Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

bo-sco wrote: »
    I thought Conroy played badly and I said that above. I'm sure, like you say, that he'd agree with me.

But he was prominent and lively like you mentioned and did get on a bit of ball particularly in the second half when O'Connor had gone out of the game. But he used it poorly especially that ball that he skied across the goal when we were down to 13 men and vulnerable.

I would agree that Freeman looked dangerous and I would rate him as your best forward. It says a lot about media analysis that the substitution has barely raised an eyebrow particularly when compared to all the attention taking Bernard Brogan off against Kerry got when he had taken a knock and there were 5 minutes to go.

I should say that I still think of Higgins as a back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Lads, he had the flu. At this stage I'm amazed everyone hasn't heard. Been suffering from a bout of it myself and Freeman is some man even to attend the match with the flu in full swing, nevermind play. The substitution was forced on Horan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Syferus wrote: »
    Lads, he had the flu. At this stage I'm amazed everyone hasn't heard. Been suffering from a bout of it myself and Freeman is some man even to attend the match with the flu in full swing, nevermind play. The substitution was forced on Horan.

Maybe a touch of a head cold but Freeman wasn't showing any signs of sickness and he was clearly unhappy to be taken off. TBH anyone suffering from the flu wouldn't be playing or attending the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

Maybe a touch of a head cold but Freeman wasn't showing any signs of sickness and he was clearly unhappy to be taken off. TBH anyone suffering from the flu wouldn't be playing or attending the match.
    We can only judge what we saw. He was playing well. Maybe not tearing them apart but causing them trouble. Could he not have left it till half time and asked him in the dressing room ? Fk it I'm getting annoyed thinking about the match again now . Higgins shud have been left in the forward line too . Aaaaggggghhhhhhh

If you get a coughing fit when you're playing you're fücked. I felt ok for an hour or two after resting but then all your energy fades away. He'd have been preparing for the match for at least a couple hours before throw-in and the warm-up would take a lot from him in that state.

If he just had a bit of a cold he wouldn't have been substituted when he was. He was the most lively forward for Mayo.

km79 wrote: »
    We can only judge what we saw. He was playing well. Maybe not tearing them apart but causing them trouble. Could he not have left it till half time and asked him in the dressing room ? Fk it I'm getting annoyed thinking about the match again now . Higgins shud have been left in the forward line too . Aaaaggggghhhhhhh

Without a doubt he should have been left until half time but Horan couldn't wait to bring on Conroy and he wasn't ever going to take off Moran or O'Connor after 27 mins. When Higgins was moved back Feeney should have been the obvious choice in the half forward role. All water under the bridge now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Martin Carney knows these boys and he says he had the flu. He has a relationship with Mayo. He knows the families and was visiting the mother in the lead up to the match I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Neeson wrote: »
    Martin Carney knows these boys and he says he had the flu. He has a relationship with Mayo. He knows the families and was visiting the mother in the lead up to the match I'd say.

I live near him and I have it on good authority that the flu story is hocus pocus.

Well somebody told Martin he had the flu. Would James be making stuff up? This might turn into a Stephen Ireland job. Pretending he had the flu but it was something more serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

Again whether he had the flu is not the point I was making. My point was after 27 minutes he was going well and should not have been subbed at that time. The more I think about it the angrier I get ......terrible call

He might have sent messages over to James to get him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

The story I heard about freeman was that he was seriously pissed off with been taken off. They even had hassle getting him on the team bus after the game. If this is true, I don't blame him even if he had flu.

Also I heard feeney was drinking after the semi final and resulted in him not been used.

lots of stories so its hard to know whats true or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

Anyone know if Cillian played for 'Tubber in their u21 game tonight?

He might have sent messages over to James to get him off.

He was furious coming off sure that's the whole point...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

bo-sco wrote: »
    COC delivered?
    In what way?

From what I could see, he did nothing from open play, kicked 8 frees that anyone would have kicked, missed two that he probably should have gotten and took too long over a number of frees at the end when Mayo were chasing the game with two extra players and needed all the time they could get.

That post doesnt even deserve a response.

Don't know if he was furious. Some say he was in fierce pain and angry with himself that he couldn't go on and let the boys down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Gerry91 wrote: »
    Anyone know if Cillian played for 'Tubber in their u21 game tonight?
    Unsure, all I know is Moy Davitts 3 - 12 Ballintubber 3 - 4 was result.

I highly doubt he'll see sight of a football field again this year. It'd be the height of madness to play for his club in his current state. That said, he shouldn't have been on the field Sunday either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Rockfish

Was sitting beside a neighbour of Freeman and he had met him Thursday night and he was in flying form. Also what is the pre match bust up thats been mentioned a few times?? Why will no one simply post what the heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Rockfish wrote: »
    Was sitting beside a neighbour of Freeman and he had met him Thursday night and he was in flying form

That explains why he was taking off on Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Rockfish

That explains why he was taking off on Sunday :D

A genuine LOL moment, you're on the ball :)

Don't know about the bust up before the match but it was said that Horan bust up Freeman after the match because he was in a huff that he was taken off and wouldn't get onto the team bus.

Don't think this is true though. Freeman had the flu and wanted off but was disappointed he couldn't play with the rest of the boys in the final and felt he let his county down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Just seen Clare win the All Ireland Hurling

Why can't Mayo do things like that i.e preform on the day, step up, and go on and win the f**kin thing

Mayo don't have a being like Mr O'Donnell.

Don't know about the bust up before the match but it was said that Horan bust up Freeman after the match because he was in a huff that he was taken off and wouldn't get onto the team bus.

Don't think this is true though. Freeman had the flu and wanted off but was disappointed he couldn't play with the rest of the boys in the final and felt he let his county down.

Where on earth is the evidence of this?

I honestly think you're on a wind up here though

Gerry91 wrote: »
    Where on earth is the evidence of this?

I honestly think you're on a wind up here though

I recall Martin saying it on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Mayo don't have a being like Mr O'Donnell.

I does not matter who they have or don't have the fact of the matter is that they never step up and play to their potential or above it on the big day like other teams do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I does not matter who they have or don't have the fact of the matter is that they never step up and play to their potential or above it on the big day like other teams do.

We sound like whingers now.

Heads up, keep the faith. Our day will come.

Could be said that Mayo do peak before the big day. Leave the best till last as they say..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Could be said that Mayo do peak before the big day. Leave the best till last as they say..

Sure look, Dublin peaked before the final in 2013, as did Donegal in 2012! Its tough