Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭rrs

Finbar Reilly would be a good fit for the U20s, if not both roles. He would be a step above the last few U20 managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

The new senior manager doesn’t like him so he won’t get the U20 job. I think he’s threatened by a potential understudy who is more successful than him and actually has better credentials for the job he’s about to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 large_palette

There's a messy history there. Back in the day one of them was touted as the next senior captain but then found himself left off the panel completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭celt262

He has the job got there is no way he is letting his name go forward for it without getting the nod that it is his. The only thing i can't understand is why Westmeath haven't given him the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

I tend to agree there- no way he's risking the Westmeath job without some form of nod.

Paul Fitz saying on the pod that he heard a rumour one of the candidates (guess who??) wanted the u20s and senior job. Surely not?

Eamon Coleman managed both the U21s and Seniors. He was over the u21s beaten in extra time by Down. Coleman was obviously a very good manager.

Having a manager over both teams means there is no hassle with wanting players for either team.

Does anyone do it now? Things have changed a lot in the last number of years in terms of the expectation of the amount of hours for either role is it remotely realistic to do that and have a full time GDM role?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Harte did it with Louth & Moran with Leitrim in relatively recent years, but rare these days for sure.

Sure what work have you seen him doing in his GDM role?

The man must be flat out, look at the fruits of his labour…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Well if Dermo is getting the job he should told he needs to step down from his other role in county board. Very simple. Then put Finbarr into the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭celt262

That's not how it works in there, he tells them what to do and they let him.

There wouldn't be lots, but having some involement with both sets up can be good for cohesion. Gavin Devlin has the same role as McCabe in Louth and has been appointed the new Louth manager. He will probaly have some involement with the U20s next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Custard_Cream

Agreed - he calls the shots in there ..

My worry is that once he gets the senior job he will ultimately decide how long he wants it for.. (almost like a well known Russian politician)...

The general consensus from talking to people is that we would all love Finbar to get it ..

Remember the words of holla Brady " the best manager he ever had" and he had played for McCabe a few times before that statement was made......

I see Dromore parted ways with Jason Reilly after a poor start to the league up there.

https://wearetyrone.com/sport/gaa/mccusker-and-montague-take-dromore-reins-after-rejig/

@Custard_Cream I agree, but maybe i am in a bubble (not living in Cavan anymore) but anyone I've been talking to would agree with that. In fact, I've not had one conversation this week where someone I know has strongly backed McCabe for the job.

Let’s be honest here lads, the man is basically putting himself into the role so who will remove him? You can talk all you want about clubs not ratifying him but the bottom line is the clubs know those who dare to go against the CB will see its ire for the foreseeable future when it comes to fixtures etc

The Celts online article was full of comments from people backing Finbarr Reilly and, as I said last week, fair play to him and Lacken, making it a bit harder for the Breffni cronies, but we all know who has the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭ipitydafool

I am sure this comparsion will be rolled out to defend McCabe juggling all roles when he gets the jig. Big difference is Louth have had underage success recently- minors and u20's this year that can be attributed to Delvin, Cavan have an ageing team with a lack of talent coming through which we all know who that can be attributed to…..

@Custard_Cream I agree, but maybe i am in a bubble (not living in Cavan anymore) but anyone I've been talking to would agree with that. In fact, I've not had one conversation this week where someone I know has strongly backed McCabe for the job.

Any footballing person in Cavan outside Gowna who is clued into the scene would much rather Finbar for the job.

Unfortunately the triumvirate of chairperson, secretary and treasurer who on the 'selection' committee gonna decide it and it looks highly unlikely to be for Finbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭piplip87

Look the county board do not want to go and spend big money on an outside candidate, this isn't for their respect of the GAAs ametur status. It's they want to redevelop Berffini, speaking to many away fans this year the consensus is that it's grand just the way it is…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 large_palette

Why did the CB need to appoint a sub committee to arrive at 2 local candidates? Many I've chatted to have expressed frustration over this two horse race the local media are peddling. No disrespect to either btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭TheGadfly

I was looking at a Westmeath thread on another forum and almost all of the comments were positive about McCabe. They all want him to stay and they'll be disappointed if he leaves for the Cavan job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭TheGadfly

And no, I'm not from Gowna. I think it's ridiculous that he's even being considered while he is manager of another county.

It is , then again Mickey Graham left Leitrim and went to Galway 2 months after taking over. Mickey Harte went to Derry while still in a job with Louth. McCabe situation is slightly different, in that he would be going to where he is from. Not that he should be getting it.

Slightly off-topic, but given that there was some national coverage over whether Cavan should drop Kingspan over Grenfell, is no one in the GAA going to ask quesitons about Allianz? Given that a lot of GAA clubs have shown solidarity for Palestine, surely querying Allianz would be part of that? Or was it just Cavan was supposed to have some sort of ethical compass?

https://freedomnews.org.uk/2024/10/08/activists-target-ten-allianz-offices-over-elbit-links/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

I agree, any company supporting genocidal regimes like Israel should be banned from GAA grounds. If we can ban betting companies then this should be straightforward.

There were a number of high profile pieces on Cavan GAA, Kingspan and Grenfell (and in my opinion, rightly so)

Such as : https://www.thetimes.com/sport/gaa/article/should-cavan-gaa-reassess-their-long-standing-links-with-kingspan-mj20qqk3s

But as yet, I've not seen a dickeybird about Allianz, the genocide in Palestine and the GAA. Seems strange…

Like I said at the time, look into any company and you’ll find something wrong somewhere.

Surprising result in the intermediate championship tonight with Ballymachugh beating Denn. I didn’t see that coming. Good win for Cornafean against Knockbride too.

Good crowd in Ramor last night for Lavey vs Cuchulainns but it was fairly poor stuff. Cuchulainns must have had a good 15 wides and couple of missed goal chances. Niall Carolan just stuck to Tierney, didn’t go forward at all. Gerry Smith not playing. Tobin from Maghera looked the pick of those on show if you were looking for county men.

Would you mind linking to this or sending me a pm with details?

Its on the Westmeath hoganstand forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 breffnitightlips

is the draw for round 2 of the intermediate and junior tonight or is it next weekend?