Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef AI/Bulls MEGATHREAD

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Has anyone here used Deeleview Major Charolais bull in Bova?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

My first set of twins were by him. Look framey, not muscley so would be good for bullocks or yearling heifers, not weanlings.
    Then again, they're twins so my calves could be a bit shíte too :pac:

Might withdraw my Bivouac comment :o Not bad for a senior citizen cow!

965Zfhih.jpg

Is that the bull calf?
    He’s a nice calf
    Does the cow need to be muscled?

Is that the bull calf?
    He’s a nice calf
    Does the cow need to be muscled?

Yea, that's the two twins. Cow isn't really muscley, out of Navarin & an CH/AA/FR dam. She has milk though.
    Bull is a touch low in himself, just hasn't stretched like the heifer but he was born smaller so expect he'll catch up at some stage. Bout 6 months now I think.

I had used Bivouac again on a heifer this year but she repeated & broke to a ch bull so nothing due to him next year :pac:

Yea, that's the two twins. Cow isn't really muscley, out of Navarin & an CH/AA/FR dam. She has milk though.
    Bull is a touch low in himself, just hasn't stretched like the heifer but he was born smaller so expect he'll catch up at some stage. Bout 6 months now I think.

I had used Bivouac again on a heifer this year but she repeated & broke to a ch bull so nothing due to him next year :pac:
    I’m interested as I like him for PB breeding due to gestation
    Was told he didn’t suit my cow as she wasn’t muscle enough , so just wondering others opinion

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

965Zfhih.jpg

fair play ye never seem to have a bad one

I’m interested as I like him for PB breeding due to gestation
    Was told he didn’t suit my cow as she wasn’t muscle enough , so just wondering others opinion

He'd probably need some muscle in the cows breeding, like I wouldn't go putting him on anything off a dairy cow. I've not seen any PB stock off him either, just when you mention it.
    grassroot1 wrote: »
    fair play ye never seem to have a bad one

The Pottlereagh Mark one isn't much at the moment! Goldie though so he has that going for him. Pleased with those two for 6 months though. I'd have been happy with either of them as a single.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Are they on meal?

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Are they on meal?

Yea, 13 calves on about 15kg a day but I reckon the 2 older calves along with the six twins eating a good chunk of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Seanhorse91

Anyone on here have any experience with the following bulls..
    Maerdy Sinndar
    Bova Sylvian
    Looking to use them on a purebred cow, pirate in her back pedigree to try and produce a more traditional Charolais.
    Sagesse Pierre, recently bought by Bova, is out of Maerdy Sinndar, he’s a smashing looking bull. Reserve champion in tullamore

Anyone on here have any experience with the following bulls..
    Maerdy Sinndar
    Bova Sylvian
    Looking to use them on a purebred cow, pirate in her back pedigree to try and produce a more traditional Charolais.
    Sagesse Pierre, recently bought by Bova, is out of Maerdy Sinndar, he’s a smashing looking bull. Reserve champion in tullamore
    Sylvian is the way to go, noted cow maker
    Sadly Stars aren’t great

Sylvian is the way to go, noted cow maker
    Sadly Stars aren’t great

Have you used him yourself? Is he leaving good females?
    The star system can really leave a great looking bull like him with good pedigree in the lurch. Awful pity

Have you used him yourself? Is he leaving good females?
    The star system can really leave a great looking bull like him with good pedigree in the lurch. Awful pity

I’ve no Sylvain females but intend to use him.
    Had a bull (which we lost) lovely calf
    Other breeders highly recommend

I’ve no Sylvain females but intend to use him.
    Had a bull (which we lost) lovely calf
    Other breeders highly recommend

Thanks very much Hard Knocks, I’ll give him a go. I’m guessing his star rating have an effect on his price, only €10 a straw. Saying that Bova seem to always have a fair price on their straws

Stars have no effect on straw price
    What age is your cow & how many calves?

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭GiantPencil

Saw the AI bull Highfield Odhran SA2153 in the Salers tent at the ploughing, he's a big boy!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭tanko

He's four and a half years old now, an ideal bull for heifers.

Saw the AI bull Highfield Odhran SA2153 in the Salers tent at the ploughing, he's a big boy!
    Any pic?

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭GiantPencil

Any pic?
    Didn't take one I'm afraid. Hopefully someone else posts one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭High bike

have a smasher of a heifer off him from last year

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

High bike wrote: »
    have a smasher of a heifer off him from last year

I had a U grade bull off him 2 years ago. Great weanling at the time.
    I thought he was gone from the Munster AI book last year?

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    I had a U grade bull off him 2 years ago. Great weanling at the time.
    I thought he was gone from the Munster AI book last year?

He was available from PG this summer anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭High bike

Was Munster I got him from

Stars have no effect on straw price
    What age is your cow & how many calves?

2014 cow. 4 calves.
    She’s a great breeder, fertile, and good bag of milk.

2014 cow. 4 calves.
    She’s a great breeder, fertile, and good bag of milk.

Great cow
    Jupiter & Jumper are other options too

Great cow
    Jupiter & Jumper are other options too

Jupiter semen would be hard got tho I’d imagine. Jumper still in progressive I see. I didn’t even think of him. I might actually look into getting a few straws of him. Thanks for the heads up Hard KnocksðŸ‘

I got some Jupiter off the Charolais society last year, give them a call, after that K genetics or Bartley Finnegan

• Registered Users Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Here he is;

https://twitter.com/progressivegen/status/1174213941037359104

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

Is that a son of his or the actual bull?:confused:

Looks like a son.
    Highfield Odran is in Ballygar Salers in Galway i think.