Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

You keep responding to me like I am defending Ray Galligans every decision. Read back and you will see that I have been critical of his lack of kick out strategy (I called it one dimensional and lacking innovation). I agree on dropping players, I agree he was inexperienced. What I am asking for is a bit of balance on the other side. Meath arent at the point we were in 2020, we won Ulster - they have won nothing. In fact we won Ulster from the preliminary round playing 4 games in 4 weeks. I would say they are where we were in 2019. And yes fair play to them they beat a Dublin team on the way down, a Kerry team who took their eye of the ball and have been outstanding since and an out of sorts Galway team this year. They also lost the Leinster final to Louth and got a 20 point beating yesterday. As someone also pointed out, 2 selectors left them which you forgot to mention while not forgetting to mention who left Cavan and how Galligan was responsible.

So I would say from a Meath perspective it was a very good year. I suspect, if you subbed in Ray Galligan and Cavan for Meath and Brennan I think you would have a more negative view of that season for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

If it walks like a duck…..

People leaving the management team is important when a team underperforms because it shines the light on those left behind. When a team achieves success after people have left, they’re quickly forgotten. It’s all about context.

Tell me, were Dublin just on the way down when Meath played them this year or did it not apply when they hammered us in Breffni last year?

What balance are you looking for? Ray kept us in Division 2 and beat Monaghan and Mayo in championship, along with some terrible losses.

I don’t think anyone isn’t giving balance but you’re attempting to state Cavan supporters wouldn’t be happy with an All Ireland semi final when actual history shows we’ve been happier with far less. Don’t let the past and truth get in the way of twisting the narrative though.

I’ve yet to see one example of where you’ve seen these never happy Cavan supporters baying for the blood of the former manager. Must just be you and the two lads on the podcast that isn’t affecting your view whatsoever of course.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭etuzyuk

If there's a problem from Cavan fans on performances and who's the management, it's apathy.

Apparently the Cavan job is all but wrapped up by an individual. I’m hearing it from the same people knew Galligan had the job way before it was announced.

And with the person apparently getting it, I’d take Galligan back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭quidel7

Care to elaborate any further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭rrs

I see Peter Reilly is part of the selection committee. Will it be all pally in who they go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Is it someone currently managing another county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Well if it is the person being suggested by @Cavan_King will be interesting who gets the blame for the lack of underage success to build a new senior squad…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭celt262

Are you guys that afraid of him that ye wont call him by his is name !

No doubt McCabe will be looking for it and no doubt there will be players who won't put up with him and walk if he gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 large_palette

Tis a well oiled parish pump

Bull McCabe, Tadgh and the Bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Mmmm. Maybe giving a man one job is a way to get him out of another job?

I thought I wouldn’t need to spell it out for people. I’m hoping it’s complete bull but then I thought the initial Galligan rumours were that.

Apparently he won’t step down from Westmeath until he’s ratified in Cavan but I wouldn’t have thought that possible. You can’t be voted for on one job when you have another, although this man writes the rules around Cavan CB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭piplip87

League final tonight decent game of ball. Has set the tone for the weeks ahead.

Ramor and Gowna clear favourites for the senior. Crosserlough look off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭piplip87

Yeah Lynch started very well but the Ramor backs dealt with him well after it.. Barkey is still a serious operator defo left the county panel years too early..

McEvoy had some game, I guess when the instructions is to take on your man and not pass it backwards he is a good player.

Crosserlough won the championship last year without Lynch. Still clear favourites in my view.

All in all promises to be a lively

Good game, bit of shadow boxing in some respects as these two will likely meet again. There was some sloppy enough handling from both teams which was surprising given the standards of both sets of players and also the conditions.

Some lovely scores too. McEvoy's goal was a real peach.

Pull the other one. The Lough didn't play great but were within a kick of the ball at the end. Your lads might want to learn the rules mind you if they are going to give the championship a rattle!!!

What's the story on McVeety and Conor Rehill? Two them back and possibly James Smith and that changes a lot for Crosserlough.

As a neutral, Ramor were the better team and I thought it was a blatant block (and black card) for Costello in the lead up to Lynch's goal. I wasn't sure that Smith's two pointer was outside the arc. And if we are being fair, it definitely was a black card for Magee but Paddy Lynch was blessed his sliding tackle on O Connell wasn't similarly judged as a black card.

So we have three definite contenders in Ramor, Crosserlough and Gowna. Anyone else possibly in the mix? I would have fancied Arva to match Ballyhaise's last season but Donnelly is going to be a massive loss for them. With Cormac Reilly firing, Mullahorn must be aiming for a semi final. Can Ballyhaise kick on without David Brady? Kingscourt were poor last year but Morris looked unmarkable at times in county games so you would imagine a lot of teams would struggle against him.

Should be really interesting…

Cole would have been missing for Ramor and James Brady.

Barry Reilly must have retired for kingscourt. He didn't play any league. Morris is obviously quality inside but Reilly was a great supplier for him on the 40.

Well at least Finbarr O’Reilly and Lacken have tried to put a bit of pressure on them by nominating him.

If they wouldn’t give him the development role Kingspan offered to pay for though, I can’t see them giving him the county job, even if it wasn’t already filled.

McCabe's year with Westmeath wasn't a success. Played some decent stuff in the league but they kept throwing away games. In Tailtean Cup they lost to Limerick and Wicklow in between hammering Laois. Westmeath were expected to be at least in a final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭etuzyuk

Growing grapes, not making wine was the mantra before the season started. So I expected him to have a few years free reign there. But talk is cheap and the proof of the pudding is in the eating and going by the club delegates meeting in Mullingar recently, that particular pudding is proving a hard swallow. He got plenty of criticism. Poor communication and negative player feedback were some of the grievances mentioned. So wouldn't surprise me if he's available.

Have to say I'd be disappointed if he gets the job. He's been involved with previous setups and rightly or wrongly has a reputation for being a bit divisive. We need to build a squad and a fresh approach. It will be a very difficult task to do properly and require a lot of patience and teambuilding.

Two horse race according to the Celt

I'd imagine in the eyes of the County board one of them horses doesn't have a jockey.

The idea of awaiting club nominations and subsequent applications is frustrating. Good people are rarely hanging around the front gate, suitcases in hand. If there is not some element of enticement or cajoling you're probably aiming low. You want someone taking a punt on Cavan rather than the other way around.