Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Class Rep training junket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

In fairness he could be genuinely ill. But surely one of the other lads could fill in for him, I assume that's all laid out in the SU constitution, who's in charge when Rob isn't about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Naoise, as far as I know, but I will check and get back to you!

Edit:
    Turns out, according to article 10.1.8, that Rob got to pick the order of succession of the other three.
    Therefore I'm not entirely sure as to who is in charge when he's sick.

2nd Edit:
    Rob>Naoise>Keith/Fiach (equal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Fair play to LeixlipRed for setting up that petition/demonstration thing.

Most people would've just complained to their friends or on the 'net about this whole thing, but he actually went out and did something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 unpeumad

What an absolute waste of students money !

There HAS to be another alternative to having it in a hotel , if students only come for the free food well then change it !
    Don't give free bloody food , I reckon they could survive without it (packed lunches anyone ?).

There's surely a way to put that €93 to wise use and if the freebies were banished maybe it would only be the "busy bodies" who are interested in taking part but sure what about it at least they have a genuine concern/interest

Jayzus I'm in utter shock .. a bloody disgrace

I'm sure Naoise will be along shortly to fill us in.

Is Naoise on boards??

Who knows? I was being sarcastic anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Thinking about this, it really should be unconstitutional to spend this money and change the training without putting it to a vote. I don't think this would have passed at any Union Council in the past, it's pretty shocking stuff.

It's all a bit Gombeenman for me in this economic climate. How can much larger universities manage to do this training on campus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

i really doubt it joe, lol @ that :p

Hence my surprise, I didn't think he was on boards.:confused:

I guess I'm just too literal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 eogriffin

Amazed at the silence of the SU on this issue. Thought we'd have some sort of official response before the weekend.

Have wagons been circled?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Not sure I understand why they can't just use a lecture hall on a Saturday. Tell them to bring their own food or go to the centra. Anyone who doesn't show up, or who legs it for any longer than a toilet break, doesn't get to be a class rep.

Why is there money for this but no money to fix soap dispensers and hand driers?

Pardon the grumpiness, I only today discovered the completely absurd opening hours in the canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭the_observer

mickstupp wrote: »
    Pardon the grumpiness, I only today discovered the completely absurd opening hours in the canteen.

Those opening hours upset me. Went for a late lunch the other week, only to find it closed. Cheek of me to want hot food in the mid-afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 JediPoncho

mickstupp wrote: »
    Why is there money for this but no money to fix soap dispensers and hand driers?

don't forget those damn lightbulbs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Not to mention the water pressure in the men's jacks in the fishbowl is screwed.

Anyway, just found out a friend of mine is now a class rep. I shall be having words with her on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Rafcam

This is crazy! I worked my ass off all summer to make sure that I could actually afford to return to college this year, as I'm sure many others did. To waste our money on something so unnecessary is just insulting!

The campus is more than big enough to hold the training, the majority of students either live in Maynooth or commute from nearby so would have their own place to stay overnight and the people involved should actually want to be there and shouldn't have to be bribed into joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭westdub15

Complete disgrace, the union can't even provide a microwave or kettle for commuters on campus but they've got money to spend on this? absolute joke, just confirms everything I thought about the SU and their clique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

(Rob here, for anyone who's not familiar)

Re: Kettles and microwaves: There's one in the mature students' room, but that's not for everyone. The obstacle to accommodating commuters isn't money. The biggest problem is that health and safety aren't wild about microwaves and boiling water. As someone who commuted for years, I'd love some and am trying to find somewhere to put them. The Common Room has been the obvious choice for years, which we're still pushing, but it might have to be somewhere else. Ideally there'd be two places, one on each campus (Souct Campus often get unfairly left out in these things)

Re: An official SU response: This is my responsibility. I wanted one out Thursday night, but I'm still busy concluding casework from the autumn exam period. Sick as a dog friday, so doing it today.

I think it's better to publish the entire long-term class rep strategy (badly needed, and which we'll be presenting at UC anyway) so people have the full picture, than answering questions here, piecemeal and off the cuff.

I've also agreed to an interview with the Student Observer, because that way they can probe and ask questions.

Four days for that measly response.
    Re: Kettles and microwaves: There's one in the mature students' room, but that's not for everyone. The obstacle to accommodating commuters isn't money. The biggest problem is that health and safety aren't wild about microwaves and boiling water. As someone who commuted for years, I'd love some and am trying to find somewhere to put them. The Common Room has been the obvious choice for years, which we're still pushing, but it might have to be somewhere else. Ideally there'd be two places, one on each campus (Souct Campus often get unfairly left out in these things)

I for one am completely sick of the excuses you regularly spout on here and in other mediums. "We're looking into it", "Ideally we'd like to...", if someone had the time and energy to go back to last year and dissect your postings on here they'd find the same rubbish from when you were on the Exec last year.
    Re: An official SU response: This is my responsibility. I wanted one out Thursday night, but I'm still busy concluding casework from the autumn exam period. Sick as a dog friday, so doing it today.

Which is more important? The fact you're pissing away our money or some casework which I'm pretty sure if you've left this bloody long could wait. I'm sure those students you're assisting wouldn't be too happy to find out that you're essentially stealing from them with the other hand.

