Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/ger-cunningham-dublin-anthony-daly-1709668-Oct2014/

They got one hell of a manager
    Limerick it could have been ye.
    With seanie mcgrath ucc ,dublin realistic all ireland contenders the next three years.
    Not in 2015 but 2016.
    Christ what a coup .
    Congrats ger,delighted, i must buy a dublin jersey for hurling,my second team,Delighted for the man.

To be fair to Limerick and TJ Ryan, he did a pretty decent job this year. Don't think it's fair to be saying that with Ger Cunningham not having proven anything as an inter county manager yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Mountain lad i have a geuine respect for you as a poster from the,waterford thread

But comparing tj to ger blue is like comparing a mini to a ferrai in a race
    Tj as limerick u 21 manager,was a shambles,loosing to tipp lasz year
    He has no concepts of tactics.
    Beat tipp yeah,one,swallow never made a summer
    He then made a balls of the munster final.
    I said they would beat wexford and handy ,as wexford ,four weeks on the trot were wrecked.Lets see how tj will do in wexford in the league.Wexford will blow them away.
    Kilkenny in a dire day,suited to limericks,fire and fury,below par still beat limerick.
    He brings back niall moran,mike fitzgerald,ignores superb adrian breen outstanding again the weekend.
    Too loyal to some kilmallock lads,wouldnt start tom ryan who would walk on any team in ireland

Ger c part of cork,2003 to o6 proven success
    Majior part in 2012/13 with cork
    Won with ucc
    Won with ballygunner,yere own paul flynn ,endorsed him as great
    Won u 15 cork this year
    Ive seen ger train ten years ,unreal.
    Not being big headed but im very if ever wrong judging a manager as.my posts prove,im sorry but tj wouldnt tie ger blues shoelaces in truth.
    Limerick are farther from an all ireland they they care to believe
    If ye get yere act together ye can beat them in limerick in the league,you may not like it,but play a sweeper as tjs style is direct and one dimenshoal and he wont change,1973 lives on.

Rightwing , with respect to come on the cork thread and tell us we wont win an all ireland under jbm is some call to make.

From a county still living of 1973,yere main gaa book,the best seller is Unlimited heartbreak,you glorfied limerick moral victory loss to kilkenney,convinvced yerselfs yere close to an all ireland,you didnt rate tj ryan from day one ,but then ,a lucky omen in a wet day v below par kilkenny,lucky got a flat tired wexford,you laude the grear tj ryan as yere new messiah.

One minute limerick were gone last may,then their all ireland hopefuls.With respect you run with the hare and chase with the hound so many times it hard to find logic in your match assesements.Youre  hot or cold in your views,no realism or logic imo.
    Limerick win one game yere unbeatable,ye loose one game yere a disaster.
    You see this thread here has actually realstic,posters to call a spade a spade and know jbm has to evolve in  certain ways as the very astute sean mac posted.
    Theres hope jbm will do it,a proven two time all ireland winning manager and jbm has no ego and could change.
    Now ye have tj,the man yere own martin kiely the journalist had huge doubts about in the past as a.manager and correctly so,one of the few to correctly question hes record,tj that donal o grady said after a league game ,let tj do the interview as i wont be able to get in a word either way,that man who likes to run the show hes way and thinks he is better than what he actually is imo when he hasnt proved it,yet limerick fool no one but themselves thinking were a top four team.
    The same manager,whos u 21 team was destroyed by tippeary.No suprise the great paul kinnerk a limerick man declined to join,despite apparently being offered the sun,moon and stars etc,but in 2016 will rejoin clare.
    It says it all really imo,wouldnt join limerick.A wise man is Paul,great coach.

Imo tis some day for cork hurling when we take advice from limerick on how to win in hurling,normally cork men as dave keane,jerry wallis etc had to do to show ye how to win.

You telling us cork wont win under jbm,nearly convinces me were certain to win.

Whatever happens all ireland wise jbm will beat limerick no problem any time we meet, and i hope we get ye next year in the draw tommorrow night.Jbm is a much better manager than yere set up.
    We know what to expect.55 minutes,all fire and fury,passion but as cusack said after yere kilkenny moral defeat,when ye went eye to eye with them,there was only going to be one winner.
    Yes kilkenny as cusack said lauded ye with praise,one hell of a game,might battle,we could have lost.
    Thats kilkenny playing the pr game,same as we dont do tacticts,or cody a mamager cant read a gsne from the sideline.Just myths they know some,will some belief.
    As cusack said kilkenny dont respect limericl or any team they beat,hes right,why should they.

