Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Moar turbo fun!

EGR clean time
    Image2530_zps0de4da6d.jpg

It needed it!
    Image2531_zpse7c937fd.jpg

Better :)
    Image2532_zpsbbb98acb.jpg

It meant I had to take this c*nt off...
    Image2533_zps6212b6be.jpg

Onto the "lunchbox"
    Image2534_zps229e67aa.jpg

Ugh tar!
    Image2535_zpsf915fa5f.jpg

I did say tar...
    Image2536_zpsa999072d.jpg

I did get it cleaned, checked with a straight edge too, alls grand :)

Refitting that little c*nt
    Image2537_zps7ec91ad2.jpg

Yeeeeaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh TAKE THAT!!!!!!!!!!!
    Image2538_zps55db7f4a.jpg

Onto the oil return pipe, just a quick clean out
    Image2539_zps24982c6b.jpg

Then the high pressure feed. This little filter must be kept clean and for goodness sake, don't lose it!!!
    Image2540_zps7eb313f4.jpg

Cleaned!
    Image2541_zps80fdb95f.jpg

This union was the last piece to fit for now...
    Image2542_zps4c2700d4.jpg

Plenty more to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Passed the NCT this morning, 27 months till the next one.. happy days..!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Picked up a big slab of rubber from friends yesterday for fashioning into a pair of rear mudflaps. :cool:

First step was making up some cardboard templates for fitment

flaps1.jpg

10mm thick :eek:

rubber1.jpg

Template over the rubber to mark out

rubber2.jpg

Marked out and ready for cutting

rubber3.jpg

Ready for the next step tomorrow if weather is ok :)

rubber4.jpg

Genius!

Got the car Terracleaned this afternoon, took about 1 hour do get it done, lads are very friendly and went through what was involved, took it out for a spin after and throtle response is much better through 3rd - 4th etc seems to be more liner, also engine is a bit quieter around 2k - 2,300rpm when cruising, havent been out on a longer spin than that and will give an update after a few fills.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Got the car Terracleaned this afternoon, took about 1 hour do get it done, lads are very friendly and went through what was involved, took it out for a spin after and throtle response is much better through 3rd - 4th etc seems to be more liner, also engine is a bit quieter around 2k - 2,300rpm when cruising, havent been out on a longer spin than that and will give an update after a few fills.

...and what about the main question?! Had they the CO2/hydrocarbon measuring machine with them? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

...and what about the main question?! Had they the CO2/hydrocarbon measuring machine with them? :P

i just rang them there to see if they will be around cork any day to do my car and he said they dont have a tester in the mobile van but do have one in the garage in wicklow, so they dont test it when they come to you in the van but if you call to the garage they can test before and after.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Very cool. This is next on my list of todos I think...how much did it set you back?

cost 120 plus vat as advertised on donedeal, didn't have a Co2 tester, but I didnt notice any smoke out the back when I was accelerating out of corners etc time will tell..

What would really clinch it for me is if my rough idle is sorted, will be testing that tomorrow morning!

cost 120 plus vat as advertised on donedeal, didn't have a Co2 tester, but I didnt notice any smoke out the back when I was accelerating out of corners etc time will tell..

What would really clinch it for me is if my rough idle is sorted, will be testing that tomorrow morning!

Rough idle can often be caused by carbon baked onto piston rings. It makes sense that the Terraclean can sort it :)

How nice to see undamaged and well looked after parts :)
    Image2546_zps5580a008.jpg

No way is that going back on the manifold though!!! :eek:
    Image2547_zps43c71a3c.jpg

In due time... ;)

Get out!
    Image2550_zpscf327adc.jpg

The one to be fitted is supposed to be bigger...
    Image2551_zps7a1d6b18.jpg

Alas, why this turbo is for the bin
    Image2552_zps41f6850a.jpg

The "mechanic" altered the pipework so that no oil got to the shaft when the turbo blew :rolleyes:

As a bonus...

Waiting on gaskets now! :(

Wile I'm waiting for a bit of help to take out this f*ck of a ball joint, I decided to kill some time....

