Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flooding thread. Read post 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

puts the fun element into a sad perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Condolences to his family, a tradegy and for all the slack some people give guards, selfless actions such as these are truly remarkable... just a terrible thing it had to end like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Why is the weather woman on rte concentrating on the worldwide weather ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

TG4 showing a film called The Lake House! Very appropriate.

Anyway stay safe everyone, some of the photos and videos are awful and only 8 weeks before Christmas too. We got some heavy rain here yesterday but nothing on the scale of what hit the East coast tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

Update: Water levels seem to be dropping here thank feck!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

SSK wrote: »
    Damien Tiernan reporting a body has been found in Wicklow...very sad, a young fella just trying to help others

https://twitter.com/#!/damienrte

Poor guy probably didnt stand a chance once he was swept away:(
    R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

OMG, loike, you could loike, go swimming in their, loike.

You forgot to say loike!:pac:
    Riskymove wrote: »
    We should, loike, call Mum in her Daddy's Range Rover to collect us!!

FYP
    numbnutz wrote: »
    Cant wait for the flood damage sale

The rest of us plebs may actually be able to afford something there then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Why is the weather woman on rte concentrating on the worldwide weather ?

Because, surprisingly enough, everyone has a fair idea what the weather is like here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Rescue raft has arrived in the sweepstakes, and a fire engine is stuck outside the gates. Was talking to a neighbour and the water is five feet deep all down the road to ballsbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

The floods look freakin' insane. I'm over in Cardiff studying at the moment, but I feel I haven't actually realised yet how bad the flooding actually is.

Wowzers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭FootShooter

Bet that the occupy dame street folks are pretty wet by now...if they're still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,513 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Shocking news about the young Gard. He obviously saw the danger and must have saved a few lives before he got washed away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Because, surprisingly enough, everyone has a fair idea what the weather is like here.

Smartarse ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Aldebaran wrote: »
    Ok, sounds like Dublin is done for, where's our new capital?

Brussels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Have heard some of the underground parts of Trinity College have flooded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

TheZohan wrote: »
    It's a nice area, some good bars.

Thats not important right now.

It is severely flooded.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Poor guy probably didnt stand a chance once he was swept away:(
    R.I.P
    Very sad :( Especially when he was out doing his duty and trying to help others. For most of us, it was something to talk about and point at as something unusual and a bit of a PITA in our day. For this lad it ended in tragedy. Very bloody sad. RIP indeed.

Having fished and waded in rivers since I was a kid you learn more than most how little water it can take to sweep you off your feet. Even if you're prepared and well practiced for it like folks like me might be. Even if it's only just at your knees a few MPH/KPH faster and you can be in real trouble. Especially if you're standing square onto the current. Water is incredibly powerful a force.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭leinster_fan

@damienrte now saying its still search and rescue. Body not recovered, so hopefully the poor chap will be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Bet that the occupy dame street folks are pretty wet by now...if they're still there

They were there this afternoon! Fair dues to them, they are committed!!!!

As for the Garda, I dunno what to say, the man gave his life for the safety of others even though he was not even working. A true hero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

@damienrte now saying its still search and rescue. Body not recovered, so hopefully the poor chap will be ok

Heres hoping!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Wibbs wrote: »
    Very sad :(Especially when he was out doing his duty and trying to help others. For most of us, it was something to talk about and point at as something unusual and a bit of a PITA in our day. For this lad it ended in tragedy. Very bloody sad. RIP indeed.

It shows a true mark of his character and hopefully something I'd like to see others aspire to. In a time of need, help each other out, don't sit back and wait if you are able to do something.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Having fished and waded in rivers since I was a kid you learn more than most how little water it can take to sweep you off your feet. Even if you're prepared and well practiced for it like folks like me might be. Even if it's only just at your knees a few MPH/KPH faster and you can be in real trouble. Especially if you're standing square onto the current. Water is incredibly powerful a force.

I saw a special by Bear Grylls once demonstraiting how extreme some very little differences in environment can be. One part in particular was trying to cross a stream where they could control the flow of water. It really didn't take much of a current to sweep him off balance and he was emphasing it was in a controled environment and would be much more difficult to hold onto something out in a real life situation.

In addition to the others, my respects to that gard and his family.

hmmm, I wonder does that mean someone else had been found or it was a false report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Heres hoping!

Not to put a downer on it but we saw what just 2 feet of water did in Spain the other day,sweeping away 2 people to their deaths.

Remember folks,if ye are out taking pics and videos of floods be careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    They were there this afternoon! Fair dues to them, they are committed!!!!

As for the Garda, I dunno what to say, the man gave his life for the safety of others even though he was not even working. A true hero!

He's not gone yet. I'm not religous but i'll be saying a little prayer for the man tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I was on Dame St and Aston Quay about an hour ago and you wouldn't even know that there was flooding... I only found out when my Dad rang in a panic asking where I was! It took him 2 hours to get into the city to get me but the journey home was ok, take the SCR if you can! the bus stops are all packed with people who have no idea what's going on, one woman stopped a conductor and asked him, he shrugged and walked off. Shouldn't they know these things?

My friend managed to get a bus out of town and on the way home it got flooded twice, people had to stand on their seats it was so bad. fair play to the bus driver though, he was stoppng picking up anyone he saw that was stranded and dropping people as close to their houses as he could.

God I hope that poor garda is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Have heard some of the underground parts of Trinity College have flooded.
    Which parts? I know the front courtyard is flooded at least.

I heard Goldsmith Hall (Obviously not underground) was leaking heavily around 4pm today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Might notbe a bad idea to stop any further talk about the garda until an official announcement is made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

every bitta land we have is covered! we havent a ditch to walk on , all the cattle had to taken off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THE PORT TUNNEL IS FLOODED?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Horsebox9000

Does anyone know if Swords village is badly affected by this. Or even the Feltrim/Kinsealy entrance into it?

Thanks to anyone who can answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

They are currently occupying the North Wall.