Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭dealornodeal23

As a Dublin fan I just want to say genuine commiserations. The game today really could've gone either way and unfortunately for you the Boys in Blue just about came out victorious. That doesn't deny the fact that you've a fantastic team and there's zero doubt in my mind that you'll win in All Ireland in the next couple of years No county and it's people deserve it more. On a final note I just want to say your fans are without a doubt the best in the country. Colour, noise, loyalty with grace in defeat. A credit. Your time will come. Believe me.
    WELL SAID!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

I've had texts and emails from all over Connacht and Ireland expressing genuine commiserations for our loss. A few tongue in cheek digs but I know the same people were rooting wholeheartedly for us last Sunday. I think this Mayo Galway divide stems more from UK soccer tradition, Man-U v Liverpool syndrome, than a genuine Irish thing.

Why can't we all just get along and collectively hate the Dubs like we always used to?

I really hope we get back to the final next year, full team and management intact, and finish this thing once and for all.
    (But this time I think I'll go for a long walk on the beach for that 3rd Sunday in September, and find out the result when I get home).:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

I'm off, if it's any consolation I love yer women!

Your aren't so bad either.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Seems Richie Feeney had stomach bug on Saturday which ruled him out of playing on Sunday. Not the 1st time we have had rumours of himself and James falling out and the last time it was rubbish also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

yop wrote: »
    Seems Richie Feeney had stomach bug on Saturday which ruled him out of playing on Sunday. Not the 1st time we have had rumours of himself and James falling out and the last time it was rubbish also.

Cynic hat on for a minute here

I think his tweet is interesting though, Yop.

"Very disappointed on Sunday in many respects. Thanks for all well wishes and support. #bestfans Well done to minors on serious display."

That "many respects", suggests to me a possible annoyance at not seeing game time. Granted a 140 character non-verbal statement is always tough to analyse but combine that with some rumours of a falling out and it doesn't look good

Frustrating something like that would happen at such a crucial time

I hope to God if there's differences there, they patch them up because I think Richie could be a big player for us next term

I'm more annoyed at Freeman coming off and Higgins to corner back myself though :(

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Gerry91 wrote: »
    Cynic hat on for a minute here

I think his tweet is interesting though, Yop.

"Very disappointed on Sunday in many respects. Thanks for all well wishes and support. #bestfans Well done to minors on serious display."

That "many respects", suggests to me a possible annoyance at not seeing game time. Granted a 140 character non-verbal statement is always tough to analyse but combine that with some rumours of a falling out and it doesn't look good

Frustrating something like that would happen at such a crucial time

I hope to God if there's differences there, they patch them up because I think Richie could be a big player for us next term

I'm more annoyed at Freeman coming off and Higgins to corner back myself though :(

From the horse mouth, so can understand that tweet ;)
    Freeman was also sick so that goes along way to explain that.

IF next year we can have a fully fit Moran, a fully fit O'Connor, Dillion gets that groin op sorted, McLoughs get a few months off to recharge, that Feeney isn't sick, that Clarke isn't injured (not starting that debate again).
    IF all them balls line up again then we can make another final.
    I do wonder now though if the "IFs" still won fix the problem and we have a serious mental block in senior finals! We are almost like Englands soccer team now at this stage.

Though the sickener about last Sunday was that even though all them "IFs" weren't fixed, that we had the best chance ever to win an AI title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

We lost by a point and he would have been worth at least that coming on.
    IF we make it next year we are surely due a bit of luck injury/illness wise......

km79 wrote: »
    We lost by a point and he would have been worth at least that coming on.
    IF we make it next year we are surely due a bit of luck injury/illness wise......

Ah ya but if he had zero energy from been sick then out in the heat of Croker on Sunday last was no where to be. Jeebus even for us in the stands it was hard to take the pressure!

From the horse mouth, so can understand that tweet ;)
    Freeman was also sick so that goes along way to explain that.

IF next year we can have a fully fit Moran, a fully fit O'Connor, Dillion gets that groin op sorted, McLoughs get a few months off to recharge, that Feeney isn't sick, that Clarke isn't injured (not starting that debate again).
    IF all them balls line up again then we can make another final.
    I do wonder now though if the "IFs" still won fix the problem and we have a serious mental block in senior finals! We are almost like Englands soccer team now at this stage.

