Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due July 2012 Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Kash

My emotions are all over the shop too - I wanted to make muffins yesterday (saurelins recipe - thanks hon!) and was absolutely devastated to find out we had no eggs and the local shop was already shut. I moped around for the rest of the afternoon - couldn't snap out of it at all. Poor hubby didn't know what to do!!

I'm finding it so hard to sleep now - I just can't seem to get comfortable, no matter what position I am in. And if I do fall asleep, I wake up with an achy shoulder/neck/back/knee because of the uncomfortable position. Driving me demented!!

But - i think I can finally feel movement, I am getting flutters and the occasional poking sensation. It's so weird!! Hubby is laughing his ass off, because I have a very strong aversion to anyone poking my belly button, and now it's happening from the inside!!

Hope everyone is feeling happy and healthy today!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Oh congrats re the movement Kash!

I had great intentions to use Saurelin's healthy muffin recipe but then himself really wanted to make them (he loves cooking & baking - I'm very lucky) and he did the bold version of them. They were so good, we had them fresh with Vienetta!

Started the almighty spring clean. I'm actually being ruthless about going through all our stuff & throwing out stuff that I haven't worn in years or we haven't used hardly ever etc. I wore myself out really fast though, getting better at recognising when I need to lie or sit down for 10 mins to rest.

We've agreed on what room will be baby's room and agreed we'd paint it & I'm going to do a little mural on one wall. Baby won't be sleeping in there for a while but it'll be nice to have an actual baby room to look at! We're not going to get nursery furniture like drawers as don't really have the room but we have a massive wardrobe already in there that has shelving and going to clear that out and make that for baby's stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

I didn't do a tap all weekend. Only go to the cinema yesterday.
    I really need to scrub the window sills and footpath outside the house as they are green! And slippery when wet. Hubby can't do it, as he is working 14 hr days lately, 7 days a week....

I have the itchiest boob today. One nipple is driving me nuts! Think bra is too small. TMI ALERT: I check my nipples for that "leakage" that some of ye mentioned. I had a slight bit of white/cream crustiness...it was kinda gross.

Are any of ye going to get an eternity ring from your hubbies/ partners after the birth? All the girls is my local village got them after having their first child...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭javagal

Got a package in the post from my nannys elderly sister of lots of baby clothes and a crystal ornament i was obsessed with when i used to visit her in the uk, my nanny passed away last year so its so sweet that she thought of me still,

i hope to get married when baby in born !

Don't know about an eternity ring - we're married less than a year, so I'm still in love with the existing ones!!

Our baby room is taking shape, we cleared out the spare bedroom and replaced the doublebed in there with a bright red sofa bed. It's still pretty big, but we need a place for visitors to sleep. And a couch never goes to waste, right? We can use it for feeding and cuddle time. I can see it getting covered with teddies :)

We're hoping to get some decals for the wall. It's already super bright yellow, so I don't think we'll paint, but we want some trees and birdies.

Kash wrote: »
    Don't know about an eternity ring - we're married less than a year, so I'm still in love with the existing ones!!

Our baby room is taking shape, we cleared out the spare bedroom and replaced the doublebed in there with a bright red sofa bed. It's still pretty big, but we need a place for visitors to sleep. And a couch never goes to waste, right? We can use it for feeding and cuddle time. I can see it getting covered with teddies :)

We're hoping to get some decals for the wall. It's already super bright yellow, so I don't think we'll paint, but we want some trees and birdies.
    Yeah us too. Married 5.5 months. Pregnant 4.5 months! It's funny watching people do the math when I tell them we're expecting.

We still havent thought about what we are doing with the spare room. All that's in there in an exercise bike. The walls are beige since we built it. It probably won't be done until baby is born.

