Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭scoopmine

Any truth in G Mac doing his knee on Sunday. Awful news if true and best of luck in recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

scoopmine wrote: »
    Any truth in G Mac doing his knee on Sunday. Awful news if true and best of luck in recovery.

I hope it's not true - didn't hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

I heard the cruciate, disaster. Wish him the best of luck on the long road to recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭celt262

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    I heard the cruciate, disaster. Wish him the best of luck on the long road to recovery.

That's his second time doing it now wont be easy to come back from that.

crap - its up on Hogan Stand now - really bad news for him and for Cavan - hope he has a successful and speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Gutted for him as he had really started to step up to the plate .

Hope he has a speedy recovery
    this really is a huge blow to our champinship team as I really was looking forward to seeing him bring this cavan team on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

cavan4sam wrote: »
    Gutted for him as he had really started to step up to the plate .

Hope he has a speedy recovery
    this really is a huge blow to our champinship team as I really was looking forward to seeing him bring this cavan team on

Gutted about this. He did it around 09 as well. Very frustrating.

Looks like people will get Givney at midfield now but very frustrating.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Gutted about this. He did it around 09 as well. Very frustrating.

Looks like people will get Givney at midfield now but very frustrating.

Yep, two cruciate injuries - its a long road back from that unfortunately :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

talking to a few of the lads after the weekend today, seemingly they had a "bonding" session in athlone thursday and friday! in other words a belly full of porter.
    i was talking to one of the senior players last Wednesday morning, who informed me that the tuesday night training was harder and more running than anything he had ever done before in cavan.
    my fecking blood is boiling over this, is Hyland trying to do all the wrong thing leading up to the Armagh game on purpose??? patheic, amateurish, and with zero plan. the man and his cronies at the top table are a bunch of jokers, its more of a fcuking lads club than the Fainna Fail tent at the galway races:mad::mad::mad:

They were on a bonding weekend. They weren't drinking.

lol, they were loaded, every one of them, fact. and with all due respect to you my man, what the hell would the team do to "bond" in somewhere as random as athlone otherwise:confused:

What's your source? I was talking to someone about it and he didn't mention a thing about them all being loaded.

Well it was a training/bonding weekend, Athlone is as good a spot as any. If they had planned to go for a weekend drinking why would they go to Athlone either? Don't see what the location has got to do with anything.

You know that for a fact do you?? - every single one of them? - you prove that like a good lad, with all due respect.

Athlone - mmm European Town of Sport 2013???? :confused::confused::confused:

What's your source? I was talking to someone about it and he didn't mention a thing about them all being loaded.

Well it was a training/bonding weekend, Athlone is as good a spot as any. If they had planned to go for a weekend drinking why would they go to Athlone either? Don't see what the location has got to do with anything.

The location has nothing to do with it your correct. My sources are 3 different members of the team, who all have told me such, at different times since the weekend. I'm not making it up lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

More good news on the underage scene, as St. Pats beat tournament favorites Maghera by 2 in the Brock Cup Semi Final, they play Dungannon in the final.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/gaelicfootball/articles/2013/04/30/4015574-st-pats-qualify-for-brock-cup-final/

Tom Joad wrote: »
    You know that for a fact do you?? - every single one of them? - you prove that like a good lad, with all due respect.

Athlone - mmm European Town of Sport 2013???? :confused::confused::confused:

sorry tom i was not there and have no urine samples to prove it, so believe it if you want, the 3 i was talking to made it very clear, as for Athlone getting some silly title of being the European town of sport:rolleyes: explain to me what that has to do with anything, like a good lad

talking to a few of the lads after the weekend today, seemingly they had a "bonding" session in athlone thursday and friday! in other words a belly full of porter.
    i was talking to one of the senior players last Wednesday morning, who informed me that the tuesday night training was harder and more running than anything he had ever done before in cavan.
    my fecking blood is boiling over this, is Hyland trying to do all the wrong thing leading up to the Armagh game on purpose??? patheic, amateurish, and with zero plan. the man and his cronies at the top table are a bunch of jokers, its more of a fcuking lads club than the Fainna Fail tent at the galway races:mad::mad::mad:

What's your blood boiling over exactly?

The game isn't until May 19th. They've been training hard for a long time now. I'd see no huge problem with two nights away 4 weeks before the game.