Though the sickener about last Sunday was that even though all them "IFs" weren't fixed, that we had the best chance ever to win an AI title.

Yeah, completely agree.

The worst part of all is I can see Dublin being even stronger next year. If Brogan and Nolan are back fully fit they'll be huge boosts to them and with surely another player or two coming through in the league, club championship, under 21 or whatever (Furman for Ballymun e.g.) they'll have even more talent at their disposal. I think Mannion will be a super player next season

This Dublin team was beatable on Sunday. I felt like guys like McCaffrey, Brennan and KK could be got at and they were for the most part. Thing is I can see none of these starting next year, unless they improve (their young, they have time!).

Anyhow that's for another day. But yes it was left behind us no question

For the sheer heck of it, hypothetically do ye think that performance would have beaten kerry on sunday?

I don't myself given the forwards they have yet I think we are a better team than them no question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ah ya but if he had zero energy from been sick then out in the heat of Croker on Sunday last was no where to be. Jeebus even for us in the stands it was hard to take the pressure!
    Oh I did not mean it like that. I meant it was another stroke of bad luck for him to be struck down the day before the game. He was one of our impact subs equivalent to Bastick for them (albeit in a different role).
    Added to freeman being sick , O Connor , Clarke (whose experience was a loss IMO), Doherty and so on.
    I believe we would have won if even only Freeman was 100%.
    Ah feck I'm thinking about it again now and today had been going so well :(

Yeah, completely agree.

The worst part of all is I can see Dublin being even stronger next year. If Brogan and Nolan are back fully fit they'll be huge boosts to them and with surely another player or two coming through in the league, club championship, under 21 or whatever (Furman for Ballymun e.g.) they'll have even more talent at their disposal. I think Mannion will be a super player next season

This Dublin team was beatable on Sunday. I felt like guys like McCaffrey, Brennan and KK could be got at and they were for the most part. Thing is I can see none of these starting next year, unless they improve (their young, they have time!).

Anyhow that's for another day. But yes it was left behind us no question

For the sheer heck of it, hypothetically do ye think that performance would have beaten kerry on sunday?

I don't myself given the forwards they have yet I think we are a better team than them no question

Not sure if you are referring to Mayo or Dublin but neither would have beaten Kerry last Sunday, would have been out of sight.

Our own performance!

Just a hypothetical question but one I was thinking of. As bad and all as this loss was, losing to an ageing Kerry team would be worse IMO given all they've done to us over the years

Oh I did not mean it like that. I meant it was another stroke of bad luck for him to be struck down the day before the game. He was one of our impact subs equivalent to Bastick for them (albeit in a different role).
    Added to freeman being sick , O Connor , Clarke (whose experience was a loss IMO), Doherty and so on.

LOL, same as. I think I need to be banned off the Mayo forum for a few months! :D (I'm sure Rebel Girl is saying I'm trying hard!) ;)

Losing to anyone is bad Gerry, just another to rack up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Positives for 2014:
    1. Andy Moran is a super leader to re-motivate both the players and the fans. Hearing him on Newstalk he really lets nothing get him down. Heard that said about him before that he just cannot be beaten down by anything.
    2. Adam Gallagher. Think he will be big player for us next year. Winter program will have him physically ready for it.
    3. Alan Freeman. For a big man he can move. The flu excuse ..... it was a bad substitution. He had minutes earlier blasted through two Dubs with power and pace.
    4. Midfield. OSheas need support of at least one half forward. It can't all be on them. Dublin have Flynn/Connolly. We need someone with height in there. Possibly Adam Gallagher could slot in as he has experience on kickouts.
    5. Bench. You would figure we're not losing anyone to retirement so the bench should strengthen as recent u21's filter through maybe Liam Irwin might benefit from being around the panel for an introductory year. He has the size and could be the freetaker while Cillian has time off.
    6. The Black card will favour the running game of the half backs. Most other teams are weak once they look past their first sub defender.
    All in all with the studious nature of Horan I'd be quite confident we'll be in better shape next year. But we need to better on the sideline on match day. Each line of the team should be monitored off the ball to see what changes are necessary. Off the ball you could see Alan Freeman was getting in good positions but was being ignored for the ball over the top of OCarroll. OCarroll was marking 6 yards in front, was perfect for a ball over the top.
    Clearly Kevin Keane/Shane McHale replacing an injured Tom Cunniffe is the correct call to leave Higgins in the forwards. Lucky for Mayo OGara was injured as OGara has a significant size advantage on Higgins. It was not a good matchup otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

