Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Yea I can't see what the grounds for appel would be.
    He clearly stuck or attempted to strike his opponent.

Unless its something totally obsucre like the refs report said that he "attempted to strike" and Mayo prove that he actually "struck" and get him off on the basis that the refs report is incorrect.

I'd love to hear that appeal:

"So basically, since the ref said he only attempted to hit him, he's in the clear, since he gave him a good clocking round the jaw."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

martyos121 wrote: »
    I'd love to hear that appeal:

"So basically, since the ref said he only attempted to hit him, he's in the clear, since he gave him a good clocking round the jaw."

It's how the Keegan appeal went last year in an opposite kind of way. Keegan was done for striking when he went to strike but missed. He couldnt be done for the offence he was up for and got off.

You'd think the County Board would have learnt their lesson about the expense of a successful appeal last year :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

km79 wrote: »
    Dublin Joe refffing the semi
    I kid you not

Jesus he gets an unreal amount of Dublin games in light of the fact he refs their training matches. However with that said I rate him as a top ref and I have never had a major problem with him that I recall after he has reffed Dublin games. Few better than him.
    He reffed the 2012 semi and final with both of you didn't he?
    As someone said in the Dublin thread; your due some reffing luck in the semi after that horror show by Reilly last year and you might just get it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

TBH I think Joe McQuillan is a pretty good referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

So whats the story Yop, are we having that pint before or after you beat us?

Very little talk about the game this year. Everyone is holding back.
    In 2013 when it was crazy and then the backside was analysed out of it and everyone went quiet about a week before the game.

Should be a great game. After the double/rotating sweeper move against Donegal and the swiftness of the decisions form the line, i have to say that I'm more concerned about Mayo this year then 2013, add in the obvious strengthening in midfield and AOS up front.

WRT to ourselves, Brogan is going well and seems to do damage around this time of year to Mayo. We'll have to see if young Fenton can hold his own, we don't have a conveyor belt of midfielders that you lads have.

IMO a lot will depend on the performance of the Mayo halfback line vs the Dublin Half forward line. This is one area where IMO Dublin are moving better than 2 years ago.

I think AOS on ROC will be a big factor, he'll be double marked hopefully better than Donegal managed but few can stop him when he's moving. We'll have to watch all of Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, C O'Connor and Doherty in the space he creates. I'm sure he'll tactically bring ROC out the field, hopefully we'll switch someone else onto him if and when that happens.

Looking forward to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

jjdonegal wrote: »
    Jesus he gets an unreal amount of Dublin games in light of the fact he refs their training matches. However with that said I rate him as a top ref and I have never had a major problem with him that I recall after he has reffed Dublin games. Few better than him.
    He reffed the 2012 semi and final with both of you didn't he?
    As someone said in the Dublin thread; your due some reffing luck in the semi after that horror show by Reilly last year and you might just get it this year.

tbh I'd agree he is a good ref
    the fact that he has one semi and deegan the other increases the chances of Marty Duffy getting the final !

km79 wrote: »
    tbh I'd agree he is a good ref
    the fact that he has one semi and deegan the other increases the chances of Marty Duffy getting the final !

Heaven forbid!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    Heaven forbid!:pac:

there is talk of it!
    I thought David Gough handled our 1\4 final well

Ah I think there is little chance Marty Duffy would be asked to officiate the All Ireland final even leaving aside the debacle on Saturday.David Gough impressed me greatly on Saturday.He appears to have what it takes to be a top class referee based on the games I've seen him officiate thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

ColeTrain wrote: »
    It's worth a shot at least, nobody thought Keegan would win his appeal last year and he did.

...and see how that worked out? Nothing but a distraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Jippo wrote: »
    ...and see how that worked out? Nothing but a distraction.

He won the appeal and played. Do you think it had something to do with us losing that game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

This should be a pisheog free zone from now until when ever the season ends.

Was tongue in cheek, but yes Father :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Ah I think there is little chance Marty Duffy would be asked to officiate the All Ireland final even leaving aside the debacle on Saturday.David Gough impressed me greatly on Saturday.He appears to have what it takes to be a top class referee based on the games I've seen him officiate thus far.

I'd say Coldrick could get the big day out? Maybe not if Dublin are there.

Ya a lot to like about Gough.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    He won the appeal and played. Do you think it had something to do with us losing that game?

Absolutely!

Your management: were they preparing to play with or without Keegan?