Yere best performance v cork was under o grady in the league but typical limerick ,ye shafted him ,like ye shafted cunningham.Dublin will destroy ye if they get ye next year.

Ye couldnt beat 14 man cork in 2013 in blistering heat,cork got tired ye won ,but then clare put ye well and truly gave ye a dose of reality,as i told ye before that game it would happen.
    This year cork beat limerick.We are off an all ireland yes but imo if ye had a map, a compass ,sat nav,christopher colombus, with the greatest of respect ye still wouldnt get close to liam maccarthy,in fact they will have to get a passport for the cup to go limerick its been so so so very long since it visited ye and the way things are going for ye.
    Ye have enough to worry bout in limerick hurling,Yere very lucky to still have jerry wallis but when he goes,yere in huge downward progession imo.Ye have a faboulus bunch of minors,a credit in every way to yere county but poor management im saddened to say at u 21 and senior will hinder a wonderful talented group of players down the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

How will Ger get on with the Dublin job you reckon lads?

Being a jackeen who knows nothing about GAA i'm not too familiar with his work. :pac:

Moneymaker wrote: »
    How will Ger get on with the Dublin job you reckon lads?

Being a jackeen who knows nothing about GAA i'm not too familiar with his work. :pac:

I stay in.cork thread normally but ill do a post on yere thread,one post if you want

• Registered Users Posts: 3 under study

New to forum any idea of whats out there for next year regarding up and coming footballers if the dual lads decide to go with JBM,also i heard the u21 footballers were back in action for next year what kind of panel will they have

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

New to forum any idea of whats out there for next year regarding up and coming footballers if the dual lads decide to go with JBM,also i heard the u21 footballers were back in action for next year what kind of panel will they have

Cork have fantastic talent available - The Kiely Bros from Ballincollig will both make it IMO. Crowley from Millsteet, White from Clon, Ml Hurley from Haven, Dan McEoin, Dorman, Maguire, Vaughan, The O Driscoll Bros - that's 10 outstanding propects - IMO only Dublin are ahead of us.

However, we have a very poor manager who does not inspire the confidence of the squad and we are facing into a very difficult season and he'll probably get another 2 years after that - the talent is there but the management isn't so we won't be competitive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 under study

I've watched a lot of u-21 games this year some great prospects in my opinion that should be developed are
    Stephen Cronin nemo - best reader of the game as a centre back i've seen for a long time
    Cian Kiely Ballincollig outstanding wing back at senior club level this year and only a minor
    Cian Dorgan Ballincollig the most natural forward i've seen at this level for a while scores with both feet and a super freetaker
    Sean White Clon athletic with a win at all costs mentality
    Cathal Vaughan Iveleary natural forward with pace if he can stay injury free a serious intercounty prospect

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭zetecescort

All star nominations for McDonnell, Ellis, McLoughlin, Lehane, Cadogen and Horgan

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I stay in.cork thread normally but ill do a post on yere thread,one post if you want

Sound, look forward to reading it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Rightwing , with respect to come on the cork thread and tell us we wont win an all ireland under jbm is some call to make.

From a county still living of 1973,yere main gaa book,the best seller is Unlimited heartbreak,you glorfied limerick moral victory loss to kilkenney,convinvced yerselfs yere close to an all ireland,you didnt rate tj ryan from day one ,but then ,a lucky omen in a wet day v below par kilkenny,lucky got a flat tired wexford,you laude the grear tj ryan as yere new messiah.

One minute limerick were gone last may,then their all ireland hopefuls.With respect you run with the hare and chase with the hound so many times it hard to find logic in your match assesements.Youre hot or cold in your views,no realism or logic imo.
    Limerick win one game yere unbeatable,ye loose one game yere a disaster.
    You see this thread here has actually realstic,posters to call a spade a spade and know jbm has to evolve in certain ways as the very astute sean mac posted.
    Theres hope jbm will do it,a proven two time all ireland winning manager and jbm has no ego and could change.
    Now ye have tj,the man yere own martin kiely the journalist had huge doubts about in the past as a.manager and correctly so,one of the few to correctly question hes record,tj that donal o grady said after a league game ,let tj do the interview as i wont be able to get in a word either way,that man who likes to run the show hes way and thinks he is better than what he actually is imo when he hasnt proved it,yet limerick fool no one but themselves thinking were a top four team.
    The same manager,whos u 21 team was destroyed by tippeary.No suprise the great paul kinnerk a limerick man declined to join,despite apparently being offered the sun,moon and stars etc,but in 2016 will rejoin clare.
    It says it all really imo,wouldnt join limerick.A wise man is Paul,great coach.

