Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

celt262 wrote: »
    Yeah but that doesn't change the fact he is prone to costly errors.

We'll agree to disagree and see how he does tomorrow. I still think you are being overly harsh.

I'm hoping his knack for kicking 45s proves valuable tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭celt262

Lemlin wrote: »
    We'll agree to disagree and see how he does tomorrow. I still think you are being overly harsh.

I'm hoping his knack for kicking 45s proves valuable tomorrow.

I'm hope he will be fine tomorrow and i hope you acknowledge that i never once said that he shouldn't be playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 rod sallie

48 mins gone. 1-10 to 0-8. Not a good game but it's Cavan's to lose. if armagh start to go at it like there's no tomorrow
    they can take this because they are fitter (have more stamina) and more fearful of losing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Martin Dunne was amazing.

A good result. Beating Armagh will be a morale booster.(as good as winning an Ulster in the forties!) For the record it should have been closer and in respect of the remark about Gilsenan making mistakes he played ok today but if he's going to kick a free wide then he should choose carefully which side to go for.

Aye Martin was xtraordinary, Looks like he could be even if he was standing on one leg. Great display!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Good work Cabin. Armagh are no great shakes at all these days and I'd safely say Fermanagh are a better team right now. If Cavan kick on it is very much a winnable tie, though.

Syferus wrote: »
    Good work Cabin. Armagh are no great shakes at all these days and I'd safely say Fermanagh are a better team right now. If Cavan kick on it is very much a winnable tie, though.

I wouldn't think Fermanagh are better than Armagh tbh. Armagh are a Division 2 team and a good side. I thought our lads gave a very good account of themselves and what they are about today - Extremely hard working players.

It's true to say Armagh aren't near the level of a decade ago but they were All Ireland champions then.

Fermanagh beat us in the league but we beat them in the qualifiers last year. They know our gameplan and Canavan knows how to combat it.

That said, we were severely hampered in the league game by Reilly being sent off so early, as well as the ref inexplicably waiting until the last minute to send off a couple of their players when they should of been off long before then.

Is the game in Breffni, Clones or Brewster?

I wouldn't think Fermanagh are better than Armagh tbh. Armagh are a Division 2 team and a good side. I thought our lads gave a very good account of themselves and what they are about today - Extremely hard working players.

It's true to say Armagh aren't near the level of a decade ago but they were All Ireland champions then.

Fermanagh beat us in the league but we beat them in the qualifiers last year. They know our gameplan and Canavan knows how to combat it.

That said, we were severely hampered in the league game by Reilly being sent off so early, as well as the ref inexplicably waiting until the last minute to send off a couple of their players when they should of been off long before then.

Is the game in Breffni, Clones or Brewster?

They survived in D2 as much by luck as design - thanks should be paid to Wexford's late game collapse in their final D2 game against Laois if we're talking about Armagh's league status. They lost to us quite handily in Round 1 in last year's championship as well and we were missing plenty of our first choice players that day, nevermind the panel not really accepting the manager.

It's not to take something away from a result that is a high watermark for Cavan in recent years but Fermanagh is a far more cohesive unit than the Armagh team you just beat and even if individually you could make the case the Armagh players are better their team is less than a sum of its parts while Fermanagh is the opposite.

I think Cavan will find Fermanagh harder to break down (not that that says much) and that beating Armagh won't mean much if you can't come out the next day and rubber stamp the performance with a win against a similar level of opponent. It's definitely within Cavan's capabilities but likewise Fermanagh will be looking at it as a big opportunity too.

With the talk of Fermanagh potentially being unable to play a home game due to the G8 summit having the county on lockdown it'll be interesting to see where the game is played.

They survived in D2 as much by luck as design - thanks should be paid to Wexford's late game collapse in their final D2 game against Laois if we're talking about Armagh's league status. They lost to us quite handily in Round 1 in last year's championship as well and we were missing plenty of our first choice players that day, nevermind the panel not really accepting the manager.

It's not to take something away from a result that is a high watermark for Cavan in recent years but Fermanagh is a far more cohesive unit than the Armagh team you just beat and even if individually you could make the case the Armagh players are better their team is less than a sum of its parts while Fermanagh is the opposite.

