Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHELTENHAM - DAY 3: Thursday 17th March

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

theteal wrote: »
    it would appear safe but nothing is ever certain with this lark. maybe double up that bet with kalahari e/w, it'll give you interest in 2 races plus could provide a better return

ok i have done that bet now so lets hope the two horses finish some where in the first 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Good luck smokin ace

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

smokin ace wrote: »
    ok i have done that bet now so lets hope the two horses finish some where in the first 3

whoa put the pressure on my shoulders :D

i put the same one on last night with the bit of profit i was up yesterday, here's hoping

good luck amigo

theteal wrote: »
    whoa put the pressure on my shoulders :D

i put the same one on last night with the bit of profit i was up yesterday, here's hoping

good luck amigo

thanks for the advise best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭holuc

does anyone know what tips John Duggan from Today FM has given 2day? Cant find them on the today fm website!? Thanks.

edit; sorry just heard on their news there hes giving dem out in 30mins!!

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

holuc wrote: »
    does anyone know what tips John Duggan from Today FM has given 2day? Cant find them on the today fm website!? Thanks.

Has he been doing well so far?

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭pinkfloyd34

cross kennon in the 3.20 ew 50/1

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

would it be a safe enough bet going €5 each way on big bucks i know its not a lot of money in return but its only a bit of fun

Just remember with free bets you will not get the stake back..

In other words if you put the free tenner on a 2/1 shot ,you'll get back 20 not the 30 you'd get back using your own cash ,so if you back Big Bucks at evens you will only get back 10 euros

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭holuc

J Duggans tips for today;

1.30 100e win WISHFULL THINKING @ 3/1
    2.05 40e/w ALFIE SPINNER @ 14/1
    2.40 40e/w ROBERTO GOLDBACK @ 22/1
    3.20 40e/w CROSS [EMAIL="KENNON@33/1"]KENNON @33/1[/EMAIL]
    4.00 40e/w AIMIGALE @ 33/1
    4.40 40e/w RICHARD'S SUNDANCE @ 16/1.

wot ppl think of these any worth doing??

just with the each way ones this is the way it looks with one of the lucky 31 with a total stake of €3.10 and this is off the paddy power website

SelectionsOddsStakeE/W
    Richards Sundance
    Info Max: € 629.20

Aimigayle
    Info Max: € 404.20

Cross Kennon
    Info Max: € 604.20

Roberto Goldback
    Info Max: € 1254.20

Alfie Spinner
    Info Max: € 714.20

Lucky 31: (31)
    Potential returns: €363916.75 --:eek::eek:VERY VERY VERY NICE IF THEY CAME IN

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

just with the each way ones this is the way it looks with one of the lucky 31 and this is off the paddy power website

SelectionsOddsStakeE/W
    Richards Sundance
    Info Max: € 629.20

Aimigayle
    Info Max: € 404.20

Cross Kennon
    Info Max: € 604.20

Roberto Goldback
    Info Max: € 1254.20

Alfie Spinner
    Info Max: € 714.20

Lucky 31: (31)
    Potential returns: €363916.75 --:eek::eek:VERY VERY VERY NICE IF THEY CAME IN

Can somebody tell me how to do this bet sorry I am stupid and never did 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Mr.Conners

I wouldn't be going big on the 1.30. There is around 4/5 horses with a very solid chance imo.

I wouldn't touch Cross Kennon either, far better horses in that race.

one of the other ones i did was a each way treble with poquelin-sivota-big bucks and i bet €2 with the Potential Return of €54.08 what would people think of these selections

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Ah lads, did someone honestly advise a newb to back Big Bucks EW in this thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Loosen My load
    Michael Flips
    Poquelin (NAP)
    Big Bucks
    Aigle D'or

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Ah lads, did someone honestly advise a newb to back Big Bucks EW in this thread?

Solid E/W punt I can't see him finishing outside the places today.