Imo tis some day for cork hurling when we take advice from limerick on how to win in hurling,normally cork men as dave keane,jerry wallis etc had to do to show ye how to win.

You telling us cork wont win under jbm,nearly convinces me were certain to win.

Whatever happens all ireland wise jbm will beat limerick no problem any time we meet, and i hope we get ye next year in the draw tommorrow night.Jbm is a much better manager than yere set up.
    We know what to expect.55 minutes,all fire and fury,passion but as cusack said after yere kilkenny moral defeat,when ye went eye to eye with them,there was only going to be one winner.
    Yes kilkenny as cusack said lauded ye with praise,one hell of a game,might battle,we could have lost.
    Thats kilkenny playing the pr game,same as we dont do tacticts,or cody a mamager cant read a gsne from the sideline.Just myths they know some,will some belief.
    As cusack said kilkenny dont respect limericl or any team they beat,hes right,why should they.

Yere best performance v cork was under o grady in the league but typical limerick ,ye shafted him ,like ye shafted cunningham.Dublin will destroy ye if they get ye next year.

Ye couldnt beat 14 man cork in 2013 in blistering heat,cork got tired ye won ,but then clare put ye well and truly gave ye a dose of reality,as i told ye before that game it would happen.
    This year cork beat limerick.We are off an all ireland yes but imo if ye had a map, a compass ,sat nav,christopher colombus, with the greatest of respect ye still wouldnt get close to liam maccarthy,in fact they will have to get a passport for the cup to go limerick its been so so so very long since it visited ye and the way things are going for ye.
    Ye have enough to worry bout in limerick hurling,Yere very lucky to still have jerry wallis but when he goes,yere in huge downward progession imo.Ye have a faboulus bunch of minors,a credit in every way to yere county but poor management im saddened to say at u 21 and senior will hinder a wonderful talented group of players down the line.

Maybe it is. We shall see. My abiding memory of this year's championship is JBM standing like a DUMMY on the sideline with his mouth open as Tipp smashed Cork into oblivion. Only time will tell if he can graduate from that absolute spanking. I suspect not.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭solwhit2

Mountain lad i have a geuine respect for you as a poster from the,waterford thread

I said they would beat wexford and handy ,as wexford ,four weeks on the trot were wrecked.Lets see how tj will do in wexford in the league.Wexford will blow them away.
    Kilkenny in a dire day,suited to limericks,fire and fury,below par still beat limerick.
    He brings back niall moran,mike fitzgerald,ignores superb adrian breen outstanding again the weekend.
    Too loyal to some kilmallock lads,wouldnt start tom ryan who would walk on any team in ireland

Won with ucc
    Won u 15 cork this year
    Not being big headed but im very if ever wrong judging a manager as.my posts prove,im sorry but tj wouldnt tie ger blues shoelaces in truth.
    If ye get yere act together ye can beat them in limerick in the league,you may not like it,but play a sweeper as tjs style is direct and one dimenshoal and he wont change,1973 lives on.

That's a bit harsh on tj infairness he did a good job with kilworth he mighten be a master tactician jbm is hardly one either picking Shane o Neil at full back and keeping pa Cronin on 5 games in the championship this year he never scored once, some record .he will probably still be on next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

Won with ucc
    Won u 15 cork this year

Cant agree with you on Adrian Breen, he may have played well for Na Piarsaigh at the weekend but i dont think he's intercounty standard at all. Why wasnt he playing Fitz for UCC if he was, he's just finished there this year?

I've watched a lot of u-21 games this year some great prospects in my opinion that should be developed are
    Stephen Cronin nemo - best reader of the game as a centre back i've seen for a long time
    Cian Kiely Ballincollig outstanding wing back at senior club level this year and only a minor
    Cian Dorgan Ballincollig the most natural forward i've seen at this level for a while scores with both feet and a super freetaker
    Sean White Clon athletic with a win at all costs mentality
    Cathal Vaughan Iveleary natural forward with pace if he can stay injury free a serious intercounty prospect

Vaughan does get an awful lot of injuries. Out with a knee injury at the moment.