Do any of ye expect anything for mothers day this yr? My hubby is totally against treating me for mothers day any year as "I'm not his mother"
    Meanie :(

We were very similar, married in August, preggers by October! Especially as he was only in the country for a week from september on. He's convinced he has super sperm now, bless :D

I don't expect anything at all for mothers day - hubby is getting more and more superstitious as days go by, I had to get all doe-eyed on him this weekend just so he would let me buy some super cute outfits for little Melody!

silly wrote: »
    Do any of ye expect anything for mothers day this yr? My hubby is totally against treating me for mothers day any year as "I'm not his mother"

Yep I got that line as well when I brought it up jokingly some months ago. I'm secretly hoping he might just get me a small bunch of flowers or something just to mark the occasion. We usually concentrate on his mam on Mother's day and give her gifts and go out to dinner (my mam's long gone).

Re the eternity ring, I very much doubt it. We got married really young with feck all money and our "wedding rings" were made of silver and cost about €12 each haha. Over the years I've bought various rings and pronounced that "this is my new engagement/wedding ring". Last year I got an eternity ring for my birthday that's made out of silver & has cubic zirconia instead of diamonds. I picked it out from a site that specialises in "fake" jewellery but they actually are quite nice and tasteful looking (honest - I'm not into bling). Cost like €50! So that's my wedding ring this year haha. He doesn't even have his ring, he doesn't wear jewellery anyway as he's guitarist so they get in the way. We're not very traditional.

A friend of mine found she hardly ever wore her jewellery due to her work so she got a wedding ring of sorts tattoo'd onto her ring finger. It suits her though as she's covered in tattoo's.

Mink wrote: »
    silly wrote: »

Yep I got that line as well when I brought it up jokingly some months ago. I'm secretly hoping he might just get me a small bunch of flowers or something just to mark the occasion. We usually concentrate on his mam on Mother's day and give her gifts and go out to dinner (my mam's long gone).

Re the eternity ring, I very much doubt it. We got married really young with feck all money and our "wedding rings" were made of silver and cost about €12 each haha. Over the years I've bought various rings and pronounced that "this is my new engagement/wedding ring". Last year I got an eternity ring for my birthday that's made out of silver & has cubic zirconia instead of diamonds. I picked it out from a site that specialises in "fake" jewellery but they actually are quite nice and tasteful looking (honest - I'm not into bling). Cost like €50! So that's my wedding ring this year haha. He doesn't even have his ring, he doesn't wear jewellery anyway as he's guitarist so they get in the way. We're not very traditional.

A friend of mine found she hardly ever wore her jewellery due to her work so she got a wedding ring of sorts tattoo'd onto her ring finger. It suits her though as she's covered in tattoo's.
    I'm not really bothered about the eternity ring either, I'm in love with my engagement ring and wedding ring at the mo too. But I know hubby will be begging me at Christmas to give him some ideas as to what present I want, so if might be an idea for then.
    I would secretly hope that hubby would get me a card with "mammy" on it or something, but seeing as I didn't even get a card for our first valentines as married couple i'll be expecting a big fat nothing for mothers day this yr and every other yr for that matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

I'd prefer to have my back garden partially concreted then an eternity ring: I'm married 6 months (and preganant just 5 months) and have managed to wear my wedding ring for less then half of that! It's been off almost totally since December. I'm not really a jewellery wearing sort of girl but I am devestated by my lack of rings lately... :rolleyes: We're going to have our Christening the weekend of our wedding anniversary hopefully...

I don't want anything for Mother's Day: I'm gone really superstitious and I just don't want to jinx anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭mamaheidi

Hi ladies!

About the eternity ring - I'd love one but doubt the OH will get one. We're not married yet & next on the list is a house so I'd say the wedding will be a few more years down the line so an eternity ring would be a really nice gesture, even if it's supposed to be the third ring! We'll see, I live in hope!

Another little lady to add to the list - babyheidi is a healthy little girl!! Absolutely shocked - we were convinced that it was going to be a boy! So so thrilled, couldn't be happier. Went looking at baby clothes after it & had to stop myself buying all round me!! It'll have to wait till the end of the month ;) So so happy, haven't stopped smiling all morning!

