Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭eamonpk

Anyone who starts with a statement "Sense prevail and refix for Breffni.." has no sense - and certainly no sense of fair play - the credibility of anthing that follows is doubtful - End of story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

eamonpk wrote: »
    Anyone who starts with a statement "Sense prevail and refix for Breffni.." has no sense - and certainly no sense of fair play - the credibility of anthing that follows is doubtful - End of story

I presume you're a Fermanagh follower. I'd be interested in hearing your opinion on where you think the game should occur?

It's easy to criticise Tom Joad's opinion but not give your own.

I'd point out Cavan have no problem playing in Brewster. It holds many happy memories for us over the past 3 or 4 years. Sense has to prevail though in that supporters need to be able to get in and out of the game.

As I said above, if employers are already getting worried about small numbers of employees getting in and out of the location, how can the Ulster council expect 10,000 or so supporters to get in and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

eamonpk wrote: »

Once again with the with the selective quoting - read the whole sentence again. Not sure what your issue is or if you have anything to add to the discussion other than selectively quoting what I have posted.

1. The main driver behind fixing the match in Brewster Park is the Ulster Council -Fermanagh supporters are going to be as discommoded by the match being in Brewster as Cavan supporters. This is not about fair play its about giving supporters a fair chance to attend a game that is fixed for a town is in lockdown because of the G8. It is an uprecedented situation.

2. As I have said already, Breffni would only come into play if Clones was not available - but you seem to have no interest in reading my posts in context do you? Breffni was already offered to Fermanagh for the game before the Cavan/ Armagh game no matter what the result was.

3. Anyone that has any knowledge of the two teams will know that while it may be an unusual situation Breffni has no advantage to Cavan against Fermanagh. Cavan's record in Brewster park is nothing short of phenomenal and we have won 3 Ulster titles there and beat Fermanagh there in the qualifiers last year. Similarly Fermanagh actually have a better record at Breffni.

4. Any Fermanagh supporters I have talked to are quite happy to travel to Breffni or Clones, including people involved in the County Board.

5. The PSNI or whatever powers that be will take this decision away from the Ulster Council in any event as they simply won't let this game happen in Brewster. Maybe that's what they want but to represent this as Cavan trying to get an unfair advantage is completely ridiculous - this is not a Cavan/Fermanagh issue - its a being able to attend a game issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭celt262

I believe that it will still be a problem for Fermanagh supporters to get to even if the game is played in Clones or Cavan.

Ulster Council are just been stubborn here and i hope they wise up and move the game to a different date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

celt262 wrote: »
    I believe that it will still be a problem for Fermanagh supporters to get to even if the game is played in Clones or Cavan.

Ulster Council are just been stubborn here and i hope they wise up and move the game to a different date.

Moving the date is the most sensible option IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The G8 Summit should be moved out of Enniskillen until after the match.
    The cheek of them clashing with our games :pac:

The G8 Summit should be moved out of Enniskillen until after the match.
    The cheek of them clashing with our games :pac:

Jaysus the Ulster Council are now posting here :pac:

Re the date- this would obviously be the most sensible solution but is this linked to TV coverage, other free dates in the calendar etc??

Moving the date is the most sensible option IMO

The Ulster Council won't do that. There are games fixed for every weekend and they won't want two games clashing on the same weekend.

The game has to be played by then as the semi final between Cavan/Fermanagh and Monaghan/Antrim is scheduled for two weeks later.

Enniskillen is pretty much tightening up on security already from what I hear so its going to be hard to get access in and out for quite a while, not just that weekend.

There's also the TV schedule to accomodate. The game is down to be shown live on RTE.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Re the date- this would obviously be the most sensible solution but is this linked to TV coverage, other free dates in the calendar etc??

They wouldn't play it on a Sunday when another Ulster game is on so it would have to be a Saturday evening. It shouldn't be about tv anyway it should be about people able to get to game in peace and that includes players.

it should be about people able to get to game in peace and that includes players.

Couldn't agree more. I wonder what will happen if the police pull the game??

Is Irvinestown not an option?
    They used to play all their big games there and they'd still have home advantage.

And how would you get there?

I thought you could get around Enniskillen easily enough but maybe not. Haven't been there in awhile.

You wont get anywhere inside Fermanagh easily on them few days.

There will be check points on the Cavan side of the border also.

Ah Tayto, are you still following the career of Val Andrews with such interest?

Have to say he has to take some plaudits for the highly committed, hard working panel we now have. He made the tough decisions two years ago and took all the flak.

Now the benefits of him making those decisions is coming to fruition.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Ah Tayto, are you still following the career of Val Andrews with such interest?

Have to say he has to take some plaudits for the highly committed, hard working panel we now have. He made the tough decisions two years ago and took all the flak.

Now the benefits of him making those decisions is coming to fruition.

I think they improved after he left to be honest. No 2 camps now it seems :D
    I was actually in Tullamore supporting your U 21's and at a League game as well with my Cavan friends.

I think they improved after he left to be honest. No 2 camps now it seems :D
    I was actually in Tullamore supporting your U 21's and at a League game as well with my Cavan friends.

I agree they did improve. I always said Terry was the man for the job but in fairness Val took alot of the criticism ahead of him for making decisions that had to be made.

Cian Mackey for example. Dropped off the panel by Andrews to give him a kick in the arse and is now playing the best football he's ever played for the county.

I agree they did improve. I always said Terry was the man for the job but in fairness Val took alot of the criticism ahead of him for making decisions that had to be made.