Peter Kelleher Kilmichael is another who could make a big impact for the U21's although I fear he hasnt progressed as hoped from his minor days.

slingerz wrote: »
    Cant agree with you on Adrian Breen, he may have played well for Na Piarsaigh at the weekend but i dont think he's intercounty standard at all. Why wasnt he playing Fitz for UCC if he was, he's just finished there this year?

My self and you never agree on players,very rarely anything,with respect,no point in saying otherwise.

Breen was outstanding last year at club ,outstanding in munster club and came on for ucc 2013 final as sub,played very well,in a ucc team with star forwards in abundance
    Got one two against six mile bridge last year.He was top scorer in the limerick championship in 2012.
    He didnt play this year in fitzgibbon cup as he injured hes collar bone in a challenge match v cit at the start of it playing for na piarsaigh,missed all ireland club semi final also
    Its very hard to play when your injured you know maybee that answers your query

But he was fully fit for a championship call,the same way moran,mike fitzgerald got one
    Im not sure how you rate players but your having a laugh if you think mike fitz,niall moran were better options.

Rightwing wrote: »
    Maybe it is. We shall see. My abiding memory of this year's championship is JBM standing like a DUMMY on the sideline with his mouth open as Tipp smashed Cork into oblivion. Only time will tell if he can graduate from that absolute spanking. I suspect not.

Ah now he admitted cork were well beaten, honest brave honest enough to do it ,no ego has truth and honesty to do it .
    And yes we were spanked absoultely,said it myself after the game,many times since.

My abiding memory is tj telling anyone willing to listen , moral victorys ah limerick were unfortunate,we didnt get the breaks,we were unlucky,ollie moran then saying sport is cruel we were the better team we lost.The better team won,end off.

Kikenny too gracious to say it,but were laughing at Limerick ,puffed and blew like dragon but then folded like a butterfly when they could have won the game.
    Well done limerick,wonderful stuff.
    They had best minor  some of the management,pissed away a title getting too big for their boots

They blame everything bar whats real.
    I geuinly dont want to bust limericks bubble but imo No outside coach worth hes salt will touch limerick hurling for  money even, after the treating of ger blue and o grady,so when tj goes  it will be out of the frying pan in to the fire for limerick hurling brian ryan,tom ryan,leo o connor up for the job next as no one else will want it you coudnt make it up.Ger cunningham ul and shane fitzgibbon were involved before and they saw the shambles it is,two good coaches hardly go back again imo.

Kiely is good at u 21 but tom ryan will try and pull  the strings their.
    Their will be drama yet imo their.

For a man great to tell the gaa world how to do things,he talked some rubbish after u 21 were in your words Spanked and hes intermediate team lost a game ye could of won.Has tom ever won an ireland as manager at any level.NO

I want cork to draw limerick in the draw tonight,in hurling .
    Calling a man that won minor title,beat beat kilkenny in a final,hammerred them in fact,won senior all ireland with a young team ,got a team with unlimited rescources ,a Dummy, hardly logical with all due respect.

Feel free to debate any points i raised,spefically the most sickening of all imo to limerick gaa,yere own man playing in club with limerick,set hes allegiance to clare,home of hes parents  yes but he regards himself a clare man.Some kick in the stones for limerick hurling in fairness when kinnerk opted for clare.

At least any of other managers that left  cork would take the senior job if offered,they wont be.thats only why they left ,but its a huge difference from being offered a job,turning it down that not being offered it at all

Solwhit,I said it many times jbm tactically was at times not great,i agree with you,not that he cant do it,just stubborn to old freestyle hurling and against the possessipn game.Tj just cant do tactics,hasnt the foresight as a manager to do it as hes too old school limerick hurling style.The game has moved on.

Theres a difference,cork hurling has hope next year,limerick,is a lost cause at senior hurling for a few years.
    Win a munster,have celeberations from thomond to ahane to doon,to kilmallock to parade the cup,sing sean south of garryowen,limerick media do a fifty six page pull put,double what they had for the minors,while the Real teams concentrate on winning an ireland is probaly what Limerick will do,its what they  do best and only they can do it,in build up a team of huge expecation,then yet another false dawn blows the wind beneath their sails imo.Thats not being rude,just look at past times.

You see corks hammering will actually open jbm eyes to the flaws we have like in 1996,limericks moral victory will cover up the cracks in limerick ,and they will belive they are better than they actually are imo and wont change much next year,likely to be the same starting team or close to it
    Imo.

With cahalane hurling  Corks problem at full back will be solved and im hearing a big shake up of management.
    Who did tj bring in??davy clarke .
    Wonderful player,coach what has he done though??

