Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slimming World

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭dcfc91

Anyone know if it was this weeks Reveal Mag that the free membership voucher was in?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Time for me to rejoin this lovely group! Used to post here regularly three years ago but I've had two babies since and seriously need to cop on to myself with my diet! Starting a group in the morning so intend to post here when I can, I always found other members really helpful :)

Oh dear. I texted the leader just to introduce myself and say I'd be coming to group in the morning and she phoned me to tell me that it's the last week in that venue/at that time. I could join one far closer to home but it's touch and go whether I could make it given the time it's on. I've done SW twice. Once in a group and second time on my own and I got a better result in my own as I found the whole meeting thing a bit of a snorefest. What do people think? Is there any huge advantage to the group as opposed to signing up online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Merkin wrote: »
    Oh dear. I texted the leader just to introduce myself and say I'd be coming to group in the morning and she phoned me to tell me that it's the last week in that venue/at that time. I could join one far closer to home but it's touch and go whether I could make it given the time it's on. I've done SW twice. Once in a group and second time on my own and I got a better result in my own as I found the whole meeting thing a bit of a snorefest. What do people think? Is there any huge advantage to the group as opposed to signing up online?

I go to group but just for the weighin, I don't stay for exactly the same reason.

I personally need the accountability of someone weighing me, but thats basically all I take from it, because at this point I understand the plan pretty well.

Do you think you'd have the discipline to do it all yourself from home?

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Shadow1983

Merkin wrote:

Personally I need the accountability of standing in front of someone and getting weighed, but for me that's really the only benefit of going to group. I rarely stay for the "image therapy" as I don't like the whole "you've lost / gained x amount this week, what did you do differently?" part, I just find it irritating & rarely pick up any new tips. If you're based in Dublin some groups run 7:30 am classes if they would suit you?

Thanks for that, I think I do probably need the discipline of going for a physical weigh-in as I tend to go off track at weekends and if I'm doing it myself I might have a more 'fcuk it!' attitude. Like both of you, the whole image therapy is just not for me, it's almost like a cult for some people and Quark or Muller fecking Lights their objects of worship :)

I'm in Dublin 4 and there are quite a few groups but husband has a really busy job so I can't say for certain he'd be back in time. I guess I can just go to a 5.30pm meeting and bring both babies!! If it's for the weigh-in only it shouldn't be an issue! Now that I've decided to do it I want to start asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Thanks for that, I think I do probably need the discipline of going for a physical weigh-in as I tend to go off track at weekends and if I'm doing it myself I might have a more 'fcuk it!' attitude. Like both of you, the whole image therapy is just not for me, it's almost like a cult for some people and Quark or Muller fecking Lights their objects of worship :)

I'm in Dublin 4 and there are quite a few groups but husband has a really busy job so I can't say for certain he'd be back in time. I guess I can just go to a 5.30pm meeting and bring both babies!! If it's for the weigh-in only it shouldn't be an issue! Now that I've decided to do it I want to start asap.

FWIW I've seen plenty of people bring kids, especially if its just for weigh in :) The image therapy is boring enough for adults, so I wouldn't put them through that, but just a weighing should be grand :)

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Shadow1983

Merkin wrote:
    Like both of you, the whole image therapy is just not for me, it's almost like a cult for some people and Quark or Muller fecking Lights their objects of worship

Haha, love this .... hate Quark!!!

Thanks a million, you're dead right, I couldn't subject them to it! :)

One more question for anyone who may know. Once I sign up to a particular group can I just attend any one I wish weekly? I think WW used to allow drop-ins afaik but I'm not sure about SW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Romantic Rose

That's what I used to do. I brought my 2 children for the weigh in- baby and threenager. Every time we go past the hall now, my daughter asks if Slimming World is on :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

First day of slimming world today: 24yo, 5ft 6 in, 76.0kg hoping to get to 65kg.
    B- scrambled eggs and bacon medallions (F)
    L- chicken pizza toastie (used sandwich thin as HEB, mozzarella 3syns)
    D- Steak, boiled carrots and broccoli, fried mushrooms, peppers and onions, SW fries and a tiny bit of pepper sauce (2syns)
    Milk was my HEA but only used 150mls of skimmed. Can I sub left over for my cheese at lunch?

