Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM Class of 2011- the continuing challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

BobMac104 wrote: »
    Ugh I know its an awfull habbit to have and one i wouldnt mind being able to do without.

My next race is the Boyne 10k on 6th May, 8 week proagram started today with a 3 mi easy run.

My current PB for 10k (54.00)was got in May 2010 at Boyne 10k ....I didn't own a Garmin at the time......:rolleyes:...and i have not got close to it yet (last 10k was 56.27 last July) might just start covering the face of it with tape when i'm racing and see how it goes!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Younganne wrote: »
    might just start covering the face of it with tape when i'm racing and see how it goes!!!!

You will break 54 no problem to you. If you run at your current Half marathon pace (8:4x) for it it should bring you in just under 54 min.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Name|Weeks Sessions|Weeks Total|Monthly Total|Yearly total|Comments
    BobMac104|6|34m|53.5m|416.9m|Struggling with a sore foot but a good 5k race on sunday|
    Younganne|3|13.27m|35.84m|172.08|Only got out for 3 runs this week...back to it fully this week:)|
    red face dave |||90.5|165.5|
    Nules10 ||||227.7| took the week off this week. totals are from the 1000 mile challenge table
    run44|4|28.25|58.55m|251.9m|Good week this week|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    KittyMittens|||38.8|38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

BobMac104|6|34m|53.5m|416.9m|Struggling with a sore foot but a good 5k race on sunday|
    Younganne|3|13.27m|35.84m|172.08|Only got out for 3 runs this week...back to it fully this week:)|
    Nules10 ||||227.7| took the week off this week. totals are from the 1000 mile challenge table
    run44|4|28.25|58.55m|251.9m|Good week this week|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |3|20.03m|28.2m|62.3m|Got 3 runs in this last week, aiming for 5 this week :)|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Bad week last week no point in updating table well carry it over to next week.
    Well done Bob great running. Keep it up

so i went out for 5 mile recovery last night and the foot was perfect not a peep out of it. Got up this morning to do ten with some friends and after getting .4 mile down the road i had to pull up with it. Very frustrating:mad:. I went home and iced it. I didnt do any further damage to it id say as i stopped straight away but I was pretty annoyed. I think its ok really but i reckon its telling me that I need 24 hours between runs for another bit yet. I'll see how it is through the day at work before i decide about another 5m plod for tonight:(.

Didnt go out last night but went for 6m this morning and it was grand.a bit stiff but no pain. Its a funny one. i iced again for good measure after the run. Strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

Didnt go out last night but went for 6m this morning and it was grand.a bit stiff but no pain. Its a funny one. i iced again for good measure after the run. Strange.

Good stuff Bob, hope you manage to keep it at bay. The occasional day off running might help ;) How many days a week do you tend to run?

run44 wrote: »
    The occasional day off running might help ;) How many days a week do you tend to run?

6 but sometimes 7 . saturdays are usually off or very light.

Wow, fair play. I don't know where you find the time and energy!

The mornings before work are where i get the time really. There is a small group of us who do about 3-4 runs a week a 7am anywhere from 6-13miles we start earlier if the run is (longer). Id never get out of bed if i knew no body would be waiting for me so it helps alot. The other runs are speed sessions on tuesday and thursdays and a long run then sunday. I rarely run alone these days which is a massive help.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Younganne wrote: »
    My next race is the Boyne 10k on 6th May, 8 week proagram started today with a 3 mi easy run.

My current PB for 10k (54.00)was got in May 2010 at Boyne 10k ....I didn't own a Garmin at the time......:rolleyes:...and i have not got close to it yet (last 10k was 56.27 last July) might just start covering the face of it with tape when i'm racing and see how it goes!!!!

The Garmin is a training tool and shouldn't control how you pace yourself in a race, it's very important to learn to run by feel and not be dictated by the Garmin readings. If you ran your quickest ever 10k without a Garmin I would leave it at home or cover it in your next race and just go out and race hard and see what happens.

pconn062 wrote: »

The Garmin is a training tool and shouldn't control how you pace yourself in a race, it's very important to learn to run by feel and not be dictated by the Garmin readings. If you ran your quickest ever 10k without a Garmin I would leave it at home or cover it in your next race and just go out and race hard and see what happens.

PConn you are so right and something i had lost sight off....
    I definitely plan to do this in future races. I have been using it during races and as you say its a training tool...so heres hoping to plenty more PB's:D

I've had a great week so far this week, i have run the 4 days and done 2 classes, Started with the Meath Running group on Wed evening doing core and conditioning class and i'm back at kettlebells on Thur evenings after missing 5 weeks...
    Definitely will enjoy the rest day today!!!

Good luck to all racing this weekend.

Galwayhooker, it was great meeting you at class last night and sorry i had to run and didn't get to chat but OH had to get to football to support his club playing..well for the second half anyway;) i'll chat you next week!!

