Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

County Jerseys

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Hank Schrader

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Now that's a nice jersey!!

loel.gifloel.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Cork jersey looks like a great big mess with that sponsor. Had my doubts about the Dublin jersey but it looks well on the tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Goalie jersey is all white, straight reversal of the outfield one. No more hoops.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 kilmac14

Just one small issue on the whole new cork jersey lads, Chill.ie's corporate colours have to be used, as it's stated in the contract they signed (I've got inside info on that). The o2 sponsorship was good because the o2 was already white so it blended in much better that the Chill.ie logo, but look, give it time and im sure they'll sort something better out.

Plus the most important thing is the players in the jerseys, not the jersey!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,825 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

kilmac14 wrote: »
    Chill.ie's corporate colours have to be used, as it's stated in the contract they signed

I figured that was true, as it's the way these things are nowadays anyway, but I just think it's a mistake. Chill's logo would look better on the jersey if they hadn't insisted on their corporate colour, and I think the value placed on your corporate colour by thee corporations is far too high.

But yeah if Cork are winning nobody would care if they were wearing SS uniforms.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 kilmac14

Have to agree Realt Dearg, Chill.ie's corporate colours are rotten looking but at least it's not hunky dories. And ya the performance of the team is more important than the jersey...... but id draw the line at them wearing SS uniforms :P

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭EIRE1922

kilmac14 wrote: »
    Just one small issue on the whole new cork jersey lads, Chill.ie's corporate colours have to be used, as it's stated in the contract they signed (I've got inside info on that). The o2 sponsorship was good because the o2 was already white so it blended in much better that the Chill.ie logo, but look, give it time and im sure they'll sort something better out.

Plus the most important thing is the players in the jerseys, not the jersey!!!

It is the same with most sponsor's terms & conditions. Same with Avonmore (Glanbia), Kerry Group, Vodafone, etc. It is usually part of the sponsorship agreement and is signed into each contract.

The Cork jersey looks fine. Just a rubbish looking sponsor on the jersey makes it look bad. The Tyrone jersey looks far worse with Hunky Dorys.

In fairness, i dont mind the sponsor so much, it's just the lazy way they went about changing the design of the jersey. They basically took the stripes that were on the stomach of last years jersey, and turned them at an angle... Lazy is the best way of describing it. Even a plain version like Tyrone's 'away' jersey would've been better..

tyrone-2013-jersey-red-1.jpg

Hunky Dorky's are more known for their more risky adverts.

tyrone-2013-jersey-white-1.jpg

As people are giving out about the sponsor, Chill also sponsor the NUI Maynooth ladies football team, and their sponsor logo looks a lot better and different than ours...

607249.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Lads...just to let ye know.O neills there are doing buy a jersey and get one for half price......But not the Cork jersey :( (they aren't doing Galway home or Dublin Pink either)

The 'chill' looks better there blended into the back of the shirt. So they could place Chill insurance in white lettering on the Cork jersey.

731696.jpg

First proper look at the cork goalie jersey. Return to the white goalie jersey last seen in 2002 (if you count the sleeves being red then it was back in 98 we had an all white one). Always liked the hoops, pity they got rid of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Connorzee wrote: »
    As people are giving out about the sponsor, Chill also sponsor the NUI Maynooth ladies football team, and their sponsor logo looks a lot better and different than ours...

I think the issue could be that they fear that the logo might not be visible enough when the tv cameras are rolling.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Was it Ger Cunningham who first wore hoops while the likes of John Kerins wore all white? Would have liked to see the hurling keeper continue in hoops myself

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭denishurley

Billy Morgan wore hoops in the 1973 All-Ireland football final

Wearing the hoops in the Munster Final v Kerry, in 1966.

Cork1966.jpg

I see there is no point in buying the new Dublin jersey as Vodafone are ending their sponsorship deal after the end of this year's championship!

There will probably be another jersey change so, I assume before Christmas or in the New Year!? O'Neills might aswell sell the new ones now for half price, as they will be obsolete in about 6 months time.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

607249.jpg

Nice picture of a Cork girl playing for a Limerick college! :D

I'm unhappy the hoops have gone from the keeper's jersey as well. Must head up to O Neills store in Dublin and see if I can pick up a few jerseys

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭macgrub

607249.jpg

I may be wrong, but I am sure that this Chill is the name of the on-campus restaurant (privately owned). It's called 'Chill', and their logo / font is the very same as what's on this player's shirt (here is their facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ChillMaynooth )
    So I think it may be a case of same name, different company.

Look at the Wales rugby jersey. Admiral is not a nice looking sponsor by any means but my point is that it is both legible and noticeable and doesnt need a white background. Cork should take note

24415.SC.jpg

Motion 27 was passed today which could potentially see a second sponsor on GAA intercounty jerseys. While i realise that county boards need the money in this climate we could have a situation where shirts look like French football teams or cyclists in the future. I wonder will there be an adverse effect on Jersey sales from this?
    Where will this extra sponsorship be placed?

Motion 27 - Additional Branding on Inter-County Jerseys
    This motion proposes the following to be added: "Additional branding on other area(s) of Inter-County Jerseys shall be allowed as per specifications approved by Central Council and with authorisation in each case being given by the Management Committee."
    This motion only relates to inter-county jerseys. In effect, it means teams would be able to increase the visibility of sponsorship on their jerseys, and potentially use a second sponsor on their jerseys.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

You'd imagine they'll take the lead from the rugby teams and League of Ireland teams and the second sponsor could go on the sleeves or above or below the number on the back. It can make jersies look horribly tacky when done carelessly imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭zetecescort

some of the rugby ones are a disgrace with branding on the arse of shorts

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Disappointed that this was only passed for intercounty - would have helped a lot for clubs to generate income

Hard enough for counties to find one sponsor (Cork) let alone a second!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭seanm92

Id imagine the second sponsor would be a minor sponsor, ie on the sleeve/back of the shirt, which would cost less, so it should be relatively easy to find a sponsor IMO

That was down to the amount of money Cork were looking for, a second sponsor would mean that they could charge less for the main sponsor, making it easier to find one

If they were looking for more than average for the main sponsor, they'll probably be looking for more than average for a minor sponsor too.

I really don't like the new numbering on the jersies :( Saw a few up close photos tonight looking through sportsfile and inpho, and not impressed tbh