Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All ye oul wans and oul fellas out there! Wakey wakey, rise and shine!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Mad for the oul gamboling are goats. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,063 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I'm a rat. 'You may not speak up much' - huh, how little they know me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Here's another moose loose aboot this hoose.

You may be small, but your strong in spirit! You're sweet and sensitive, but not afraid to explore! Though most of the time you just like to sit back, observe, and listen to people.

Don't know about most of these attributes though - after another chemodose on Friday, I'm feeling like the mouse who ate all of the wrong cheese.

There is a cabinet full of remedies here for side-effects but, so far, the best remedy of all is sitting on my garden bench, in my Superman dressing gown and tartan slippers, at 5:30 AM (......like, in the morning like, todally ossum), feeling a cool, gentle, sea breeze removing what remains of my brand new hair, with the woof's chin (and halitosis) on my lap, listening to the birdies snoring, then yawning, stretching and coming to the bird table for their breakfast and watching the dog decide if these birds merit a bark.

Isn't Life grand when it's fray an' aizy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

We have experienced 28 degrees for the last couple of days which was lovely, blue skies and all that, but I can't take that for too long, so I've arranged for a change.

Weather warning.........Its cool here in the capital right now and it has begun to rain. At last I can breathe! Ahhhhh! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I should be singing about Friends in low places right about now :(:(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Retrovin

Wont be long till Christmas. Only around the corner!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Chucken wrote: »
    I should be singing about Friends in low places right about now :(:(:(

Is there a song about False Friends in Low Places? :(

Yer other half can explain xxxx

There is a C & W song about friends in low places but can't think of the name of it. Might have something to do with a fella in a cowboy hat who won't be in Dublin this year! (yay!.....and runs away!)

All I can think of is high tea on a low table, but I usually have tea on my mind after all so that's not much help in this present quandary.

Retrovin wrote: »

Well, after a huge effort to clear my head of that "High Friends in Low Places" [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] by the Sangin' Mushroom, Retrovin has managed to replace it with Bing Bloody Crosby's slimy rendition of "White Christmas".

So, let's form a posse. Track down this Retrovin, clap him / her in irons, give him / her a fair trial before hangin'g 'im. I know knots!

PS: I worked in Yeehawland, USA for several years. The reason THEY called him the Sangin' Mushroom is because of the size of his ridiculous hats, big enough to keep his gittore dry in a rainstorm.

Can I ban Retrovin for earworming us with Christmas? Actually, can I add Christmas to the last of Banned words?

Well I didn't get ear-wormed (which is unusual, they usually hunt me out) and I am trying not to think about it. But you can certainly ban that word you mentioned. Can O&O cope with two grumpy mods though?

looksee wrote: »
    Can O&O cope with two grumpy mods though?
    Ban 'em if they can't cope. :cool:

OldGoat wrote: »
    Ban 'em if they can't cope. :cool:

Oh the weather outside is frightful.................

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭BlancheSparks

Can't be worse than here.....

OldGoat wrote: »
    Can I ban Retrovin for earworming us with Christmas? Actually, can I add Christmas to the last of Banned words?

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

and

Oh the weather outside is frightful.................

He's mockin' us now, slaggin' even! Us?!?!? Us poor, defenceless Os&Os. Never done no harm to nutt'n'. Always say our prayers and indicate five miles before the turn. Argyle socks or Nora Batty tights and sandals with velcro. Ovaltine before the teeth come out for the night. Always say "ahhh" after the first sip. Can't work the remote and grunt when we rise from d'oul armchair after Countdown or bowls.

And Retrovin is slaggin' us?!?!?

On second thoughts, banning is painless. Back to my posse idea, seek and destroy (after a fair trial, of course). Did I say that before? Can't remember.

Leaves page hastily before earworm lodges...

This reduced earworming for me but...........

Bless me Father for I have sinned: I've just watched TWO episodes of Wonder Woman (Dad's porn) on the Horror Channel.