Congrats on finding out you're having a girl Mamaheidi!! Great news.
    Add it to the list...wherever it is..

Edit/ sorry I wrote boy... I blame baby brain! Congrats!

Another girl wow! Congrats!
    My little one has some amount of clothes already, my family can't help them selves

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Afternoon ladies, hormones have settled for another few hours, thank god!

On the eternity ring subject, I got a promise/eternity symbolic ring for Xmas a couple of years ago after OH had been really sick and in hospital for a long time. He got me a pandora charm bracelet for Xmas so I'd imagine he'll get me another charm for that.
    We too plan to get married, probably in 2 years time, after baby well start saving properly for it.

His mother suggested we get married in a registry office before baby is born, so he has all legal rights etc. I put my foot down there and said absolutely no way. Ive told him that we will get the legal guardianship form done as soon as baby is born.
    I wasn't going to be rushing to the registry office just for that. We want to do things properly when we can afford to.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭mamaheidi

notsobusy-2nd July
    Tinkerbell4484 - 4th July - *Girl*
    Mamaheidi-8th July - *Girl*
    Cyning-8th July
    Javagal-9th July - *Girl*
    Kiwi2011-12th July
    Kash-13th July - *Girl*
    KildareAsh-15th July
    Silly- 18th July
    Fri.Day - 18th July - *Boy*
    Trions - 22nd July
    Saurelin- 22nd July
    March11 - 24th July
    Mink- 28th July
    theg81der- 31st July

Here is my 22 week bump.

Please excuse my perve dog sniffing me!

notsobusy-2nd July
    Tinkerbell79 - ????
    Cyning-8th July
    Kiwi2011-12th July
    Kash-13th July - *Girl*
    Nyquist Freak -14th July
    KildareAsh-15th July
    Silly- 18th July
    Trions - 22nd July
    Saurelin- 22nd July
    March11 - 24th July
    Mink- 28th July
    theg81der- 31st July

Just adding Nyquist in there.
    Tinkerbell79 if you want me to stick your due date on just let me know, plus anyone else who wants to be added.
    There's a fair few of us isn't there! Does anyone know if there are to be any records set this yr for baby booming. I know it's been going steadily up and up for years and it's supposed to be mental this year...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

mamaheidi wrote: »
    notsobusy-2nd July
    Cyning-8th July
    Kiwi2011-12th July
    Kash-13th July - *Girl*
    KildareAsh-15th July
    Silly- 18th July
    Trions - 22nd July
    Saurelin- 22nd July
    March11 - 24th July
    Mink- 28th July
    theg81der- 31st July

Congrats Mamaheidi xx

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Tinkerbell4484

There's loads of girls :) javagal my bump is about 3 times the size of yours, but it's my 5th so thats proberbly why.
    I'd love to start buying pink. Online browsing all day every day but dh won't let me buy a thing until after baby is born, he's very superstitious so I'll be 35-36 weeks before I get buying a thing for my hospital bag. Last time with ds4. It wa early jan (I wasn't due till 3rd feb) and we just went on a Saturday and got a few bits. Ds decided to make an early appearance and arrived the following Saturday so I'll have to have my bag ready this time!!
    No news here at all, trying to get everything ready for ds1's communion in may and I'm trying to get everyone's clothes sorted. Haven't bought for myself yet but going to do that in April. After the communion I'll be buying for babs.
    My next scan isn't until 24/4. I've the GTT on the 16/4 and I hate it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭trions

Mamaheidi - congratulations!!! you must be so excited...

All good with me, was at GP this morn and thank goodness everything is fine, everytime she found the heart beat the baby moved so she kept losing it again - think he/she was playing hide and seek with her...

On the eternity ring - my hubby was looking them up online and we picked out the type of one I'd like but we are going to hold off buying for a while, we have to move house before baby arrives so we have an expensive few months ahead...