I think Cavan will find Fermanagh harder to break down (not that that says much) and that beating Armagh won't mean much if you can't come out the next day and rubber stamp the performance with a win against a similar level of opponent. It's definitely within Cavan's capabilities but likewise Fermanagh will be looking at it as a big opportunity too.

With the talk of Fermanagh potentially being unable to play a home game due to the G8 summit having the county on lockdown it'll be interesting to see where the game is played.

There's plenty for Cavan to work on ahead of the Fermanagh game. There were more than a few poor errors today like misplaced passes and some wides which should have been scores.

Canavan knows the Cavan team inside out and he got a further look at us today. He'll be well aware of Keating, who didn't play against them in the league due to injury, and Dunne was well marshalled in the League game.

The one area we struggled against Fermanagh was them leaving a couple of backs around Dunne and Barry Reilly. Armagh allowed the two man full forward line space today. Fermanagh won't do that. We'll have to work hard for our scores and take them.

It was good to see there wasn't as big a reliance on Mackey today as there was in some of the League games. Against Fermanagh, he literally couldn't run five steps without being dragged down or tripped after his performances against Meath and Monaghan.

Great goal by him today. A fact many neutrals may not know is that he was one of the five players told they were not required by Andrews and Hyland in November 2011. I'm sure ye can guess one of the others :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

First time getting sitting down after the match - still on cloud 9 to be honest.

I've been saying for a while that this was a must win game for Cavan football and it was a fantastic result with Terry Hyland showing what a good tactician he is - he picked the team that would beat Armagh - albeit a poor Armagh team. I really felt for Dunnie early on as he looked unsure of himself but fair play to him he didn't hide and kept going and got his reward. Keating was unplayable at times. Rory Dunne was fantastic and the defence done a great job against Clarke. Perfect day was rounded off by the minors getting a one point win when not much was expected off them.

I heard that the Fermanagh game will be in Breffni (not sure if it has been decided yet though). We need to kick on and beat Fermanagh now which won't be an easy task but the lads will have got a huge lift out of today's result. Unlike past Cavan teams they didn't buckle when Armagh got their goal - shows you the value of having players that are used to winning.

All in all a near perfect day for Cavan football:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

I was delighted to be proven wrong regarding the team selection,great performance and we could have won by more,only for some poor shooting at times. Fermanagh in more than likely Clones in 4 weeks time is something to look forward to. Great result by the minors aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Kildare will soon come sniffin around Dunne too

Hammar wrote: »
    I was delighted to be proven wrong regarding the team selection,great performance and we could have won by more,only for some poor shooting at times. Fermanagh in more than likely Clones in 4 weeks time is something to look forward to. Great result by the minors aswell.

I have full trust in Terry but I was even expecting 3 or 4 changes and I got an even further shock when I heard Killian Brady was starting as a half forward.

It worked though and fair play to Terry for proving the doubters wrong.

To be honest you have the top 8 in the country and then there can be very little between all the other counties after that. We showed today that we should be fit to give anyone a game from Division 2 downwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

well done to cavan today... you have come a long way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

can i ask how come it was Martin Dunnes debut in the championship today? seeing as he scored some great points you wonder why it took until he was 24 to start.
    edit Well done Cavan.

Al_Coholic wrote: »
    can i ask how come it was Martin Dunnes debut in the championship today? seeing as he scored some great points you wonder why it took until he was 24 to start.
    edit Well done Cavan.

Dunne can be a frustrating player but has lifted his game this year. He's the type of player who can score 5 or 6 points from play yet kick 8 or 9 wides while he's at it.

Last year he was going well in the League (scored three goals against Tipp) but was dropped to the Junior team for the championship as he was carrying a niggle. He helped the Junior team to the Leinster junior championship.

He's played for Cavan at every grade and been a big name in club football for a few years but he couldn't make the Cavan U21 starting 15 in 2010 for example.

I think last year he hugely infuriated management against Offaly in the League. He was through on goal and just needed to bury the ball into the net. Instead he tried a little cheeky chip shot that struck the crossbar.

Cavan were five up at the time and would have gone eight points up. Instead, Offaly got back into the game and ended up winning.