Opr

• Registered Users Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Carpenter wrote: »
    Can somebody tell me how to do this bet sorry I am stupid and never did 1

If you want to do a Lucky 31, you pick your five selections

Your bet is then as follows:

Lucky 31 X (your stake) 

Selection 1
    Selection 2
    Selection 3
    Selection 4
    Selection 5

Bet Total = 31 X (your stake)

It has 31 bets, hence the name, so whatever your stake is, your total is 31 times this,

for example a €1 stake will cost you €31

you can keep it small, i only ever put 15 cent on my ones, but I also add a 50 cent each way accumulator to add a bit more spice :D

You can just write it out on a plain betting slip, although some shops have a specific Lucky 31 sheet for it - but a plain one is grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

If you want to do a Lucky 31, you pick your five selections

Your bet is then as follows:

Lucky 31 X (your stake) 

Selection 1
    Selection 2
    Selection 3
    Selection 4
    Selection 5

Bet Total = 31 X (your stake)

It has 31 bets, hence the name, so whatever your stake is, your total is 31 times this,

for example a €1 stake will cost you €31

you can keep it small, i only ever put 15 cent on my ones, but I also add a 50 cent each way accumulator to add a bit more spice :D

Thank you very much for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Just to make the day interesting, i've gone for all the below to win :)

1:30 Robinson Collonges
    2:05 Sivota
    2:40 Poquelin
    3:20 Big Bucks
    4:00 Aigle Dor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Mr.Conners

one of the other ones i did was a each way treble with poquelin-sivota-big bucks and i bet €2 with the Potential Return of €54.08 what would people think of these selections

BB will place and I would be surprised if Poquelin wasn't in the top 3. I think Sivota's race is more open but it surely has a chance just for the jockey/trainer combination alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Vanbis wrote: »
    Just to make the day interesting, i've gone for all the below to win :)

1:30 Robinson Collonges
    2:05 Sivota
    2:40 Poquelin
    3:20 Big Bucks
    4:00 Aigle Dor

Ive the exact same except Mourad for Big Bucks. I think Big Bucks will win but went for Mourad just to make it interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,335 ✭✭✭naughto

tink ill back ruby in the 1st race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Pauleta wrote: »
    Ive the exact same except Mourad for Big Bucks. I think Big Bucks will win but went for Mourad just to make it interesting.

I was close to picking Mourad but i decided to stick with BB. Good luck.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,848 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

not a clue so ill go with the experts on this one
    mr gardner and loosen my load ew

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 337 ✭✭Sacred_git

Jeez, god damn paddy power iphone app, i got everything at this stage, doubles, trebles, singles, accumulators, close to doing a lucky 31 now, in god damn work too:o

• Registered Users Posts: 23,848 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Cheltenham 1.30
    1st 7 Noble Prince (GER) 4-1
    2nd 10 Wishfull Thinking 7-2 F
    3rd 3 Loosen My Load (IRE) 11-2

SF £17.53
    Tricast £75.47
    Winning Trainer P Nolan
    Winning Jockey A P McCoy
    Runners 11 ran
    Distances 4l, 5l

• Registered Users Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

So McCoy gets off the mark, looked very good at the turn,

Wishfull Thinking was jumping perfect, and brilliant to watch until the last which took the momentum out of him,

Hard luck to the punter in Victor Chandler somewhere in Dublin who had Sizing Europe, Sizing Australia and Loosen my load in that one for a Henry De Bromhead treble, €100 stake! looked to be in with a good chance as they turned for home and all.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shane732

Shane732 wrote: »
    What about the Montjeu factor for Noble Prince?! :p

Looking back at his race last year he didn't get up the hill.

I think he has a good chance but Wishful Thinking is a strong favourite IMO.

Edit: I'll probably back Noble Prince anyway!

Thank God I decided to back him!!

Montjeu is having a quality Cheltenham!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Montjeu on a roll now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭POINTBREAK

POINTBREAK wrote: »
    7 Pricewise today and our sweat continues on NOBLE PRINCE
    Fingers crossed.

KER-CHING