On mothers day - not expecting anything, hubby is very superstitious - we have not bought a single baby thing yet, he is so nervous something will go wrong, we have our amonoly scan the week after next - hopefully if all goes well it will put his mind at ease so I can finally buy baby things...

Javagal - you have a lovely bump - def bigger than last pic, it's lovely and neat. I'm just over 20 weeks and bump has def moved up too - feeling the baby moving about a lot more the last few days :)

on boobs - no leaking yet, but am getting way bigger, my only prob is one is way bigger than the other :confused: just hoping lefty catches up soon!!

Hope everyone had a nice weekend and is feeling well.....

I.ll be gettin the glucose test too :-( bloody vampire doctors

Java! I'm nearly 21 weeks and massive compared to you!
    I'm hoping it's because I would be bigger than you anyway, and because it's not my first I don't have any resistance to the stretching!
    Hopefully, or else I'm a fatty. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

You look great java...when u having ur glucose test? Mines something like the 20th of April. Presume you're having it in Portlaoise too?

Mink, I know there was a record number of baptisms in Portlaoise last year and I'd say it'll increase again if numbers giving birth in the hospital r anything to go by!
    Personally, we know 13 couples who will or already have babies this year. Well technically the first one of those babies was born just before Xmas, but we're including him in our wave!
    We even randomly bumped into an old college friend of oh's last night and she was pregnant! It's mad, but I'm delighted coz I'll have loads of company when I'm on maternity leave an loads of future play dates :)

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Saurelin

Hi ladies,

I had crazy day at work today and I'm really tired today, but tomorrow I'm off as I have classes in hospital.

I have a picture of my bump as well (is dark but that's the only one I have)
    https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-OK8NKI30mrc/T1DKnVUOb7I/AAAAAAAACas/Anv8t4v-4sg/s451/20120302_132604.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

No point in me postin pic I still have no bump :(, when did you get your bumps?

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭tinkerbell79

Thanks Mink, still havent been able 2 do it myself i'm due 27th july.
    On the eternity ring I already got mine the christmas after 2nd ds (wasnt married on 1st ds) but I wouldn't mind another bit of jewelary must drop hints lol...
    Mothers day- my 1st mothers day- pregnant with 1st ds I presumed I'd at least get a card but no, even MIL said it to me in frount of dh and it was only then he realised i was expecting one!!!(he was lucky I wasnt as emotional that time as I am now I wouldnt have kept my mouth shut and prob would have cryed for ages..)
    Congrats mamaheidi!!
    You look great java I feel massive!! Lots of kicks though lately getting more often and stronger each day, just cant wait till the boys and dh can feel its so amazing.:)

Nice bump saurelin!
    I think I had a bump at 16/17 weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Saurelin

my regular trousers were to tight as week 7-8,and bump was changing every week, but my friends told me they notice difference around week 17
    on the other hand I lost weight everywhere else (no ass at the moment ;/).

Theg81der I have a friend who is 28 weeks and she has smaller bump then I have, and I'm only 20. So don't worry, you will get tired of your bump soon enough ;-)

kildareash wrote: »
    You look great java...when u having ur glucose test? Mines something like the 20th of April. Presume you're having it in Portlaoise too?

Mink, I know there was a record number of baptisms in Portlaoise last year and I'd say it'll increase again if numbers giving birth in the hospital r anything to go by!
    Personally, we know 13 couples who will or already have babies this year. Well technically the first one of those babies was born just before Xmas, but we're including him in our wave!
    We even randomly bumped into an old college friend of oh's last night and she was pregnant! It's mad, but I'm delighted coz I'll have loads of company when I'm on maternity leave an loads of future play dates :)
    Not sure when i have my glucose test , Will let ya know, im back with them this day next month anyways
    fiance is totally into my huge knockers, ding dong!

Silly,couldn't help giggle at your post , i thought my bump is huge but im pretty tall so maybe bigger surface area!