Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Throwers and throws coaching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Bruce7

I think 30m in the discus is quite a decent mark for a beginner to hit in their first season, especially a masters athlete.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Trevor O Connell

These are more or less standing throws, yep Rory this is for someone starting for the first time, never threw either before.

Now look I know its not as simple as this but I just want a few figures in my head for my own benefit

Trevor

I must admit I thought a 30m javelin throw for a person starting javelin for the first time is not too bad.

I think you are born with a fast arm for Javelin some people have it and some don't

I know guys u16 that can throw a senior javelin well beyond 40m

They just have that fast pull throw from the withdrawl position

Its an interesting event, very technical

In terms of the discus I think its okay if you are using discs u p to 1.5kg

But I think once you go to the 2k disc it gets hard in terms of the spin

Trevor

I must admit I thought a 30m javelin throw for a person starting javelin for the first time is not too bad.

Actually I take that back. I know nothing about the javelin, so have no right to comment on it. That was a completely unfounded assumption.

The important thing is to keep it up and keep improving, whatever level you are at.

Sure I know very little too Bruce but its always nice to learn how these events work.

I do believe the only way to do that is by actually training for the event yourself.

Even at a basic level.

I think about 45m to 55m is a good distance for a club senior athlete in Ireland.

In masters, well we will know this weekend but I think some guys can throw in to the 50s that's a good throw in my opinion.

Trevor

Yes, it definitely is. Good luck on Saturday. What distance are you hoping for in the shot?

Bruce the other thing I tried the other day, the shot put rotational throw..

I just wanted to see what it would feel like.

God its difficult to get the timing

But I think if you can master it, a person with a slight build could actually throw better with the rotation then with the glide

Again only my personal view but I'd consider myself to have a small enough build i.e. I'm not built like a shot putter.

Trevor

Well lets put it like this Bruce, if I threw 9m on Saturday I'd be over the moon. I just seem to be going backwards. But I will stick at it

This is my first year in competition in almost 15 years, 1997 was my last time and back then I was a 400m man.

I only took the shot put up In April.

I'm going to try Javelin, Shot and Discus

Now I know lads give out if you throw bad but flip you only live once.

I will be better next year.

:):):):)

I hope, and if not back to 400m

But the training for the 400m is so bloody hard.

In terms of the shot I want to stick at it until I get the rotation working.

The main reason I'm trying to learn about these events is to pass it on to other young athletes.

I was training the local team for community games this year and I have one lad going in the u10 60m hurdles next weekend.

So aside from myself competing I'd also like to coach at a very basic level down the line

Trevor

You have to get worse before you can get better. Nothing wrong with 9m. Depending on the age group you are in, and who shows up, it could get you a medal. Good luck with it.

I agree on the rotation, but you need to put in a lot of work on your technique. Much more than with the glide. In my opinion it would be easier to learn if you aren't that experienced with the glide. A long time glider has to un-learn the glide as well as learning the spin, in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Trevor, you'll have a blast at Tullamore. The masters throwing crowd are great craic and the standard varies from pretty damn good to rather poor.

If you get the chance have a little chat to Patsy O'Connor, Tralee Harriers. A great guy and full of advice.

Here's the link to last year's results so you can see what you're in for beforehand.

I'm still dining out on winning the All-Ireland M55 shot title in 2008 - no one else in that category turned up :pac: Maybe I'll enter the M60 next year once that Conway blighter has moved up to M65.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2006/05/masters-men1.pdf

I think I need to be realistic, only doing javelin / discus 3 weeks, not even that

So if I can throw

25m javelin
    20m discus - getting it out of the cage, have not throwing from the cage yet
    9m shot put

I think I'd be happy going in to next year

At least I'd have a base to work from

I think I've a 11m shot in me if I get the training and one of the techniques right. But not this year.

Trevor

Might see you there Roy

Yep the masters are good crap

I'd be at the poor scale of things for the moment... :):):):)

But roll on next year, the new and improved TOC

I know Patsy from the Munster Masters

God he is a mad man, hyper is not the word. I'd love to have his energy

Trevor

• Registered Users Posts: 15 rugbymad08

Does anybody know of any throwing groups in the clare area

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=26283

This was cancelled, but there are contact details included for future sessions.

Well lads, I'd a very bad day yesterday at Masters. A bit all over the place but it was good to go.

Actually the discus competition was good as I could watch close up how other lads threw.

Same from the shot, one lad actually did the rotation and it was good to see it in real life.

I also learned a valuable lesson, throwing a discus in a football field is not the same as throwing from the cage. I never realised how narrow the throwing area is.

Well its munster masters indoors next December so a few weeks rest and back again to training.

I'm still confident I have an average throw in both discus and shot if I can improve my technique.

That was one thing that amazed me yesterday

There were lads who had a lot less gym work then me done and they were far superior because they had great technique.

Even watching them outside the ring, running through the spins moves stage by stage.

I think one area I've neglected is throwing from the actual ring, once a week is not enough. And if possible it also helps if you can get someone to tell you where you are making mistakes

The weather was great yesterday.