Where was Keegan's head all week?

What message was sent to Keegan's would-be replacement?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stoner wrote: »
    So whats the story Yop, are we having that pint before or after you beat us?

Very little talk about the game this year. Everyone is holding back.
    In 2013 when it was crazy and then the backside was analysed out of it and everyone went quiet about a week before the game.

Should be a great game. After the double/rotating sweeper move against Donegal and the swiftness of the decisions form the line, i have to say that I'm more concerned about Mayo this year then 2013, add in the obvious strengthening in midfield and AOS up front.

WRT to ourselves, Brogan is going well and seems to do damage around this time of year to Mayo. We'll have to see if young Fenton can hold his own, we don't have a conveyor belt of midfielders that you lads have.

IMO a lot will depend on the performance of the Mayo halfback line vs the Dublin Half forward line. This is one area where IMO Dublin are moving better than 2 years ago.

I think AOS on ROC will be a big factor, he'll be double marked hopefully better than Donegal managed but few can stop him when he's moving. We'll have to watch all of Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, C O'Connor and Doherty in the space he creates. I'm sure he'll tactically bring ROC out the field, hopefully we'll switch someone else onto him if and when that happens.

Looking forward to it anyway.

No I think I will wait and have 2 pints after we beat ye, one for each of the 2 points we will win by :D:D, ah I don't drink when I go to Croker, either I drive up or I travel on a bus and just prefer not to have to stop the bus on the way home for a wizz :D

Ya, its quite, but its a while off. I think people are finding it hard to call and hard to analyze. I still don't know if we have been tested, Galway was a good test, Sligo wasn't and Donegal, well I can't figure that one out, I see it as 2 ways, Donegal are either on a down, were coming off a hard Ulster route and the backdoor, though Tyrone have thrown that out the door with their win.
    Then the otherside I see that victory was that Mayo got everything right, match ups and tactics and performance. So the players and management got it right.

I expect a very good tough game. It could depend on goals and black cards, so a strong ref is needed, while "Dublin Joe" is a good ref, its creepy now how many Dublin games he does. ;)

If we stay injury free I give us a good shout in it, but I can't see anything more than the winner coming out on top by 2 or 3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Couple of cards handed out - please have a read of the forum charter, it is strict enforcement for the championship

Regarding the Marc O Sé incident I am talking about justified bans... if you read the article EOG got an 8 week ban for a headbutt (or an attempted headbutt). It was not clear what Marc O Sé's ban was actually for.

In fact, and this is a bit of bull**** to actually support my argument, who actually won the AI in 2011??!

It was after all the messing around with Galvin at that time (2008) that Kerry stopped appealing bans almost as a rule.

There is a difference between appealing bans on reasonable grounds and appealing on technical grounds as Mayo did last year. I am all for accepting reasonable punishments, allowing a team to move on and prosper rather than be stuck in limbo and blaming everyone else around them except for themselves. When Mayo stop blaming everyone for their failure to win an AI, they will see that they have to take the referee out of the game, the administrators, even the opposition... then and only then will the Sam Maguire visit Castlebar for what will probably be the biggest party this nation has ever seen.

Valid point Jippo re making appeals based on technical grounds but I believe all managements will try any angle they can to ensure success.

You are most definitely mistaken if you think the vast majority of Mayo people blame non on the pitch factors for our losses.

I hope so. Good luck for the rest of the year. Ye certainly provide good championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Appealing justified bans is certainly a bad idea IMO.

Kerry accept bans, accept responsibility and get on with the task at hand.

You've got the wrong end of the stick here. The whole point of the appeal is to determine whether the ban is justified or not. You might be of the opinion it's justified. Others (like the CCC, whose opinion is the only one that matters) might not be.
    When Mayo stop blaming everyone for their failure to win an AI, they will see that they have to take the referee out of the game, the administrators, even the opposition... then and only then will the Sam Maguire visit Castlebar for what will probably be the biggest party this nation has ever seen.

Ah I was wondering when you would pull out the old "Mayo won't win Sam until they stop being such whingers" argument. Because we all the know the team are affected by what barstoolers whinge about.

I don't get your point about how appealing bans is detrimental to a team. The appeal process is there for a reason. Either Kevin Keane will have his ban rescinded or he won't. The team and management will continue to prepare regardless.