I think it's better to publish the entire long-term class rep strategy (badly needed, and which we'll be presenting at UC anyway) so people have the full picture, than answering questions here, piecemeal and off the cuff.

And now for the diversion, if only you could see our strategy, then you'd understand why a no expenses barred junket to a hotel with the main focus being on intoxication and drunken hookups is so important to building an inclusive SU. Not one single person here wants anything less than well trained class reps, that's not even an issue. What people do not want is you and your three amigos spending their money on a piss up.

I've also agreed to an interview with the Student Observer, because that way they can probe and ask questions.
    Fantastic you've agreed to do an interview, exactly when will that take place?

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Which is more important? The fact you're pissing away our money or some casework which I'm pretty sure if you've left this bloody long could wait.

Must. Not. Take. The. Bait.

/resists

Well justify why it can't wait? Inform us of something you actually do on a day-to-day basis! This isn't gonna go away. We've already made plans for leafletting and petitioning every day of next week. Then it'll be lecture addresses and so on so forth. Still think it can't wait?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

DB21 wrote: »
    Anyway, just found out a friend of mine is now a class rep. I shall be having words with her on Monday.

Just been talking to my Class Rep friend. She's against it herself and will be talking to her class about it. We could have some good support here!

Actually I record everything I do every day, except the confidential stuff, which will be presented at every Union Council. At which point people can say if they'd like more / less detail.

September is almost exclusively casework because it's so time sensitive.

I don't want to turn this into a personal crusade against yourself Rob but every single time you post you neither answer the question directly nor satisfactorily. You are digging a hole for yourself. Everyone can see that you're being evasive. Tell me how in a 40 hour week you couldn't devote some time to dealing with this issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Notorious P.I.G

Reading this thread I'm so disgusted that not only our money is being wasted but even more so the absolute lack of response from the SU.

In fairness to the SU they always seem to quickly answer any queries and deal with issues or questions promptly on boards or facebook.

But with this issue all we are getting are infrequent, evasive answers which i feel arent answering the question at all, which is why money is being wasted (in my opinion) on a hotel stay for class rep training when there are perfectly good facilities on campus or even the Glenroyal.

The fact that the SU are taking so long to give a genuine answer makes me feel there isnt one. Saying that having the training away from college will make the class reps concentrate more or stay for all of the training and not wander is NOT a good enough reason for that expense.

I know of people who have no interest in collge or class reps or dealing with class issues at all but went for class rep only because of this trip. And Im sure Im not the only one.

Ive worked my ass off all summer to pay my college reg fees alone and to have some of them spent on an overnight night stay and dinner in a hotel for a certain few class reps and SU members is really annoying me.

If this training goes ahead it'll really make me feel the right people weren't elected to the SU, I thought the exec were against frivolous spending and wasting of students money?

I hope Im proved wrong and we'll soon get a real response from the SU detailing what will happen with the class rep training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 watchingd

This is my 4th year as a class rep yet it is the first year I am hearing about class rep training, nobody in my course has ever had class rep training nor have we been asked to attend or been given any information from outside our course faculty about the position. Two people get voted at the start of year internally and if the class has a problem you go to those people. Simple.

Having look at average nightly hotel prices/function rooms and the number of class reps there are etc it works out that each student is spending 2euro to send the class reps off for training, that's 2 euro off my 93euro "student levy", no huge amount but then where does the rest of the 91 euro go?

Like many others in the college I don't receive any grants so I am paying 2000euro + this 93 euro levy. Having never looked into it i presumed it went into some admin costs within the fee's and grants office but apparently not. Care to elaborate on what exactly this money is used on?

And will you refuse to attend this training?

And I really think the point here isn't that it's 2 euro our of 93 (though I'm not sure how you can calculate those figures unless you know more details than us.) it's the principle of wasting people's money on unnecessary expenditures like this. I don't care if it's costing 1 grand or 20 grand, any amount of money spent on this is too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭westdub15

So the university thinks that mature students are entitled to services that we aren't? the SU is happy with that?? Brought this up last year and got the same response, its not that difficult or expensive and would save a lot of commuters money, the union needs to get its priorities straight.

westdub15 wrote: »

So the university thinks that mature students are entitled to services that we aren't? the SU is happy with that?? Brought this up last year and got the same response, its not that difficult or expensive and would save a lot of commuters money, the union needs to get its priorities straight.

One could be cynical, and this is just my own opinion and unrelated to the thread topic, that this has never been looked into in any meaningful way, i.e. no one in the SU actually cares about getting it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 watchingd

Well its seems im not invited anyway so my decision has been made, although I find the point of training for class reps is pointless and the way they are picked within larger classes ridiculous. So no I won't be attending, nor will anyone else from Product Design as usual.

Well I think it is about the 2 euro in some sense, if my college fee's were 2000 euro + a mandatory 2euro (or something like that) for training of class reps I wouldn't be as annoyed as i am now in knowing I paid 93 for some unknown levy and it is being spent on this and numerous other stupid stuff the SU dream up of.

As for the 2euro,I got the average (well above average) price for Bed & dinner (Worked out cheaper) then a conference room for 200+ with food. Unless the SU are vastly over paying, which they well could be, it should around 2euro per student from their student levy.