Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AH royal wedding mega thread (no flaming queens)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

ill be out gettin a few cycling miles up gettin some fresh air who wants to be stuck in watching tv on a saturday especiallly in this good weather carpe diam:p

Its nice to see you have plans made for the day after the wedding.

Enjoy watching it on the Friday. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Humans eh! wrote: »
    Not to mention all the rest of the sh*te mind numbing drivel that we are supposed to pay them to pump endlessly into your home!

Amazing that anyone can give a toss what RTE or any other TV channel puts on at any time. TV seems to play a large part in many peoples lives which is sad in itself.
    Who gives a toss what the TV companies show?
    Apparently quite a few!
    Switch the damned thing off and you will see that there is a real world out there.
    i totally aggree with you even if you visit people now they dont chat anymore it's all sshhhh im watching eastenders or fair city or some such junk iv watched some of this sh1t and such bull**** i cant understand how people watch soaps night after night ahhhhhh ill be slated now do i care noooooo:p:p:p:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't understand why anyone would want to watch it, or feel the urge to celebrate an event which will have exactly zero impact on their lives. That said, I don't see a problem with RTE showing it. They showed Pope John Paul's funeral too.. an equally inconsequential load of bollix.

BREAKING NEWS: Kleenex has airlifted 30 tons of tissues to Kevin Myers's house so that he can **** and cry over the Royal Wedding at the same time.

The used tissues will then be recycled to print his columns, with one lucky used tissue being nominayed to the Seanad.
    lol:D:D:D

If you're not paying then why do you give a fcuk?

I've never paid for a licence and never will. Hence, I never give two fcuks what tripe RTE decide to show.
    the licence inspector is watching you he's coming to get ya:D:D:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

cosanostra wrote: »
    People saying rte will bring in a fortune in advertisments showing this,

The Royal Wedding; sponsored by Mercedes - Benz.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    whats your take on eastenders or coronation street or emerdale?
    trash thats all bye now:D:p

kfallon wrote: »
    They are made/shown specifically for entertainment, if Mary from Clondalkin was marrying Peter from Inchicore would you expect it to be on TV?
    yea i shagged mary from clondalkin love to see if she was up the spout:eek::D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Well we do have 112,458 British citizens living here. They'll be happy I suppose. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I am afraid that my posts can be construed as republican. I can assure you I am not. I think Eirigi are fücktards but I think the hero worship of those work-shy anachronisms is ridiculous.
    You are a republican, I think you're just an enlightenment type of republican instead of a Martin McGuinness type of republican.

We need to take back the meaning of republicanism from those who have destroyed it. Sinn Fein are not true republicans, they are radical nationalist republicans. The difference is that that while enlightenment republicanism seeks to advance equality between leaders and peoples, radical nationalism distorts this by imposing a hierarchy of peoples.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Watching the son of a slag get married to some other slag!

You think they're 'slags'??? Jeez, I wouldn't like to hear what you say about people you don't like that you do actually know.

I'll watch some of it anyway if I can, I think they seem like a lovely couple. She's a lovely looking girl and I look forward to seeing her all dolled up in her finery:). I was watching the one in '81 and it was sad they way it all turned out. Hope it works out well for these two.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ann22 wrote: »
    You think they're 'slags'??? Jeez, I wouldn't like to hear what you say about people you don't like that you do actually know.

I'll watch some of it anyway if I can, I think they seem like a lovely couple. She's a lovely looking girl and I look forward to seeing her all dolled up in her finery:). I was watching the one in '81 and it was sad they way it all turned out. Hope it works out well for these two.

And how did the Charles & Di one turn out? She was riding all round her on him, ffs she even had a child with another man, if that's not the definition of a slag I don't know what is.

Queen of hearts? More like queen of 'tarts'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

who wants to be stuck in watching tv on a saturday especiallly in this good weather?

ME! Downloading questionable porn! Whats your problem?!

• Registered Users Posts: 55,083 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Kunle wrote: »
    I was disgusted to read today that RTE ONE Television will have live coverage the royal wedding, Why are they doing this? Would they cover a royal wedding in Norway? What have those brits who were born with a sliver spoon in their mouth got to do with us? Why would us Irish want to watch that trash?

What?

They are showing it because they know many will tune in. I will. It's a big spectacle, a big affair. Most of the world will tune in. Who gives a flying **** about Norway?

Like it or not, most of this country is obsessessed with Britan. From their tv to their sport, why not this?

They are our nearest neighbour as well

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I'll not be watching it, simply because I've very little interest in watching it. But I have no problem in RTE showing it. In fact, I'd be very surprised if they didn't show it.

