If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,498 ✭✭✭tanko

Keep embarrassing yourself, it’s funny to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭celt262

At least you remembered to log into the right account this time.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

I didn't actually but if it makes you feel better leave it at that.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I take exception to one thing you've said here and will hop in. In fairness, while I appreciate the podcast, they are not “just two Cavan fans”. One is the sports editor of the local newspaper. The other has, and I say this with great envy, established a full time career out of covering local GAA. I value the service but let’s not make out like the two lads are doing it out of the goodness of their heart - there’s a reason we pay a subscription and they have company sponsorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Fair enough, but I am sure you would also acknowledge for the hours they put in I would seriously doubt it qualifies as paying miniumum wage. We wont see WAC listed on the stock exchange any time soon. My point being, there would be easier ways to make money so I am sure it is a labour of love also.

I doubt there would be that many easier ways to make money than chatting about something you are passionate about whilst sitting at your kitchen table for two or so hours a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

If we needed any further warnings about losing the sight of what is actually important in terms of what a county board should be focussing on, delegates should be watching the Prime Time special about Parnells.

""My opinion is that Parnells, when [the new venue] opened in May 2012, ceased to be a GAA club. It became an entertainment venue from that day... and the football, the sporting end of it was secondary," he told Prime Time.
    "It was turned into a hospitality organisation, and that just destabilised the club…" said Professor Niamh Brennan, who examined the clubs financial statements and documents for Prime Time.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0624/1519977-windfall-to-downfall-the-inside-story-of-a-gaa-clubs-collapse/

Anyone feeling that the development of Breffni is a priority needs their head examined in my opinion. I've not seen a crowd in there that would warrant spending millions, when we don't seem to have much focus on player development or as noted, how to resource coaching in clubs, schools and at a county level.

Well maybe you should set up a rival one, I'm sure you'll be inundated with subscribers if you do. Easy money for you.

Episode one: I am going to attend every single championship game and report live. At the same time.

It's a fair point, it is a paid service (barring the weekly free one) but it is great value. It's also a real resource for us Gaels who aren't based in Cavan. But as you said, it isn't being run for the good of their health, but if they are making money from it, it is becasue people are listening and value a platform for hearing about Cavan GAA.

I think you're being very honest that you envy what they have built.

I would say that a lot of ire that WAC gets is not based on what they say, or what they don't say (see earlier comments about them not holding management or county board to account) but on the fact that there's rakes of Cavan "GAA Fans" slobbering in pubs or on WhatsApp groups who are annoyed that someone is getting paid to talk about Cavan Gaa and not them.

Good man, let us know when it is up and running. Can't wait!!!

I’d say they have 400 or 500 subscribers - that’s a rough guess, could be more or less, I haven’t a notion. At a tenner a head or so now for subscription that’s 4k or 5k a month. Not to mention the paid sponsorship ads they have bringing in revenue. The matches they attend they are also both doing match reports for the Celt or radio coverage. Paul Fitz does Cavan match reports for RTÉ and other sites. Mileage and related expenses would be covered for certain games or at least a tax write off.

Don’t get me wrong, they have an interest in the topic and it has taken a while to get it up and running like it is now but I’d still stick to the point that they are doing it for a reason and it’s a great earner. I’m saying that as someone who wouldn’t have the skill in a month of Sundays to do it or want to put myself out publically but each to their own.

You have to remember though: it’s often said about refs that they are the men getting paid at matches and the smartest ones there. The WAC lads ship a lot less abuse than a ref and I would imagine are getting paid a lot more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Custard_Cream

Just catching up with the podcast from last night and I have to say hats off to the two lads.. In my opinion , the closing dealt with a lot of the negativity that had stemmed from the message boards and online coverage on Saturday.

My own comments on Saturday towards the podcast were generated from absolute respect. I have been a patron of the podcast from day one and nothing will change that . We are lucky to have the two lads and to have that quality of local media coverage . At the end of the day , We all dream the same dream .

I was frustrated because I think this management have been getting away with it .. I have never seen such an unfit, unprepared Cavan team.

I really feel that this group of players deserve so much more quality in terms of how they are being prepared ... Tactically, physically, mentally... Nothing will change my mind on this ...

I think the WAC lads are probably a bit more measured than us in there analysis but there will be no more excuses next year.

Now let's all stop the bickering and enjoy the club.