I have it from a good source that Freeman didn't have flu at all. Did you see his reaction when he was taken off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭KMFCross

Any truth in the rumour that Buckley is leaving for a position elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

KMFCross wrote: »

God I hope not,he really was a massive addition to the set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Pappacharlie

Just wondering does anyone else on here think that James Horan has taken this team as far as he can and that it might be a good time for a change at the top. I think there were some very poor decisions from the sideline last Sunday.I'd love to see Kevin McStay at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

James Horan is easily the best man for the job /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Positives for 2014:
    1. Andy Moran is a super leader to re-motivate both the players and the fans. Hearing him on Newstalk he really lets nothing get him down. Heard that said about him before that he just cannot be beaten down by anything.
    2. Adam Gallagher. Think he will be big player for us next year. Winter program will have him physically ready for it.
    3. Alan Freeman. For a big man he can move. The flu excuse ..... it was a bad substitution. He had minutes earlier blasted through two Dubs with power and pace.
    4. Midfield. OSheas need support of at least one half forward. It can't all be on them. Dublin have Flynn/Connolly. We need someone with height in there. Possibly Adam Gallagher could slot in as he has experience on kickouts.
    5. Bench. You would figure we're not losing anyone to retirement so the bench should strengthen as recent u21's filter through maybe Liam Irwin might benefit from being around the panel for an introductory year. He has the size and could be the freetaker while Cillian has time off.
    6. The Black card will favour the running game of the half backs. Most other teams are weak once they look past their first sub defender.
    All in all with the studious nature of Horan I'd be quite confident we'll be in better shape next year. But we need to better on the sideline on match day. Each line of the team should be monitored off the ball to see what changes are necessary. Off the ball you could see Alan Freeman was getting in good positions but was being ignored for the ball over the top of OCarroll. OCarroll was marking 6 yards in front, was perfect for a ball over the top.
    Clearly Kevin Keane/Shane McHale replacing an injured Tom Cunniffe is the correct call to leave Higgins in the forwards. Lucky for Mayo OGara was injured as OGara has a significant size advantage on Higgins. It was not a good matchup otherwise.
    Andy Moran is a superb leader,great interview on Newstalk.He will absolutely vital to the cause next year and should be flying next year.
    Totally agree re the Freeman substitution,found it baffling.He was winning the high balls out in front of O Carroll.Alan has the potential to finally completely fulfill his undoubted potential and develop into a top class full forward.
    Not convinced Kevin Keane has played well enough this year to be a first choice at corner back,he was quite poor in the league.Shane McHale did very well when he covered for Cafferkey in the league and the Galway clash.
    Zippy should stay at centre forward,watched the game back and thought he alongside Keegan and Boyle were absolutely outstanding.Can't believe how quiet Donal Voughan was,he was severely curtailed going forward.
    To be honest I do not think we would have scored enough to beat Kerry.

Think James Horan is absolutely the man for the job. Some bad sideline calls true, but that is outweighed by having the team on a strong upward curve each year.
    I also think Shane McHale is close to starting next year.
    Alan Freeman is very close to being a consistent guy to deliver at full forward, the most valuable forward position on the pitch. For a big man he doesn't just run in a straight line. He's agile and good with his bounce solo to put defenders off balance. Seems to be a cool head for finishing goals, not just a blaster.
    The midfield definitely needs a half forward helping out. The OSheas will be a little bit fitter next year, they were first season injury free.

Horan is the man for the job without a doubt. Haven't heard anyone else express this to be honest so not sure where you are coming from on this.
    He took us from the lowest point in 2010 after our defeat against Longford, to a league final, a league semi final and 2 AI finals! Was within a point of Dublin last weekend, we can say that he may have made a few mistakes, but its easy in hindsight for us to point that out, I am sure he can too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I have it from a good source that Freeman didn't have flu at all. Did you see his reaction when he was taken off?

