Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHELTENHAM - DAY 3: Thursday 17th March

1234568»

• Registered Users Posts: 23,848 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

jesus!

how easy was that :eek:

Cheltenham 4.40
    1st 12 Junior 10-3 F
    2nd 4 Faasel (IRE) 20-1
    3rd 9 Deal Done (FR) 20-1
    4th 18 Galaxy Rock (IRE) 18-1

Tote Win £3.10
    Pl £1.40, £4.90, £5.60, £4.60
    EX £47.50
    SF £74.21
    Tricast £1225.50
    Winning Trainer D Pipe
    Winning Jockey Mr J J Codd
    Distances 24l, 3 1/4l
    Runners 24 ran

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Just after I posted that I saw an interview with Ferdy, he wasn't confident. EDIT: I did say "guess"

Junior :eek::eek::eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shane732

Junior lovely ride....

amiable wrote: »
    I can't see past 'Junior' in the last race.
    His price will collapse imo if beautiful sound wins the next race

good call regardless of the price

• Registered Users Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Junior saved my ass for the 3days:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

mailburner wrote: »
    good call regardless of the price
    I got 5's this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Had Junior @ 5/1
    Also backed Big Bucks (@ 11/10) and a few other small winners and e/w that paid off.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,915 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Had a very good day so i'm happy out.
    I'll be getting stuck into something in particular again tomorrow:)

Wouldn't touch anything myself mate

• Registered Users Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Morgans

I havent got involved in this race, but there has been a punt on Plato. Was 7/2 and 11/4 last night. Henry Cecil, who has expressly wanted a runner in the race as he is a great supporter of cancer charities and they have an actual jockey - well within reason - Lorna Bradbourne - sister to Mark Bradbourne - rode as a poor conditional a few years back. I have absolutely no idea that the prices at the moment (11/8) is value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

mike65 wrote: »
    1:30 Mr Gardner
    2:05 Lush Life
    2:40 Gauvain
    3:20 Grands Crus*
    4:00 Quartz De Thaix
    4:40 Galant Nuit

* horrid market 3rd fav 9/1 I'll go Grand Crus only cos he's got plenty of room to improve and is nearly twice the price of BB

Hopeless day saved by this post http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71204972&postcount=781 from last night! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭chinguetti

3 days in and is it just me or are Henderson's horses just not firing at all. Then again i could be rejecting this post by this time tomorrow.

couldnt get involved in the 5.15 either

was tempted to lay plato but dont know the opposition

lol
    its just as well i have a bit of sense

Cheltenham 5.15
    1st 8 Plato (JPN) 6-4 F
    2nd 6 Nemo Spirit (IRE) 14-1
    3rd 11 Super Collider 6-1

Winning Trainer H R A Cecil
    Winning Jockey Lorna Fowler
    Distances 1 1/4l, Nose
    Runners 12 ran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭napapa

plato gives me three winners in my lucky 15! plenty of petrol money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 deno101

chinguetti wrote: »
    3 days in and is it just me or are Henderson's horses just not firing at all. Then again i could be rejecting this post by this time tomorrow.

was thinking the same myself, barry pulled up in the first two and I thought that the stable was meant to be coming here in great form

• Registered Users Posts: 5,881 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

deno101 wrote: »
    was thinking the same myself, barry pulled up in the first two and I thought that the stable was meant to be coming here in great form

The Binocular situation might have something to do with that - not long after the Barber Shop situation too. Maybe the other horses that are running aren't getting their usual "help" - with the stable being somewhat under the spotlight at the minute.

Spirit Son, Caroles Legacy, Finian's Rainbow and Quantitiveasing all finished second on day one and Oscar Whisky and Sprinter Sacre finished third in their respective races.

It's Cheltenham so its not easy for anyone
    Paul Nicholls has only had 2 winners and one of them was what many consider a banker.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

That_Guy wrote: »
    My selections - Subject To Change. :P

1:30 Noble Prince (Win), Robinson Collonges (E/W)
    2:05 Barafundle (Win), Queiros Bleu (E/W)
    2:40 Kalahari King (Win)
    3:20 Big Bucks (Win - and I hope it does. Lumped on)
    4:00 Quartz De Thaix (Win), Beautiful Sound (E/W)
    4:40 Junior (Win), Faasel (E/W)

What I actually went for.

1:30 Noble Prince (Win)
    2:05 Barafundle (Win)
    2:40 Albertas Run (Win) (Did that matched bet from the Star yesterday) and I also stuck a fiver on Kalahari King.)
    3:20 Big Bucks (MASSIVE Win)
    4:00 Quartz De Thaix (Win), Beautiful Sound (E/W)
    4:40 Junior (Win)
    5:15 Super Collider (E/W)

Very good day yesterday. Returns from 6 of 7 races. Delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

What did ye think of Jason Maguires ride on Beautiful Sound yesterday?

Had a nice bet on e/w and I was well happy he got up for second in the end. A lot of people in the pub were giving out s*** at the ride but in fairness to Maguire he has never before ridden the horse or probably for the stable even as it was Davy Five Bellies Russell's ride.

Edit: Sorry, I forgot it was Gordon Elliotts... thought it was Charles Byrnes. Maguire has rode for Elliot loads of times, I think they are best-friends actually!