I would have been a critic of his last year due to his amount of wides but management appear to have worked with him and he has matured alot in the past couple of years.

It took alot of composure for him to perform so well after his poor start yesterday.

I posted on here on a few months back that Dunne had more natural ability than Seanie Johnston but that was seen as sour grapes by some. Yesterday Dunne showed the ability he has but it could have been so different after a shaky start. He needs to show this year than he is Cavan's full forward for the future - hopefully he keeps the confidence up because when he is in the mood he can destroy teams. Keating too has all the ability but sometimes needs to look for a team mate when near in to goal - he should have looked up yesterday for his goal chance as Reilly had a tap in if he had given the pass.

Can't believe the nonsense I heard today that the game could still be played in Brewster - hopefully sense will prevail and the game will be refixed for either Breffni or Clones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

well done and big congrats to all involved

but lets not let the good work come undone we need to beat fermanagh or its just a flash in the pan win

great performance all round and hyland got his tactics spot on and even if armagh had continued with the sweeper i honestly think cavans speed of counter attack would have paid dividends

dunne has come of age , a fine footballer getting his rewards but make no mistake he wont be the match winner against fermanagh as he will be marked a lot closer and probably battered around but i've every confidence that the rest of the lads will step up to the plate

midfield is my only major concern but lets hope the lads just had an off day

anyway its good to be a cavan fan this week we need an odd day in the sun

i think the critisism at armagh and lack of praise of cavan will stand to the lads and keep the heads level

also a great spirited win by the minors looks to be a few really talented lads coming through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Just wanted to congratulate the Cavan contingent here on their thoroughly deserved victory on Sunday. Better team, with better tactics and greater hunger won. Although the future should be looking good for Cavan - and it would be great to see a sleeping giant awaken again on the National stage - I hope that the ineptness of our performance ensures that Cavan do not get carried away with this victory. No reason why Cavan cannot go on from here.

As a neutral, I hope yourselves and Monaghan meet up in the semi - that would be a match I'd look forward to seeing.

cavan4sam wrote: »
    dunne has come of age , a fine footballer getting his rewards but make no mistake he wont be the match winner against fermanagh as he will be marked a lot closer and probably battered around but i've every confidence that the rest of the lads will step up to the plate

midfield is my only major concern but lets hope the lads just had an off day

also a great spirited win by the minors looks to be a few really talented lads coming through

Damien Reilly isn't a midfielder. I can only think he started there because we had nobody else. I had expected to see Clarke move out to midfield, which did happen second half, but Hyland must have had his reasons for not doing it first half.

Reilly is a fine half back but he was lucky to stay on the pitch on Sunday. Had Jamie Clarke not already thrown a punch, Reilly could have been off the field after the small handbags. I thought he would have learned his lesson from the Fermanagh league game when he was off before ten minutes. Canavan is a shrewd manager and he'll be looking at that thinking this fella is a hot head that we could work on getting sent off.

You're right about Dunne though. In the league he was double marked and he will be again. I wouldn't be surprised to see Keating double marked also so the quick ball can't go into him. Fermanagh know only two well about him - he was barely on the field against them and they had the jersey ripped off him and a punch thrown.

Fermanagh are going to pack the defence as well so we'll need lads who can kick scores from long range. Gearoid McKiernan would have been a real asset in that regard to start on the 40. I still think Martin Reilly and Barry Reilly could be huge assets to come in. Two men more than capable of kicking long range scores. I would also hope that Mossie Corr will be back for midfield to release Reilly back into the half back line, if he can control that temper that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭willabur

Damien Reilly isn't a midfielder. I can only think he started there because we had nobody else. I had expected to see Clarke move out to midfield, which did happen second half, but Hyland must have had his reasons for not doing it first half.

Reilly is a fine half back but he was lucky to stay on the pitch on Sunday. Had Jamie Clarke not already thrown a punch, Reilly could have been off the field after the small handbags. I thought he would have learned his lesson from the Fermanagh league game when he was off before ten minutes. Canavan is a shrewd manager and he'll be looking at that thinking this fella is a hot head that we could work on getting sent off.

