The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    I went to go there today but they had literally closed the kitchen 5 mins before we walked in the door at 16:05!
    The girl apologised and said they were still getting used to things, id say they have been busy! Smelled amazing in there though!

Better to close the kitchen than send out substandard food or make people wait far too long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,311 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Better to close the kitchen than send out substandard food or make people wait far too long!

Oh I know, just couldn't believe we missed it by 5 mins...couldn't find parking :(
    I shall go earlier another day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Anyone tried Camerons Fine Home Bakery on Washington Street? Seems to be getting good reviews on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

northgirl wrote: »
    Anyone tried Camerons Fine Home Bakery on Washington Street? Seems to be getting good reviews on Facebook.

another new place on washington street? where is this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

northgirl wrote: »

The name annoys me already. Fine food and home baking are two opposite ends of the cooking scale. You get to choose one, not both.

This grammatical car crash is from their website:
    "Newly arrived, you will find in a large range of sandwiches, bakings, all baked in store under your eyes, and with the most fresh and local ingredient the seaons can bring us."

English may not be a first language here, but it's not that hard to hit the spellcheck button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

pwurple wrote: »
    The name annoys me already. Fine food and home baking are two opposite ends of the cooking scale. You get to choose one, not both.

"Newly arrived, you will find in a large range of sandwiches, bakings, all baked in store under your eyes, and with the most fresh and local ingredient the seaons can bring us."

English may not be a first language here, but it's not that hard to hit the spellcheck button.

Oh dear :D They also describe their produce and invite you to "try it on" :pac:

Having said that, the pics on the website look good, so I would like to give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

I guess this place is about to get very busy after a write-up like this. Anyone been? Is it as good as it sounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Yeah the website is premature in terms on content and fairly hastily put together, better to not rush something like that & get it right first time....I'll still try the place though due to a deep seated love of baked goods

Washington Street is picking up massively - the introduction of Student apartments could really see the place liven up in the coming years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

BailMeOut wrote: »
    I guess this place is about to get very busy after a write-up like this. Anyone been? Is it as good as it sounds?

Yes, it's really good! But, suffers from logistics and layout. You can't eat in there really... so you have to take-away. nothing is ever as nice take-away.

Hope to feck they expand.

Yes, it's really good! But, suffers from logistics and layout. You can't eat in there really... so you have to take-away. nothing is ever as nice take-away.

Hope to feck they expand.

yep - wish it was an actual restaurant.. as its really a take away...
    i've not tried it due to this matter but its been getting fave reviews for a long time now.. if your into japanese food apparently its top top notch

Well in that piece quoted, they say they do plan on opening a restaurant, so I look forward to that. It's a real treat getting takeaway from Miyazaki, I just love it. Top quality, healthy, fresh, authentic stuff.

Malari wrote: »
    Well in that piece quoted, they say they do plan on opening a restaurant, so I look forward to that. It's a real treat getting takeaway from Miyazaki, I just love it. Top quality, healthy, fresh, authentic stuff.

i wanna try it - but i don't think i would like the flavour profile - i love thai - don't have a massive savoury taste preference...

not a fan of noodles..

what would you recommend to try? for a novice? and not the katsu curry lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

That Japanese chef really had to go through the mill to get to where he is now, well done to him. I've not eaten there, usually go to Sakuru but must try it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

I'm fairly regularly at Miyazaki and I absolutely love it. Granted, they don't have a lot of seats and often you have to take your food away. But the food is totally worth the inconvenience.

The menu they have online will give you an idea, but it's all about the daily specials for me. Mostly I tend to end up with rice bowls or the occasional ramen.

It also looks absolutely stunning to the point where even I can take amazing pictures (not much of a talent in that regard):
    http://i.imgur.com/7MdRVBL.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/KkcNHYj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

I guess this place is about to get very busy after a write-up like this.  Anyone been?  Is it as good as it sounds?
    Yes totally lives up to it, so much tastier than the other Japanese places Sakura etc... (and i love Sakura) he really is an amazing talent.
    his knowledge as well is exceptional.

sporina wrote: »
    i wanna try it - but i don't think i would like the flavour profile - i love thai - don't have a massive savoury taste preference...

not a fan of noodles..

what would you recommend to try? for a novice? and not the katsu curry lol

I normally get some kind of fish special. The last one was like salmon sashimi (raw) with rice and veg. I'm not a fan of soupy-noodly dishes, so generally with rice. The tempura dishes are lovely too. Usually I'll just ask for a recommendation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

sporina wrote:
    you sure? never seen that advertised..

Look on the bottom of the tub... Should say compostable...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

nerwen wrote: »
    I'm fairly regularly at Miyazaki and I absolutely love it. Granted, they don't have a lot of seats and often you have to take your food away. But the food is totally worth the inconvenience.

The menu they have online will give you an idea, but it's all about the daily specials for me. Mostly I tend to end up with rice bowls or the occasional ramen.

