Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

My u 21football team next year

Martin
    Histon
    Flahive just out of minor played senior for douglas all year,held spillane ,outstanding v dublin well able to play next year,a senior in the future
    Cronin
    brian o driscoll
    White
    Crowley
    All half back line has played senior club imo the best unit in the country at this level next year
    Maguire
    Kelleher
    Cian kiely outstanding at senior this year ,play auxurilly wing forward defender role
    Vaughan
    Tevor horgan or mcintyre ,i thinks hes eligble
    Dorgan
    Hurley
    Moyinhan or killan o conor
    Could change obivosly but along those lines

ryan harkin,conor horgan will come in to contention.Bushe ,kingston,o donughe also maybeeo donovan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Sadly ye won't.TJ is a bluffer.The man is too old school in his managerial approach.Ye will regret dumping out Donal O'Grady by the end of next years championship imo.Anyway i've indulged enough of you're rubbish people here have more important things to be worrying about than the ramblings of some bitter Limerick man.

O Grady was dead wood. I called for his head back in March and was glad when the axe eventually fell on him. I'd rank him alongside justin mccarthy & pad joe whelehan.

Agreed, I'll let cork punters discuss cork matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Rightwing wrote: »
    O Grady was dead wood. I called for his head back in March and was glad when the axe eventually fell on him. I'd rank him alongside justin mccarthy & pad joe whelehan.

Agreed, I'll let cork punters discuss cork matters.

I could have sworn Cork played poorly and still very easily beat Limerick this year in the Munster final. Must be mistaken. :pac:Keep up the hypothetical nonsense and come back to us when ye actually do anything! lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭wackokid

Martin
    Histon
    Flahive just out of minor played senior for douglas all year,held spillane ,outstanding v dublin well able to play next year,a senior in the future
    Cronin
    brian o driscoll
    White
    Crowley
    All half back line has played senior club imo the best unit in the country at this level next year
    Maguire
    Kelleher
    Cian kiely outstanding at senior this year ,play auxurilly wing forward defender role
    Vaughan
    Dorgan
    Hurley

ryan harkin,conor horgan will come in to contention.Bushe ,kingston,o donughe also maybeeo donovan

Good looking team TTM, but who is the Kelleher in your mid field.?
    If it's who I think it is, then he must have improved a lot from his minor days.

wackokid wrote: »
    Good looking team TTM, but who is the Kelleher in your mid field.?
    If it's who I think it is, then he must have improved a lot from his minor days.

Peter kelleher kilmicharl
    I agree lot work to do but big hands and ryan harkin wasnt as good as i thougjt he woulf be fir club this year

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Martin
    Histon
    Cronin
    brian o driscoll
    White
    Crowley
    Maguire
    Kelleher
    Vaughan
    Dorgan
    Hurley

That's a strong looking side TTM. With Gene and Hayes in charge, we should be competitive. Kerry are on a high but we have them at home.

It's important that we do well as I can't see Cuthbert get another term and Gene/Hayes would be a good combo for the Senior Team in 2016 especially if they have a good season in '15 at U21.

That HB line is top class and could be our senior HB line before too long.

That's a strong looking side TTM. With Gene and Hayes in charge, we should be competitive. Kerry are on a high but we have them at home.

It's important that we do well as I can't see Cuthbert get another term and Gene/Hayes would be a good combo for the Senior Team in 2016 especially if they have a good season in '15 at U21.

That HB line is top class and could be our senior HB line before too long.

I cant stress though how much donie buckley will improve kerry though

Could beat us next year
    Key for cork is get them ist game
    They avoid us til a final every game they will come on leaps and bounds under buckley
    Hes a genuis gary anything he touches turns to gold

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Thanks for that piece in the Dublin thread thinkstoomuch, was a good read.

Can I ask though, why hasn't he been considered for the Cork job in the past if he's so highly regarded?

If he's that good why would Cork let him go to Dublin? I'm a fan of JBM but he has his flaws imo.

The cork county board school of managenent as liam griffin famously said in 2008 after the last strike is criteria most times is made up of old school,yes men,no.proven records but some failed dismsally in the past and we in cork accept mediocre managers as ger firzgerald,pat kenneally,anthony davis,larry tompkins,denis walsh,a good manager but never great in gerald mac,and brian cuthbhert clearly proved with most having dismal records so poor they would even make kilkenny look poor.

