Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Well luckily it's not stones, seems to be an infection. She's had her antibiotic now and we also have drops to give her for the rest of the week, hopefully she'll be right as rain in a few days :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

My dog has just eaten half a 'tray' of seven seas joint care, doesn't seem to have anything in it other than codliver oil, vegetable oil, glucosamine and a bunch of vitamins so I don't forsee any problems other than having a very shiny dog

Mother dearest has been suitably told off :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

I'm so proud of Cato this weekend. My 7 week old niece came to stay and he has been SO good. It's amazing how quickly dogs realise how fragile babies are. He follows her every move and gets very upset when he can't keep an eye on her, he sleeps on the floor beside the pram when she sleeps. It's crazy. For a 9 month old pup he tones himself down so much with her. It's very sweet :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

My dog has just eaten half a 'tray' of seven seas joint care, doesn't seem to have anything in it other than codliver oil, vegetable oil, glucosamine and a bunch of vitamins so I don't forsee any problems other than having a very shiny dog

Sorry this made me laugh, I can just imagine the poor dog glittering like something out of twilight :pac:

You should just make sure that none of the vitamins can cause toxicity with over dose, should be easy enough info to find online!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

You should just make sure that none of the vitamins can cause toxicity with over dose, should be easy enough info to find online!

I've given her loads of wet dog food with extra water mixed in to help flush it out, I'm told there was only 3 capsules left in it and quite a bit of the contents ended up on the carpet. My vet was less than impressed with having her dinner interrupted on Easter Sunday :p

Keeping a close eye on her all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Haha I know I shouldn't be laughing but I was waiting for you to say he ate a tray of chocolates! Least he'l have no complaints about his joints for a while and better for him than robbing someone's easter egg! :D On a serious note I hope he has no adverse effects.

Once again proud of my guy today, met 2 off lead dogs (well 2 yorkies and a jrt, 1 yorkie had to be picked up as apparently he was a fight starter) and 2 ponies and not a peep out of him. Like a normal dog he pulled a bit to meet the 2 dogs but gave them both a good sniffing and a few play bows and walked away calmly. Pulled a bit at the ponies and showed obvious interest but nothing like he would've done a few months ago, we used to have to cut the walk short and completely bypass horses as he went completely bonkers at them. It's nice to actually look forward to meeting other dogs on walks anymore! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭northern lights

Once again proud of my guy today, met 2 off lead dogs (well 2 yorkies and a jrt, 1 yorkie had to be picked up as apparently he was a fight starter) and 2 ponies and not a peep out of him. Like a normal dog he pulled a bit to meet the 2 dogs but gave them both a good sniffing and a few play bows and walked away calmly. Pulled a bit at the ponies and showed obvious interest but nothing like he would've done a few months ago, we used to have to cut the walk short and completely bypass horses as he went completely bonkers at them. It's nice to actually look forward to meeting other dogs on walks anymore! :D[/QUOTE]

Zapperzy, would you mind giving me some advice/training tips re how you managed to get him to calm down as my guy is exactly the same as yours was. He just gets so worked up that he literally doesn't know what to with himself. He was a stray dog that we've adopted and when we first found him he'd bite marks on his face and paws so had obviously been in a scrap. It's like he really wants to make friends but then gets insecure and thinks oh I'd better act all fierce before you get in there first, if you know what I mean. Would just love to be able to go for a walk and have him stay calm. Have tried distracting him with treats and lots of praise but no good! Meet up once a week with a friend and her dogs and he's grand running around with them but there's no socialisation classes near where I am so I'm at a bit of a loss. Any/all tips gratefully received!! :D

Once again proud of my guy today, met 2 off lead dogs (well 2 yorkies and a jrt, 1 yorkie had to be picked up as apparently he was a fight starter) and 2 ponies and not a peep out of him. Like a normal dog he pulled a bit to meet the 2 dogs but gave them both a good sniffing and a few play bows and walked away calmly. Pulled a bit at the ponies and showed obvious interest but nothing like he would've done a few months ago, we used to have to cut the walk short and completely bypass horses as he went completely bonkers at them. It's nice to actually look forward to meeting other dogs on walks anymore! :D