It also looks absolutely stunning to the point where even I can take amazing pictures (not much of a talent in that regard):
    http://i.imgur.com/7MdRVBL.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/KkcNHYj.jpg

but aren't there dishes that cannot be taken away?

It's usually the soupy-noodly ones I think! Only a few...they have them marked on the menu and specials board.

Malari wrote: »
    It's usually the soupy-noodly ones I think! Only a few...they have them marked on the menu and specials board.

cool - can you ring ahead to order for a collection?

I'm sure you can. I've never done so, but haven't had to wait long either.

I guess if you are coming by car, parking is difficult in that area, so ringing ahead would be an option.

It's very very good but for the normal Joe Soap (me for example) you'd wonder what the critics are speeling on about. Like a decent film that's critically acclaimed etc etc. It's incomparable to stuff from any other takeaway.

I do hope he sorts himself out with a decent restaurant premises so he can fulfill his potential.

Augeo wrote: »
    It's very very good but for the normal Joe Soap (me for example) you'd wonder what the critics are speeling on about. Like a decent film that's critically acclaimed etc etc. It's incomparable to stuff from any other takeaway.

I do hope he sorts himself out with a decent restaurant premises so he can fulfill his potential.

you would imagine that a bank would be willing to give him a loan based on this rep and biz etc but ya never know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Was in Orso last night, excellent food, great to see a menu without the usual suspects, 2 types of steak, supreme of chicken, etc etc. Lovely flatbreads, cous cous, herself had a fish stew which she is still ranting on about and she's a fussy bitch when it comes to food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

Tried a donut from the newest place today, Cream. They didn't have any without filling (my preference), so I grabbed a chocolate one. The chocolate filling was really nice but the donut itself was was too greasy for me.

If I want another I'll probably stick to the cinnamon sugar from the Shack which I quite liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Tried a donut from the newest place today, Cream. They didn't have any without filling (my preference), so I grabbed a chocolate one. The chocolate filling was really nice but the donut itself was was too greasy for me.

If I want another I'll probably stick to the cinnamon sugar from the Shack which I quite liked.

Ya had a jam one from there last weekend, it was just meh. Must try the shack, I didn't like oh my donut, huckleberry's was good.

roundymac wrote: »
    Was in Orso last night, excellent food, great to see a menu without the usual suspects, 2 types of steak, supreme of chicken, etc etc. Lovely flatbreads, cous cous, herself had a fish stew which she is still ranting on about and she's a fussy bitch when it comes to food.

love the place - oh do they have a anew menu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

okay so im normally of the opinion that doughnuts are a waste of perfectly good calories, its fried dough people. But had one of the cinnamon sugar rings from the shack after the marathon on sunday and it was unreal, tasted a bit eof my friend lemon meringue and it was gunk, but defo +1 on the cinnamon sugar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

So I just had lunch in Spitjack.

I had high hopes for this place and I'm disappointed. There really wasn't enough food there to form a proper opinion on the food. I had the pork porchetta sandwich and its never a good sign when there is more fillings than meat in the sandwich. From what I did taste it was nice, the pork was melt in your mouth, the crackling was lovely and the fillings worked well in combination. But one slice of meat for €13? Not good enough.

The side was skinny fries which the portion was the size of small mug, there wasn't much taste to this as they were cut so thin there wasn't really any potato just crispy skins.

My lunch partner had the roast chicken, commented the chicken was melt in your mouth, while the portion was better than mine it was still small.

The owner came to the table very friendly guy, I gave him my honest feedback, he thanked me and offered me complimentary dessert which was nice but I couldn't oblige I was stuck for time unfortunately.

I left starving to be honest, €13 for that was not even close to good value.

On another note, the interior is amazing, great job they did.

Hope it improves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

rob316 wrote: »
    So I just had lunch in Spitjack.

I had high hopes for this place and I'm disappointed. There really wasn't enough food there to form a proper opinion on the food. I had the pork porchetta sandwich and its never a good sign when there is more fillings than meat in the sandwich. From what I did taste it was nice, the pork was melt in your mouth, the crackling was lovely and the fillings worked well in combination. But one slice of meat for €13? Not good enough.

The side was skinny fries which the portion was the size of small mug, there wasn't much taste to this as they were cut so thin there wasn't really any potato just crispy skins.

My lunch partner had the roast chicken, commented the chicken was melt in your mouth, while the portion was better than mine it was still small.

The owner came to the table very friendly guy, I gave him my honest feedback, he thanked me and offered me complimentary dessert which was nice but I couldn't oblige I was stuck for time unfortunately.

I left starving to be honest, €13 for that was not even close to good value.

On another note, the interior is amazing, great job they did.

Hope it improves.

Thanks for your review rob316 (always fair and honest). I was really looking forward to trying the Spitjack but having read your review, I'm already feeling disappointed! The menu sounds amazing but I did think that it looked a bit pricy but was thinking, well there'll probably be good portions, there would want to be for those prices.....doesn't look like it. I was really hoping this place would be something special.....i will still go there though, just to see for myself, I'm still curious!