Cian Mackey for example. Dropped off the panel by Andrews to give him a kick in the arse and is now playing the best football he's ever played for the county.

Afraid you're on your own there.
    Mc Cutcheon, Reilly, Mackey and Clarke (maybe more)all returned only when Andrews left. The players had a meeting to get rid of VA.
    In fairness to Hyland he seems to have seen the error of Andrew's way and responded when the County Board got rid of him.
    A much happier panel now with a plan they all bought into according to my sources. They can now see the goals that were set and are focusing on achieving them. They could see nothing under Val. That's why he was evicted from the Big Brother household.

Anyway that's all water under the bridge now and I wish Cavan all the best.

Mc Cutcheon, Reilly, Mackey and Clarke (maybe more)all returned only when Andrews left. The players had a meeting to get rid of VA.
    In fairness to Hyland he seems to have seen the error of Andrew's way and responded when the County Board got rid of him.
    A much happier panel now with a plan they all bought into according to my sources. They can now see the goals that were set and are focusing on achieving them. They could see nothing under Val. That's why he was evicted from the Big Brother household.

What is it about today - its like groundhog day with the old chestnuts being brought out about Cavan football, first Jelly and now Val. Without resurecting that whole debate as we will never agree on that point Tayto about Val. I can't let you away with the statement in bold - that is simply not true and the county board admitted that they were wrong to say that it happened. So for once and for all - the players did not have a meeting to get rid of Val Andrews.

Its like Groundhog day here today between Jelly and Val. We all know your views on Val Tayto and we've been here before so not going there again.

But not letting the bit in bold go - that is simply put not true - the players did not have a meeting to get rid off Val Andrews - that was a county board invention and they apologised to the Captain Podge Reilly for saying it was the case.

Whatever about any vendettas against Andrews, that is simply not true and anyone close to the county team will acknowledge the work done by Val - who by the way was very close to Terry Hyland.

What is it about today - its like groundhog day with the old chestnuts being brought out about Cavan football, first Jelly and now Val. Without resurecting that whole debate as we will never agree on that point Tayto about Val. I can't let you away with the statement in bold - that is simply not true and the county board admitted that they were wrong to say that it happened. So for once and for all - the players did not have a meeting to get rid of Val Andrews.

My sources, some close to the action, would not agree with you Tom regardless of what the Cavan CB said.

Why do you think Val went then if he was doing such a great job?

PS

I didn't bring the matter up again either.

My sources, some close to the action, would not agree with you Tom regardless of what the Cavan CB said.

PS

I didn't bring the matter up again either.

Well they don't know feck all.

They actually do.

Look it I'm not going to reenter this my mate, your mate with you again but simple fact is that the players did not vote Val Andrews out. The county board got rid of Andrews - that's why he went.

You freely admitted last year that you had a grudge against Val and I'm not going to change your mind on Val this year anymore than I could last year but you are factually incorrect when you say the players voted to get rid of Val Andrews - they didn't and county chairman Tom Reilly acknowledged this publicly. End off

They actually do.

Of course you think they do :rolleyes:

Look it I'm not going to reenter this my mate, your mate with you again but simple fact is that the players did not vote Val Andrews out. The county board got rid of Andrews - that's why he went.

You freely admitted last year that you had a grudge against Val and I'm not going to change your mind on Val this year anymore than I could last year but you are factually incorrect when you say the players voted to get rid of Val Andrews - they didn't and county chairman Tom Reilly acknowledged this publicly. End off

I know exactly what happened and it's not that.

But there is no need to go over it all again anyway as I said earlier.
    Val was not up to it and was got rid of which was always my main point. Enough said.

I know exactly what happened and it's not that.

But there is no need to go over it all again anyway as I said earlier.
    Val was not up to it and was got rid of which was always my main point. Enough said.

Val resigned. There was no vote.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/news/gaelicfootball/articles/2012/04/18/4010104-exclusive-leak-cost-val-his-job/

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2012/04/13/4010016-board-insists-no-vote-was-taken-by-players/

Like I said, he has to get credit for making the decisions which paved the way for the hard working panel we have now.

Whether or not you appreciate that is up to you. I'd suggest that you stop posting downright lies though.

Val resigned. There was no vote.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/news/gaelicfootball/articles/2012/04/18/4010104-exclusive-leak-cost-val-his-job/

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2012/04/13/4010016-board-insists-no-vote-was-taken-by-players/

Like I said, he has to get credit for making the decisions which paved the way for the hard working panel we have now.

Whether or not you appreciate that is up to you. I'd suggest that you stop posting downright lies though.

No lies posted at all unless the information I got was wrong which I seriously doubt. But even allowing for that there are still a lot of holes in the story.The "official" statement from the County Board does not state why the players met if every member of the panel were happy and content with his running of the team and panel.
    Even if they didn't take a vote why do you think they met?
    Were they happy with things and decided just to meet for the craic?
    What was the purpose of the meeting if things were honky dory?

I would love to hear your explanation seeing as you brought the whole thing up again.

No lies posted at all unless the information I got was wrong which I seriously doubt. But even allowing for that there are still a lot of holes in the story.The "official" statement from the County Board does not state why the players met if every member of the panel were happy and content with his running of the team and panel.
    Even if they didn't take a vote why do you think they met?
    Were they happy with things and decided just to meet for the craic?
    What was the purpose of the meeting if things were honky dory?

I would love to hear your explanation seeing as you brought the whole thing up again.

Here's a full article about the meeting and why it took place:

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2012/04/19/4010111-what-a-crazy-game-this-isprintprintprintprint