We overlook john cleary,ned english,jerry wallis,donal og grady for these guys.
    Cunningham saving grace just like landers at minor was the manager brought him in it not the board
    Ger got no interview in 2006,too much players man in no cost or.measure be spared if he got the job,that is alien to cork board of philosphy.
    Its always an endorsement when the board doesnt rate cork managers imo,means there excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies football county final tomorrow in CIT,
    5:30pm Senior Final

St Vals V Mourneabbey Live on 103FM County Sound.

All Ireland winning Cork team will be introduced to the crowd at halftime

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Thanks for that piece in the Dublin thread thinkstoomuch, was a good read.

Can I ask though, why hasn't he been considered for the Cork job in the past if he's so highly regarded?

If he's that good why would Cork let him go to Dublin? I'm a fan of JBM but he has his flaws imo.

He was passed over repeatedly by the CCB for being too close to certain players.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Could beat us next year
    They avoid us til a final every game they will come on leaps and bounds under buckley

Seems to be doubt about whether he will actually be involved with the Kerry U21s with talk of him staying on with Mayo.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Could beat us next year

I think that Gene and Sean will learn a huge amount from last season, especially the Roscommon game - in stark contrast to our senior manager, Cuthbert who is very slow to learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

I could have sworn Cork played poorly and still very easily beat Limerick this year in the Munster final. Must be mistaken. :pac:Keep up the hypothetical nonsense and come back to us when ye actually do anything! lol.

considering cork won the munster title and were then hammered in the all ireland semi final where do they stand under your criteria?

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Ah now he admitted cork were well beaten, honest brave honest enough to do it ,no ego has truth and honesty to do it .
    And yes we were spanked absoultely,said it myself after the game,many times since.

My abiding memory is tj telling anyone willing to listen , moral victorys ah limerick were unfortunate,we didnt get the breaks,we were unlucky,ollie moran then saying sport is cruel we were the better team we lost.The better team won,end off.

Kikenny too gracious to say it,but were laughing at Limerick ,puffed and blew like dragon but then folded like a butterfly when they could have won the game.
    Well done limerick,wonderful stuff.
    They had best minor some of the management,pissed away a title getting too big for their boots

They blame everything bar whats real.
    I geuinly dont want to bust limericks bubble but imo No outside coach worth hes salt will touch limerick hurling for money even, after the treating of ger blue and o grady,so when tj goes it will be out of the frying pan in to the fire for limerick hurling brian ryan,tom ryan,leo o connor up for the job next as no one else will want it you coudnt make it up.Ger cunningham ul and shane fitzgibbon were involved before and they saw the shambles it is,two good coaches hardly go back again imo.

Kiely is good at u 21 but tom ryan will try and pull the strings their.
    Their will be drama yet imo their.

For a man great to tell the gaa world how to do things,he talked some rubbish after u 21 were in your words Spanked and hes intermediate team lost a game ye could of won.Has tom ever won an ireland as manager at any level.NO

I want cork to draw limerick in the draw tonight,in hurling .
    Calling a man that won minor title,beat beat kilkenny in a final,hammerred them in fact,won senior all ireland with a young team ,got a team with unlimited rescources ,a Dummy, hardly logical with all due respect.

Feel free to debate any points i raised,spefically the most sickening of all imo to limerick gaa,yere own man playing in club with limerick,set hes allegiance to clare,home of hes parents yes but he regards himself a clare man.Some kick in the stones for limerick hurling in fairness when kinnerk opted for clare.

At least any of other managers that left cork would take the senior job if offered,they wont be.thats only why they left ,but its a huge difference from being offered a job,turning it down that not being offered it at all

Solwhit,I said it many times jbm tactically was at times not great,i agree with you,not that he cant do it,just stubborn to old freestyle hurling and against the possessipn game.Tj just cant do tactics,hasnt the foresight as a manager to do it as hes too old school limerick hurling style.The game has moved on.

Theres a difference,cork hurling has hope next year,limerick,is a lost cause at senior hurling for a few years.
    Win a munster,have celeberations from thomond to ahane to doon,to kilmallock to parade the cup,sing sean south of garryowen,limerick media do a fifty six page pull put,double what they had for the minors,while the Real teams concentrate on winning an ireland is probaly what Limerick will do,its what they do best and only they can do it,in build up a team of huge expecation,then yet another false dawn blows the wind beneath their sails imo.Thats not being rude,just look at past times.