Then why was Freeman taken off? That needs to be resolved internally and externally if Horan is to stay on. Issues like that spread discontent in a camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,320 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

KMFCross wrote: »

Guys like Buckley rarely tend to stay in one place very long, they are in high demand not just from inter county football and hurling teams, but also from universities, other sports teams etc.

It would be a shame to see him go but if he does I hope they can find a suitable replacement and I hope they have learned from what he brought to Mayo.

As for Horan staying I think he should give it at least one more year if he believes that they can win in 2014 and if he believes that the squad feel the same way.

Who are possible replacements if he goes ?, and if anyone says Maughan I'll go over and thump them, I'm serious.

Guys like Buckley rarely tend to stay in one place very long, they are in high demand not just from inter county football and hurling teams, but also from universities, other sports teams etc.

It would be a shame to see him go but if he does I hope they can find a suitable replacement and I hope they have learned from what he brought to Mayo.

As for Horan staying I think he should give it at least one more year if he believes that they can win in 2014 and if he believes that the squad feel the same way.

Who are possible replacements if he goes ?, and if anyone says Maughan I'll go over and thump them, I'm serious.
    Buckley definitely tidied up their general play alot. I don't think we actually made that many basic mistakes in the final. Simply outgunned on the kickouts and we didn't have enough upfront with Andy. In terms of handpassing/kickpassing was around our usual standard.
    Next year is about new faces. Some guys are playing at their peak, Boyle/Keegan/Higgins not much more you could get out of them. One good new face upfront could be enough to tip the balance.

Jimmy Nallen? McStay? Can't think of any else.

McStay won an All Ireland club. The argument is he took over a team who were already dominant but wouldn't it be a similar story with mayo?

If It's Tommy Lyons I'll cry no joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭GBXI

I didn't see his reaction, but who is your source? That's a massive statement to make.

Was madness! Higgins was running riot centre forward and was even an ideal option to pick up Bastick when he came in.

If you start Kevin Keane corner back in the final the previous year, surely he's worth a run the next year?

Freeman was nonsensical. I've said it plenty of times and I've had lads say back "ah look he wasn't winning much"- bullsh1t. He was all over O'Carroll. Like last year I'd a good vantage point being in the canal end. Where last year the McGees mopped up possesion for fun, this year we found ourselves a good target man and threw in Conroy who's about 5"9 and kept playing in high ball? Don't blame the players. Clearly the tactic was lob in a decent bit of high ball like Cork did to good effect and let Freeman who's at least 6 foot cause havoc. Clearly him going off wasn't in the plan as they kept playing that high ball in

One of the most nonsensical subs I think I've ever seen :(

Buckley definitely tidied up their general play alot. I don't think we actually made that many basic mistakes in the final. Simply outgunned on the kickouts and we didn't have enough upfront with Andy. In terms of handpassing/kickpassing was around our usual standard.
    Next year is about new faces. Some guys are playing at their peak, Boyle/Keegan/Higgins not much more you could get out of them. One good new face upfront could be enough to tip the balance.

Lee is an 89 so will only be hiting 25 next year so here's plenty milage in him yet

Worry about Higgins. He must be pushing 30 now and is such a crucial player. Young mans game and all that ...

If Higgins is played corner back next year I'll be furious. While Horan's subs were daft on Sunday, moving Keith to CF was the move of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭GBXI

Was madness! Higgins was running riot centre forward and was even an ideal option to pick up Bastick when he came in.

If you start Kevin Keane corner back in the final the previous year, surely he's worth a run the next year?

Freeman was nonsensical. I've said it plenty of times and I've had lads say back "ah look he wasn't winning much"- bullsh1t. He was all over O'Carroll. Like last year I'd a good vantage point being in the canal end. Where last year the McGees mopped up possesion for fun, this year we found ourselves a good target man and threw in Conroy who's about 5"9 and kept playing in high ball? Don't blame the players. Clearly the tactic was lob in a decent bit of high ball like Cork did to good effect and let Freeman who's at least 6 foot cause havoc. Clearly him going off wasn't in the plan as they kept playing that high ball in

One of the most nonsensical subs I think I've ever seen :(

So we can agree (whatever about Freeman's reaction) that Horan didn't want to take him off but felt he had to.