See, the Nazis, in seventies uniforms and hairstyles, captured a big man in a gorilla suit and re-programmed him to kill Wonder Woman. (Don't know why!) But Wonder Woman pointed her.....eyes at him and he was re-re-programmed.
    But the man in the gorilla suit got shot by the Nazi with the New York accent, only winged him but Wonder Woman got the world famous gorilla doctor, who lives nearby, to patch him up and give him B&B.

But then, the evil Nazi gorilla re-programmer, Erica, who wears seventies style jodhpurs, arrives with no handbag but produces a huge syringe and a photo of Wonder Woman to re-re-re-programme the man in the gorilla suit. Of course, she has to hurry because the U-Boat is waiting to bring her, the Nazis in the seventies uniforms and the man in the gorilla suit back home to the Third Reich.

Can you stand the tension?

Colonel Steve Trevor, with his seventies style uniform, hairstyle and phrasing but who still can't tell the difference between Wonder Woman and Diana Prince when she wears her seventies style glasses, (he must be gay or something) arrived with a load of troops in seventies uniforms, driving seventies jeeps.

I missed some of the next bit because Diana Prince did her twizzle and turned into Wonder Woman again. Phhwooooaaarrr!

Then she ran around a lot on her Wonder Woman legs so, again, my attention was hampered somewhat. She also found time to stop a World War Two, seventies style, twin jet-engined Learjet aircraft from taking off from the US air base, which Colonel Steve Trevor seems to run single-handedly, by grabbing its wingtip, causing it to do "doughnuts" on the runway.

Still breathing normally, (I always check that part very carefully), she ran back to the secret, deserted warehouse, captured the evil Erica with her golden lasso, while Colonel Steve Trevor's troops did some minor capturing outside.

Then, still in her Wonder Woman gear, she delivered a lecture about not mistreating animals or something (I missed most of it because she was on her hunkers with the man in the gorilla suit and her legs stopped my ears working).

I think she might have brought the man in the gorilla suit back to Africa in her inflatable, see-through airplane but, as she walked from the camera, in her Wonder Woman hot pants and knee boots, my already battered attention to the plot just gave up, exactly as it did when Raquel Welch wore her fur bikini and when Ursula Undress strode out of the sea and when Diana Rigg wore her leather catsuit......and.........and........The Tiller Girls.

God, if I had been able to maintain attention on my studies in the 60's and 70's, I could have been a bleed'n genius!

I'm tempted to link to a trailer of the new WonderWoman film just to see if Brenz can take the strain. :D

Just got back from the supermarket, where I found myself humming a Christmas carol (not going to say the name in case I set it off again) as I picked up breakfast cereal.

BrensBenz wrote: »

and

He's mockin' us now, slaggin' even! Us?!?!? Us poor, defenceless Os&Os. Never done no harm to nutt'n'. Always say our prayers and indicate five miles before the turn. Argyle socks or Nora Batty tights and sandals with velcro. Ovaltine before the teeth come out for the night. Always say "ahhh" after the first sip. Can't work the remote and grunt when we rise from d'oul armchair after Countdown or bowls.

And Retrovin is slaggin' us?!?!?

On second thoughts, banning is painless. Back to my posse idea, seek and destroy (after a fair trial, of
    course). Did I say that before? Can't remember.
    Slagging is such a strong word......I'd say more of a spreading of christmas cheer.

Fer 'evans sake who has see the ban hammer? It was here a while ago OG are you getting a tad senile? (Like me if truth be told)

The good news is Hallowe'en is not too far in the future so we can all practice our horrific screams.

OK who's first?

Right Rube! I got the ban hammer (the big one) - one bong for calling OG senile (smiles ingratiatingly at OG) and one for mentioning Hallowe'en, which is nearly as bad as the other word these days.

Now will you all go and get your cocoa and somebody chuck out that young wan that is doing the stirring...