What's the point in getting very :mad::eek::mad: over it? Can you not do without the Two Marys, or whatever is on in the afternoon now?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

later10 wrote: »
    You are a republican, I think you're just an enlightenment type of republican instead of a Martin McGuinness type of republican.

We need to take back the meaning of republicanism from those who have destroyed it. Sinn Fein are not true republicans, they are radical nationalist republicans. The difference is that that while enlightenment republicanism seeks to advance equality between leaders and peoples, radical nationalism distorts this by imposing a hierarchy of peoples.

I meant republican as in the 'ra republican. Such a shame that word is dirt in Ireland.

For the record I'd have preferred a big visit from David Cameron. It would be more symbolic of our nearest neighbours real leader showing solidarity with us. what do those pair of crusty fücks know about debt or poverty or the increased struggle of the average Irishman. Not saying Cameron would either but at least he is in a position to affect change.

One thing I think the British Queen should do on her visit here (but won't) is thank the people of Ireland who contributed massively to the betterment of her dominion over her lifetime. I include dozens of neighbours and my own grandmother all who worked over in England. Some even died in her name.

walshb wrote: »
    What?

They are showing it because they know many will tune in. I will. It's a big spectacle, a big affair. Most of the world will tune in. Who gives a flying **** about Norway?

Like it or not, most of this country is obsessessed with Britan. From their tv to their sport, why not this?

They are our nearest neighbour as well

I have no interest in sitting down and watching the video of my neighbours wedding tbh

And how did the Charles & Di one turn out? She was riding all round her on him, ffs she even had a child with another man, if that's not the definition of a slag I don't know what is.

Queen of hearts? More like queen of 'tarts'!

What?! What child did she have with another man??? Scandal I didn't hear about???

Charles was riding your one before and after he married Di, what would you expect her to do -live as a nun? Yeah, she had a few relationships with men that she cared about, she wasn't shagging them all at the same time. Anyway, why called Kate M a slag? Have I missed something? Was she riding half of the country too:D?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Have no issue with the wedding being shown at all. They seem like a very nice young couple. The wedding is being shown here for the exact same reason that the premier league, x-factor and all the other British reality shows are shown here. People here will watch them. You can be sure that RTE's viewing figures will go through the roof that day.

Anyway, all the best to them, that's all I have to say.

What?! What child did she have with another man??? Scandal I didn't hear about???

C'mon everyone knows the younger fella is James Hewitt's, look at the head on him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

C'mon everyone knows the younger fella is James Hewitt's, look at the head on him!

Yes, apparently Charles is over the moon that his only son is getting married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

Not surprising, RTE are a bunch of west brit traitors.

Diana didn't meet James Hewitt until the summer of 1986, when Harry was two. Oh and red hair runs in the Spencer family. Feck, you're a terrible scandal mongerer so you are:D. Even if he was his father, good enough for Charles, and him busy telling Camilla on the phone he wanted to live in her trousers and to be her tampon...the dirty divil:mad:.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Predator_ wrote: »

what does that make people who watch it? are the old grannies who enjoy a nice wedding west brit traitors too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Predator_ wrote: »

I hear ya brother. My mate Sneachta Mac An Caca Milis was once sent out to knee cap a Proddy and chickened out after the first knee. West Brit swine....

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

seamus wrote: »
    Perhaps that's the question you want to ask. RTE are showing it because people want to watch it.

Hah , makes a change , normally they only show sh*t nobody wants to watch

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Diana didn't meet James Hewitt until the summer of 1986, when Harry was two. Oh and red hair runs in the Spencer family. Feck, you're a terrible scandal mongerer so you are:D. Even if he was his father, good enough for Charles, and him busy telling Camilla on the phone he wanted to live in her trousers and to be her tampon...the dirty divil:mad:.

Coz you were there?

James Hewitt must have carelessly left his seed lying round somewhere for Diana to bog up her goother because Jaysus, Harry is the absolute puck out of him.

And how did the Charles & Di one turn out? She was riding all round her on him, ffs she even had a child with another man
    I dunno if that's true though, isn't the Queen herself originally a ginger?? Albeit 'auburn red' - as if that's anything less than revolting.

I love how some people care about this sh1t!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kunle wrote: »
    I was disgusted to read today that RTE ONE Television will have live coverage the royal wedding, Why are they doing this? Would they cover a royal wedding in Norway? What have those brits who were born with a sliver spoon in their mouth got to do with us? Why would us Irish want to watch that trash?

Try this.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d4/Generic-remote-control-shallow-focus.jpg