Better the lads do it with Terry as a group than off on their own in little factions.

As for the running, welcome to modern football. Check what Donegal and Dublin are doing in training and you'll see the majority of it is work on sprinting.

And Terry Hyland is hardly a joker. We had our best league run in years. He launched the springboard for our U21 success.

To be honest, like the lads above, I'm always skeptical of people on Internet forums saying they know this player or that player. 90% of it is bull.

sorry tom i was not there and have no urine samples to prove it, so believe it if you want, the 3 i was talking to made it very clear, as for Athlone getting some silly title of being the European town of sport:rolleyes: explain to me what that has to do with anything, like a good lad

To be honest the minute I hear someone say "my mate on the team who I was talking too" I smell the bull. I don't believe you - there ya go - if you want to say the whole panel
    "they were loaded everyone of them"
    were loaded back it up. "if you're mate on the team was wasted he's not going to be the best witness is he?" :rolleyes:

Re Athlone getting some silly title, also having a international standard indoor arena - I was merely pointing out the silliness of your second point off why pick Athlone!! It's hardly Temple Bar now is it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭scoopmine

Alan Toasty Clarke is caption for the championship

Damien O'Reilly is VC.

Two good choices...

scoopmine wrote: »
    Alan Toasty Clarke is caption for the championship

Damien O'Reilly is VC.

Two good choices...

Two good performers in the league, despite Reilly's moment of madness against Fermanagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

AIT has a newly-built €10 million sports complex complete with international-sized indoor athletics circuit, swimming pool and a 3G pitch. Many midlands county teams of all grades use it, let alone individual athletes. Westmeath GAA think so highly of it they secured a 10-year lease on the use of the facilities. The Sigerson semis and finals and well as the Leinster juvenile indoor athletics competition have been hosted there in the last three months alone.

Get your facts straight before you go off on one.

Syferus wrote: »
    AIT has a newly-built €10 million sports complex complete with international-sized indoor athletics circuit, swimming pool and a 3G pitch. Many midlands county teams of all grades use it, let alone individual athletes. Westmeath GAA think so highly of it they secured a 10-year lease on the use of the facilities. The Sigerson semis and finals and well as the Leinster juvenile indoor athletics competition have been hosted there in the last three months alone.

Get your facts straight before you go off on one.

In fairness Syferus, I don't think the lad has much of a clue. He's the same lad I think came on here saying Cavan would easily beat Sligo in the league when the rest of us were cautious.

i got one match prediction wrong and i dont have a clue:confused::confused:
    thats fine lads, i told ye what i knew about the weekend, believe it if ye want, Ill not be back on this forum to annoy ye.

i got one match prediction wrong and i dont have a clue:confused::confused:
    thats fine lads, i told ye what i knew about the weekend, believe it if ye want, Ill not be back on this forum to annoy ye.

Nah, you lost my interest when you started disrespecting our most influential and successful modern manager.

Not to mention babbling on about the players allegedly having a few drinks 4 weeks before a game.

There's no place for that sort of sensationalist crap here as you saw from the replies you got.

Nah, you lost my interest when you started disrespecting our most influential and successful modern manager.

Not to mention babbling on about the players allegedly having a few drinks 4 weeks before a game.

There's no place for that sort of sensationalist crap here as you saw from the replies you got.
    you and tom can go **** yourselves

Cavan team that lines out against Meath in a challenge this evening:

Cavan leading 1-8 to 1-5 at half time. Givney with the goal.

Cavan team that lines out against Meath in a challenge this evening:

Very young team, only 4 of those players are over 23. Halftime Cavan are winning 1-8 to 1-5. Surprised to see Dara McVitty with the senior team.

But sure there's only about 3 or 4 in the panel over 26 - James Reilly, McKeever, Corr and Martin Reilly.

Hyland is using an experimental panel at the minute of players for both senior championship and Leinster junior championship.

I'd imagine McVitty and a few others are more for the Leinster junior championship.

I really don't see the point of Niall Murray and Niall Reilly at this stage. Both are hanging round the panel a while now and just don't cut it IMO.

Full new team out in the second half. We now lead 2-8 to 1-6. McCutcheon with the goal.

Cavan win 3-14 to 1-13.