Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

K-9 wrote: »
    Oh good God God of almighty, I didn't read the last page.

Flah is playing to the lowest common denominator.

No your club is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Trilla wrote: »
    Intent... did him or Henry know the outcome when they did it? Also the stage of with it is done and what was at stake was a lot bigger. Why question this anyways? Will I reduce the number to 50 times, 25 times, 2 times? Figure of speech when someone says 100 times worse.

I'll rephrase so "it was a lot worse". I don't mean to derail the thread, I was (probably wrongly) stating my feelings on the guy and what comes around goes around.

I'm not sure of this, but didn't he complain to the referee during the game? He definitely had a hissy fit about something when the clashed

No its about the 20th time someone has said this in this thread, would you not want any player on your team to do the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

amiable wrote: »
    It would be a travesty if just stopped spouting sh1t for a while

Go off and make another accusation that Kenny will go running to the golf course when the going gets tough for him

He does have previous in fairness;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Shame Dermot Morgan wasn't alive, he could do a slide show for Suarez and give a speech.

rightthere.jpeg

bb8ea.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

niallo27 wrote: »
    No its about the 20th time someone has said this in this thread, would you not want any player on your team to do the same thing.

Sure, take one for the team. I guarantee you though if it was your home country and not Ghana that suffered as a result of that the attitudes by some in here would change. Thats my last comment on that.

I feel the 8 games was harsh but I think Suarez was a idiot to reference skin colour (which he apparently has admitted to have said) and give Evra, the referee and/or anyone else nearby the opportunity to question his intent and reasoning.

Really wish all this would go away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

The defence of Suaraz is just a completely different kind of idiotic fanboism.

He called Evra , "Nigerito" as admitted by his representatives and presented as "defence" in his case.

While Nigerito is infact a slang term in South American Spanish for "Mate" or "pal" the simple fact is, hes not in ****ing South America.

Take his slap on the wrist, which is all it is, and consider himself lucky he can play football in England again, because if there was any true bollox in the FA hed be banned. Cantona got longer for kicking a muppet, far less serious then this incident.

The statement from Liverpool is beyond a joke and just pure stupidity, and the sly digs at Evra and the sly digs at United from Liverpool officials is sour grapes.

He was a nacker before he came to England and hes a nacker still. Scoring goals in a team where Andy Carroll is your main competition for a spot doesn't excuse acting like a thug on the street.

A proper football club would kick a player found guilty of racism out straight away.
    Proper fans of the game would not stand for him wearing the shirt again and want him out.
    Decent human beings would not give him the time of day.

But sure its Liverpool, and they are the victim...cause don't you know they won some leagues over 20 years ago and entitles them to feel hard done by.

The talk from Liverpool fans across forums and in the workplace compound my neutral opinion that they are the worst fans going, where they just simply can't see any impartial logical view : /

Rant over,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Alan Hansen's views on this incident on MotD certainly made for car crash television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Paully D wrote: »
    Alan Hansen's views on this incident on MotD certainly made for car crash television.

I found his continual use of the term 'coloured' highly offensive obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭colly10

TheDoc wrote: »
    Cantona got longer for kicking a muppet, far less serious then this incident.

Yes diving straight into the crowd to land the studs in a spectators chest is way less serious than this :rolleyes:

He called Evra , "Nigerito" as admitted by his representatives and presented as "defence" in his case.

While Nigerito is infact a slang term in South American Spanish for "Mate" or "pal" the simple fact is, hes not in ****ing South America.

Take his slap on the wrist, which is all it is, and consider himself lucky he can play football in England again, because if there was any true bollox in the FA hed be banned. Cantona got longer for kicking a muppet, far less serious then this incident.

The statement from Liverpool is beyond a joke and just pure stupidity, and the sly digs at Evra and the sly digs at United from Liverpool officials is sour grapes.

He was a nacker before he came to England and hes a nacker still. Scoring goals in a team where Andy Carroll is your main competition for a spot doesn't excuse acting like a thug on the street.

A proper football club would kick a player found guilty of racism out straight away.
    Proper fans of the game would not stand for him wearing the shirt again and want him out.

But sure its Liverpool, and they are the victim...cause don't you know they won some leagues over 20 years ago and entitles them to feel hard done by.

The talk from Liverpool fans across forums and in the workplace compound my neutral opinion that they are the worst fans going, where they just simply can't see any impartial logical view : /

Rant over,

You talk an awful lot of shite in that post tbf.

Rant over,

You are letting your hate cloud your judgement on the situation.

swast909883.png

From a distance the red Suarez looks like a Swastika.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Are we now onto page 48 of how to try in vein to defend a guilty man with stupid excuses and associations:

"Suarez can't be racist, he loves Reggae Reggae Sauce, Chaka Demus and John Barnes".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

lol, thedoc is a welcome addition to this thread. I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

aint seen it, but a few people are giving out about him. what happened?

Are we now onto page 48 of how to try in vein to defend a guilty man with stupid excuses and associations:

"Suarez can't be racist, he loves Reggae Reggae Sauce, Chaka Demus and John Barnes".

Page 49: "He has watched and indeed enjoyed all 148 episodes of the Fresh Prince of Bel Air."

You seem a reasonable sort Paully D.

