Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Midelton have made an application to the munster council to hold the game v the Bridge or newmarket in Midelton.

Youghal v whitegate is in fermoy sunday at 2pm.

DONAL Og welcomed the idea camoige joins the one organisition and said they would be open for them to join the GPA.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

thanks RG:-o, Very Much apprecite that.I coudnt for the last two wks get any info on that,date wise etc.

do you have a venue?
    Is it Mallow

No venue, will find out for you though!

Thanks a mil:-o

If i cn return the favour let me know.

Sad but not unexpected,Cunnigham resigned as cork selector.

Just a case of when nt if hes limerick manager.

I said cunnigham and cusack were gone to limk bt 4 wks ago.

If cork had won this year he would have resigmed , i feel, ithad said in august,when limkerick came knocking he was right to go.

A savage blow to cork and a huge huge loss,just when we got walsh weve taken a huge setback.

Ucc had 9 men that played and wn under Ger under at midelton sunday and bulk cork lads played under him.

Hes loss cant be underestimated in the slightest.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,057 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Limerick dont want him.

Hope he is a success once its not at hands of us of course.

Limerick dont want him.

Hope he is a success once its not at hands of us of course.
    Wouldnt say they dnt want,just want a limerick man.

But like cork do,their will be a token appointment like ryan involved,and everyone is happy.

Take cork minor set up,ring had landers ,and john mortell was put in their.Hes being involved at senior and u21 teams that failed,but bord want him ,bt hes grand as landers and ring are top coaches.

Pearse O Neill retirment confirmed.

will we have anyone left:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Great player at his peak, bursting through the middle.

on the hurlers, who will/should replace Ger, if anyone?

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Quirkes army commitments if abroad like last year,he would find it hard to make it.Maybe that had a bearing.

Kissane went himself,hes a new company based in uk , but he also had to quit hes gda job with the CCB earlier due to time constraints.

I hope Doc stays,Cork need some expierence.A good man of the bench.

Kelly is an uncertainty with hes injury problems next year.

Kissane doesn't have a job in the UK, his company is based in Ireland -he is studying in St Marys, Twickenham for a Masters, but I think that is distance learning

Cork Senior Hurling selector Ger Cunningam has this evening tendered his resignation to manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy.

Ger has spent two very fruitful years as part of the management team, and Jimmy Barry-Murphy expressed his appreciation this evening, saying "I would like to thank Ger most sincerely for his contribution over the past two years".

County Chairman Bob Ryan also added his thanks to Ger, and wished him well in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭Grats

Why are so many Cork men only too willing to manage opposition counties? Really surprised that Ger C would turn his back on Cork, the players and JBM. I understand past differences but surely it's time for healing. This won't help.

Great player at his peak, bursting through the middle.

on the hurlers, who will/should replace Ger, if anyone?
    Pat mulchay ,is a good coach,extremely innovative, .

Sean o Brien.

Cunnigham is so hard to replace.

Great servant,great player to stand up to Darragh o se.I wish him the best in the future.

Quirke is set to go also.Alan o Connor will be interesting.Mark sugrue ,is meant to be on the panel next year.

A very good player,dual player at u21 next year.

It looks like hes lost to hurling.A fine footballer.Great potential.

Grats wrote: »
    Why are so many Cork men only too willing to manage opposition counties? Really surprised that Ger C would turn his back on Cork, the players and JBM. I understand past differences but surely it's time for healing. This won't help.

Turn hes back on Cork.He has done no such thing.He has thought the players so much in their young careers,and i doubt they think he turned hes back on them.They in contrast would be full of admiration for him.

He owes Cork hurling nothing ,has given six years to cork between two teams down the years and worked tremendously with the freshers in ucc.He has been involved as a coaching capacity in five all ireland finals.

If he goes to limerick ,its a case of seizing a golden opportinuty to be the main manager with a team with realistic claims of an all ireland.

Its extremely unlikey he would ever get the Cork job.He has given Cork hurling loads as a player,and coach.

