Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's A Slut?

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

caseyann wrote: »
    Would you not consider them stupid and have no right to call them anything at all? See this is why this word needs to banned altogether in society.Only time you should be able to insult another person is when they do something bad on you.And even then you should in most times walk away and stuff them.

Unfortunately, this word is never going to be banned, people are going to keep using it. And yes those people would be stupid, but the interpretation of the word 'slut' would be the closest definition to a slut IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Wibbs wrote: »
    Personally I'd define it as a man or woman with no sexual discretion or loyalty.

Yeah, loyalty would be the big one for me.

Other than that, don't know ya and you're not causing me harm, don't care what ya do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

My guess is the whole concept of slut derives from the expectation that women are or should be choosy, in that they are the pracitioners of natural selection, the gatherers, the shoppers, the home keepers who pick and choose what food will be fed to the children, etc and that a woman who is too free with her body [a whole other argument deserving its own thread on the politics of the woman's body] is not being discriminating and therefore a threat to the process of natural selection and further more cannot be trusted and is unsavory and dirty, not even one careful owner type of thing.

I think that aspect is worth considering when the difference between the sexes is being discussed. I think women will always be viewed by the general public in a very unflattering light if they have many partners, 'sleep around' etc. A man who does the same will not be viewed in the same way, despite the brave advances made by feminists in that area to balance things out. To be fair though, we are talking about a notion that was endorsed by the best selling book of all time. Sure what was Eve but a biblical 'slut' who ate the 'apple' and left us with original sin? :rolleyes:

I think the word 'slut' is a derogatory term, and has no place in today's society. The advances made in psychological research should not be ignored-surely it's about time we moved on from blaming and shaming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Feeona wrote: »
    I think that aspect is worth considering when the difference between the sexes is being discussed. I think women will always be viewed by the general public in a very unflattering light if they have many partners, 'sleep around' etc. A man who does the same will not be viewed in the same way, despite the brave advances made by feminists in that area to balance things out. To be fair though, we are talking about a notion that was endorsed by the best selling book of all time. Sure what was Eve but a biblical 'slut' who ate the 'apple' and left us with original sin? :rolleyes:

I think the word 'slut' is a derogatory term, and has no place in today's society. The advances made in psychological research should not be ignored-surely it's about time we moved on from blaming and shaming?

I agree as it is being passed down the generations and no proper respect for womans freedom is really there so long as they bare the shackles of discrimination because of gender.And other women also adopting this word and others similar is allowing it to be acceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I agree as it is being passed down the generations and no proper respect for womans freedom is really there so long as they bare the shackles of discrimination because of gender.And other women also adopting this word and others similar is allowing it to be acceptable.

Sometimes we're our own worst enemy!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

I would use the word slut to describe a woman that always wants attention from guys. In a kind of "oh your nice, I will flirt with you until someone new comes along and do the same with him"
    I guess "tease" and "slut" are interchangeable for me.

as for women who have many sexual encounters / partners idk if I would use the word slut to describe them. If there is an attraction and its not just purely for the sake of having sex than no I wouldnt use the word slut, but if the following morning or whatever the woman has zero attraction than yeah i think she crossed into the slut zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

God, I only buy condoms from Boots because I find that if I buy from the smaller pharmacies, there is still a large amount of tutting and shaking of heads.

Poeple may say it was the decline in domination of the RC church or the feminist movment , but to me it was Boots that really did revolutionise sex in this country! :)

Slut is a word that isn't really in my vocabulary, but I take it to mean someone who has many patners, and they don't need to be sexual patners. I was called a slut years ago by this guy who really disliked me. I hadn't even had sex at the time but I did kiss a lot of guys and go on many dates.
    Oh and I detest the word man-whore too. Why do we need to insert the word infront of it??Is whore exclusively for females?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

panda100 wrote: »
    Poeple may say it was the decline in domination of the RC church or the feminist movment , but to me it was Boots that really did revolutionise sex in this country! :)

Not Boots, Virgin Megastores. They started selling condoms at the counter, through the IFPA, back when it was still illegal for non-specialist stores to sell them and they weren't checking that people were 18+ either, as they law insisted.

They were prosecuted and fined for it in 1990. In 1991 they appealed it. It was a huge deal in the media. Richard Branson came over to testify in favour of it being overturned. But the court not only upheld the fine, but increased it. U2 got in on the story by publicly paying the fine. (It was only IR£500, though.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

There are lots of sexual behaviours - well moreso reasons for sexual behaviours - that are less than ideal. Not every woman or man who shags their way through life is having a great, sexually liberated time... but I still cannot bring myself to use the word "slut", it is too ugly and aggressive, and it is an expression of contempt towards such people, when often, they deserve compassion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Did nobody else read the title of this in a sort of child asking "mammy, what's a slut??" way? Must just be me :D

I've never really heard it in any other sense other than a girl bitching about another girl she doesn't like. Because they bitched about her first. Supposedly.

I got called it a lot when I came out of the closet, which is kinda funny :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Lizzard Amazon has some interesting thoughts on the subject:

http://www.philosophyblog.com.au/the-slut-manifesto-by-lizzard-amazon-part-1/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Emme wrote: »
    Lizzard Amazon has some interesting thoughts on the subject:

http://www.philosophyblog.com.au/the-slut-manifesto-by-lizzard-amazon-part-1/

Basically a slut is someone who devalues her pussy by making it too available?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I consider these girls who just can't go for 2 seconds without having a boyfriend slutty. For example I have a few friends who'd go out with one boy for a week or two, be broken up a day and sleeping with someone new the next day.