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

Merkin wrote:
    One more question for anyone who may know. Once I sign up to a particular group can I just attend any one I wish weekly? I think WW used to allow drop-ins afaik but I'm not sure about SW.

Yep no bother at all although for booking holidays you need to do that in the group you registered. You can even go to groups in the north, UK, Spain, Turkey or anywhere. We had a woman in our group when off on her holidays and went to group while she was in Spain, that's really dedicated

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Areas

For the past 2 weeks we've only had weigh in's and no class. I like staying for the class just to get ideas of people and gives me a boost if I've had a back week. The 1st time we were texted saying that there was only going to be a pay and weigh and this week was because of the bank holiday weekend. I just find it a bit off putting that I've paid €18 for just running in and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

First day of slimming world today: 24yo, 5ft 6 in, 76.0kg hoping to get to 65kg.
    B- scrambled eggs and bacon medallions (F)
    L- chicken pizza toastie (used sandwich thin as HEB, mozzarella 3syns)
    D- Steak, boiled carrots and broccoli, fried mushrooms, peppers and onions, SW fries and a tiny bit of pepper sauce (2syns)
    Milk was my HEA but only used 150mls of skimmed. Can I sub left over for my cheese at lunch?

Yes, you can if they're measured perfectly evenly.

Did you have any speed with your breakfast and lunch? You should be having 1/3 with each meal

I didn't with breakfast...will have fruit with it in future.
    Had tomatoes, peppers on the toastie

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Hi everyone, my first time reading and posting!

The thread seems like terrific support to noobs (like me) and I will be sure to make great use of all your seasoned SW brains. :) I've read about a lot of great progress being made here, and I can only hope I do as well as a lot of you have done.

I've been with SlimmingWorld for under a month now, and as of my forth (and most recent) weigh-in I've lost 1st 3.5lbs, averaging just under a 4.5lb loss a week thus far! Have to say, I couldn't be happier with my progress, especially as I was a wee bit skeptical at the start, to be honest. :o
    It's not as if I didn't have minor blow-out or two along the way either, I'm so impressed with how the plan is going in spite of these things.

I know I shouldn't expect similar results week-in week-out going forward, but I will be sure to stay on plan as best I can, and hopefully that will continue to yield results. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Joined a group late in May which is just beside my workplace. Went in the first evening a bit nervous and convinced I'd be the only guy there but nope, a few others. Everyone was very nice anyway :)

Down 6.5 lbs in 1st week and to be honest I feel I ate more that week then I did before!! Not quite got my head around it the system yet, it'll take a while.

I was a fiend before for chicken fillet baguettes in Spar and lucozade and other rubbish and that's all been knocked out. Ate plenty of SW recommended stuff the first week and half and quite happy with results

I did try the new Lucozade zero, it's muck :(

Onwards I go, I'll see where I am after a month. I've read probably over a hundred pages of this thread and very motivating

mikemac2 wrote: »
    I did try the new Lucozade zero, it's muck :(
    I've been meaning to try it but haven't gotten around to it yet, to be honest I'm expecting similar results to you; a product called Lucozade without any actual glucose in it was never going to work really. :pac:

Since starting SW however I have decided that Coke Zero is in fact the greatest invention of all time. :P

Does anyone have good ideas for cinema snacks? Things that I can being with me etc!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭cee_jay

Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt - almost ice cream like, and 0 syns. Bring grapes and strawberries to munch on with it.
    M&S sweet and salty popcorn (from multipack) - think it is 3.5 or 4 syns a bag.
    Velvet crunch crisps are 5 syns a bag.

So I've started and delighted that I have. I may eat my words about the meeting as the Group I've found has about eight people in it, all real old Dublin ladies in their 60s and I had a laugh!

Have a busy day ahead so had a big brekkie of spinach scrambled eggs, smoked bacon medallions and grilled tomato, I'm stuffed!

Planned all our meals for over the weekend too as that's when I lose the run of myself! Hope everyone is doing well xx

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Annani

Can anyone recommend a good sweetener that's not too expensive?

I'm back to slimmingworld and last time I cut out sugar in my tea and coffee for the first few months but I'm struggling to do that this time!

I have found a good sweetener but it's €4.50 for a tiny jar and it almost gone in just over a week :)

Annani wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good sweetener that's not too expensive?

I'm back to slimmingworld and last time I cut out sugar in my tea and coffee for the first few months but I'm struggling to do that this time!