Its cork hurling that's owes him ,a debt of grattuide.

I wish him nothing but the best.Held in the highest regard by any player lucky to have been coached by him.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 havent got a kalou

What about Getting back John Allen

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Long-serving Cork Senior Football goalkeeper, Alan Quirke (37) announced his retirement from inter-county football in today’s Irish Examiner.

The Valley Rovers man made his début in 1999 against Donegal, and has worked with the last three Cork managers, Larry Tompkins, Billy Morgan and Conor Counihan. He has experienced phenomenal success in his fourteen-year service, winning six Munster titles, four Allianz Leagues and the much-coveted All-Ireland title in 2010. He also enjoyed Munster and All-Ireland glory at Junior level.

Cork County Board would like to thank Alan for his long service and dedication to Cork GAA, and to wish him well in his future endeavours.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭lukin

Pierse O' Neill has retired also. Lion-hearted player, always gave his all for Cork. Thanks Pierse.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

He is 5 foot ten,isnt really small.

Are you serious shorten full of skill ,no way.Tell me about hes scoring exploits ?and underage pedigree.

Now mean real pedigree not one point in a league game against Donegal.

Wouldnt agree,shorten is very strong, very rarely out muscled for a ball..Hes doing a good job as trainer with the ag harty cup team,credit due.I heard good reports.

A fine club player ,and honest ,but dont kid yourself hes full of skill.He must be around 26 or so.He never stood out ,even with cork juniors,a good brave player,but never a top scorer.He has stamina to stay playing all day long,but thats not much good unless you can score.At least ten better forwards in the county at present.

He's not 5 10 if he was standing on his tippy toes. tell me what was Harnedy's underage pedigree or pearse o'neill's????????

he's been at the top of the scoring charts in the PIFC for his club and is a cert on the muskerry side that has seriously underachieved in recent years. he stood out for cork juniors previously when they won the all ireland often chipping in with vital scores.

as for better forwards, i assume you mean inside forwards, while i agree that Goulding, Colm O'Neill, Kerrigan, Donnacha are ahead of him in that regards i dont see there being 6 others as you say.

Ciaran Sheehan is off to Carlton Blues in January

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

****in hell! Fair play to him!

Sheehan had previously trained with Carlton in 2009, but moved home due to homesickness - he has been offered a two year contract with the Blues. He has said it was something he always wanted to do, fair play to him for giving it another go. Massive loss to the footballers, and was potentially a hurling panellist as well for 2014

slingerz wrote: »
    He's not 5 10 if he was standing on his tippy toes. tell me what was Harnedy's underage pedigree or pearse o'neill's????????

he's been at the top of the scoring charts in the PIFC for his club and is a cert on the muskerry side that has seriously underachieved in recent years. he stood out for cork juniors previously when they won the all ireland often chipping in with vital scores.

as for better forwards, i assume you mean inside forwards, while i agree that Goulding, Colm O'Neill, Kerrigan, Donnacha are ahead of him in that regards i dont see there being 6 others as you say.

5'10 is what it says on Cork site.

Harnedy always had underage talent,you seen to be like many ,that just cause our u21 genuis of a manager or minor did not pick him ,they believe the myth ,Harnedy was a mushroom,he came overnight. Rubbish,complete rubbish. I remember seeing schools matches pobail na scoil and harnedy was earmarked as a talent. The fact Ger fitz had him in the u21 panel,means were aware of him ,but still prefferred to play their club man instead, with haughney. Harnedy developed under Ger cunnigham at ucc,and Jbm, but the talent was always their even so much so in 2011 ,in mallow in a challenge match ,Denis walsh had started him against Lit,under davy fitz ,in a game under lights.

That was a cork development squad,with a lot of seniors playing.They gave him about 30 minutes. Ffs what can you do in 30 mins. The fact was he was known though. But like Aidan walsh never given a chance. It will be the same with the cork u 21 team this year,under kenneally.Guys that arent picked or play badly like cadogan etc will suddenly fly at senior level,and people will say,their late developers. Just comple rubbish,its down to poor management they had at underage and nothing else.