So I took apart that turbo I took out for the craic :)

I really need a new camera....
    Image2558_zps3dae3ebf.jpg

Wastegate actuator
    Image2559_zpsc99e6490.jpg

4 bolts to whip off the compressor housing
    Image2560_zps26b7f619.jpg

The compressor wheel looks even worse exposed!
    Image2561_zpsdc505a44.jpg

I decided to take the exhaust housing off. Something seems to be missing here...
    Image2562_zpsebb17118.jpg

Yep, the turbine wheel has done a disappearing act, along with half of the shaft! :eek:
    Image2563_zps5c06989c.jpg

I have another Garrett GT15 that suffered the same fate, I don't know may be a fault in them...

I'll use this one as a "return your old un" job :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

dgt, that is great work. I really do learn a lot from your posts in this thread. Like even this last post I learned about the turbo and the parts of it. I'm always curious to see what you have up your sleeve next and what I can learn from it. Great work again and keep it up. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Engine is in now anyway. Had to wait for mounts.
    dsc0392lf.jpg

Hopefully I can get it wired up tomorrow.

Got that help in the finish :)

Basically, de-stake the joint, make sure the keys line up and keep it straight :)

Taking out a balljoint some monkey fitted... Left us with a nasty mess to take out :mad:

A familiar sight :pac:
    Image2568_zpsb36c26e2.jpg

Here's the offending joint
    Image2564_zps965b743a.jpg

*Disclaimer: that's not me operating that stillson :P

The reason why we resorted to a stillson
    Image2565_zpse76bc16f.jpg
    Image2566_zps0a68ae54.jpg

That's fairly crappy :rolleyes:
    Image2567_zps4116f508.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15,506 ✭✭✭✭vectra

vectra wrote: »
    Not toda, but Yesterday what I did to the Toledo.

SOLD IT :pac:

Now on the hunt for a replacement
    Top of the list is either a Mk1 Octavia vRS or a 318ci..
    I would imagine you would get a lot better value in an Octavia.

Got this.

Now to burn out the DA getting it to the Toledo standards :pac:

Few jobs needing done but nothing major. Good straight car, running well.

428162_596373260389824_1752405730_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,673 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Got this.

Looks a similar reg number to one an ex. collegue of mine had. Sure his was an 02 - if it was originally a UK Fleet car and spent a few years in Dublin from 04/05 onwards, that was a minter.

Does she have the armrest (essential in my opinion), and have you bought some spare coils to carry around for when they go?

OSI wrote: »
    A petrol VRS in the Vectra household! :eek:

LOL
    Competition..
    The young lad can average 40mpg out of it :cool:

Pending prices of the Mk3 vrs there could very easily be a second petrol one :)
    R.O.R wrote: »
    Looks a similar reg number to one an ex. collegue of mine had. Sure his was an 02 - if it was originally a UK Fleet car and spent a few years in Dublin from 04/05 onwards, that was a minter.

Does she have the armrest (essential in my opinion), and have you bought some spare coils to carry around for when they go?

First off. May congratulate you both.

Now,
    Back to the vrs.
    Indeed it was a UK import.
    She has no armrest but could be a plan to fit one.

No spare coils yet but is on the list of "Must have's"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

She has no armrest but could be a plan to fit one.
    OEM MK1 armrest on MicksGarage for just shy of €60 :)

armcik150_340f12.jpg

http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=1110861&pk=E07D8

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

how quick does it feel vectra?

has anyone else totally given up on keeping their cars clean the last few weeks? :o

Would you believe I have not driven it "Properly" yet :P

And yes, It must be close on 2 weeks since I cleaned my own car.

Nope! Anyone who does is an amateur :P

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yup!

My car is in desperate need of a wash, polish and a wax!

Replace weeks with years for me :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i think ill just clean the alloys later to tide it over :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

same as always with me,

inside hoovered and spotless and nice smelling

but the outside covered in ****e !

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Haven't washed mine in a month. I don't intend on doing anything until the weather picks up either. I did clean the number plate and parking sensors as they were caked in dirt and couldn't be seen or work.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I think i know that vRS Vectra.It hardly had its engine rebuilt about 2 years ago??

Yup!

My car is in desperate need of a wash, polish and a wax!

Just had a Bord gais engineer comment on how spotless my car was :p

I told him his standards were too low:D