Zapperzy, would you mind giving me some advice/training tips re how you managed to get him to calm down as my guy is exactly the same as yours was. He just gets so worked up that he literally doesn't know what to with himself. He was a stray dog that we've adopted and when we first found him he'd bite marks on his face and paws so had obviously been in a scrap. It's like he really wants to make friends but then gets insecure and thinks oh I'd better act all fierce before you get in there first, if you know what I mean. Would just love to be able to go for a walk and have him stay calm. Have tried distracting him with treats and lots of praise but no good! Meet up once a week with a friend and her dogs and he's grand running around with them but there's no socialisation classes near where I am so I'm at a bit of a loss. Any/all tips gratefully received!! :D[/Quote]

Your probably best starting your own thread, you'l get more advice then. I can't put my finger on any one thing I done tbh, it started off when I met my boss walking her shih tzu x, stopped for a chat which gave him loads of time to get aquatinted. Then just started letting him meet each dog for a sniff (provided the other owners looked ok with it) rather than dragging him away for fear of him starting off. I use a halti with a short lead when I see something coming in the distance I need more control for (dogs, bikes, horses, kids etc), I find he's too hyped up when on a harness and long lead and calmer starting out wearing a halti.

I'm not holding my breath and thinking he's 'cured' yet, nor do I believe I have any magic training method I used. Up to now iv tried everything, treats and toys for distraction, picking the dog up, complete avoidance, treating and praising him at a distance from other dogs when he's quiet, barking no at him when he does start off, holding the lead loads of different ways to stop him picking up on my tension, standing between him and offensive object. None of it ever seemed to work. Went to a trainer/behaviourist years ago, moreso for general obedience but she tried to address his other dog problem by giving us advice and even seen herself his reaction at another collie and all her tips and tricks failed to make any difference. If I was closer to a behaviourist from the apdt website I would have given them a go but I'm not prepared to give my very limited money and time to any other behaviourist.

For the time being anyways I'm keeping him on a halti meeting other dogs, letting them meet each other and praising him afterwards when it goes well. And hopefully he'l continue to improve. Trust me I know how stressful it is having a dog-reactive dog, the worst part is wondering what the other person is thinking, my dog is a lovely natured fella but to see him lunge and bark you'd think he'd tear strips off ya which can't be further from the truth!

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭northern lights

Many thanks zapperzy..
    You sound just like me!! which is actually really reassuring, as I too have tried everything you have written down to the last word! including picking him up which is no mean feat!! I've also had a trainer/behaviourist over to the house and of course he was on his best behaviour with him :o
    The only thing I haven't tried is the halti, been looking them up online recently but don't actually know anyone that's used one so it's great to hear you're getting on so well with it. Like you, I do think others must think I own a lunatic whereas in every other aspect he's the most fantastic, loveable, intelligent dog. Think I'll give the halti a try now ;)
    Again, thank you. I really do appreciate you taking the time to reply :)

Many thanks zapperzy..
    You sound just like me!! which is actually really reassuring, as I too have tried everything you have written down to the last word! including picking him up which is no mean feat!! I've also had a trainer/behaviourist over to the house and of course he was on his best behaviour with him :o
    The only thing I haven't tried is the halti, been looking them up online recently but don't actually know anyone that's used one so it's great to hear you're getting on so well with it. Like you, I do think others must think I own a lunatic whereas in every other aspect he's the most fantastic, loveable, intelligent dog. Think I'll give the halti a try now ;)
    Again, thank you. I really do appreciate you taking the time to reply :)

If you do decide to use a halti introduce it very slowly around the house first before walking him on it. Probably best to start your own thread too if you want more advice, I'm only listing what's working for my guy, your fella might have different issues to mine and others would probably know better, the halti could be completely the wrong thing for him altogether. If your anywhere near anyone off this list I'd highly recommend them http://apdt.ie/index.php/find-a-trainer/

Not sure where else this should go, so small bit of a rant ahead...