I agree with pearse o neill,but he was a strong,powerful presence,but that day is gone.He was ideal for cork a few years ago. However he is not a scorer in chief or creator like we have no. Don't make me laugh,hes top scorer and will start for Muskerry,that doesnt mean hes good enough for Cork.
    Shane beston is a top player for mtichelstown and an automatic starter for years at Avondhu,and this sunday could probably beat St colums on he's own on he's day in the junior final. But like shorten ,hes just at that level,even tompkins coaching beston wont convert him to Intercounty standard. Beston was a cork junior also.And done a job many a day.Eoin o Mahony is a cork junior but as proven in this years league and intermediate final,a good club player but not at the next level. At junior for cork against kildare, shorten did pop up ,two years ago with good points,but he didn't blitz kildare or become unmarkable against a sub standard defence. Shorten is 25,he hasn't done it then,nothing to say he can now.Go through the county,and you will see guys like masters, cian o riordain ,barry o driscoll, denis crowley etc,all super club men but not up to Inter county.

And masters and o driscoll are ten times better forwards than shorten.I admire your loyalty, shorten must be a club man or nearby .Thats fair enough.
    But Cork have Hurley,O neill,Mac Eoin ,Goulding,DOC, and Sheehan ,David Gould all proven top players at underage . John o rourke ,Donal og Hodnett can play inside or outside ,much better than shorten.Mark sugrue is on the panel,and still u21,is a much better prospect ,and hughley versalite. I have no doubt ,shorten will get scores for Muskerry or hes club ,but that is the same as naughton,cussen in the hurling,and mark o sullivan from 99 proved,being top top club players is fine,but there is another jump at Inter county level. Kieran o sullivan was banging in goals galore for illen rovers but couldn't make the step up to senior. Thats not anything against them,as i said fine club players.

But to say their senior Inter county standard is far fetched.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭lukin

Very disappointed at this news. I'm not angry at Ciaran, in these recessionary times he is absolutely right to take this opportunity. However whatever chance there was of an All-Ireland for us in 2014 has almost certainly vanished now.

Cork football is in for few bleak years imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

thinkstoomuch, you are a v informative poster but I can't help but think of Nickey English's quip about Sylie Linnane," you'd start a riot in a graveyard" if someone disagrees with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

thinkstoomuch, you are a v informative poster but I can't help but think of Nickey English's quip about Sylie Linnane," you'd start a riot in a graveyard" if someone disagrees with you.

You don't disagree with talkstoomuch, quite simply if you have a differing viewpoint to him you are clearly wrong, but don't worry it will all be spelt out to you ;)

lukin wrote: »
    Very disappointed at this news. I'm not angry at Ciaran, in these recessionary times he is absolutely right to take this opportunity. However whatever chance there was of an All-Ireland for us in 2014 has almost certainly vanished now.
    Sickened ,jesus that a huge blow.

The most athltetic,dynamic,and natural footballer we have with pace,power and creativity ,and scoring skills, a huge huge loss. I wish him the best and he must do whats best for him.When kerry get tommy walsh back from down under we loose our best player. At a time when we heard rubbish that he would be a top hurler,we never saw this. Id wonder why timing of all six in a wk goes. They are valid reasons but is a statement in that none have faith in the management set up. Not bar one player has anyone tweeted since to say their confident in the new set up. If cleary who is highley regared by the players,was manager which he should have been would that kept sheehan at home.?

An offer to australia or stay at home to play under an unproven set up,it is easy to see what you would choose. Something doesnt seem right.

Cork football is in for few bleak years imo.

Id say any hope of an all ireland is gone.

Its because it was is a new manager - if Counihan had still been there, then these retirements would have been out long ago. Lads felt that it was better to keep quiet until the new man was in place