some men could read that and think 'Jesus Christ this woman is insane!' ...............:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

My profile is four lines long. Short, sweet, and (imho!) funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I find a guy is more likely to message you if you have a pretty photo up. A lot don't even read your profile.

I had 3/4 up. I find 1 photo doesn't give a proper account of what someone looks like, and could be very deceiving, leading to possible disappointment when meeting. So I used have 3/4 different kinds of photos up so they can form a better opinion. To be honest, guys that actually wrote things on their profile or commented on things that I had written on mine, when sending a message, would fair far better in my books.

I'm not looking just for a pretty face! :)

Perhaps nutty was the wrong word to use.

What I mean is I kind of like profiles where the girl is a bit random and perhaps can go off on a tangent about something and is funny. They really grab my interest, but perhaps that's just me.

There's nothing wrong with adding your interests to a profile, I'd encourage it. But kind of putting just basic statements saying "I like X and Y" and not even elaborating a bit or anything, can come across a bit dry.

I guess an example would be if a girl said she liked running, and perhaps has competed in some races and/or was planning to or even hates the idea of it. She could elaborate on that rather than just saying "I like running" full stop and that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Well obviously. It's internet dating, your picture is the first thing people have to form an impression on. Then they read your profile and then (hopefully!) they message you.

Personally I wouldn't be bothered trawling through all the profiles of men with no pic up in the hope that one of them might have such an epic profile that I'll feel compelled to message him.

That's fair enough, BUT at the same time the 'nutty things' could be what turns someone else OFF and they might think 'oh well she said nothing about her likes/interests there!' so it's a lose-lose scenario!

When I had a profile, I used to write completely random things about myself, like, I don't like yogurts but I like petit filous, I've never eaten lobster, I talk Irish to Polish people when I'm drunk, that kinda thing. But some men could read that and think 'Jesus Christ this woman is insane!' ...............:rolleyes:

Those are exactly the type of profiles I usually go for haha :pac:

Me too. If I gauge a good sense of humour from a profile, I'm so there :)

I fared okay from it in the long run haha.

awec wrote: »
    Lizzie if ye want your profile looked feel free to send it on if you want, I can take a look later if I get a minute.

Thanks awec, I might take you up on that, but I'll have to send it on later this evening if that's ok.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Well obviously. It's internet dating, your picture is the first thing people have to form an impression on. Then they read your profile and then (hopefully!) they message you.

Personally I wouldn't be bothered trawling through all the profiles of men with no pic up in the hope that one of them might have such an epic profile that I'll feel compelled to message him.

Hmmm Im already at the stage where Im relying on emailing guys with profiles with no pics up. :cool: When I search now I've nearly seen all the guys with pics up! Sounds like I'm on the site all the time, Im not!

Honey-ec wrote: »

I meant a lot don't even bother reading your profile before messaging. Hence why I took mine down/hid profile and message guys myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Just deleting my pof account now. :) / :(

Why? Its the only site Im actually on:)

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Dolly Daydreams

I meant a lot don't even bother reading your profile before messaging. Hence why I took mine down/hid profile and message guys myself.

You're so right there.. I was talking to a guy for a few days and said I had a daughter. He said really? Err yeah it's on my profile.. Oh right I didn't look at what you said just your pics.. NEXT!:pac:

Proof HE [and anyone else!] should actually read profiles correctly.

Someone with a kid isn't a leper !

Edit: My mistake. Turns out I need to read properly! Sorry! :/ [Thanks chaterpillar!]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Well maybe actually read the profile next time.

Someone with a kid isn't a leper ya know.

Err ... I'd say she knows that ... seeing as she has a daughter, and all? :confused:

Proof HE [and anyone else!] should actually read profiles correctly.

Someone with a kid isn't a leper !

Edit: My mistake. Turns out I need to read properly! Sorry! :/ [Thanks chaterpillar!]

Ha ha no worries, I worded it a bit ar*e ways. I was wondering what you was on about

Got my first willy!! :pac: Oh my!

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭mc_grens

Maybe, but if those things are really an insight to your nuttiness and he doesn't like them, then he's probably the wrong guy for you anyway. If, however he thinks you sound just the right kind of nutty for him- all the better!

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭mc_grens

I dunno. Pretty photo or not, if someone doesn't write a decent bit about themselves they won't hear from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

that's what she said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

What was it like?

phallus like. :pac:

Also, had another guy asking did I want to see him **** off on camera. They're all out tonight!! See this is what happens when you unhide your profile!!

No longer a willy virgin yay