Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

1 game ban, he’s back for the final. Lad has to stick up for himself when he’s a target on his back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,081 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Any names doing the rounds yet for the management vacancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭rrs

A few names thrown around but easy to link without much foundation. Galligan only stepped down on Monday.

Paddy Tally didn't last long in Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,081 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Paddy only stayed 1 year. I see Oisin is staying in Wicklow. Lots of ex-managers around at the minute to fill vacancies.

If they have any sense they’d give it to Finbarr O’Reilly but then there’s an element doesn’t like Finbarr and they seem to run all the decisions in Breffni. If they wouldn’t give him the job Kingspan were sponsoring, I can’t see him getting the main job.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Custard_Cream

Wow lads some serious love in for Ray on Local media.. He's a top man and will all always be a Cavan legend but let's all real about the last two year's... The man needs to go off and learn his trade.

Pointing out stupid stats to make him look great.....Yes we played lots of division one teams on his watch and probably competed as well as a division 4 team would .. Fulfilling a fixture doesn't warrant praise... Embarrassing stuff...

Lets just ignore the fact that we shipped some of our worst ever defeats and there was literally no connection between fans anymore.... Change was essential and fair play to Ray for recognizing that ... But its time to get a bit ambitious? I'm driving through Meath this morning and I see flags everywhere.... . Things can change quickly as I always say .

Th

Going from Division 1 to Division 4 was more embarrassing. A team that were in their prime. Ray Galligan at least kept the team in the same Division for 2 years. The Cavan team now has a lot of players over 30. Meath have done very well but it's a young team. Whoever takes over will have a rebuild over the next coupe of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭etuzyuk

Wasn't a fan of Galligan's appointment but results, in the league anyway, were better than I expected. So he can leave with his head held high, but leaving is still the right thing to do. Owes Cavan football nothing but you feel a new era is upon us and a new approach and fresh voice is needed along with some knowhow on building a panel.

We've really dropped the ball last few years when it comes to the county team where any sort of results and excuses were accepted and tolerated. Division 4 really was a low ebb and I don't think that stench had fully dissipated. Focusing on Breffni development is all well and good but football is what it's all about end of the day, and if they're that money hungry the best way of getting it in is to have a county setup that people believe in, where players want to burst a gut to be involved and fans want to go and see play against top opposition. You'll not capture much imagination or collect too much money at the gate when the like of Waterford is in town, no disrespect.

So on that note I hope they show some ambition and actually put some effort and thought into it.

What I didn’t get was the whole “shock” element portrayed? I wasn’t surprised whatsoever to see him go and I’m glad he made the right decision and did go but it was expected in the county IMO. Most people felt a change was needed after a couple of stale years..

Results have been poor against top teams. The bottom line is a good manager will make even a poor team hard to beat but Ray unfortunately didn’t succeed at that.

I see nominations have to be in by the 18th so hopefully they won’t hang around and get someone in to watch club games.

It has been stale since Cavan won a winter Ulster in 2020. The following year relegated to Division 4 by Wicklow. A shortened year with covid. Then brushed aside in Omagh as Ulster champions. Then in 22, promotion from.division 4 which was expected. A poor display in Tailtean cup final. 23 promotion from div 3 which was again expected. Then brushed aside by Armagh in ulster and down in tailtean

Galligan didn't much luck with the draws in the all ireland series in 24 and 25. But brushed aside too easily.

Mickey Graham prioritised championship which I had no problem with but you can’t ignore the league. A win against Monaghan in 2019 would have kept us up but he prioritised the championship and didn’t show his hand.

You’ll go nowhere playing in Division 3 and 4. You need to be in Division 2 at least. 2021 was a dark year after the success of 2020. I was on here at the time saying it’d be a disaster to not get out of Division 3 and then we ended up in 4!

Look, that all is what it is now. No changing it but things have to be shook up. I don’t think this county board though have the strength or the gumption to shake things up like they need to be.

If the Westmeath manager was available, they’d be handing him the job so perhaps it’s a good job he’s making a mockery of his role as Gowna Development Manager.

Has Larry Reilly another year as U20 manager? Lost 4 - 19 to 2 - 7, to Donegal this year. Last year wasn't great either. Bar getting to the Ulster final in 22, they have got some bad beatings over the years at U20 level. In 2021 Down hammered Cavan in Breffni https://www.anglocelt.ie/2021/07/09/u20s-exit-against-impressive-down/

Losing and being competitive is grand, but being tanked and then going onto a Senior panel is no good for development.

The pod reckons he has stepped away due to work commitments after 2 years. Balls.ie listed him as a potential candidate for the senior team. With our CB, that gave him a second year at U20s, nothing would surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Larry &co stepping away from U20 set up

Let's hope they get the next appointment right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 large_palette

Ambition is all well and good but agents of age can be difficult characters to manage. You wouldn't know who or what they might upset in their pursuit of results and serious silverware. Safer to give the job to a local darling. and frame their tenure in a positive light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

No matter who gets the job there will be lads on here giving out. If he's external it'll be "and overpaid journey man" if it's internal it'll be "a lack of ambition"

You want Jim McGuinness, Mickey Harte or people of that calibre who wouldn't touch Cavan with a barge pole due to our horrendous underage performances for over a decade.