You see corks hammering will actually open jbm eyes to the flaws we have like in 1996,limericks moral victory will cover up the cracks in limerick ,and they will belive they are better than they actually are imo and wont change much next year,likely to be the same starting team or close to it
    Imo.

With cahalane hurling Corks problem at full back will be solved and im hearing a big shake up of management.
    Who did tj bring in??davy clarke .
    Wonderful player,coach what has he done though??

.Yes tj won a title with kilworth but even pat kenneally won county with valley in both,look at us now at u 21.
    Everything i said of limerick last year would happen happened.Check my posts you dont believe me.

He brought back in niall moran , in dundrum in a summers night v waterford in a challenge he looked good.
    Niall moran would make a great coach but hes finished in playing.
    Thats shrewd management alright.

Mike fitzgerald,dropped by o grady previously brought back.He was good in 2007 but now imo way of intercounty level.

You complain bout me being harsh on a guy that won NOTHING IN INTERCOUNTY OR WONT,well.maybee munster title only as real teams dont give a toss bout it next year,yet you said nothing when a proven manager like jbm is called a Dummy.

For whatever jbm faults,Facts are he won two all irelands,got to an all ireland final ,only man to have 100 per cent record v cody in championship.Limerick further down the road of development than cork last few years,but now cork have caught up at senior.
    Anyway ,lets get back to talking bout something worth talking bout ,cork gaa.

Jbm or tj if i had a choice,,jbm any and every day of the week ,any logical gaa man would choose jbm.No other top county imo wanting to win an all ireland would have tj ryan as manager imo purely on hes record.Top teams dont accept mediocrity.If i was picking a full back in limerick,id have tj every time,and as a player, i was a huge fan of the way he played.Managing and playing are though two very very different skillsets.

It will be interesting the excuses next year when limerick fail to get promoted,then become poor in the championship.
    Last year some limerick fans had poor excuses,twas comical , blaming body fat levels, the day was too wet v kilkenny,we had no luck , ifs and buts and maybees you couldnt make it up if you tried.
    Limericks main problem is the refusal to change its way or style of play,wont embrace innovation.T

The Draw is tonight, my hope is avoid all teams bar limerick for cork.Corks softest touch imo,even in limerick cork will beat limerick.
    Limerick have superb young talent,lynch,english,coleman,nash but like cork footballers talent is wasted if you dont have competent,astute modern day management to compliment it when Tactics are now paramount to the Game of Hurling,at nearly all levels now.

its hard to know where to start with this rant.

firstly there was nothing between kilkenny and limerick on the day. in fact kilkenny got lucky because without the second goal which was simply a ball lamped into the square they would not have been in a positon to sit back and defend in numbers the way they had to.
    as regards gracious in victory well we have seen the truth of that since then with cody`s behaviour

secondly re individuals managing teams in limerick. i hardly think a man from cork is in any position to be spouting about proper management considering corks tradition and the recent efforts at underage in the last six seasons

thirdly on paul kinnerk you have`nt a notion what you are talking about
    his father and mother are from clare. he is teaching in shannon, his partner is from clare and he is living in cratloe. his ties to clare are equal to any ties he has with limerick. in fact one of his friends barry fitzpatrick from monaleen who was a coach for the clare under 21s this year is a son of george fitzpatrick a clare football great so he is steeped in clare from all sides.

as regards cork`s prospects. limerick won the munster championship last year and reached the semi final where they underperformed
    they came back this year and again reached the munster final , didn`t play well but recovered strongly and pushed kilkenny to the very edge of their ability to beat them their under 21 team pushed clare hard for 40 minutes without barry o`connell and David reidy who were injured and then fell away and their minors have won the last two munster championships (exactly the same as the clare 2010 2011 group) with a number of really serious prospects coming on stream who have delivered at the top level. their prospective county champions na piarsaigh are munster club champions where they absolutely hammered sixmilebridge. The bridge had a very comfortable afternoon against what is supposed to be a `star studded` midleton side. the bridge have no first choice player making the clare starting team at senior level
    the likelihood is that na piarsaigh will be munster club champions again this year
    in the meantime corks minors are trading on coulda woulda shouldas, the clare under 21s in the first five minutes in the munster final hit four points and patrick collins made an excellent save to prevent a goal the result was in no doubt by then. Cork proceeded to dish out timber all over the place
    the senior side with five changes from 2013 turned out to be a poorer side than the 2013 version. jimmy barry murphy is well capable of identifying the problems the cork seniors have. the question is what can he do about it.
    TJ ryan at least has the option of bringing in serious underage stars to fill the holes in his team, what can jimmy barry murphy do.
    The only player you have mentioned as being a solution to anything for cork is damien cahalane playing hurling full time will solve the full back dilemma.
    I can guarantee you that a cork senior side who has to play damien cahalane in the full back spot on any regular basis will not win an all ireland. he is just not good enough