.Yes tj won a title with kilworth but even pat kenneally won county with valley in both,look at us now at u 21.
    Everything i said of limerick last year would happen happened.Check my posts you dont believe me.

He brought back in niall moran , in dundrum in a summers night v waterford in a challenge he looked good.
    Niall moran would make a great coach but hes finished in playing.
    Thats shrewd management alright.

Mike fitzgerald,dropped by o grady previously brought back.He was good in 2007 but now  imo way of intercounty level.

You complain bout me being harsh on a guy that won NOTHING IN INTERCOUNTY OR WONT,well.maybee munster  title only as real teams dont give a toss bout it next year,yet you said nothing when a proven manager like jbm  is called a Dummy.

For whatever jbm faults,Facts are he won two all irelands,got to an all ireland final ,only man to have 100 per cent record v cody in championship.Limerick further down the road of development than cork last few years,but now cork have caught up at senior.
    Anyway ,lets get back to talking bout something worth talking bout ,cork gaa.

Jbm or tj  if i had a choice,,jbm any and every day of the week ,any logical gaa man would choose jbm.No other top county  imo wanting to win an all ireland would have tj ryan as manager imo purely on hes record.Top teams dont accept mediocrity.If i was picking a full back in limerick,id have tj every time,and as a player, i was a huge fan of the way he played.Managing and playing are though two very very different skillsets.

It will be interesting  the excuses next year when limerick fail to get promoted,then become poor in the championship.
    Last year some limerick fans  had poor excuses,twas comical , blaming body fat levels, the day was too wet v kilkenny,we had no luck , ifs and buts and maybees you couldnt make it up if you tried.
    Limericks main problem is the refusal to change its way or style of play,wont embrace innovation.T

The Draw is tonight, my hope is avoid all teams bar limerick for cork.Corks softest touch imo,even in limerick cork will beat limerick.
    Limerick have superb young talent,lynch,english,coleman,nash but like cork footballers talent is wasted if you dont have competent,astute modern day management to compliment it when Tactics are now paramount to the Game of Hurling,at nearly all levels now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

TJ Ryan was an honest and committed player for Limerick but no more than that.JBM has all Ireland wins in hurling and football as a player on his CV and he has made a telling impact with Cork minor hurling teams winning a minor all Ireland as Cork manager.He has a senior all Ireland win as Cork manager on his CV and he was 30 seconds away from landing another one.TJ Ryan on the other hand had a disastrous spell as Limerick u21 manager and the highlight of his senior managerial career so far is a gallant defeat to an under par Kilkenny team who to be honest with you always felt and knew that they had yere measure.So to be honest with you i'd take JBMS record as a player and manager over TJ Ryans anyday.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Waterford in Munster semi

1/4 final Clare v Limerick, winners play Tipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I wouldn't read into the success of a 21 team, especially given how close it was to the Senior semi final. It was also on in Thurles as well.

Peter Queally had a woeful year this year, having almost masterminded a win against a better Clare u21 team last year. But he did a good job with Youghal and won a County with a Passage last year, a miracle achievement.

Fergal Hartley had two shocking years with our 21s as well, and has just guide a Ballygunner team to win every championship game they played this year and a County final by 13 points.

You shouldn't base your opinion of a manager on one game, and to be fair Cork are hard to beat in Pairc Ui Chaoimh and there wasn't much between Limerick and the all ireland champions this year.

Ah now he admitted cork were well beaten, honest brave honest enough to do it ,no ego has truth and honesty to do it .
    And yes we were spanked absoultely,said it myself after the game,many times since.

My abiding memory is tj telling anyone willing to listen , moral victorys ah limerick were unfortunate,we didnt get the breaks,we were unlucky,ollie moran then saying sport is cruel we were the better team we lost.The better team won,end off.

Kikenny too gracious to say it,but were laughing at Limerick ,puffed and blew like dragon but then folded like a butterfly when they could have won the game.
    Well done limerick,wonderful stuff.
    They had best minor some of the management,pissed away a title getting too big for their boots

They blame everything bar whats real.
    I geuinly dont want to bust limericks bubble but imo No outside coach worth hes salt will touch limerick hurling for money even, after the treating of ger blue and o grady,so when tj goes it will be out of the frying pan in to the fire for limerick hurling brian ryan,tom ryan,leo o connor up for the job next as no one else will want it you coudnt make it up.Ger cunningham ul and shane fitzgibbon were involved before and they saw the shambles it is,two good coaches hardly go back again imo.