When I was leaving my house yesterday myself and my fiancée found a black cat who was licking a puddle of water. We hadn't seen him around before, but when he saw us he tried to run away, and kept falling over. We figured he had broken a leg so we tried to grab him to see if there was a collar with a name on it (there wasn't). Once we grabbed him he calmed down dramatically, and fell asleep on my OH's legs. We decided to bring him to a vet, and figured the DSPCA would be the best as most others wouldn't have been open on a Bank Holiday.

When I tried to ring the DSPCA number and the emergency number kept ringing twice and then cutting off. So we went up anyways, and to be expected their vet centre was also closed. Went into the boarding centre, and got chatting to some of the staff there, and we were eventually told that they couldn't take the cat as there wasn't a vet on site. I was surprised at the lack of information that they gave to us though, as we were told to try any vet (the cat had gotten sick, pee'd in the car on the way, was breathing quite shallow-like at this stage, and as we later found out was coughing up blood as well - I'm not a vet but it's clear there are potentially life threatening symptoms there which require a sense of urgency). I had heard that the DSPCA have been suffering with a lack of funding lately so I would assume that is part of the reason for the poor communication on all parts.

We took the little fellah to UCD Veterinary Hospital (after ringing around a few places, we finally got the number for there). The cat wasn't microchipped either, so I've been thinking that there must be some family nearby where we live today who is sadly missing their beloved cat - must keep an eye out over the next few days for posters of someone missing their cat. The cat wasn't thin and as mentioned when came into contact with a human (that treated it nicely) it calmed down dramatically. But the cat had suffered head trauma, assuming from a car hitting it, which again made me think that someone selfishly had hit the animal and kept going.

So the day left me slightly angry at three parties - the owners for not microchipping and putting a collar on the animal, the person who hit the cat and kept going, and the DSPCA for their poor communication. From ringing up UCD Vet Hospital (who were excellent) a few times last night, they advised that the cat might end up being transferred to the DSPCA for treatment.

Not sure what the point of this post is, I think I just need to get it off my chest. But I suppose the one thing that yesterday did make me do was that both of us spent all evening cuddling our dog, Snickers.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭rorrissey

http://runtodahillz.tumblr.com/post/20657446441/messaging-with-a-dog

Just found this randomly, thought it was funny! :P (ignore the giant banner part!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

this is a bit of a funny one.....didn't want to start a thread over it, so will just post it here..

my lab (7 months) is a very stubborn girl. bit of a struggle in the house to know who is boss and who is not. she knows her commands, but only perfects them when you have food in your hand... otherwise, she doesn't have much interest of following commands. anyway, when i call her to come.. she will if i have something she wants. otherwise she goes the other direction... but when i start walking towards her, she will drop down and roll onto her back? why does she do this? i understand that laying on their back is a sign of submission.. but she does this every time i call her (unless i have something she wants)
    why is she doing this?
    how can i get her to just come to me instead of just laying down and rolling onto her back?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

this is a bit of a funny one.....didn't want to start a thread over it, so will just post it here..

my lab (7 months) is a very stubborn girl. bit of a struggle in the house to know who is boss and who is not. she knows her commands, but only perfects them when you have food in your hand... otherwise, she doesn't have much interest of following commands. anyway, when i call her to come.. she will if i have something she wants. otherwise she goes the other direction... but when i start walking towards her, she will drop down and roll onto her back? why does she do this? i understand that laying on their back is a sign of submission.. but she does this every time i call her (unless i have something she wants)
    why is she doing this?
    how can i get her to just come to me instead of just laying down and rolling onto her back?

She's definitely testing you. 6-9mths is the ideal time to start proper obedience training so while the rolling over could be a submissive thing, id more likely go with the "she's messing with you" and she's figured out that by rolling over on her back means its harder for you to move her and/or get her lead on her collar. Shes blocked the back of her neck and rolled on her back to stop being moved.

