Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite unsolved mystery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

How 2 men can boast about grabbing women by the genitals uninvited and only one of them gets sacked and the other.....

Mysterious stuff.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    It's thought there a bit of coercion going on there.

Jim Jones was a master manipulator. A lot of members of his "church"* were taken in by the attention he got from politicians, in a way this made him legit in their eyes. He also championed racial equality at a time when US society was dragging its heels on it. Like all cult leaders he instilled fear into his followers but at the same time was charismatic. Bringing them down to Guyana was a big step in cutting them off from the world. Interestingly, his followers were a big mix from all walks of life who all seemed to buy into that 60s and 70s utopian vision of how the world could be.

They did a few rehearsals of the suicide. Some ex-members have said that the first one or two were tense affairs (understandably) until Jimbo dropped the bombshell that it was a hoax. It is their view that a lot of the dead would have been either desensitised to the idea of mass suicide, or simply thought Jones was a bluffer and no longer took it seriously when they drank the kool-aid the last time.

* Apparently he was atheist!

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

What happened to Kym Owens? The Monaghan student was badly injured in Dublin in November and is still in a coma.
    Guards have no idea what happened.
    She may have had a fall, Been hit by a car, Attacked. No one knows.
    Seeing as she suffered severe head injuries i wouldn't hold at any hope of her being able to tell what happened, if/when she regains consciousness.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-have-no-suspects-or-witnesses-in-kym-owens-case-1.2931996

She is still in an induced coma in hospital. I think at this stage, only she will be able to explain what happened when she comes round. Very strange and sad story.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users Posts: 12,150 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

How does Donald Trump get his hair to look like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

MadYaker wrote: »

Liberal tears :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭mikhail

How the hell does anyone believe in the Loch Ness monster these days? The bloody tourist boats have sonar that can resolve fish smaller than your hand across the whole breadth of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,936 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

mikhail wrote: »
    How the hell does anyone believe in the Loch Ness monster these days? The bloody tourist boats have sonar that can resolve fish smaller than your hand across the whole breadth of it.

Between the sonar sweeps and the impossibility of sustaining a population from a tiny gene pool... sad to say I don't think we'll ever see Nessie short of some sort of Jurassic Park type stunt :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Does anyone genuinely believe in it?
    FWIW Loch Lomond is a far far nicer lake, shít I mean loch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

The bloody tourist boats have sonar that can resolve fish smaller than your hand across the whole breadth of it.

Nessie knows all about their pesky sonar.
    Keeps well clear of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,305 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The bloody tourist boats have sonar that can resolve fish smaller than your hand across the whole breadth of it.
    Ted111 wrote: »
    Nessie knows all about their pesky sonar.
    Keeps well clear of it.

Aye, she keeps herself covered in thick layers of mud in order to block the sonar :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭The White Feather

This guy believes in Nessie! He has looked for Nessie for 25 years!!

Of course he has zero evidence!! :D:D:pac::pac:

https://stv.tv/news/features/1372378-nessie-hunter-who-has-devoted-25-years-to-finding-the-loch-monster/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

https://stv.tv/news/features/1372378-nessie-hunter-who-has-devoted-25-years-to-finding-the-loch-monster/

Dear Jesus... This guy needs a lobotomy. Imagine wasting half your life on this absolute nonsense...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

The girlfriend had a lucky escape :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I kind of love it though - to have that much devotion to something (anything) must be fulfilling.

People might laugh but its as nuts as being very religious or really into football or whatever. Its a passion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

The mysterious death of Peter Watts, a 15 year old from Colwyn Bay, North Wales, who left a note for his parents who had gone out one Sunday afternoon saying he had gone to help a friend with some homework and would be back soon. He was discovered in an underpass 300 miles away in London a matter of 9 or 10 hours later dying of injuries associated with a fall.

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/crime/fresh-appeal-40-years-after-mysterious-death-of-15yearold-boy-a3159971.html

The mysterious death of Peter Watts, a 15 year old from Colwyn Bay, North Wales, who left a note for his parents who had gone out one Sunday afternoon saying he had gone to help a friend with some homework and would be back soon. He was discovered in an underpass 300 miles away in London a matter of 9 or 10 hours later dying of injuries associated with a fall.

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/crime/fresh-appeal-40-years-after-mysterious-death-of-15yearold-boy-a3159971.html
    Wow - thanks, i have never heard about this one!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Sounds like suicide no?

ligerdub wrote: »
    Sounds like suicide no?

To me - sounds like he was going to meet someone his family knew nothing about and then was robbed/mugged by that person and pushed off the bridge?? (his watch was missing)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Stigura

ligerdub wrote: »
    Sounds like suicide no?

On the face of it. But, that was a bloody long old way, and to a very specific sounding location, for a young lad to go, just to jump.
    Parchment wrote: »
    To me - sounds like he was going to meet someone his family knew nothing about and then was robbed/mugged by that person and pushed off the bridge?? (his watch was missing)

And yet, the post mortem revealed No signs of him having struggled or even have been pushed over ..... :confused:

Mystery indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

MadYaker wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

I reckon the Nessie stories were 'encouraged' by the tourist board. But having visited that part of Scotland it is beautiful and doesn't need advertising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Martin Allen is another troubling missing boy case from the UK in the 1970s/1980s.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disappearance_of_Martin_Allen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Stigura wrote: »
    And yet, the post mortem revealed No signs of him having struggled or even have been pushed over ..... :confused:

Maybe he just fell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Stigura

fxotoole wrote: »
    Maybe he just fell.

Yep. Might have been a kid before his time. Invented 'Planking' and got no credit for it :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Update
    http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-suffolk-38613992
    Police investigating the disappearance of an airman have renewed appeals to trace six individuals seen on CCTV on the morning he went missing.

Corrie Mckeague, from Dunfermline, Fife, vanished from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, on 24 September.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hopefully unrelated.

Most of the mysteries here could be summed up as "murderers hide evidence"

I have never understood the fascination with killing people. Don't get me wrong The Ladykillers is a great film, but because it's fiction.

My hero / anti-hero isn't the person who gets away with an unsolved murder. WTF is this BS about this most heinous thing being the "perfect crime" ?

It's the computer programmer who walks into his boss and says "I've just embezzled your bank, if you agree to drop all charges I'll fix it so no one else can , otherwise the company will go under when I tell everyone how to do it". (they folded)

Or the security guard who threatened to wipe the system. The normal reaction to such blackmail is to "go ahead we have backups" except our hero did a night course in computers and learnt one thing. He'd stolen the backup tapes too. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

How Hillary Clinton got away with the email scandal.

Only if you definition of "got away" includes throwing away the US Presidency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Only if you definition of "got away" includes throwing away the US Presidency.

Touché