Earlier on I made a comment referencing Mayo's "loser mentality". I did not intend on causing offence. I am referring to a perceived culture of blame that Mayo GAA has that I believe is not helping the team achieve All Ireland victory.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I hope we dont appeal, he deserves his ban for doing a silly thing. I've said it before on this forum that I know Kevins family well and the abuse him and his family took down the phone and on the street after the 2012 AI was shocking and embarrassing, I think that was happened with Murphy was the peak of it and MAYBE he needed to get it out of his system.
    Aside from that, what he did was a red card and should stand. He is a young lad and will learn from it and hopefully will have his chance to redeem himself in an AI final.

You've got the wrong end of the stick here. The whole point of the appeal is to determine whether the ban is justified or not. You might be of the opinion it's justified. Others (like the CCC, whose opinion is the only one that matters) might not be.

Ah I was wondering when you would pull out the old "Mayo won't win Sam until they stop being such whingers" argument. Because we all the know the team are affected by what barstoolers whinge about.

I don't get your point about how appealing bans is detrimental to a team. The appeal process is there for a reason. Either Kevin Keane will have his ban rescinded or he won't. The team and management will continue to prepare regardless.

Good point in the first paragraph but Keegan did attempt to strike Buckley and Keane did strike Murphy and the bans are in stone are they not (i.e. bans for red cards)? Ye are appealing red cards that should be red cards --- there is no getting away from that in my opinion.

Regarding the middle paragraph... does not the appeal of Keegan's ban show a certain mentality?

I disagree with your third point. As I asked earlier:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,906 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Earlier on I made a comment referencing Mayo's "loser mentality". I did not intend on causing offence. I am referring to a perceived[\i] culture of blame that Mayo GAA has that I believe is not helping the team achieve All Ireland victory.

How does this work though? Did the team go out in the replay against Kerry thinking in the back of their minds "Well if we don't win today we can blame the ref in the drawn game"? I don't believe top-level sportspeople function like that...

If anything a sense of past grievance can (very slightly) reinforce a team's determination to win the next one...

Earlier on I made a comment referencing Mayo's "loser mentality". I did not intend on causing offence. I am referring to a perceived[\i] culture of blame that Mayo GAA has that I believe is not helping the team achieve All Ireland victory.

No problem. I am aware of the perception about Mayo and whinging. However, I believe trying to play with the full deck is the pragmatic option for Mayo. Kevin Keane could well be needed by the team so if there is a process in place that allows him back to play for us then why not use it? Regardless of what Kerry do we are not the only team that appeals bans.

I think it would be daft for Mayo to allow any 'perception' to dictate what course of action we should take when such situations arise, whatever is best for the team should be the priority.

How does this work though? Did the team go out in the replay against Kerry thinking in the back of their minds "Well if we don't win today we can blame the ref in the drawn game"? I don't believe top-level sportspeople function like that...

I don't know what to say I have myself in knots in places.

I don't know!

Put it this way, which was better for Mayo? Keegan playing or Keegan not playing?

I don't know!

Put it this way, which was better for Mayo? Keegan playing or Keegan not playing?

I wholeheartedly believe that accepting the ban and preparing the week in advance without him would have been far preferable to the confusion and doubt that must have pervaded the Mayo dressing room.

I am not going to go down the road of saying... look Keegan did not play to his full abilities in the replay so I am right... but I will say that his preparation could not have been ideal with all that was going on during the week.

I think I can safely add the palaver over the venue to the list. IIRC, James Horan was saying that he wasn't happy with the venue... with the match only days away.

These are all distractions that took from Mayo's performance. ESPECIALLY in a game that ended up being so close. Tiny percentages mattered and I think Mayo erred in these two issues.

This is my opinion and we can't turn the clock back to see if things would have worked out differently if Mayo had just put the head down and prepared for war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Right folks, Mayo v Donegal quarter final in full here;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=bl0c3rYILu8&app=desktop

Not sure if that link will work, here it is again;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bl0c3rYILu8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Right folks, Mayo v Donegal quarter final in full here;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=bl0c3rYILu8&app=desktop

Not sure if that link will work, here it is again;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bl0c3rYILu8

Absolute legend. Fair play to ya Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Was looking for it this morn and ended up watching the 2012 semi and 13 final. Brogan had a good time on cafferky and we need someone like Vaughan on Connelly.
    The suggestion to play Barry at midfield and put parsons in front of back 4 is not a bad idea.
    I'd like gibbons available too on the panel.