The only thing that was a bit confusing was the throwing areas. It was my first nationals and I just assumed it was all on the track. Never knew there was a throwing area outside the track

Trevor

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Pirate1980

Well done to Anita Fitzgibbon who threw a new national record today with a distance of 52.21

Well done Trevor. Glad you enjoyed your day despite average results. It certainly is a different experience stepping into the circle in competition with everyone watching than throwing on your own.

Remember as well that some (not all) of those boys will have been throwing competitively for years. They'll also have had some coaching along the way. A little bit of coaching in the basics goes a long way.

I'm determined to travel over to compete again next year - you've given me the bug again. Were all the throws outside? It's usually just hammer.

Pirate1980 wrote: »
    Well done to Anita Fitzgibbon who threw a new national record today with a distance of 52.21

Unfortunately this was disallowed as the javelin she used was one or two cm longer or shorter than regulations permit. Not sure which. A rotten piece of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Well done Trevor. Glad you enjoyed your day despite average results. It certainly is a different experience stepping into the circle in competition with everyone watching than throwing on your own.

Remember as well that some (not all) of those boys will have been throwing competitively for years. They'll also have had some coaching along the way. A little bit of coaching in the basics goes a long way.

I'm determined to travel over to compete again next year - you've given me the bug again. Were all the throws outside? It's usually just hammer.

The Hammer, Discus and some of the Shot Putt comps were outside as with the recent rain the infield was almost a swamp.
    The new Hammer cage was used this year and the comps went off quite well but due to some clashes in the timetable there was a delay to the start of the day.
    Overall the standard was high with David Sweeney setting an age group record in the Discus 43m+

Bruce7 wrote: »
    Unfortunately this was disallowed as the javelin she used was one or two cm longer or shorter than regulations permit. Not sure which. A rotten piece of luck.

very upsetting for Anita, the Javelin was just short of the minimun length required.
    With the International throws feast on in Templemore on the 1st of September one would hope that her recent good throwing will continue and she will make that record her own.

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭a_non_a_mouse

longjump67 wrote: »
    very upsetting for Anita, the Javelin was just short of the minimun length required.
    With the International throws feast on in Templemore on the 1st of September one would hope that her recent good throwing will continue and she will make that record her own.

Yeah, its a pity about the record and I'm sure everyone hopes she can reproduce the same form in Templemore.
    I suggest she contest the hammer as part of her warmup....obviously didn't do her harm on Sun :-)

Yeah, its a pity about the record and I'm sure everyone hopes she can reproduce the same form in Templemore.
    I suggest she contest the hammer as part of her warmup....obviously didn't do her harm on Sun :-)

Just glad she didn't injure herself doing the hammer, but did the right thing by leaving the comp as soon as she had recorded a throw.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Pirate1980

It was actually only 3mm short due to wear and tear on the javelin, an appeal has gone in as her javelin met the weight and was certified when she was in Portugal in the summer with the Irish team, hope she gets it as 3mm is barely noticeable

My Daughter is competing in her first multi-events comp on Sunday. She will be throwing the 2.72kg shot so will be good practice for next year. was fun training her for high, Long and Hurdles don't expect her to impact overall but with a good shot she should get close to the leaders for a while at least.

With the throws feast on the 1st of Sept in Templemore that will end a long T&F season for me, will take a few weeks off to recharge the batteries then back to long winter training, God the season flew-in.

Anyone got any info for Templemore on Sat?

AAI site doesn't even have a start time.
    can't see any info on who will on the provincal teams anywhere either.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=27338

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Anyone got any info for Templemore on Sat?

AAI site doesn't even have a start time.
    can't see any info on who will on the provincal teams anywhere either.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=27338
    its going to be starting at 12 o clock i think theres a throws workshop on afterwards. I seen a full list of the athletes competing theres some serious going to be there.

longjump67 wrote: »
    My Daughter is competing in her first multi-events comp on Sunday. She will be throwing the 2.72kg shot so will be good practice for next year. was fun training her for high, Long and Hurdles don't expect her to impact overall but with a good shot she should get close to the leaders for a while at least.

With the throws feast on the 1st of Sept in Templemore that will end a long T&F season for me, will take a few weeks off to recharge the batteries then back to long winter training, God the season flew-in.

Well first multi event for my daughter over and she really enjoyed it apart from the hurdles which were terrible, decent 9.17m in the 2.72kg shot and pb's for long, high and 800m. finnished just 30 odd points outside the medals due to the hurdles.
    All in all a good experience and one I hope she shall repeat in the future although out of her depth in the hurdles she would be able to hold her own in the other events and also meet athletes that she normally wouldn't meet unless they were throwers.

Very good for a specialist thrower to do well in multi-events. I find that successful young multi-eventers regard shot as a throwaway event as far as the points are concerned, but then scoot ahead in the runs/jumps. Good for her to get near the medals.

Maybe she's a future Jess Ennis :)

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Maybe she's a future Jess Ennis :)

Yeah, its time that Jess Ennis was taken down a peg or two :D
    (lets see if she reads boards.ie)