Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All ye oul wans and oul fellas out there! Wakey wakey, rise and shine!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Gurcake never went away Brens, it can now be seen at some of those posh food markets, and the RDS food fair. They think Gurrrrrcake is an awful common name, so they do, and hence they now call it Chester Cake! CHESTER Cake? Damn their eyes! To horse men, weapons at the ready.....charrrrrrrrrge!!! Te de den, te de den, te de den, te de de, etceterah, etceterah, etceterah!

Janey Mac, you're a font of vital knowledge!

Well, I'm an awful common gurrier but when I asked for gurrcake in Sweden, Italy, Austria, Texas, Germany, Britain, Switzerland, Canada, Iceland, Australia and Malaysia and all I got was blank (perhaps slightly appalled) stares. Maybe if I had asked for "Chester" cake?

Anyway........Chester cake???? What has Chester got to do with good oul Dublin gurrcake??? As they say on other forums: ffs!

Have to say, though, it wasn't "exactly" as Grannie used to have. Drier and a little too much care taken in the shortcake / pastry stuff. Grannie's gurrcake was almost a slice of Christmas pud, an inch thick between two thin slices of fruity and soggy shortbread.

But the newer version must be a health food - five a day - because they sell it in hostibles. And with a dollup of whipped dairy product, who needs chemo?

Rubecula wrote: »
    my main comp is XP and while it works I see no need to change it. The only reason for upgrades is to make money for Microsoft, Ther really couldn't give a tinker's codpiece for the plight of the working classes. Not like the olden days when we would get up half an hour before we went to bed, have half a handful of cold gravel for breakfast ..... if we were lucky *mumble mumble* Spam *mumble mumble* Bloody Vikings * mumble mumble* Nobody expects *mumble mumble*
    looksee wrote: »
    I never knew tinkers wore codpieces? ;)
    roran wrote: »
    Maybe they (s)wore codpieces?:confused:

Let me put on my lumberjack shirt and hat with floppy ears.....

Yizz've probably guessed that I had a very sheltered childhood, but I did live in a fishing village so, what's a codpiece? Mrs. BrensBenz says it's something like chicken fillets but that didn't help much. For some reason, she did give me that special, "canoodling required now" look but I'm none the wiser. Is it one of these uniquely female things - "if you don't know, I'm not going to tell you"?

Confused like much....todally!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codpiece
    A codpiece (from Middle English: cod, meaning "scrotum") is a covering flap or pouch that attaches to the front of the crotch of men's trousers and usually accentuates the genital area. It was held closed by string ties, buttons, or other methods. It was an important item of European clothing in the 15th and 16th centuries, and is still worn in the modern era in performance costumes for rock music and metal musicians and in the leather subculture while an Athletic cup protects in a similar fashion.

bonzodog2 wrote: »

Well....I.....hummmfff....never have I....I'm flabb....hummmfff....such...ohh...that's just.....WHAT???

Where on Earth would Mrs. BrensBenz learn THAT???

So, I suppose that "chicken fillets" are not what I thought either? No, pleeeeese don't tell me - I'm coming over all.....faint (back of hand to forehead, eyelashes fluttering, other hand withdrawn from smoking jacket pocket and now grasping chaise longue). "Hermione, the drapes.....Maude, the smelling salts....."

PS: bonzodog2, loved the doodah band. Any chance of a reunion? I believe there are nights available at Croke Park next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Brens, you must have seen Lord Blackadder's memorable codpiece in the first series. I wanted to post a photo but I couldn't for laughing. How medieval wimmin kept a straight face, I'll never know!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

• Registered Users Posts: 28,063 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I think you are codding us Rube!

They taste better with batter! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4282290.stm

BirdsEye fish fingers were nearly called Battered Cod Pieces

Mmmm fish finger butties, up there with chip butties!

Rubecula wrote: »

Rubecula's attachment above looks to me more like somewhere to hang your jacket while admonishing a baddie.
    Any more silly fashions? Here's something that....caught my eye!

315272.jpg

You have discovered the rare and dangerous Japanese Hobbit!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

dance.jpg

Morning all.
    Found this, thought it suited us in here. :cool:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Thanks for that OG. Inside, I'm dancing too! :)

Brilliant OG

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I've to go back to work in the morning.
    5 weeks off. How will I cope :(

Chucken wrote: »

Keep Calm
    and
    Make Soup

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Chucken wrote: »

Think about how you can gather the cash for another Greek odyssey:D:D:D

It's been so long, I'm not sure I remember how :pac:

I'll just feed 'em all banana splits or something.

Layinghen wrote: »
    Think about how you can gather the cash for another Greek odyssey:D:D:D

I've only about 10 more weeks work. Should be enough for next years trip :)

Oh, the family got meself and himself a week in Krakow for my birthday.
    I'm not half spoilt :pac:

Think we can safely say you have done very well this birthday.

Roll on 60!!!!!!!!!

Layinghen wrote: »
    Think we can safely say you have done very well this birthday.

Roll on 60!!!!!!!!!

Didn't do too badly at all. Got a new laptop as well :pac:

You are beyond spoilt...................

Which of course is the way it should be.

Ah it'll be all back to normal by next birthday :)

Stop Chuckie, you're making me jealous!

Krakow? Does this mean Borsch is on the menu again? LOL LOL

Just remembering the sponsored programs on Raidio Eireann from fado fado.
    Can any of yiz identify the program which used this piece, not as its main theme but as a sort of epilogue?

Hint: Everything that ever went wrong anywhere in the Cosmos since Time began was the man's fault so we'll have to play a Sinatra record to put things right.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvfG9uFswis

Dear old Frankie Byrne?

Didn't she do the one about 'the problems you have heard here today may not be your problems, but they could be some day' or words to that effect? On behalf of...Jacobs?

That's her.