I have found a good sweetener but it's €4.50 for a tiny jar and it almost gone in just over a week :)

The sukrin range sweeteners are the best I've found, you can get them in Holland and Barrett!

Week 1 of doing it at home online by myself and i'm down 3 pounds!!! Delighted, hope the weight loss keep up as I only have about another stone-stone and a half to loose from here!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭SozBbz

up 1.5lbs last night (after being away for the weekend so not entirely unexpected) but still a bit disheartening. I feel like I'm struggling to make real progress the last few months, due to various social engagements etc. I think I did well earlier on in the year simply by living my most boring life, but at the moment I feel like I've hens/weddings etc the whole time and can't have a few clear weeks where I can just focus on my diet. The weekends are a disaster and the weeks then damage limitation, and it just feels like I'm treading water :(

Had weigh-in #5 last night, I shockingly I'm down another 2.5lbs! This was after a weekend that consisted of a day at a music festival in the UK (which was very VERY synful on the food and alcohol front), as well as heading off to the Ireland match on Sunday and having to eat out twice that day!

It makes no sense at all! I'm not complaining of course, I'm just delighted :D

With that I'm 1lb off my stone and a half, which I'm hoping to smash next week in my 6th weigh-in. 20lbs in 5 weeks isn't a bad rate though, and this week I'm expecting a more chill and less difficult week than the previous 2/3 weeks, which all had plenty of socialising over the weekends. Logically speaking this week should be even better, but we'll have to wait and see; I've a harsh enough cold these past couple of days, so that might effect my metabolism one way or another.

Down 4 pounds this week, 16 in total so far. Delighted to have hit my 1st stone. I've promised myself a small treat every time i reach a stone target, so this weekend I'm going to get myself a pedicure. On the website there's a graph which projects where you'll be in a few weeks if you continue losing at the rate you're going at. I find this very motivating. At the moment I'm focusing on my sun holiday in September and I find myself thinking "Oh wow, if I continue like this i'll be x stone x lbs going away!

On another note, last night was the 3rd week in a row where there wasn't any class. There's about 200 people coming for weigh in but no one stays for the class. If I wasn't so motivated, or if I had a bad week I'd find this quite disheartening.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭SozBbz

Areas wrote: »
    On another note, last night was the 3rd week in a row where there wasn't any class. There's about 200 people coming for weigh in but no one stays for the class. If I wasn't so motivated, or if I had a bad week I'd find this quite disheartening.

Thats weird, is the consultant just not offering to put on a class because its taking so long to weigh everyone? Thats bizarre. If the numbers are that huge, they just need to put on more times, but I'd have thought offering the image therapy was mandatory from SlimmingWorld HQ. Do you have the option of transferring to another class?

The 1st week it was "due to unforeseen circumstances", the 2nd week it was because of the bank holiday and it was just "pay and weigh", then last night I was told that because of the summer holidays no one wanted to stay for a class. It takes forever to weigh everyone, which I wouldn't mind waiting for if there was a class. I have a feeling that the same excuse is going to be give next week as well. Should I contact slimming world and ask them about it? I don't want to mention where I am or what group I'm in because the consultant is nice, but I feel that members aren't being encouraged to stay for the Image Therapy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Areas wrote: »
    The 1st week it was "due to unforeseen circumstances", the 2nd week it was because of the bank holiday and it was just "pay and weigh", then last night I was told that because of the summer holidays no one wanted to stay for a class. It takes forever to weigh everyone, which I wouldn't mind waiting for if there was a class. I have a feeling that the same excuse is going to be give next week as well. Should I contact slimming world and ask them about it? I don't want to mention where I am or what group I'm in because the consultant is nice, but I feel that members aren't being encouraged to stay for the Image Therapy.

Image therapy is mandatory. You are allowed to do a few pay & weigh during the year for significant dates - Christmas, bank holidays etc, but a limited amount.

200 is way too many for a group, the SW recommended number is 50 - 70 which allows 25 mins for the consultant to do a new member talk and the rest for image therapy.It's felt that a good social team should be able to get up to 70 through the scales in the 25 mins allowing the consultant to finish new member talk then move smoothly onto a seated group.

Doesn't always work that smoothly, but that's the general ask.

For those numbers, they need three groups ideally and I'm surprised SW are allowing it. Is it a new group that's settling down ?