Would you start a few obedience classes with her? While food is a good way to start off training, you can learn to move on to clicker and toy training, whereby she learns to love the praise or her toy and not food.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

makes sense.. not sure if we can afford obedience classes at the moment, but will look into the clicker. she's a little divil at the moment.. and we live by a dangerous road, so would like her to obey commands for her own safety!

Youtube dog training vids (im sure someone here can recommend you some) and stick to them religiously. She is at the prime age where she will continually test her boundaries with you. You have to be CONSISTENT but PATIENT, key words in training. It really is worth putting in the effort, no matter how hard it is at this age.

Wish they'd invent a fast-melt wormer or something for cats. Second night in a row trying to "disguise" Beanies worming tablet after unsuccessfully trying to pill him by mouth and im still finding bits that he's somehow spit out. :o

Oh and he's hyperactive this eve...literally doin laps of the sitting room.Fed him Kittycrack this week as ran out of RC.Ooops! The dog is just starin at him like he's gone bananas!!

Just found this. Never heard of a spot on wormer for cats that worked before. Anyone seen this about?

anniehoo wrote: »
    Wish they'd invent a fast-melt wormer or something for cats. Second night in a row trying to "disguise" Beanies worming tablet after unsuccessfully trying to pill him by mouth and im still finding bits that he's somehow spit out. :o

Oh and he's hyperactive this eve...literally doin laps of the sitting room.Fed him Kittycrack this week as ran out of RC.Ooops! The dog is just starin at him like he's gone bananas!!

Just found this. Never heard of a spot on wormer for cats that worked before. Anyone seen this about?

I'v seen profender being sold before, never used it myself. I just give the odd drontal every now and again and whack it down her throat. Have you ever used one of these? http://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-supplies-giving-tablets-c-141_27/buster-tablet-introducer-giver-softtip-p-2515

I have yeh. Keeping him flippin still is the flippin problem...:D Definitely going to source that Profender, it will save all the drama. Its by Bayer so must be decent enough and the active ingredients incl praziquantel are spot on.

My Peach is currently sitting on the floor with her front 2 paws inside my moms slipper. She is a strange creature! Im afraid of disturbing her if I go to get the camera so ill upload a crappy phone picture later :)

Smart cat keeping her feet warm!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

anniehoo wrote: »
    Youtube dog training vids (im sure someone here can recommend you some) and stick to them religiously. .

Search KIKOPUP - I've only seen a few but think she's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Dolorous wrote: »
    Well luckily it's not stones, seems to be an infection. She's had her antibiotic now and we also have drops to give her for the rest of the week, hopefully she'll be right as rain in a few days :)

I might have to take her back to the vet, there was blood in her urine this morning and she peed outside the litter box also, she must be associating it with the pain :( Surely the antibiotics should have worked by now, we've been giving her drops since Saturday...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Anyone know why DBB has disappeared - I don't think she was banned :D

No posts in two weeks & she is not replying to email.

EDIT Forget it - she has just replied to a text. She's been on hols & didn't miss us one bit !

• Registered Users Posts: 14,020 ✭✭✭✭tk123

:(:eek: I got my at risk of redundancy notice last week.. looks like faith has decided to give me a little push as I've been wanting a career change for a while now. I'm happy, sad, relieved and stressed all at once!!

Were you expecting it or is it out of the blue? Hopefully things will work out well for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,020 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Knew it was coming tbh.

I'm sure it doesn't make it any easier. When I was let go it was out of the blue. One morning we showed up and the bosses were outside, telling us we couldn't go in - the place had been shut down. I hope you look back on it as a great thing for you, if it pushes you into a career change it could be a blessing.

http://www.theroyal.ie/july/1stforever-pets-expo.html

Anyone going or has anyone else even heard of it? I presume M is for Mayo, but nothing on their website about it. Wonder will you be able to bring your own dog?

The aforementioned picture of princess Peach warming her little jelly bean toes :)Slipper.jpg