I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with sleeping with a lot of people, but I do think there is something wrong with girls who seem to flit from relationship to relationship so fast and not care who gets hurt in the process

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Basically a slut is someone who devalues her pussy by making it too available?

That's society's definition of a slut. I think that the author's argument is that patriarchal society has placed a value on a woman's "pussy" and as such is coercing her into behaving a certain way if she doesn't want to be perceived as cheap or easy. In the "systems in and out" section she argues that lesbians are out of the heterosexual and patriarchal system as a result of their choices. I get the meaning that it's up to a woman herself to put a value on her "pussy" and her right to decide on how accessible it is or not. It isn't up to a patriarchal society to decide how a woman should behave.

Maybe it's an extreme feminist argument, but it's an interesting one given some of the posts on this thread.

Emme wrote: »
    That's society's definition of a slut. I think that the author's argument is that patriarchal society has placed a value on a woman's "pussy" and as such is coercing her into behaving a certain way if she doesn't want to be perceived as cheap or easy. In the "systems in and out" section she argues that lesbians are out of the heterosexual and patriarchal system as a result of their choices. I get the meaning that it's up to a woman herself to put a value on her "pussy" and her right to decide on how accessible it is or not. It isn't up to a patriarchal society to decide how a woman should behave.

Maybe it's an extreme feminist argument, but it's an interesting one given some of the posts on this thread.

It certainly does make for interesting reading and paradoxically concurs with a lot of the theorising on tGC Prostitute thread.

I consider these girls who just can't go for 2 seconds without having a boyfriend slutty. For example I have a few friends who'd go out with one boy for a week or two, be broken up a day and sleeping with someone new the next day.

I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with sleeping with a lot of people, but I do think there is something wrong with girls who seem to flit from relationship to relationship so fast and not care who gets hurt in the process
    More like neediness than sluttiness though?

Dudess wrote: »
    More like neediness than sluttiness though?

Still a double standard though. A man who does that does not get called needy [although probably is underneath it.]

A man who does that is often referred to as a "player" which tends to be imbued with negative connotations. When people say "A man would be called a legend" etc, it's not always correct. There are derogatory things said about very promiscuous men too - e.g. "walking STD", "rat".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

amyputz wrote: »
    Did nobody else read the title of this in a sort of child asking "mammy, what's a slut??" way?

Yup. I keep picturing a miniature WindSock marching into the kitchen and blurting the question out. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭seenitall

i'm pretty sure that these same posters who are giving out about people who use this term to describe a woman who has many partners would use it themselves to describe someone whose actions were too 'far out' for them. For example, a person who makes a living from porn or selling their body.

No, I wouldn't. So, you can stop being so sure. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

amyputz wrote: »
    Did nobody else read the title of this in a sort of child asking "mammy, what's a slut??" way? Must just be me :D

Just wanted to keep it as basic a question as possible, as there are no b&w answers to it.
    Earthhorse wrote: »
    Yup. I keep picturing a miniature WindSock marching into the kitchen and blurting the question out. :D

Cue disapproving look from mammy as she wonders why her wonderfully chaste daughter would ask such a question :pac:

Actually, it'd be interesting to hear what she and others from her generation would say. I may ask her tomorrow...

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Gaolcon

trad wrote: »
    A slut is someone who sleeps with everyone except you.

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

WindSock wrote: »
    Cue disapproving look from mammy as she wonders why her wonderfully chaste daughter would ask such a question :pac:

You have a sister? :doublepac:
    Actually, it'd be interesting to hear what she and others from her generation would say. I may ask her tomorrow...

Do. Make sure to miniaturise yourself first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Earthhorse wrote: »
    You have a sister? :doublepac:

Yeah, she may use her as an example when explaining to me :triplepac:
    Do. Make sure to miniaturise yourself first.

I'll take off my runners and kneel on them as I shuffle in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

A man who does that is often referred to as a "player" which tends to be imbued with negative connotations. When people say "A man would be called a legend" etc, it's not always correct. There are derogatory things said about very promiscuous men too - e.g. "walking STD", "rat".

I have never heard those derogatory terms. They are dire to say the least.

SUPER LADIES ULTIMATE TRIBE :D I am trying to find better abbreviations for it so we can change it and get it to catch on.People will get bored saying it if it means something nice.

There is a multi million dollar industry in coaching men how to be players. There is no such thing in coaching women how to be sluts, or to be promiscuous without earning a rep as a slut.

Along with men buddying up and encouraging and slapping eachother on the back for treating women like dirt just to get a shag.I think few and far between women do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

What is this industry called then?
    Along with men buddying up and encouraging and slapping eachother on the back for treating women like dirt just to get a shag.I think few and far between women do that.

Have you seen the new Irish show 'take me out'? I would suggest you take a look at the poor wimminz having to judge an evil man on his looks, jobs etc.

What is this industry called then?

Have you seen the new Irish show 'take me out'? I would suggest you take a look at the poor wimminz having to judge an evil man on his looks, jobs etc.

That show is awful. Awful.