sammyjo90 wrote: » I went to go there today but they had literally closed the kitchen 5 mins before we walked in the door at 16:05! The girl apologised and said they were still getting used to things, id say they have been busy! Smelled amazing in there though!
the beer revolu wrote: » Better to close the kitchen than send out substandard food or make people wait far too long!
northgirl wrote: » Anyone tried Camerons Fine Home Bakery on Washington Street? Seems to be getting good reviews on Facebook.
pwurple wrote: » The name annoys me already. Fine food and home baking are two opposite ends of the cooking scale. You get to choose one, not both. This grammatical car crash is from their website:"Newly arrived, you will find in a large range of sandwiches, bakings, all baked in store under your eyes, and with the most fresh and local ingredient the seaons can bring us." English may not be a first language here, but it's not that hard to hit the spellcheck button.
Miyazaki - the little Japanese takeaway luring top restaurant critics to Cork
BailMeOut wrote: » I guess this place is about to get very busy after a write-up like this. Anyone been? Is it as good as it sounds?
pwurple wrote: » Yes, it's really good! But, suffers from logistics and layout. You can't eat in there really... so you have to take-away. nothing is ever as nice take-away. Hope to feck they expand.
Malari wrote: » Well in that piece quoted, they say they do plan on opening a restaurant, so I look forward to that. It's a real treat getting takeaway from Miyazaki, I just love it. Top quality, healthy, fresh, authentic stuff.
BailMeOut wrote: » Miyazaki - the little Japanese takeaway luring top restaurant critics to Cork I guess this place is about to get very busy after a write-up like this. Anyone been? Is it as good as it sounds?
sporina wrote: » i wanna try it - but i don't think i would like the flavour profile - i love thai - don't have a massive savoury taste preference... not a fan of noodles.. what would you recommend to try? for a novice? and not the katsu curry lol
sporina wrote: you sure? never seen that advertised..
nerwen wrote: » I'm fairly regularly at Miyazaki and I absolutely love it. Granted, they don't have a lot of seats and often you have to take your food away. But the food is totally worth the inconvenience. The menu they have online will give you an idea, but it's all about the daily specials for me. Mostly I tend to end up with rice bowls or the occasional ramen. It also looks absolutely stunning to the point where even I can take amazing pictures (not much of a talent in that regard):http://i.imgur.com/7MdRVBL.jpghttp://i.imgur.com/KkcNHYj.jpg
sporina wrote: » but aren't there dishes that cannot be taken away?
Malari wrote: » It's usually the soupy-noodly ones I think! Only a few...they have them marked on the menu and specials board.
sporina wrote: » cool - can you ring ahead to order for a collection?
Augeo wrote: » It's very very good but for the normal Joe Soap (me for example) you'd wonder what the critics are speeling on about. Like a decent film that's critically acclaimed etc etc. It's incomparable to stuff from any other takeaway.I do hope he sorts himself out with a decent restaurant premises so he can fulfill his potential.
nerwen wrote: » Tried a donut from the newest place today, Cream. They didn't have any without filling (my preference), so I grabbed a chocolate one. The chocolate filling was really nice but the donut itself was was too greasy for me. If I want another I'll probably stick to the cinnamon sugar from the Shack which I quite liked.
roundymac wrote: » Was in Orso last night, excellent food, great to see a menu without the usual suspects, 2 types of steak, supreme of chicken, etc etc. Lovely flatbreads, cous cous, herself had a fish stew which she is still ranting on about and she's a fussy bitch when it comes to food.
rob316 wrote: » So I just had lunch in Spitjack. I had high hopes for this place and I'm disappointed. There really wasn't enough food there to form a proper opinion on the food. I had the pork porchetta sandwich and its never a good sign when there is more fillings than meat in the sandwich. From what I did taste it was nice, the pork was melt in your mouth, the crackling was lovely and the fillings worked well in combination. But one slice of meat for €13? Not good enough. The side was skinny fries which the portion was the size of small mug, there wasn't much taste to this as they were cut so thin there wasn't really any potato just crispy skins. My lunch partner had the roast chicken, commented the chicken was melt in your mouth, while the portion was better than mine it was still small. The owner came to the table very friendly guy, I gave him my honest feedback, he thanked me and offered me complimentary dessert which was nice but I couldn't oblige I was stuck for time unfortunately. I left starving to be honest, €13 for that was not even close to good value. On another note, the interior is amazing, great job they did. Hope it improves.