Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v2.0

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

It was a relief for the ads to come on :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

donfers wrote: »
    ah come on, you are proving his point to an extent by being so dismissive

his ideas are a bit out there but feck it, i'd take anything to change the status quo at the moment

also i love the idea of seeing a load of mercs and bmws parked outside the dole office as guys in expensive suits wander in to be interrogated

And how does he resolve the issues brought about by his ideas?

We're still waiting for him to answer.

Full of idealistic BS, imo.

Should stick to the day job.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Sardonicat wrote: »
    "We're not going to be in government on Thursday week!"

Nope. Nor the week after that, or the week after that, or the week after that, or the wee...

Definitely not if he's the best they can come up with :confused:

Sociology, I believe.

Someone with his logic wouldn't pass Philosophy 101.

That's what I meant. :pac:

I even googled to double check before I posted.

It's been a long day.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭technocrat

donfers wrote: »
    technocrat wrote: »
    This leftie twat is seriously deranged!

ah come on, you are proving his point to an extent by being so dismissive

his ideas are a bit out there but feck it, i'd take anything to change the status quo at the moment

also i love the idea of seeing a load of mercs and bmws parked outside the dole office as guys in expensive suits wander in to be interrogated
    People that already pay more than enough tax should be asked to give more so the government can p1ss it away in outdated allowances for civil servants.
    Remind me how much of the 75m promised savings they achieved again? Yes a measly 3m odd!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Kieran Allen has probably done his best tonight to turn people off socialism for life :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Kieran Allen has probably done his best tonight to turn people off socialism for life :(
    He'll be able to retire soon, so.

This is par for the course anytime I've seen him on this show, in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

Allen is insane.
    Why can't they have someone serious from the left on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

technocrat wrote: »
    People that already pay more than enough tax should be asked to give more so the government can p1ss it away in outdated allowances for civil servants.
    Remind me how much of the 75m promised savings they achieved again? Yes a measly 3m odd!

i agree that our system of governance is so structurally screwed-up that that should be the first priority but it will never happen because turkeys don't vote for christmas - hence the huge levels of apathy

Allen is insane.

I've emboldened the first problem with your question. :pac:

This newspaper guy looks like he's just come back from Copper Face Jacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I see John Waters has a piece about the Children's Rights Bill undermining famalies.

This newspaper guy looks like he's just come back from Copper Face Jacks.
    Yeah, he looks great, I'd love him to do the review of the papers every night ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

He spent so long right into the ending though nearly getting himself cut off.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I see John Waters has a piece about the Children's Rights Bill undermining famalies.

I was wondering when old reliable would be out of the trap .... closely followed no doubt by Máire BeanUi whatever & the usual suspects from Iona.

Tomorrow is Friday ... yepeeeeeeeeeeee :D

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Yeah, he looks great, I'd love him to do the review of the papers every night ;):D

I'd prefer Derek Davis to do the newspaper review every night. He's got far more gravitas.

Ah Harry, Derek has had his day, I think we need to see some new faces on our TV sets.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Niamh is always immaculately groomed, I love her dress!
    Hmmm, you politico you....

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Hmmm, you politico you....
    :o:o:o:o:o

Ah Art, it was a very boring show to be fair :D

Ah Harry, Derek has had his day, I think we need to see some new faces on our TV sets.

You're being very ageist MrsD. No wonder we don't see Derek Davis or Thelma Mansfield on our TV screens anymore with attitudes like that.

:o:o:o:o:o

Ah Art, it was a very boring show to be fair :D
    thankfully missed it. Caught the Ming express earlier in the week, that'll keep me going for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Allen is insane.

There are a lot of serious people from the left on but none you can take seriously.

true, gravity certainly is fond of him.

He's ok, /meh.

You're being very ageist MrsD. No wonder we don't see Derek Davis or Thelma Mansfield on our TV screens anymore with attitudes like that.
    Ah here, you need to get your facts straight Mr. Angstrom. Firstly, I was a huge fan of Thelma and Derek's on Live at Three. My mother used to have it on when we came home from primary school ;):D

Thelma Mansfield left the world of TV to pursue a career in art. She is quite a successful artist so she is no longer interested in TV.

As for Derek Davis, I like him alot but he is the kind of guy who would like to present a show. I can't see him being content doing newspaper reviews every evening.

I'd say more sexy-ist than ageist. :D

ArtSmart wrote: »
    I'd say more sexy-ist than ageist. :D
    :D:D:D:D

Ah here, you need to get your facts straight Mr. Angstrom. Firstly, I was a huge fan of Thelma and Derek's on Live at Three. My mother used to have it on when we came home from primary school ;):D

Thelma Mansfield left the world of TV to pursue a career in art. She is quite a successful artist so she is no longer interested in TV.

As for Derek Davis, I like him alot but he is the kind of guy who would like to present a show. I can't see him being content doing newspaper reviews every evening.

Thelma was on the George Hook Show a few months back and she said she was the last person to find out that Live At Three had been cancelled. No wonder she turned her back on TV.
    Derek Davis has been a guest on the Sean Moncrieff Show a few times and he's been a perfectly capable media reviewer..........

Thelma was on the George Hook Show a few months back and she said she was the last person to find out that Live At Three had been cancelled. No wonder she turned her back on TV.
    Derek Davis has been a guest on the Sean Moncrieff Show a few times and he's been a perfectly capable media reviewer..........
    I actually saw Thelma on Dermot O'Neill's gardening programme recently, she seems to be very happy with her move into the art world. Every cloud has a silver lining as they say, it looks like RTE did her a favour.

I remember Derek Davis used to sit in for Joe Duffy on Livelive once upon a time. I thought he did a great job, maybe some rival radio station should snap him up for phone in show. God knows we all could do with a break from Mr. Duffy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

he does indeed add a lot of weight to events, gravitas though I'm not so sure