Our best chance is to grab an up and coming coach on the way up the ladder. Finbarr Reilly perhaps.

Some of yas are really being influenced by the podcast view that Cavan supporters are an unforgiving and unrelenting bunch.

I think I firmly debunked the made up theory about managers being hounded out of Cavan. Ray is another to walk away of his own accord when, to be quite honest, he never should have been ratified for the role with no management experience whatsoever.

I’ve also given a list of numerous counties that have actually ran more successful managers.

Of course there will be people giving out. It’s like anything to do with even a club. You’ll never make everyone happy. Be it social media or a man on a bar stool in the local or at the back of mass, passing comment is hardly something new.

On one hand the podcast states that club delegates are too subdued yet on another Cavan supporters are too demanding? Which is it though? I don’t think you can be both.

If you ask me, the GAA supporters of Cavan have been accepting the mundane for far too long and that is the reason we are where we are.

Who would be the players capable of stepping up that weren't involved this year? Cavan need more pace and size.

Firstly - I dont believe I said Ray was hounded out of Cavan. Secondly I also never implied he was a brilliant manager. Thirdly, I am following Cavan since the early 1990s and I make my own mind up on Cavan GAA matters.

My point is some balance is needed and an acceptance of where we are in the GAA hierarchy. Galligan oversaw some good days and some terrible days. Today a man who is held up as an example of an excellent up and coming manager got his arse handed to him by Donegal, beaten by 20 points - a similar beating as Donegal gave to us a few weeks back. If Brennan was in Cavan he would be declared inexperienced, cheap option and some would probably even want him gone!

My suspicion is no matter who is appointed, a loud minority will be jumping up and down about it.

Ah stop. If Raymond Galligan had taken Cavan to an Ulster final and and an AI semi final this year he'd still be there.

I was referencing the podcast which is painting a view of Cavan supporters when I don’t think we are in any way as demanding as other counties.

So you’re saying if Cavan made an All Ireland semi final you think supporters would be complaining!?? I doubt it somehow. We’ve made two in the last what, 60 years! The whole county was delighted in 2013 to make a QF.

There’s also a huge difference between Meath who are beating Dublin, Galway and Kerry and Cavan who got our arses handed to us by two of those teams in the last twelve months.

You’re referencing a county ran a manager who managed to win the Tailteann Cup in one attempt when we didn’t run a manager couldn’t in two!

As for a loud minority jumping up and down, I’m more worried about the element that will stop the right man getting the job because of their own egos.

Again balance, Meath would have got no further in Ulster than us if they were in Ulster with our draw. They also got an easier draw in AI series than us. They won nothing this year, and didnt get promoted - just like us. Some ye not happy unless yeh are moaning.

Also, do players have any responsibility regarding poor performances or is it the manager who's in full control of everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Isn't that just the way of the modern world? The hounding and abuse of managers is not anymore prevalent now, it's just it's done online so more noticable and nuance is something lacking in modern society.

Not sure why you're even discussing Meath. They made a holy show of us in Navan earlier in the year and their progress under Brennan has been widely lauded as a success.

Tbh I'd always suspicious of anyone who tries to stifle internal debate. It usually comes from an unhealthy need to control the narrative.

We’re back to hypotheticals. If my aunty had balls….. Meath aren’t in Ulster though and I would actually fancy them to beat Tyrone if they can beat Dublin, Galway & Kerry.

It’s a pointless statement though. The facts are they had a vastly superior season to us, have mobilised their county and are moving forward. It’s a fairly terrible reference by you to compare us and them to be honest. They’re at the point we were in 2020 and are the story of the championship.

The players can’t drop themselves. Anyone with a heartbeat could see it needed freshening up. In fact, one of Galligan’s own management team left because he was of that opinion at the end of last year. The players also don’t set items like the kick out strategy, slow transition play and they certainly weren’t involved in Andre Quinn moving away from the setup.

Some managers might prefer it online. I was at a league game in the last two years and an opposition manager was leaving a pitch, he was passing a club supporter who had been rather mouthy during the game. “Ah how are you *****” he said, the reply he got in front of a large group of people was “you can **** off back to (insert county) with the shite you have them playing”. The manager just turned and walked on.

Look at the issues in Breffni last year after the Gowna Ramor game too.

I don’t see why terms like “hounding & abuse” are being used here to be honest. I haven’t see any of the type in relation to the topic. There’s balanced conversation in the county to say a change was needed.

As another poster says above, to try and paint it as something extreme is to try and control the narrative. Look at Paddy Tally. Lasted a year in Derry. I’ll keep saying it, Cavan supporters are certainly no worse than any other county. We’re too lenient of a lot of the crap going on if you ask me.

Going into the championship 2 of the Meath coaches left. Martin Corey and Joe McMahon. Brennan done well to steady the ship and reach a semi. Donegal fairly blew them out of the water though. Meath will do well to get back to a semi next year as other teams underperformed, but its a young team so time on their side.

I doubt most of the people posting on here would say what they post about people to their faces. For example, would you call Dermot McCabe the Gowna Development Manager at a county board meeting? Or say it to his face? Of course you wouldn't.

So you’re criticising me for posting from an anonymous internet handle while posting from an anonymous internet handle? Post your real name, or even what club you are from there, and we’ll discuss your point.