As much as I dislike discussing Christmas at this time of year, I absolutely LOATHE anything to do with Halloween. I don't do Halloween so there is no point in including me in yer ghoulish antics.

Back to more interesting things now. Brenses's narrative of the Wonderwoman plot was riveting, RIVETING! So I have a challenge for him and the rest of yiz. Himself has become awfully desperate for something to watch on the tellybox and has literally thrown, nay FLUNG himself into all things detective! Now that Poirot is no longer with us he watches Midsomer Murders (ad finitum), Lewis, and now recently Foyle's War which keeps us on our toes spotting all the Dublin backstreets and buildings that we know and love so well, each one disguised as London with a real alive red pillar box. We know the pillar box is ALIVE 'cos it appears in nearly every street scene so a walking talking pillar box is what it is! And then the most wonderfullest of all the detectives, which needs the Brens treatment more than all of them is (tah-dah-dah, tah-dah-dah!) Murdoch Mysteries. It's HILARIOUS! Brens? Go, git 'im!

The population of Midsomer must be in negative figures at this stage. Where do they keep finding victims?

Vultures all of them :cool:

vultures-patience-my-ass.jpg

If you want to know how to survive Midsomer....

http://midsomermurders.org/surviving.htm

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    ....needs the Brens treatment more than all of them is (tah-dah-dah, tah-dah-dah!) Murdoch Mysteries. It's HILARIOUS! Brens? Go, git 'im!

Unfortunately I find, oneself unfamiliar, with the detective of hoom you is referring of. Is it on very, late like? Obviously basically it could also, be at the end of the day going forward on you're Sky channels of which, I have none on my like telly which because, Mrs. Brensbenz telly has them on, her telly and I'm not made, of money and I can't work the Sky+ thing is all I get is grief for wiping Big Brother. Does the Murdock of what you mention of wear like hot pants and have legs up to hear? Because my head is still seeing them of Wonder Woman and theres' no room for more until thursday going forward.

One is however like obviously, devistyhid that Jessica was not included. In the defective detectives johnrah of what Mr. Jellybaby watches or like maybe, you didn't notice of it. I had bean, basically studying another defective detective johnrah from, Hollywoodland what miracle cures people in hostible while solving mirdirs as, well at the same like time called Diagnosis Mirdir with Dick Ven Doyk of which it must be the thickest. Of like them all its sooooo hard to watch a hole episode.

Spellcheck is like telling me of which grammar errors is in this like post but I've bean like improving going, forward my grammar by listening of the commentaryators on, the Glasgow like games and that like, all day in. A expanding pile of like hare what is falling out what going forward I'll have to hoover tomorrow the lady in the hostible said I should hoover my like head instead. And I can't like obviously basically talk unless they'res a spongey microphone in my face at. The end of the day.

Chihhhzzz.

Brenz, I think you would enjoy Spell Czechs - you have to pm Tar.Aldarion to ask to join.

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Yeah, we were great listeners to the Light Programme too, also the Home Service. Women's Hour, Beyond our Ken, Goons, Clitheroe, Billy Cotton, Ted Ray, Navy Lark, Music While You Work. How we laughed at the comedy shows. Hardly bears thinking of now that a family would sit down and listen to the wurless and fall about laughing. With the rubbish on TV these days, maybe its time to go searching along the ould dial again!

I can thoroughly recommend BBC Radio 4 Extra for almost all of those shows (should be on your fancy statalite).

This (first link below) always comes to mind when remembering wurless programmes from a distant past. Just skip past the "Aw yawh sitting comfawtehbleh....then Ah'll begin" and wallow in the lovely, simple choon on the piano. Blissful.

http://www.televisiontunes.com/Listen_With_Mother.html

Here's another link to BBC wurless choons, including Housewives Choice, my alarm clock while in primary school. If I wasn't shovelling brown sugar on my porridge by the end of the first request, I'd be late for school.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_wuMnEuQ5Y