You're right about Dunne though. In the league he was double marked and he will be again. I wouldn't be surprised to see Keating double marked also so the quick ball can't go into him. Fermanagh know only two well about him - he was barely on the field against them and they had the jersey ripped off him and a punch thrown.

Fermanagh are going to pack the defence as well so we'll need lads who can kick scores from long range. Gearoid McKiernan would have been a real asset in that regard to start on the 40. I still think Martin Reilly and Barry Reilly could be huge assets to come in. Two men more than capable of kicking long range scores. I would also hope that Mossie Corr will be back for midfield to release Reilly back into the half back line, if he can control that temper that is.

double mark keating and dunne? thats 2 extra men out the field for cavan - happy days. Down tried that in the U21 semi final this year and look where it got them. Cavan just need to be patient, dont shoot from silly positions and they should pull through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭eamonpk

"Sense prevail and refix for Breffni.." - show me howthat makes any sense!!
    Tom Joad wrote: »
    I posted on here on a few months back that Dunne had more natural ability than Seanie Johnston but that was seen as sour grapes by some. Yesterday Dunne showed the ability he has but it could have been so different after a shaky start. He needs to show this year than he is Cavan's full forward for the future - hopefully he keeps the confidence up because when he is in the mood he can destroy teams. Keating too has all the ability but sometimes needs to look for a team mate when near in to goal - he should have looked up yesterday for his goal chance as Reilly had a tap in if he had given the pass.

Can't believe the nonsense I heard today that the game could still be played in Brewster - hopefully sense will prevail and the game will be refixed for either Breffni or Clones.

eamonpk wrote: »

Because the G8 summit is going to make it very hard to get in and out of Enniskillen.

I think Clones would be a fair location.

Would be very unfair to fix it for Breffini. It depends on what the traffic restrictions are like in Enniskillen is like because it's not a case of the summit being in the town itself. Certainly wouldn't call it 'nonsense' that they're looking to see if they can host what should be a home game for them.

eamonpk wrote: »

Want to quote what fully what I said. It is ridiculous to fix the game for Enniskillen especially where Brewster is located when the place will essentially be in lockdown. I'm not sure if Clones is available that weekend - if its not then surely Breffni is an option. It was already offered by the Cavan County Board for the game prior to the outcome of the Cavan - Armagh game. I would imagine that the police won't allow the game to go ahead in Brewster but the Ulster Council being the dinosaurs they are won't take a proactive approach.

To be brutually honest about it Brewster is a happier hunting ground for Cavan and in normal circumstances would be delighted to be heading to "our second home" but I don't really want to spend a full day getting into and out of a football match when there are other options available..

Would be very unfair to fix it for Breffini. It depends on what the traffic restrictions are like in Enniskillen is like because it's not a case of the summit being in the town itself. Certainly wouldn't call it 'nonsense' that they're looking to see if they can host what should be a home game for them.

The main road into Enniskillen will be restricted access given the 8 most powerful leaders in the world will be there around the time off the game. This is not about home advantage or Cavan wanting any unfair advantage. This is about the Ulster Council being obstinate backward cretins who won't rearrange a GAA match for anybody!! Brewster is not the easiest ground to get too at the best off times but this will be a nightmare and the match won't be accessible for most people - it's a ridiculous situation...

Nail on the head there Lemlin - the guy is a walking liability - I don't like singling out any of the lads for criticism but anytime I've seen him he's seconds away from a red card and he's already lost it against Fermanagh so they will target him. Hyland has made a lot of good calls as manger but making him vice-captain doesn't seem to have worked either - he was very lucky to stay on the field on Sunday imho.

Are you aware that some employers are making alternative arrangements for staff based in Enniskillen around the time of the G8? I know of one employer that has staff going to their Cavan branch where possible and another two that have staff going to Omagh.

Now if employers are already worrying about small numbers of employees getting in and out of Enniskillen, how do the Ulster Council expect 10,000+ people to get in for a match?

I agree it would be unfair to fix it for Breffni but I think Clones is a fair compromise.

I agree Clones is the best compromise and the most likely venue. All I'm saying is it'd be a poor show by Fermanagh not to explore what restrictions would be placed on them hosting it at home. I'd have been hopping if I was a Fermanagh fan and they just dismissed it out of hand.