Kiely is good at u 21 but tom ryan will try and pull the strings their.
    Their will be drama yet imo their.

For a man great to tell the gaa world how to do things,he talked some rubbish after u 21 were in your words Spanked and hes intermediate team lost a game ye could of won.Has tom ever won an ireland as manager at any level.NO

I want cork to draw limerick in the draw tonight,in hurling .
    Calling a man that won minor title,beat beat kilkenny in a final,hammerred them in fact,won senior all ireland with a young team ,got a team with unlimited rescources ,a Dummy, hardly logical with all due respect.

Feel free to debate any points i raised,spefically the most sickening of all imo to limerick gaa,yere own man playing in club with limerick,set hes allegiance to clare,home of hes parents yes but he regards himself a clare man.Some kick in the stones for limerick hurling in fairness when kinnerk opted for clare.

At least any of other managers that left cork would take the senior job if offered,they wont be.thats only why they left ,but its a huge difference from being offered a job,turning it down that not being offered it at all

Solwhit,I said it many times jbm tactically was at times not great,i agree with you,not that he cant do it,just stubborn to old freestyle hurling and against the possessipn game.Tj just cant do tactics,hasnt the foresight as a manager to do it as hes too old school limerick hurling style.The game has moved on.

Theres a difference,cork hurling has hope next year,limerick,is a lost cause at senior hurling for a few years.
    Win a munster,have celeberations from thomond to ahane to doon,to kilmallock to parade the cup,sing sean south of garryowen,limerick media do a fifty six page pull put,double what they had for the minors,while the Real teams concentrate on winning an ireland is probaly what Limerick will do,its what they do best and only they can do it,in build up a team of huge expecation,then yet another false dawn blows the wind beneath their sails imo.Thats not being rude,just look at past times.

You see corks hammering will actually open jbm eyes to the flaws we have like in 1996,limericks moral victory will cover up the cracks in limerick ,and they will belive they are better than they actually are imo and wont change much next year,likely to be the same starting team or close to it
    Imo.

With cahalane hurling Corks problem at full back will be solved and im hearing a big shake up of management.
    Who did tj bring in??davy clarke .
    Wonderful player,coach what has he done though??

.Yes tj won a title with kilworth but even pat kenneally won county with valley in both,look at us now at u 21.
    Everything i said of limerick last year would happen happened.Check my posts you dont believe me.

He brought back in niall moran , in dundrum in a summers night v waterford in a challenge he looked good.
    Niall moran would make a great coach but hes finished in playing.
    Thats shrewd management alright.

Mike fitzgerald,dropped by o grady previously brought back.He was good in 2007 but now imo way of intercounty level.

You complain bout me being harsh on a guy that won NOTHING IN INTERCOUNTY OR WONT,well.maybee munster title only as real teams dont give a toss bout it next year,yet you said nothing when a proven manager like jbm is called a Dummy.

For whatever jbm faults,Facts are he won two all irelands,got to an all ireland final ,only man to have 100 per cent record v cody in championship.Limerick further down the road of development than cork last few years,but now cork have caught up at senior.
    Anyway ,lets get back to talking bout something worth talking bout ,cork gaa.

Jbm or tj if i had a choice,,jbm any and every day of the week ,any logical gaa man would choose jbm.No other top county imo wanting to win an all ireland would have tj ryan as manager imo purely on hes record.Top teams dont accept mediocrity.If i was picking a full back in limerick,id have tj every time,and as a player, i was a huge fan of the way he played.Managing and playing are though two very very different skillsets.

It will be interesting the excuses next year when limerick fail to get promoted,then become poor in the championship.
    Last year some limerick fans had poor excuses,twas comical , blaming body fat levels, the day was too wet v kilkenny,we had no luck , ifs and buts and maybees you couldnt make it up if you tried.
    Limericks main problem is the refusal to change its way or style of play,wont embrace innovation.T

The Draw is tonight, my hope is avoid all teams bar limerick for cork.Corks softest touch imo,even in limerick cork will beat limerick.
    Limerick have superb young talent,lynch,english,coleman,nash but like cork footballers talent is wasted if you dont have competent,astute modern day management to compliment it when Tactics are now paramount to the Game of Hurling,at nearly all levels now.
    TJ Ryan was an honest and committed player for Limerick but no more than that.JBM has all Ireland wins in hurling and football as a player on his CV and he has made a telling impact with Cork minor hurling teams winning a minor all Ireland as Cork manager.He has a senior all Ireland win as Cork manager on his CV and he was 30 seconds away from landing another one.TJ Ryan on the other hand had a disastrous spell as Limerick u21 manager and the highlight of his senior managerial career so far is a gallant defeat to an under par Kilkenny team who to be honest with you always felt and knew that they had yere measure.So to be honest with you i'd take JBMS record as a player and manager over TJ Ryans anyday.