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

its hard to know where to start with this rant.

firstly there was nothing between kilkenny and limerick on the day. in fact kilkenny got lucky because without the second goal which was simply a ball lamped into the square they would not have been in a positon to sit back and defend in numbers the way they had to.
    as regards gracious in victory well we have seen the truth of that since then with cody`s behaviour

secondly re individuals managing teams in limerick. i hardly think a man from cork is in any position to be spouting about proper management considering corks tradition and the recent efforts at underage in the last six seasons

thirdly on paul kinnerk you have`nt a notion what you are talking about
    his father and mother are from clare. he is teaching in shannon, his partner is from clare and he is living in cratloe. his ties to clare are equal to any ties he has with limerick. in fact one of his friends barry fitzpatrick from monaleen who was a coach for the clare under 21s this year is a son of george fitzpatrick a clare football great so he is steeped in clare from all sides.

as regards cork`s prospects. limerick won the munster championship last year and reached the semi final where they underperformed
    they came back this year and again reached the munster final , didn`t play well but recovered strongly and pushed kilkenny to the very edge of their ability to beat them their under 21 team pushed clare hard for 40 minutes without barry o`connell and David reidy who were injured and then fell away and their minors have won the last two munster championships (exactly the same as the clare 2010 2011 group) with a number of really serious prospects coming on stream who have delivered at the top level. their prospective county champions na piarsaigh are munster club champions where they absolutely hammered sixmilebridge. The bridge had a very comfortable afternoon against what is supposed to be a `star studded` midleton side. the bridge have no first choice player making the clare starting team at senior level
    the likelihood is that na piarsaigh will be munster club champions again this year
    in the meantime corks minors are trading on coulda woulda shouldas, the clare under 21s in the first five minutes in the munster final hit four points and patrick collins made an excellent save to prevent a goal the result was in no doubt by then. Cork proceeded to dish out timber all over the place
    the senior side with five changes from 2013 turned out to be a poorer side than the 2013 version. jimmy barry murphy is well capable of identifying the problems the cork seniors have. the question is what can he do about it.
    TJ ryan at least has the option of bringing in serious underage stars to fill the holes in his team, what can jimmy barry murphy do.
    The only player you have mentioned as being a solution to anything for cork is damien cahalane playing hurling full time will solve the full back dilemma.
    I can guarantee you that a cork senior side who has to play damien cahalane in the full back spot on any regular basis will not win an all ireland. he is just not good enough

The second goal was an excellent finish from a great ball. If you remember the final replay Kilkenny spent most of first half looking to play similar balls into the powers, this debate on how gracious you should be in defeat or victory is getting a little monotonous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,414 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ladies football county final tomorrow in CIT,
    5:30pm Senior Final

St Vals V Mourneabbey Live on 103FM County Sound.

All Ireland winning Cork team will be introduced to the crowd at halftime

St. Val's won it for the first time last year I think.
    Mournabbey beat Val's today for their first... 13 v 10

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

considering cork won the munster title and were then hammered in the all ireland semi final where do they stand under your criteria?

It was a response to the Limerick posters pitiful trolling.Cork won Munster and i believe we beat the reigning all Ireland champions in Munster as well.The Tipp game was a bad day at the office but it wasn't a true reflection of this Cork teams ability.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Ballyhea win the Prem. Intermediate final 1-17 to 0-16. sounded like Pa O'Callaghan had a great game.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What was Neil Ronan sent off for?

Hearing great news on who may be joining the coaching set up well deserved.
    Pat mulchay newtown,cit,would be an indication of a short possesion game.

Cork need to develop a possesiom game,sweeper style solve full back,play joyce at half back,drop cian mac,lawton,play lehane at ten,all well doable and we will be their or their abouts.
    Dualism ended,we will already before a ball is pucked enter 2015 in much better ship.Add in mulchay,much better than last year imo.
    And remember,we  dont give jack sh**t regards winning a munster title.
    Taper training around it,have the weeks up to it heavy training.
    Then taper after it,be fresh in two weeks for the all ireland quater final.
    In essence, only four games in the championship actually matter,waterford quater final,semi final and then a final.
    Treat the league seriously ,very seriously though.
    Winning or getting to a final better than winning a munster title imo.