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭galwayhooker

Hi Younganne
    Great to meet you the last night at kettlebells and to put a face to your name.Hopefully i dont resemble a Galway hooker ;-) Just getting into the kettlebells - really enjoying the classes thanks to you.
    Not racing this weekend but heading out for a nice 10 mile run along the prom and salthill in galway in the morn so hopefully the weather will be ok.
    See that you are doing core strenghthing with meath marathon group on wed so see you there ;-) Myself and another girl who did training for the marathon last yr are meeting up at 6 at claremont for roughly a 4 mile run before class so your are more than welcome to join us

BobMac104|||53.5m|416.9m||
    Younganne|6|33.59m|69.43m|205.67|got 6 runs and 2 exercise classes in this week...but body is giving out big time now:eek:|
    Nules10 ||||227.7|
    run44|||58.55m|251.9m||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |||28.2m|62.3m||

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Younganne|6|33.59m|69.43m|205.67|got 6 runs and 2 exercise classes in this week...but body is giving out big time now:eek:|
    red face dave |3|15|22|180.5|
    Nules10 ||||227.7|
    run44|||58.55m|251.9m||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |||28.2m|62.3m||

Finally all those weekend parties are over for a while now to start serious training. I am hoping to join Portlaoise AC on Thursday.

Great running Anne serious effort

Nules10 ||||227.7|
    run44|3|19m|77.55m|265.4m|Light week this week due to sickness|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |||28.2m|62.3m||

Great running Anne!

Nules10 ||||227.7|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |3|18.39|46.59m|80.69m|Need to do more. Aim is to do 4-5 sessions this week.|

BobMac104|6|34|87.5m|450.9m|pulled back a bit this week with my foot and had mallow 10 on the monday. |
    Nules10 ||||227.7|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||
    scriba |3|18.39|46.59m|80.69m|Need to do more. Aim is to do 4-5 sessions this week.|

Light enough week trying my best to get my foot back. seems ok now.

Pain pain and more pain. for a flat enough course my race was the most up and down race ive had. Went for 3 miles the night before to test the foot and it was feeling fine so that cheered me up but the morning of the race the imagination was taking off and I could see myself 2 miles into the race with my foot in my hand shouting "why god"!! Anyway, I shook off those thoughts and lined up for the start. Off we went and I said id try to do as close to 7:00even for each mile as i could. I started off ok, feeling not brilliant but not awful either. 3 miles in i was starting to struggle but keep it going just trying to shake it off. Went through 5 miles in 34:55 good pacing but i was really hanging now. The 70 min pacer passed me soon after and i tried to keep up but couldn’t. I was so lead legged now. I didn’t think I could keep up my current pace for much longer. If someone said to me at that point that i could take 75min finish i would have taken it gladly. In the middle of mile 6 i got a second wind and I was beginning to ease out and made a deal with myself to do a 7:00 min mile for mile 7 and two 6:45's to finish. That should bring me home just under 70. I was going ok and coming up to the last water stop I said I wouldn’t take any but as i passed i just grabbed one anyway. Ugh I got some stitch instantly. not in the usual place but in my back. I was trying to relax but couldn’t and my pace slipped again. 8 mile marker the stitch had eased but I had zero energy left but still tried to push on. Last mile was pure torture. Form was gone legs were jelly I just wanted this over with. Pushed coming in to finish in a ~20sec PB of 70:23. How I managed a PB yesterday ill never know. Delighted to be honest. Big plus is the foot is fine. small bit sore after the race but it eased out quickly and its perfect this morning.

Splits 6:52, 7:00, 6:48, 7:00, 7:07, 7:05, 7:10, 7:04, 6:56, 6:57 (av 7:00)

Next race planned is Cork city marathon but i am sure there will be others before then.

Fair play Bob, even with a few problems along the way, you still managed a PB. Well done!

Congratulations Bob, that race was run with pure determination so a well deserved PB. Great running:D
    Take it easy this week for a bit of recovery and then back into the marathon training...you are doing great mileage at the moment so a recovery week won't do you any harm!!!

Thanks. Yeah i plan on taking it handy enough for the start of this week anyway but must start some decent LSRs on sunday. I am a bit behind on that front.

Well done Bob, you were up against it. Fair play!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Cutex

Well done Bob-shows great determination to get a PB on a day like that, I'm chuffed for you:D

Ps just read Anne's post & looks like I copied her!!! It was a case of great minds think alike-honest

I believe you Cutex;)

So far this week i have done 2 runs, Rested on Monday to give the back a chance to recover and took a relaxed 5.51m in 56.00mins @10.10 avg pace/151 avg HB yesterday. Today i did 5.53mile in 50.58mins @9.13/160, 3m were at HM pace(kinda);)

For the rest of the week i'll probably do a 5m tomorrow and if i can manage a 10m on Friday with a short one (3m) on Sat/sun. I'm busy over the weekend so won't manage LSR Sat or Sun so will just have to see if i can fit it in on Friday!!!:rolleyes:

Nice one Anne. I took your advice and took yesterday off. looking forward to my run this evening now.

This thread IS motivating! I'm filled with motivation-a-cules: time to up the number of sessions! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Nice running bob well done on what sounded like a tough run.

Bob hope the run was nice and relaxed and the legs are fresh again ready for the big push for the next few weeks....not sure if i envy you or not marathon training :rolleyes:...but i will keep my miles ticking over and aim for DCM 2012....