I'm far from convinced about TJ myself. Likewise with JBM. Handy draw for Cork though, so he may get to the Munster final. ;)

I wouldn't read into the success of a 21 team, especially given how close it was to the Senior semi final. It was also on in Thurles as well.

Peter Queally had a woeful year this year, having almost masterminded a win against a better Clare u21 team last year. But he did a good job with Youghal and won a County with a Passage last year, a miracle achievement.

Fergal Hartley had two shocking years with our 21s as well, and has just guide a Ballygunner team to win every championship game they played this year and a County final by 13 points.

You shouldn't base your opinion of a manager on one game, and to be fair Cork are hard to beat in Pairc Ui Chaoimh and there wasn't much between Limerick and the all ireland champions this year.

I have great time for Limerick GAA but this Rightwing fella is always sniping away at Cork.Yes Limerick lost to Kilkenny by a point but certain people in Limerick are making a mini all Ireland out of it.I honestly think that there was a huge difference in performance between the Kilkenny team in that Limerick match and the one in the drawn all Ireland final.Ye had games yereselves against Kilkenny and Cork in Croke Park where ye were narrowly edged and ye never made an all Irleand out of it like they have up in Limerick.Cork hurling has it's problems and JBM tactically need's to improve as a manager but the rubbish that Rightwing constantly spouts when he speaks about Cork just has to be countered.

Wonderful draw for cork,wonderful play waterford in a semi final.
    They will be tough not unbeatable,cork wont underestimate them after last year,will be better playing in a tough league,some dual lads hurling,cork should win it.

We dont have peak in munster final,loose try out new players,3 games to focus on for the all ireland
    Great draw

Limerick are fu##ed imo,clare,fresh,renergised,hungry will blow limerick away ,and limerick tactially be a piece of cake for davy
    Even without kinnerk
    Limerick are in dire trouble,as its competive more now than last year ,loosing first round limerick could have a rocky road to the all ireland series.Wexford,galway would beat them in a qualifer imo.

If miracle happens they beat clare,tipp beat them in a semi ,either way there goose is well and truly cooked imo

Im delighted they got a tough draw

In leinster ger blue got a superb draw they will beat galway ,get to a leinster final,dont and shouldnt aim to beat kk in the leinster final,wont in year one beat kk.
    They need games so a quater final will suit dublin
    Great draw for dublin

Cuthbhert saved,by lucky draw will get to a munster final maybee all ireland quater,but thats not success,down to lucky draw avoiding kerry til the munster final

Got to beat kerry and be competive in all ireland semi imo to pass.
    Brolly wasnt confident,cant bäame him with cork,said confidence a huge problem in cork,and confidence either imo is born in a team or dies in a team based on management.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Paudiepodge

I ll say it again....no need for all this limerick talk on the cork discussion page...hopefully you've got it out of your system after that rant above....its getting over the top and tiresome at this stage...you don't like them we get it.....seems to go back to Ryan not goin with Dog... all that aul stirrer rightwing has to do is make a windup comment about us and off its goes again.....Rightwing = wind up merchant...clog up the limerick discussion page if you want to talk about how rubbish they are. Great draw for rebels by the way.

I've said numerous time I want to see Cork win an AI, along with the likes of waterford. Good for the game, and neither LK or cork are poor. Just not good enough to win the AI just all imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Paudiepodge

You're a gas man rightwing....you just cant help yourself with your 'and the likes of' Behave. Glad to see you have our interests at heart.

My self and you never agree on players,very rarely anything,with respect,no point in saying otherwise.

Breen was outstanding last year at club ,outstanding in munster club and came on for ucc 2013 final as sub,played very well,in a ucc team with star forwards in abundance
    Got one two against six mile bridge last year.He was top scorer in the limerick championship in 2012.
    He didnt play this year in fitzgibbon cup as he injured hes collar bone in a challenge match v cit at the start of it playing for na piarsaigh,missed all ireland club semi final also
    Its very hard to play when your injured you know maybee that answers your query

But he was fully fit for a championship call,the same way moran,mike fitzgerald got one
    Im not sure how you rate players but your having a laugh if you think mike fitz,niall moran were better options.