I was disappointed to be honest by it, particularly the standard whingeing when questioned from the thin skinned Paul Fitz. He is throwing opinions out there and getting paid for it - he is going to get criticised by people, it’s part of the job. Change career if you don’t like being in the public eye.

He brandishes those who don’t support the present manager of “hysteria” and a “toxic culture” but is that what wanting more for these lads amounts to? We’ve had two good wins in championship in two years. One swallow doesn’t make a Summer but it appears it’s what we should accept. Is it that bad to want higher standards than a novice manager for one of our best sets of players in a long time?

What does he make of the way the Mayo supporters have treated Kevin McStay? Or how Colm O’Rourke was treated!? O’Rourke won a Tailteann Cup which we couldn’t! McGeeney was nearly ran out of Armagh on numerous occasions. Tyrone said good luck to Harte. Cavan supporters are no different than the majority of counties, if anything we aren’t even as hard after years of poor performances. What was it Paidi said about the Kerry supporters!?

I found it quite laughable to be honest that he held it as some achievement that he went to 37 matches last championship. Even just going to my own club’s matches, I went to at least 7. There are days with multiple games in Breffni, not to mention he’s in Virginia so near Denn & other grounds where a lot of games are played. Fair play for Donohoe though, it’s clear he does make the effort to attend a lot. And just to make it clear, I’m not the one who criticised the number of games they attend but the championship should be bread and butter stuff for the local paper and 37 games over ten or twelve weeks, or however long championship runs, is nothing fantastic for the sports editor IMO.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

I listened to the pod myself last night. The last 10 minutes I understood were a defense of the pair of lads against some of the accusations and many of them levelled on here I imagine. 1) Handy money, doing the club pods from twitter. 2) Never criticise the manager 3) Manager should be fired.

1- He outlined exactly how many games he went to, presented data. Is 37 games not enough? Damien Donohoe was at more than that. Personally I think 37 games is enough for any one person in one season.

2- Gave plenty of examples of being critical of the team/manager. I said the same on here myself that they have been critical.

3- They don't believe the manager should be sacked. They made a decent case pointing out how every manager in Cavan has been chased out. A good point on Mickey Graham being good enough for Galway but not us. This one is of course subjective, whether you believe there is someone out there that would do better. Personally I believe Galligan should get next year as I don't see an obvious candidate.

You sound a bit thin skinned yourself Cavan_King, a man is entitled to defend himself and point out accusations that he feels are irrational and hysterical.

btw - what sort of a gobshite approached DD's father to have a go at the son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Naughty_Skelator

Have to disagree with you about giving Galligan another year Myles,

There has been zero progress in his two years for me,

We must have conceded the most out of any team,league and championship over the 11 games, we definitely have one of the most porous back lines in the country.

Outside James Smith , we have zero midfield options going forward,Evan Crowe is one of the few bright spots of this year, but his IC future lies in the backline.

We have scored heavily in some games,but with our slow transition game , can anyone truly say that we have brought out the best in the likes of McEvoy,Cormac Reilly,Oisin Brady etc, Darragh Lovett seems to have regressed under Galligan.

Add to the fact the questions with regards our strength and conditioning, seeing as we continuously seem to be missing key men for extended periods of time, I think it’s time to throw the grenade in there and blow it up and start again…

It’s nothing against Ray Galligan whom has been a fantastic servant for his county, but I don’t see any indications that he can turn this mess around.

On another note I see The Celts finest ,Mr Fitzpatrick was trying to wind up people on twitter whom were complaining about the prices of bringing families to games…

I would like to respectfully address a few of your comments. And please understand, I am not from Lacken and do not know Ray Galligan.

• It is a fact that Galligan in 2 years has not played any team in championship that was outside Div1. So you do have to give that some consideration even though we would have to be unhappy defensively. Worth considering the context.
    • Midfield prospects. I do not believe you can lay that at the door of Galligan - surely that is at the door of Dermot McCabe and the atrocious state of our underage. Smith has been injured, Gearoid has been injured, Thomas galligan 4 years travelling. Crowe as good a prospect was Ctr Back on U20s. Ray has not a great hand to play at midfield. My criticism would be around being innovative on kickouts like Down - we are very one dimensional.
    • Brought out best in players? McEvoy, 1st season back from soccer and has done ok. Cormac Reilly had his best season with Cavan this year, Oisin Brady was going ok, got injured and has been poor since, Lovett is out injured since the middle of league. I think very harsh to say Galligan regressed those players.
    • Zero Progress? I think that is also harsh, I would have liked to see more but with players at our disposal a lot of people tipped us for relegation from Div2 and we came 3rd twice I think. Qualified for AI series twice and got out of the group this year for 1st time. I would like more progress and I found some of our displays terrible but I would put the mirror up to some of our players too. I would say some progress but much more needed.
    • S&C - Again my understanding is that the S&C position was a hired in by the county board and due to some dispute Andrea Quinn was removed and had to be paid after he had gone. So again, was this Ray's doing or the county board. I agree the fitness and conditioning side of things is off currently