To the clare lad ,who posted,a compete load of nonense,i said that kinnerk had clare relations.I never denied that.I always find it amusing,when just because a realistic view is given,and it ruffles a few feathers,it is labelled a rant.Nonense imo.

Kinnerk is equally close connections to limerick.You ovibously dont know kinnerk played senior intercounty for limerick in football.
    He knows limerick hurling is a poisned chalice,some where down the line ,they always self destruct with in house fighting.Of course he wont say that,quite right not to but Dont be foolish,he knew he had no chance winning with limerick,every chance of winning with limerick..
    I said it thursday ,tom ryan would cause a drama.Then I hear in the paper,he resigned from the intermediate team.He is still with the u 21 team.Never short of drama.Wait for a drama with them down the line also imo.
    As for your assesement what I think is wrong with cork,or damien cahalane not being intercounty full back,erra yeah keep up enlightening me with words of wisdom.

From someone that said cork minors thinks if and buts,so ironic then you say kilkenny beat limerick over one high square ball.If and buts hey.

Be realistic,in the name of jesus,kilkenny were never in danger of loosing it,like kerry v mayo both won ,as they were just like clare laat year the better team,end off.
    Dont cod yourself.
    Thats like ireland loosing one nil,moral victory to germany in germany 2006,lucky goal,steve staunton trying to convince us he would be a good manager in the ist game.

Carriglaine,had a great win in.a classic game in u 21 yesterday, i said it wednesday newtown had a huge ask to wins second game in four days,clearly tired but never gave up.
    Carrigalines cork lads stood up,but blackrock wont be beaten saturday,but hopefully it will be a close game.They won the u 16 county semi final player.
    One key charville dean ryan cup player and harty cup player ,suffered an awful injury recently,and is out for a while.Best of luck to the lad in recovery.

Id fancy the glen every day and any day of the week ,if they hadnt three weeks in a row,thats my only fear,tiredness may be a factor and is a huge worry.
    Sars could win if glen are tired however im going to be brave,glen rovers,to win,inspired by horgan,mcdonnell,callian, glen kennfick,moylan and cunningha
    for fifty minutes,shane to come on as,a sub ,they imo will win,but it could be close.
    If the glen had this game next week they would win.mb
    Ballyhea won the county,great game,Callaghan was supberb.
    Fully justifed commiting to the club under a proven club manager,than play at u 21 under this year cork set up.He won something with hes club.Delighted for him well done to the club.

What was Neil Ronan sent off for?

only listening on the radio and have no idea what lead to it but apparently gave the butt of the hurley to his marker, straight red after the ref consulted his linesman

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

glen being absolutely humiliated, the worst team to get to a county final since bride rovers in 2008. Sara 1-10 glena pitiful pathetic 3 points

Half time in a terrible county final sars 1-10 glen 3 points. pat horgan gone missing again

2-18 to 0-8. Sars play Limerick champions (Kilmallock/Na Piarsaigh) in a Limerick venue

glen exposed for a really average team, tough times for that old club and it will be a long long time if ever before they win a county again. Even sadder for cork hurling that in a county final 2 wexford men, ray ryan, fraggie murphy and tadgh og murphy are the best players on view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Just after leaving the pairc now. Glen were brutal. Horgan missed three frees early on and that set the tone really. Sars were just buzzing all the game. Fraggy, Tadhg og and Cian mc were very good.

Intermediate game was a very physical game. Newcestown played very poor throughout and it definitely was an opportunity missed for them. Neil Ronan was sent off for an off the ball strike. He deserved the red, very disappointed to see that from him.

What about Pa Callaghan though. He was unreal today. His point scoring was incredible and he ran through the defence numerous times on his own. I remember marking him a few years ago and he was a good player, great skill but he's developed immensely. He has it all for the biggest stage, tank of a young fella.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Pa Callaghan will be getting called into cork training on the back of that anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Quick question lads,how far did Tracton go in the PIHC this year?

How did ex Kerry player Shane Brick play for them?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,414 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A real men against boys county final today. Horgan was brutal and could have seen reef I think for the swing of the Hurley around the head in the second half under the stand., cian mc got a yellow instead. Only saw the swing in the replay.
    SARS might actually have a chance in Munster this year. They are well balanced and won in second gear today. Granted glen were brutal but you can only beat what's put in front of you.