Surely the proof is in the pudding - the evidence.
    We've been given the verdict and we have to wait a month for the evidence.
    Regardless of the result, this is the wrong way to go about things, right?

aint seen it, but a few people are giving out about him. what happened?

Talking about the racism situation improving in football while mentioning the word coloured multiple times in the one sentence.
    I dont think the chaps a racist but I wouldn't be surprised to see an angry mob calling for him to be sacked now

The-Rigger wrote: »
    we have to wait a month for the evidence.

Thats a joke, surely they have it all available considering they just banned him based on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,509 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Rant over,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

The picture of Lee Dixon is classic. He should have left Dixon to comment on it..

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You talk an awful lot of shite in that post tbf.

I'm all up for a game of quote tennis.

The mere fact this has been deemed by people as "harsh" just makes my mind implode.

What's harsh is that he gets fined peanuts and gets an 8 game ban : /

I'm sorry but I do get annoyed when clear and blatant scum get of easy. And there is I will admit, bias to completely dislike Suaraz because I think he is nothing but common dirt. And this recent incident just compounds what I thought of him, long before he arrived in England.

And I also can't help notice that there is all this noise about " what was the evidence?"

It was easily over a month ago his representatives openly stated what he had said, and the defence for it. It was all over the internet, I'm surprised after I read the various reports there was people who'd think he'd get away with it.

And the " we would like to inquire how Patrice Evra will be reprimanded for his racist slur against Luis when he labelled him "South American".

your club is the laughing stock of the world, I'm sorry, but that line took the biscuit for me :)

I'd say the rage is coming because old Kenny realises he's stuck with that €30 million heap of ****e for 8 games : /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

KeithAFC wrote: »
    The picture of Lee Dixon is classic. He should have left Dixon to comment on it..

Dixon cringed so hard his ars*hole disappeared.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Absolutely despicable show from Liverpool tonight. Showing support for a player that has racially abused another player. Hardly surprising from a club that has a history of showing no accountability for their actions. Some of the statements of victimisation have been truly sickening to be honest as was their accusation that Patrice Evra was "playing the race card" even though Suarez had admitted using the word albeit "in a different context".

Let me ask you, what context between fierce rivals in the heat of battle can the word negrito be used that isn't derogatory?! Especially when you take both players facial expressions at the time of the confrontation into account. They are more or less condoning covering up of the issue of racism for their own benefit. No surprise there I suppose.

Blame Evra, blame United, blame the FA, blame Uruguayan culture, blame context, blame anything and anyone but yourselves Liverpool. What else is new?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,867 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Rant over,

look-up.gif

Are you serious??? Leaving the pitch area to jump into the crowd to attack as fan is much more serious than this.

And you use of calling him a "nacker" is almost as bad as to what Suarez has done, nice one :)

The mere fact this has been deemed by people as "harsh" just makes my mind implode.

I'm sorry but I do get annoyed when clear and blatant scum get of easy. And there is I will admit, bias to completely dislike Suaraz because I think he is nothing but common dirt. And this recent incident just compounds what I thought of him, long before he arrived in England.

And I also can't help notice that there is all this noise about " what was the evidence?"

It was easily over a month ago his representatives openly stated what he had said, and the defence for it. It was all over the internet, I'm surprised after I read the various reports there was people who'd think he'd get away with it.

And the " we would like to inquire how Patrice Evra will be reprimanded for his racist slur against Luis when he labelled him "South American".

your club is the laughing stock of the world, I'm sorry, but that line took the biscuit for me :)

I'd say the rage is coming because old Kenny realises he's stuck with that €30 million heap of ****e for 8 games : /

By that reasoning should the likes of giggs and rooney get harsher penaltys if they are found quilty of something.

Say moar things, you're good value.

Seaneh wrote: »
    And even at that they are right.

One person claims that he said something, they didn't mention it during the game and nobody else heard it, nobody else complained about it until after the game. The ref didn't caution/send off the player accused. It's Evra's word against Suerez's, which is bull**** enough. The lad is, obviously, not a racist.

It's a bull**** accusation and a bull**** punishment.

Suaraz' Representatives as part of their hearing last month put forward how he labelled Evra a "Nigerito" ( I might be mispelling) which in certain dialects of Spanish is a slang term for "mate or "pal".

I'm really failing to see how people did not know this, and its like they pulled some random bollox from the sky to charge him with. He fronted up what he said, which I guess I'll give him some credit, but then that credit quickly diminished.

Text messages were provided and transcripts of players texting each other using the slang term to each other.

I guess in a sense he is probably not a big filthy racist, but its kinda along the same lines as calling someone "nigga" to a stranger of African descent, and when they pull you up for racism you replying " nah its grand sure, thats what I call me pals back home".

It simply doesn't fly.

Guilerme Balleague ( epic spellcheck) also tweeted last month after the the reports on Suaraz defence case, indicating that while the term was infact slang in Spanish culture, it is also used as a racial slur on those that would not understand the dialect.

Which is pretty obvious when you read the word.....

By that reasoning should the likes of giggs and rooney get harsher penaltys if they are found quilty of something.
    You are letting your hate cloud your judgement on the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

flahavaj wrote: »
    No your club is.

From somebody who sees the Muppet has a missed poster I'll take my chances on your perception.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.