Just my opinion.

Andre Quinn left I was told because Ray Galligan got a number of individuals involved, as part of his extensive initial back room team, whom Andre felt were encroaching on his position so my understanding is his moving on did involve the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Naughty_Skelator

You make a number of good points, Myles,Obviously on each topic my views would differ slightly.

One point I should have put in my original post, in terms of not wanting this manager to continue was the inability of them to get match ups right,

Ryan Burns,Sam Mulroy against Louth, caused chaos early on.

Gavin McPhillips and Barry McBennett against Monaghan ,dominated us at centre field.

The entire middle 8 against Cork(only rectified putting Luke Molloy and Killian Clarke in there late on which was too late to save the game)

Darren McCurry running riot against Cavan as per usual, in both games,

Starting a half back line of Holla ,Faulkner and McLoughlin against an extremely young and mobile Tyrone half forward line.

Starting Faulkner on O Donnell against Donegal, where his lack of pace was exposed.

Starting Carolan on Clifford which was a huge mismatch in size.

I’ve already said I don’t think 37 across how ever long the championship runs is enough. The calculations are above. Over championship there are often games from Wednesday (replays or play offs I believe) to Sunday a lot of weeks so plenty of opportunity for a Sports Editor to attend. Donohoe, I already said goes to loads, he probably didn’t give his figure because I’d imagine it would embarrass his compatriot.

I don’t believe Terry Hyland was chased out. He did have his critics because there was a group in around Breffni who didn’t like him - jealousy of his success I thought - but WAC have said themselves he left because of the players, not the supporters - a group of them wanted a change. Did McGleenan & Graham not leave over disagreements with the CB? I thought Graham wanted 2 years and was only offered the year left and then a rolling contract?

Also, he isn’t Galway manager, he’s a coach. If you want to say where he was last good enough for as manager, it’s Leitrim isn’t it? So to say he’s good enough for Galway and not Cavan is factually incorrect. He isn’t occupying the same position.

I’ve no problem with Fitzpatrick’s points but the language he used was exaggeration at best. You say he’s addressing points on here. Do you see anyone being “hysterical”? Most have said Ray got his chance but it isn’t working out and give someone else a go.

You say other candidates aren’t available. I’d have gladly given McDermott the role over him or Finbarr O’Reilly is now available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭piplip87

Should Galligan stay or go.

One one had I take the point above about McEvoy and Lovett. They looked shadows of themselves while playing for Cavan. Two direct fast players but the teams main tactic is piss about with the ball until the defending team has their defence set. When we play head up fast ball we look very good but unfortunately the management doesn't want that until we are down by 10.

You also have to give McEvoy a fair bit of leeway into this year. Looked good at times but remember he went without playing for two years bar a couple of league appearances last summer, straight into a intercounty campaign.

On the other had, we were a width of a post away from division 1, beat Roscomman and Mayo and have blooded a few younger players.

I would give the management team another year but we really need to see a transition away from this pragmatic slow football and play the game to get the best out of your inside forwards. Fast ball into Lynch, McEvoy and Lovett will result in scores.

We do need to find a few big men who can command the middle of the field though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭rrs

Mickey Graham was primarily the forward Coach with Galway this year. But they looked quite poor in attack.

It’s like Galway since 2016. Armagh since 2019. You look at these teams like Meath that we were ahead of and now they’ve moved in front of us in the pecking order.

I’ll keep reiterating that maybe it’s about time we demanded more for our players. Meath won a Tailteann Cup that Cavan couldn’t yet had no problem hunting the manager out a year later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭rrs

Cavan settle for one off wins like against Mayo. Damien Donahoe was praising the performamce against kerry on we are cavan. Clifford could have had 6 goals.