Your dead right in that we never agree on players

Breen is fortunate to be part of a dominant club side however he has more games where he has been kept quiet than anything else. UCC may be a star studded outfit but if he is senior inter county standard like you are saying then he would be on that team. He wouldn't make the Cork senior panel and to be fair to Limerick they are a good side so the idea that they're panel would be less than Corks is insulting. I never said I was in favour of Fitz or Moran but then again Moran would play a completely different role to any that Breen could offer so it may have been a target man/ball winning option that TJ Ryan was after when bringing Moran back to the panel

I'm far from convinced about TJ myself. Likewise with JBM. Handy draw for Cork though, so he may get to the Munster final. ;)

Well you must be deligjted with yere draw.You must be totally confident.
    Im sure davy is lying awake now at night over this draw now.
    Clare will match yere gutso,fury ,passion ball for ball but will play with an intelligence,game plan,thats alien to limerick hurling and blow limerick away

I think  this huring draw will entice dual lads go hurling,as cork wont beat kerry in killarney in the football imo
    Cork hurlers peak for waterford,relax for the munster final,have a few mars bars,ice creams,then ramp it up after the munster final
    But of course play ,the public relations game,we want a munster title,we will go through hell and fury to win it etc.
    Play the game.

Paudi ,rightwing came to the cork thread called jbm a dummy,if you havent got the courtsey or loyalty to defend a legend in cork,thats fine for you,dont preach to me with respect please what to do or dont.Good man.
    I like limerick,again i say,that ,but emotion doesnt hinder me calling a spade a spade in limerick hurling.

Even limericks loyal fans,did not want niall moran back,never perfomed constantly in the big games.

How could breen start this year for ucc when he was injured??can you explain that one to me.
    Shane o donnell wasnt starting this year all the time despite being fit,such was the pick.O donnell is the man that got a hat trick in the 2013 all ireland final replay.

you do know,ucc have a pick of players of intercounty standard from different counties,limerick dont and dont have an abdundace top quailty forwards so breen is best avaible forward to limerick.

Well you must be deligjted with yere draw.You must be totally confident.
    Im sure davy is lying awake now at night over this draw now.
    Clare will match yere gutso,fury ,passion ball for ball but will play with an intelligence,game plan,thats alien to limerick hurling and blow limerick away

I think this huring draw will entice dual lads go hurling,as cork wont beat kerry in killarney in the football imo
    Cork hurlers peak for waterford,relax for the munster final,have a few mars bars,ice creams,then ramp it up after the munster final
    But of course play ,the public relations game,we want a munster title,we will go through hell and fury to win it etc.
    Play the game.

Paudi ,rightwing came to the cork thread called jbm a dummy,if you havent got the courtsey or loyalty to defend a legend in cork,thats fine for you,dont preach to me with respect please what to do or dont.Good man.
    I like limerick,again i say,that ,but emotion doesnt hinder me calling a spade a spade in limerick hurling.

Even limericks loyal fans,did not want niall moran back,never perfomed constantly in the big games.

How could breen start this year for ucc when he was injured??can you explain that one to me.
    Shane o donnell wasnt starting this year all the time despite being fit,such was the pick.O donnell is the man that got a hat trick in the 2013 all ireland final replay.

you do know,ucc have a pick of players of intercounty standard from different counties,limerick dont and dont have an abdundace top quailty forwards so breen is best avaible forward to limerick.

LK wiped the floor with wexford, the very team that outsmarted davy fitz. We'll do a number on Clare. A big number. Tipp is my worry. I said they'd trounce Cork in the championship, the naive didn't like it, they thought I was having a dig, but I was proven right. They are the only team to avoid imo.

Sadly ye won't.TJ is a bluffer.The man is too old school in his managerial approach.Ye will regret dumping out Donal O'Grady by the end of next years championship imo.Anyway i've indulged enough of you're rubbish people here have more important things to be worrying about than the ramblings of some bitter Limerick man.

Ye beat a tired wexford team jusz like ye,did to clare in 2012 in qualifers

Wexford has nothing in the tank
    Clare beaten ye u 21,league,championship last few years
    Ye wont have a hope v clare,omne dimenshoal direct plax,meat and drink to clares 8 defenders

Anway i entertained you long enough,back to cork gaa
    Im sure your views will make you a hero on the limerick thread